DETAILED ACTION
Claims 19-38 are pending in this application.
Response to Amendment
Claim 19 is amended. Claims 1-18 are canceled. Claims 21-38 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olney U.S. Patent No. 5,602,409 (hereinafter “Olney”) and further in view of Chao U.S. Patent Application 2016/0285262 (hereinafter “Chao”).
Regarding claim 19, Olney teaches an electrostatic discharge protection circuit (refer to fig.6 and abstract) coupled between a first voltage terminal (i.e. terminal BP1)(fig.6) and a second voltage terminal (i.e. terminal BP2)(fig.6), wherein the electrostatic discharge protection circuit comprises: a first bipolar junction transistor (i.e. transistor Q1)(fig.6) having a first terminal (refer to collector of Q1)(fig.6), a second terminal (refer to emitter of Q1)(fig.6), and a control terminal (refer to base of Q1)(fig.6), wherein the first terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the first voltage terminal (implicit)(refer to fig.6); and a second bipolar junction transistor (i.e. transistor Q2)(fig.6) having a first terminal (refer to collector of Q2)(fig.6), a second terminal (refer to emitter of Q2)(fig.6), and a control terminal (refer to base of Q2)(fig.6), wherein the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor (implicit)(refer to fig.6), the first terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the second voltage terminal (implicit)(refer to fig.6), and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor (implicit)(refer to fig.6), and wherein the first terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is a first collector (implicit)(refer to collector of transistor Q1)(fig.6), the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is a first emitter (implicit)(refer to emitter of transistor Q1)(fig.6), the first terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is a second collector (implicit)(refer to collector of transistor Q2)(fig.6), the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is a second emitter (implicit)(refer to emitter of transistor Q2)(fig.6), and the first emitter is coupled to the second emitter (implicit)(refer to fig.6); however, Olney does not teach wherein a first doping concentration of a semiconductor material forming the first terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is lower than a second doping concentration of a semiconductor material forming the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor, and a third doping concentration of a semiconductor material forming the first terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is lower than a fourth doping concentration of the semiconductor material forming the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor. However, Chao teaches wherein a first doping concentration of a semiconductor material forming the first terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor (i.e. semiconductor 230)(fig.2)(refer also to [0023]) is lower than a second doping concentration of a semiconductor material (refer to [0023]) forming the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor (i.e. semiconductor 210)(fig.2)(refer also to [0023]), and a third doping concentration of a semiconductor material forming the first terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor (i.e. semiconductor 230)(fig.2)(refer also to [0023]) is lower than a fourth doping concentration of the semiconductor material forming the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor (i.e. semiconductor 210)(fig.2)(refer also to [0023]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Olney to replace both bipolar transistors with hetero-junction transistors of Chao to provide the advantage of using transistors with higher operating speeds and higher power efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19; however, Olney does not teach wherein the first doping concentration is equal to the third doping concentration, and the second doping concentration is equal to the fourth doping concentration. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first doping concentration is equal to the third doping concentration, and the second doping concentration is equal to the fourth doping concentration, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic discharge protection circuit of Olney and Chao to include wherein the first doping concentration is equal to the third doping concentration, and the second doping concentration is equal to the fourth doping concentration to provide the advantage of using identical transistors, thereby simplifying construction/manufacturing of the circuit and balancing the electrostatic discharge over both of the transistors.
Regarding claim 21, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19; however, they do not teach wherein a first breakdown voltage of a first junction between the first terminal and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is greater than a second breakdown voltage of a second junction between the second terminal and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor, and a third breakdown voltage of a third junction between the first terminal and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is greater than a fourth breakdown voltage of a fourth junction between the second terminal and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a first breakdown voltage of a first junction between the first terminal and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is greater than a second breakdown voltage of a second junction between the second terminal and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor, and a third breakdown voltage of a third junction between the first terminal and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is greater than a fourth breakdown voltage of a fourth junction between the second terminal and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic discharge protection circuit of Olney and Chao to include wherein a first breakdown voltage of a first junction between the first terminal and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is greater than a second breakdown voltage of a second junction between the second terminal and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor, and a third breakdown voltage of a third junction between the first terminal and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is greater than a fourth breakdown voltage of a fourth junction between the second terminal and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor to provide the advantage of using bipolar transistors with typical breakdown characteristics.
