DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 2/2/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every previous objection and 112(b) rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants remarks filed on 2/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. The Examiner specifically acknowledges that the previously cited prior arts do not sufficiently teach the claimed limitation “wherein the fan blade further comprises a disk body, and a circumferential inner edge of the disk body is connected to and leveled with a top surface of the wheel hub”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0231127). Chen teaches wherein the fan blade (20, 21, collectively; figure 2A, 2C) further comprises a disk body (hub 20 forming a disk body), and a circumferential inner edge of the disk body is connected to and leveled with a top surface of the wheel hub (see annotated figure 2C below).
Chen teaches that the two body structure having a metallic case, that acts as a wheel hub, and the hub, that forms a disk body, allows to design a slim-fan because the thickness of the top wall can be small and also increase the space for accommodating the stator of the fan (paragraph [0028]) and minimize the possibility of abrasion and prevents deformation after plastic injection molding (paragraph [0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the previously cited prior arts including Saito (U.S. Patent No. 5,979,541) and Yoo (Korean Patent Document KR 20230120012A) to incorporate Chen’s two bodied hub structure that has a metallic wheel hub case and a disk body for the advantages discussed above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claims 3 and 13 recite wherein the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body. Therefore, the claimed inner ring and the outer ring must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (U.S. Patent No. 5,979,541) in view of Chen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0231127).
Saito discloses a fan assembly 100 substantially as claimed, comprising: a motor 5; a
frame body 2 having an accommodating space, a first opening 42, and a second opening shown
generally at 33, and the motor being located in the accommodating space; and a fan blade 72
located in the accommodating space, the fan blade being pivotally connected to the motor,
wherein the fan blade is fixed to and rotates with a shaft 75 extending along a direction, wherein
the fan blade comprises: a wheel hub 71 having the shaft at a center of the wheel hub, and the shaft being pivotally connected to the motor; a plurality of first blades surrounding the wheel hub
and extending radially outward from the wheel hub as a center of the fan blade and corresponding to the first opening, wherein an end of each of the first blades is connected to and in contact with the wheel hub, and the first blades have a first thickness in the direction; and a plurality of second blades surrounding the first blades, wherein an end of each of the second
blades is connected to the other end of the corresponding first blades, and the second blades have a second thickness in the direction, wherein the first thickness of the first blades is greater than the second thickness of the second blades, wherein the wheel hub and the first blades are
exposed in the first opening, and wherein a top surface of the first blades and a top surface of the frame body are coplanar (claim 1) (see previous Office Action dated 11/06/2025). Also see annotated figure 4 below:
Saito also discloses the first blades are located in an inner ring and the second blades are located in an outer ring (claim 3).
Saito also discloses the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (claim 4).
Saito also discloses the first blades have a top surface and a bottom surface, and the second blades have a top surface and a bottom surface (claim 5).
Saito also discloses the first thickness of the first blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the first blades to the top surface of the first blades, and the second thickness of the second blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the second blades to the top surface of the second blades (claim 6).
Saito also discloses the bottom surface of the first blades and the bottom surface of the second blades are coplanar (claim 8).
Saito also discloses the frame body comprises a bottom plate 31, a top plate 4, and a side plate 32, wherein the accommodating space is jointly defined by the bottom plate, the top plate, and the side plate, wherein the top plate has a top surface 43, and wherein the first opening is located on the top plate (claim 9).
Saito also discloses the fan assembly, comprising: the motor; the frame body having the accommodating space and the first opening, and the motor being located in the accommodating
space; and the fan blade located in the accommodating space, the fan blade being pivotally
connected to the motor, wherein the fan blade is fixed to and rotates with the shaft extending
along the direction, wherein the fan blade comprises: the wheel hub having the shaft at the center of the wheel hub, and the shaft being pivotally connected to the motor; the plurality of first
blades surrounding the wheel hub and extending radially outward from the wheel hub as the
center of the fan blade, wherein the end of each of the first blades is connected to and in contact with the wheel hub, and the first blades have the first thickness in the direction; and the plurality of second blades surrounding the first blades, wherein the end of each of the second blades is connected to the other end of the corresponding first blades, and the second blades have the second thickness in the direction, wherein the first thickness of the first blades is greater than the second thickness of the second blades, wherein the wheel hub and the first blades pass through the first opening, and wherein the top surface of the first blades and the top surface of the frame body are coplanar (claim 11).
Saito also discloses the first blades are located in an inner ring and the second blades are located in an outer ring (claim 13).
