DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 06/30/2025
Claims 1 and 7-8 have been amended and claims 6 and 15-22 have been canceled
Claims 1-5 and 7-14 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joubert et al. (US 2014/0246395).
Claim 1. Joubert discloses a prize storage case for storing a prize of a product, comprising:
an attachment portion 11 configured to be detachably attached to an edge of the product;
a case portion @17 for containing the prize 46; and
a connecting portion 12/13 for detachably connecting the attachment portion and the case portion [0082];
wherein the case portion comprises a cover portion 17 covering the prize, and a base portion 42 which is provided at a bottom of the cover portion and on which the prize is placed ([0071]; fig. 5);
wherein the case portion is configured to be detached from the attachment portion with the base portion attached to the cover portion when the case portion is detached from the attachment portion via the-connection connecting portion [0082-0083];
wherein the prize storage case is for storing the prize of a PET bottled beverage as the product [0070], and
the attachment portion is configured to be attached to a cap of a container for the PET bottled beverage (fig. 4-5); and
wherein the connecting portion is configured to be separable from the attachment portion and the case portion [0074].
Claim 2. Joubert discloses the prize storage case of claim 1, wherein the case portion is configured such that the cover portion and the base portion are detachable [0083].
Claims 3-4. Joubert discloses the prize storage case of claim 3, wherein the case portion is provided at the cover portion 22 and further comprises a lid portion 24 configured to take out the prize from the case portion (fig. 2).
Claim 5. Joubert discloses the prize storage case according to claim 1, wherein the cover portion of the case portion is formed by a transparent material [0071].
Claim 8. Joubert discloses a prize storage case for storing a prize of a product, comprising:
a cover portion covering the prize; and
a base portion which is provided at a bottom of the cover portion, and on which the prize is placed;
wherein the base portion comprises an attachment portion 101 configured to be detachably attached to an edge of the product;
wherein the base portion is configured to be detached from the edge of the product with the base portion attached to the cover portion when the attachment portion is detached from the edge of the product;
wherein the prize storage case 110 is for storing the prize of a PET bottled beverage as the product, and the attachment portion is configured to be attached to
a cap of a container for the PET bottled beverage; and
wherein the attachment portion is configured to cover the cap such that the prize storage case is fixed to the cap ([0091-0094]; fig. 14).
Claim 9. Joubert discloses the prize storage case of claim 8, wherein the prize storage case is configured such that the cover portion 112 and the base 108 portion are detachable (fig. 14).
Claim 14. Joubert discloses the prize storage case according to claim 8, wherein the cover portion is formed by a transparent material [0071].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joubert et al. (US 2014/0246395) in view of Segal (US 2014/0110470).
Claim 7. Joubert discloses the prize storage case according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a locking portion. Segal teaches wherein the attachment portion is configured to be locked by climbing over a ring portion which is protruding at a lower part of the cap of the container [0074]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sealing portion of Joubert to include the ring of Segal to ensure the locked connection of the locking components.
Claim 10. Joubert discloses the prize storage case according to claim 9, but fails to disclose a protrusion. Segal teaches wherein an outer peripheral wall of the base portion is provided with a protrusion that can be locked with the cover portion, and an end part of the cover portion is configured to be locked by climbing over the protrusion [0074]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sealing portion of Joubert to include the ring of Segal to ensure the locked connection of the locking components.
Claim 12. Joubert discloses the prize storage case according to claim 8, but fails to disclose holes in the platform. Segal teaches wherein the base portion 640 has one or more holes (fig. 6G). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base of Joubert to include the holes of Segal to maintain the position of the prize when stored with the cap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735