Regarding claim 22, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is formed of a first type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 4)(fig.5)(refer to Chao semiconductor 230)(fig.2)(refer also to Chao [0023]), and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is formed of a second type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 14)(fig.5)(refer to Chao semiconductor 220)(fig.2)(refer also to Chao [0023]), the first terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is formed of a third type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 6)(fig.5)(refer to Chao semiconductor 230)(fig.2)(refer also to Chao [0023]), and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is formed of a fourth type semiconductor material (refer to p-type well 20)(fig.5)(refer to Chao semiconductor 220)(fig.2)(refer also to Chao [0023]), the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor and the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor are both formed of a fifth-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney highly doped n-type regions 16 and 22)(fig.5)(refer to Chao semiconductor 210)(fig.2)(refer also to Chao [0023]), wherein the first type semiconductor material, the third type semiconductor material, and the fifth type semiconductor material have same conductive type (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5)(the first, third, and fifth materials are n-type)(refer also to Chao [0023]), the fifth type semiconductor material is different from the first type semiconductor material or the third type semiconductor material (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5)(the fifth material is heavily doped, the first and third materials are not heavily doped and are epitaxial tubs)(refer to Chao [0023]), and the second type semiconductor material and the fourth type semiconductor material have same conductive type (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5)(the second and fourth materials are p-type)(refer to Chao [0023]).
Regarding claim 23, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 22, wherein the first type semiconductor material and the third type semiconductor material are each low-doped N-type semiconductor materials (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5)(both the first and third materials are epitaxial tubs and epitaxial tubs are low doped n-type regions)(refer to Chao [0023]), the second type semiconductor material and the fourth type semiconductor material are each P-type semiconductor materials (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5)(both the second and fourth materials are p-type wells)(refer to Chao [0023]), and the fifth type semiconductor material is a highly-doped N-type semiconductor material (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5)(16 and 22 are heavily doped n-type regions)(refer to Chao [0023]).
Regarding claim 24, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 22, wherein the first type semiconductor material and the third type semiconductor material are each low-doped P-type semiconductor materials (refer to Olney epitaxial tubs 4 and 6)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claim 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(swapping the NPN transistors Q1 and Q2 for PNP transistors as suggested in claim 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63 of Olney would reverse all of the conductivity types)(refer to Chao [0037]), the second type semiconductor material and the fourth type semiconductor material are each N-type semiconductor materials (refer to Olney p-type wells 14 and 20)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claim 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0037]), and the fifth type semiconductor material is a highly-doped P-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney heavily doped n-type regions 16 and 22)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claim 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0037]).
Regarding claim 25, Olney teaches the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is formed of a first type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 4)(fig.5)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), and the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is formed of a second type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 14)(fig.5)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the first terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is formed of a third type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 6)(fig.5)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is formed of a fourth type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 20)(fig.5)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is formed of a fifth-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney highly doped n-type region 16)(fig.5)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), and the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor is formed of a sixth-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney highly doped n-type region 22)(fig.5)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), wherein the first type semiconductor material, the fourth type semiconductor material, and the fifth type semiconductor material have same conductive type (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5, claim 6, and col. 3 lines 60-63)(switching transistor Q1 or Q2 to a PNP transistor instead of an NPN transistor as suggested in claim 6 and col. 3 lines 60-63 of Olney would reverse the conductivity types of the semiconductor materials of one of the transistors Q1 or Q2; therefore, the first, fourth, and fifth type semiconductor materials would be the same conductivity types)(refer to Chao [0037]), and the second type semiconductor material, the third type semiconductor material, and the sixth type semiconductor material have same conductive type (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.5, claim 6, and col. 3 lines 60-63)(switching transistor Q1 or Q2 to a PNP transistor instead of an NPN transistor as suggested in claim 6 and col. 3 lines 60-63 of Olney would reverse the conductivity types of the one of the transistors Q1 or Q2; therefore, the second, third, and sixth type semiconductor materials would be the same conductivity types)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]).
Regarding claim 26, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 25, wherein the first type semiconductor material is a low-doped P-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 4)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the second type semiconductor material is an N-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 14)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the third type semiconductor material is a low-doped N-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 6)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the fourth type semiconductor material is a P-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 20)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the fifth-type semiconductor material is a highly-doped P-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney heavily doped n-type region 16)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), and the sixth-type semiconductor material is a highly-doped N-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney heavily doped n-type region 22)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]); alternatively, the first type semiconductor material is a low-doped N-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 4)(fig.5)(refer also to claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the second type semiconductor material is a P-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 14)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the third type semiconductor material is a low-doped P-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney epitaxial tub 6)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the fourth type semiconductor material is an N-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney p-type well 20)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), the fifth-type semiconductor material is a highly-doped N-type semiconductor material (refer to Olney heavily doped n-type region 16)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]), and the sixth-type semiconductor material is a highly-doped P-type semiconductor material (refer to heavily doped n-type region 22)(fig.5)(refer also to Olney claims 6 and 7 and col. 3 lines 60-63)(refer to Chao [0023] and [0037]).