Saito also discloses the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (claim 14).
Saito also discloses the first blades have a top surface and a bottom surface, and the second blades have a top surface and a bottom surface (claim 15).
Saito also discloses the first thickness of the first blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the first blades to the top surface of the first blades, and the second thickness of the second blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the second blades to the top surface of the second blades (claim 16).
Saito also discloses the bottom surface of the first blades and the bottom surface of the second blades are coplanar (claim 18).
Saito also discloses the frame body comprises the bottom plate, the top plate, and the side plate, wherein the accommodating space is jointly defined by the bottom plate, the top plate, and the side plate, wherein the top plate has the top surface, and wherein the first opening is located on the top plate (claim 19).
However, Saito does not disclose that the blade further comprises a disk body, and an
uppermost portion of a top surface of the disk body is leveled with a top surface of the wheel hub (claims 1 and 11), does not disclose that the first blades protrude from the disk body along the direction, and the second blades protrude from the disk body along the direction (claims 2 and 12), does not disclose that the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body (claims 3 and 13), and does not
disclose that the disk body, the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (claims 4 and 14).
Chen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0231127) is related prior art in that it also deals with a fan. Chen teaches wherein the fan blade (20, 21, collectively; figure 2A, 2C) further comprises a disk body (hub 20 forming a disk body), and a circumferential inner edge of the disk body is connected to and leveled with a top surface of the wheel hub (see annotated figure 2C below),
.
the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body (short blade portions (second blades) of blades 21 are within the outer circumference of the disk forming an outer ring and tall blades (first blades) are within the outer circumference of the tall blades forming an inner ring; figure 2A).
that the first blades protrude from the disk body along the direction, and the second blades protrude from the disk body along the direction (blades 21 having two portions (first and second blades) protruding from the outer ring portion of the hub 20; figure 2A), and that the disk body, the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (as shown; figure 2A).
Chen teaches that the two body structure having a metallic case, that acts as a wheel hub, and the hub, that forms a disk body, allows to design a slim-fan because the thickness of the top wall can be small and also increase the space for accommodating the stator of the fan (paragraph [0028]) and minimize the possibility of abrasion and prevents deformation after plastic injection molding (paragraph [0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Saito to incorporate Chen’s two bodied hub structure that has a metallic wheel hub case and a disk body for the advantages discussed above.
Concerning claims 2 and 12, the modification results in the first blades protrude from the
disk body along the direction, and the second blades protrude from the disk body along the
direction. Concerning claims 3 and 13, the modification results in the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body. Concerning claims 4 and 14, the modification results in the disk body, the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (U.S. Patent No. 5,979,541) and Chen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0231127) as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively above, as evidenced by Yoo (Korean Patent Document KR 10-2023-0120012A).
The modified fan assembly of Saito shows all of the claimed subject matter except for
the first thickness of the first blades is less than or equal to 2 millimeters (claims 10 and 20).
Yoo shows a fan assembly comprising: a fan blade, wherein the fan blade comprises: a wheel hub 51 having the shaft at a center of the wheel hub; a plurality of first blades 54 surrounding the wheel hub and extending radially outward from the wheel hub as a center of the fan blade and corresponding to the first opening, wherein an end of the first blades is connected to the wheel hub, and the first blades have a first thickness 58 in the direction; and a plurality of second blades 55 surrounding the first blades, wherein an end of each of the second blades is connected to the other end of the corresponding first blades, and the second blades have a second thickness 59 in the direction, wherein the first thickness of the first blades is greater than the second thickness of the second blades, and teaches that the first thickness 58 may be 5.5 to 6.3 mm, preferably 6mm, and discusses that the if the first height is too high or too low, there may be a problem that the efficiency of generating wind decreases or the volume of the entire cooling fan increases. Thus, Yoo establishes that the first thickness is a result-effective variable.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified fan assembly Saito
such that the first thickness of the first blades is less than or equal to 2 millimeters, for the
purpose of adjusting the size of the fan assembly in order to provide an acceptable efficiency of
generating flow and volume, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-16, and 18-19 (as far as claims 5-6 and 15-16 are definite and understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Saito and Chen.
Yoo discloses a fan assembly substantially as claimed, comprising: a motor shown generally at 8; a frame body formed by 2, 3, 23 having an unnumbered interior accommodating space, a first opening 32, and a second opening 12, and the motor being located in the accommodating space; and a fan blade located in the accommodating space, the fan blade
being pivotally connected to the motor, wherein the fan blade is fixed to and rotates with a shaft
4 extending along a direction, wherein the fan blade comprises: a wheel hub 51 having the shaft
at a center of the wheel hub, and the fan blade being pivotally connected to the motor; a plurality of first blades 54 surrounding the wheel hub and extending radially outward from the wheel hub as a center of the fan blade and corresponding to the first opening, wherein an end of the first blades is connected to the wheel hub, and the first blades have a first thickness 58 in the direction; and a plurality of second blades 55 surrounding the first blades, wherein an end of
each of the second blades is connected to the other end of the corresponding first blades, and the second blades have a second thickness 59 in the direction, wherein the first thickness of the first blades is greater than the second thickness of the second blades, wherein the wheel hub and the first blades are exposed in the first opening, and wherein a top surface of the first blades and a top surface of the frame body are coplanar (figure 3) (claim 1).
Yoo discloses the first blades are located in an inner ring and the second blades are located in an outer ring (claim 3).
Yoo discloses the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (claim 4).
Yoo discloses the first blades have a top surface and a bottom surface, and the second blades have a top surface and a bottom surface (claim 5).
Yoo discloses the first thickness of the first blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the first blades to the top surface of the first blades, and the second thickness of the second blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the second blades to the top surface of the second blades (claim 6).
Yoo discloses the bottom surface of the first blades and the bottom surface of the second blades are coplanar (claim 8).
Yoo discloses the frame body comprises a bottom plate 2, a top plate 3, and a side plate 23, wherein the accommodating space is jointly defined by the bottom plate, the top plate, and the side plate, wherein the top plate has a top surface, and wherein the first opening is located on the top plate (claim 9).
Yoo also discloses the fan assembly substantially as claimed, comprising: the motor; the frame body having the accommodating space and the first opening, and the motor being located in the accommodating space; and the fan blade located in the accommodating space, the fan blade being pivotally connected to the motor, wherein the fan blade is fixed to and rotates with the shaft extending along the direction, wherein the fan blade comprises: the wheel hub having the shaft at the center of the wheel hub, and the shaft being pivotally connected to the motor; the plurality of first blades surrounding the wheel hub and extending radially outward from the wheel hub as the center of the fan blade, wherein the end of the first blades is connected to the wheel hub, and the first blades have the first thickness in the direction; and the plurality of second blades surrounding the first blades, wherein the end of each of the second blades is connected to the other end of the corresponding first blades, and the second blades have the second thickness in the direction, wherein the first thickness of the first blades is greater than the second thickness of the second blades, wherein the wheel hub and the first blades pass through the first opening, and wherein the top surface of the first blades and the
top surface of the frame body are coplanar (claim 11).
Yoo discloses the first blades are located in an inner ring and the second blades are located in an outer ring (claim 13).
Yoo discloses the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (claim 14).
Yoo discloses the first blades have a top surface and a bottom surface, and the second blades have a top surface and a bottom surface (claim 15).
Yoo discloses the first thickness of the first blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the first blades to the top surface of the first blades, and the second thickness of the second blades is a distance from the bottom surface of the second blades to the top surface of the second blades (claim 16).
Yoo discloses the bottom surface of the first blades and the bottom surface of the second blades are coplanar (claim 18).
Yoo discloses the frame body comprises the bottom plate, the top plate, and the side plate, wherein the accommodating space is jointly defined by the bottom plate, the top plate, and the side plate, wherein the top plate has the top surface, and wherein the first opening is located on the top plate (claim 19).
However, Yoo does not disclose that the end of each of the first fan blades is connected to and in contact with the wheel hub (claims 1 and 11).
Saito shows a fan assembly 100, comprising: a motor 5; a frame body 2 having an
accommodating space, a first opening 42, and a second opening shown generally at 33, and the
motor being located in the accommodating space; and a fan blade 72 located in the
accommodating space, the fan blade being pivotally connected to the motor, wherein the fan
blade is fixed to and rotates with a shaft 75 extending along a direction, wherein the fan blade
comprises: a wheel hub 71 having the shaft at a center of the wheel hub, and the shaft being
pivotally connected to the motor; a plurality of first blades surrounding the wheel hub and
extending radially outward from the wheel hub as a center of the fan blade and corresponding to
the first opening, wherein an end of each of the first blades is connected to and in contact with
the wheel hub, and the first blades have a first thickness in the direction; and a plurality of
second blades surrounding the first blades, wherein an end of each of the second blades is
connected to the other end of the corresponding first blades, and the second blades have a second thickness in the direction, wherein the first thickness of the first blades is greater than the second thickness of the second blades, wherein the wheel hub and the first blades are exposed in the first opening, and wherein a top surface of the first blades and a top surface of the frame body are coplanar. Note the previously annotated figure.