Regarding claim 27, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 21; however, they do not teach wherein the first breakdown voltage is equal to the third breakdown voltage, and the second breakdown voltage is equal to the fourth breakdown voltage. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first breakdown voltage is equal to the third breakdown voltage, and the second breakdown voltage is equal to the fourth breakdown voltage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic discharge protection circuit of Olney and Chao to include wherein the first breakdown voltage is equal to the third breakdown voltage, and the second breakdown voltage is equal to the fourth breakdown voltage to provide the advantage of using identical transistors, thereby simplifying construction/manufacturing of the circuit and balancing the electrostatic discharge over both of the transistors.
Regarding claim 28, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first emitter is coupled to the second emitter (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.6).
Regarding claim 29, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19; however, they do not teach wherein the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor through one or more intermediate transistors. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor through one or more intermediate transistors, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic discharge circuit of Olney and Chao to include wherein the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor through one or more intermediate transistors to provide the advantage of adjusting the total breakdown voltage of the electrostatic discharge circuit to an appropriate level for the protected circuit.
Regarding claim 30, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19, further comprising a first impedance circuit (i.e. Olney resistance RB1)(fig.6) and a second impedance circuit (i.e. resistance Olney RB2)(fig.6), wherein the first impedance circuit is coupled between the control terminal and the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.6), the second impedance circuit is coupled between the control terminal and the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.6), and the second terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor is coupled to the second terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.6).
Regarding claim 31, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 30, wherein the first impedance circuit comprises one or a combination of a first resistor, a first capacitor, a first inductor, a first diode, at least one first field-effect transistor, and at least one first field-effect transistor (implicit)(refer to Olney resistance RB1)(fig.6), and the second impedance circuit comprises one or a combination of a second resistor, a second capacitor, a second inductor, a second diode, at least one second field-effect transistor, and at least one second field-effect transistor (implicit)(refer to Olney resistance RB2)(fig.6).
Regarding claim 32, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 30, wherein a sum of an impedance value of the first impedance circuit and an impedance value of the second impedance circuit is a comprehensive impedance value (implicit), in response to a voltage value of the first voltage terminal being greater than a voltage value of the second voltage terminal and an electrostatic discharge event occurring, a product of the comprehensive impedance value and a first breakdown current of the first junction of the first bipolar junction transistor is greater than or equal to a first conduction voltage of the second junction of the first bipolar junction transistor (inherent)(refer to Olney col. 7 line 25 to col. 8 line 14), and in response to a voltage value of the second voltage terminal being greater than a voltage value of the first voltage terminal and the electrostatic discharge event occurring, a product of the comprehensive impedance value and a third breakdown current of the third junction of the second bipolar junction transistor is greater than or equal to a second conduction voltage of the fourth junction of the second bipolar junction transistor (inherent)(refer to Olney col. 7 line 25 to col. 8 line 14).
Regarding claim 33, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19, further comprising a first impedance circuit (i.e. Olney resistances RB1 and RB2)(fig.6), wherein the first impedance circuit is coupled between the control terminal of the first bipolar junction transistor and the control terminal of the second bipolar junction transistor (implicit)(refer to Olney fig.6).
Regarding claim 34, Olney and Chao teaches the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 33, wherein the first impedance circuit comprises one or a combination of a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, a diode, a field-effect transistor, and a field-effect transistor (refer to Olney resistances RB1 and RB2)(fig.6).
Regarding claim 35, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 33, wherein in response to a voltage value of the first voltage terminal being greater than a voltage value of the second voltage terminal and an electrostatic discharge event occurring, a product of the impedance value of the first impedance circuit and a first breakdown current of the first junction of the first bipolar junction transistor is greater than or equal to a first conduction voltage of the second junction of the first bipolar junction transistor (inherent)(refer to Olney col. 7 line 25 to col. 8 line 14), and in response to a voltage value of the second voltage terminal being greater than a voltage value of the first voltage terminal and the electrostatic discharge event occurring, a product of the impedance value of the first impedance circuit and a third breakdown current of the third junction of the second bipolar junction transistor is greater than or equal to a second conduction voltage of the fourth junction of the second bipolar junction transistor (inherent)(refer to Olney col. 7 line 25 to col. 8 line 14).
Regarding claim 36, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19; wherein the first bipolar junction transistor and the second bipolar junction transistor are both heterojunction bipolar transistors (refer to Chao [0032] and figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 37, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first voltage terminal is a voltage input terminal (implicit)(refer to Olney terminal BP1)(fig.6), and the second voltage terminal is a reference voltage terminal (implicit)(refer to Olney terminal BP2)(fig.6).
Regarding claim 38, Olney and Chao teach the electrostatic discharge protection circuit as claimed in claim 19; however, wherein the electrostatic discharge protection circuit is used in a high-power radio frequency signal processing circuit (refer to Chao [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838