The end of each of the first blades is connected to and in contact with the wheel hub, for
the purpose of providing a radially compact fan blade and wheel hub, while supporting each of
the first blades at the hub.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to form the fan assembly of Yoo such that the end of each of the first fan blades is connected to and in contact with the wheel hub, as taught by Saito, for the purpose of providing a radially compact fan blade and wheel hub, while supporting each of the first blades at the hub.
The modified fan assembly of Yoo shows all of the claimed subject matter except for the blade further comprises a disk body, and an uppermost portion of a top surface of the disk body is leveled with a top surface of the wheel hub (claims 1 and 11), except for the first blades protrude from the disk body along the direction, and the second blades protrude from the disk body along the direction (claims 2 and 12), except for the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body (claims 3 and 13), and except for the disk body, the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (claims 4 and 14).
Chen (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0231127) is related prior art in that it also deals with a fan. Chen teaches wherein the fan blade (20, 21, collectively; figure 2A, 2C) further comprises a disk body (hub 20 forming a disk body), and a circumferential inner edge of the disk body is connected to and leveled with a top surface of the wheel hub (see annotated figure 2C below),
.
the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body (short blade portions (second blades) of blades 21 are within the outer circumference of the disk forming an outer ring and tall blades (first blades) are within the outer circumference of the tall blades forming an inner ring; figure 2A).
that the first blades protrude from the disk body along the direction, and the second blades protrude from the disk body along the direction (blades 21 having two portions (first and second blades) protruding from the outer ring portion of the hub 20; figure 2A), and that the disk body, the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally (as shown; figure 2A).
Chen teaches that the two body structure having a metallic case, that acts as a wheel hub, and the hub, that forms a disk body, allows to design a slim-fan because the thickness of the top wall can be small and also increase the space for accommodating the stator of the fan (paragraph [0028]) and minimize the possibility of abrasion and prevents deformation after plastic injection molding (paragraph [0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Yoo to incorporate Chen’s two bodied hub structure that has a metallic wheel hub case and a disk body for the advantages discussed above.
Concerning claims 2 and 12, the modification results in the first blades protrude from the
disk body along the direction, and the second blades protrude from the disk body along the
direction. concerning claims 3 and 13, the modification results in the first blades are located in an inner ring of the disk body and the second blades are located in an outer ring of the disk body. Concerning claims 4 and 14, the modification results in the disk body, the first blades and the second blades are formed integrally.
Claims 7 and 17, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35
U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo and Saito and Chen as applied to claims 5 and 15, and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2002/0057965)
The modified fan assembly of Yoo shows a fan assembly substantially as claimed, including the top surface of the first blades and the top surface of the second blades are higher than the top surface of the disk body as seen in figure 1 (claims 7 and 17), but does not show that the bottom surface of the first blades and the bottom surface of the second blades are lower than the bottom surface of the disk body (claims 7 and 17).
Huang (figures 2 and 3(a), for example) show a fan assembly having a disk body 320,
with first blades 330 protruding from the disk body along an axial direction, and second blades
350 protruding from the disk body, and a bottom surface of the second blades is lower than the
bottom surface of the disk body, for the purpose of allowing for induced intake of air through an
intake 110 in the bottom of the fan assembly.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified fan assembly of Yoo such that the bottom surface of the first blades and the bottom surface of the second blades being lower than the bottom surface of the disk body, as taught by Huang et al.,
for the purpose of allowing for induced intake of air through an intake 22 in the bottom of the fan
assembly.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo and Saito and Chen as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively above.
The modified fan assembly of Yoo shows all of the claimed subject matter except for the first thickness of the first blades is less than or equal to 2 millimeters (claims 10 and 20).
However, KR Yoo discloses that the first thickness 58 may be 5.5 to 6.3
mm, preferably 6mm, and discusses that the if the first height is too high or too low, there may
be a problem that the efficiency of generating wind decreases or the volume of the entire cooling fan increases. Thus, Yoo establishes that the first thickness is a result- effective variable.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified fan assembly of Yoo such that the first thickness of the first blades is less than or equal to 2 millimeters, for the purpose of adjusting the size of the fan assembly in order to provide an acceptable efficiency of generating flow and volume, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745