Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 9, 11, 14-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Guan et al. (US 2019/0327756 A1), hereinafter Guan.
Regarding claim 1, 9 and 14, Guan discloses in fig. 5-7, paragraphs 0114-0115, a terminal, comprising a processor and a memory [see Guan, figure 7], wherein the memory stores a program or an instruction runnable on the processor, and the program or the instruction [see Guan, paragraph 0114-0115], when executed by the processor, implements a frequency domain resource determining method [see Guan, paragraphs 0047, 0079, 0108 0144, 0165-01660224, 0262, 0295, and 0299] comprising:
determining, by a terminal/network side device [see Guan, fig. 5-7], related information of a control channel [see Guan, paragraph 0018, 0191-0193, 0239-0241], wherein the related information of the control channel [see Guan, paragraph 0018, 0191-0193, 0239-0241, where terminal receives control information with respect to frequency domain configuration of control channel], comprises at least one of the following:
a first frequency domain resource allocation range of the control channel, and scheduling information of the control channel [see Guan, paragraphs 0018, 0047-0049, 0191-0193, 0239-0241, where frequency domain configuration allocation range and scheduling information is clearly mentioned]; and
determining, by the terminal, a bandwidth of a second frequency domain resource allocation range based on the related information [see paragraphs 0044-0050 and 0224-0227, where an indication of the first resource allocation information is based on a first frequency domain range of the first carrier and an indication of the second resource allocation information is based on a second frequency domain range of the first carrier], wherein the second frequency domain resource allocation range is a frequency domain resource allocation range of a transmission target, the transmission target is an object to be transmitted or received by the terminal based on the received control channel, and the transmission target comprises at least one of a channel and a signal [see paragraphs 0018, 0191-0193, 0224-0227, and 0261-0264, where the first data channel is the transmission target and the bandwidth/range is determined based on the control information], wherein
the bandwidth of the second frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 5 MHz, or the bandwidth of the second frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 20 MHz [see paragraphs 0012, 0080, 0044-0050 and 0224-0227, where Guan discloses bandwidth of the carrier may be a carrier bandwidth supported by the LTE system, for example, 1.4 megahertz,3 MHz, 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, or 20 MHz; or may be an NR carrier greater than 20 MHz, for example, 40 MHz or even 80 MHz].
Regarding claim 18, Guan discloses in fig. 5-7, paragraphs 0114-0115a a network side device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or an instruction runnable on the processor, and the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, implements the steps of the frequency domain resource determining method according to claim 9 [see method steps citations/explanation as provided for claims 1, 9 and 14 above].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Guan discloses in fig. 5-7, paragraphs 0114-0115a readable storage medium, storing a program or an instruction, wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by a processor, implements the steps of the frequency domain resource determining method according to claim 1 [see method steps citations/explanation as provided for claims 1, 9 and 14 above].
Regarding claim 2 and 15, wherein in a case that a bandwidth of the first frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 20 MHz, the bandwidth of the second frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 5 MHz, or the bandwidth of the second frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 20 MHz; and/or in a case that a bandwidth of the first frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 5 MHz, the bandwidth of the second frequency domain resource allocation range is less than or equal to 5 MHz [Claims are written in an alternative form, and the citation provides bandwidth <=5MHz and<=20 MHz and even broader values, see paragraphs 0012, 0080, 0044-0050 and 0224-0227, where Guan discloses bandwidth of the carrier may be a carrier bandwidth supported by the LTE system, for example, 1.4 megahertz,3 MHz, 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, or 20 MHz; or may be an NR carrier greater than 20 MHz, for example, 40 MHz or even 80 MHz].
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 17, Guan teaches wherein the scheduling information of the control channel comprises: transmission mode information of the transmission target scheduled by the control channel [see paragraphs 0018, 0191-0193, 0224-0227, and 0261-0264, where the first data channel is the transmission target and the bandwidth/range transmission mode is determined/scheduled by control channel].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-6, 10, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. (US 2019/0327756 A1), hereinafter Guan in view of CMCC: “Discussion on further reduced UE complexity”, hereinafter referred as CMCC.
Regarding claim 3, 10 and 16, Guan teaches paragraph 0018, 0191-0193, 0239-024, 0044-0050 and 0224-0227, wherein the first frequency domain resource allocation range comprises a frequency domain resource allocation range of a first control resource set associated with the control channel (Note: claim is written in an alternate form and thus first condition is being addressed). Guan is silent on wherein the first control resource set is a control resource set for scheduling a target system information block SIB, and a bandwidth of the frequency domain resource allocation range of the first control resource set is less than or equal to 20 MHz, wherein the target SIB comprises a SIB 1, wherein in a first condition, the second frequency domain resource allocation range is equal to the frequency domain resource allocation range of the first control resource set; the first condition comprises: a physical downlink control channel PDCCH is received in a first common search space CSS; wherein the first CSS comprises at least one of the following: a CSS for scheduling the target SIB, wherein the target SIB comprises the SIB 1. CMCC in the same field of endeavor teaches the first control resource set is a control resource set for scheduling a target system information block SIB [see section 2.3 Analysis of coexistence with legacy UEs, where CORESET0/SIB1 is scheduled and transmitted], and a bandwidth of the frequency domain resource allocation range of the first control resource set is less than or equal to 20 MHz, wherein the target SIB comprises a SIB 1 [see CMCC section 2.3 Analysis of coexistence with legacy UEs The bandwidth of CORESET0 and SIB1 is within 5MHz which is clearly less than or equal to 20MHz]; the first condition comprises: a physical downlink control channel PDCCH is received in a first common search space CSS [see CMCC, page 3-4, Table 13-1 showing set of resource blocks and slot symbols for CORESET for Type0-PDCCH search space set]; wherein the first CSS comprises at least one of the following: a CSS for scheduling the target SIB, wherein the target SIB comprises the SIB 1 [see CMCC table 13-1, pages 3-4 of search space set for scheduling SIB1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective date to combine the teachings of CMCC into the invention of Guan in order ensure flexibility of network configuration without increase in network overhead.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Guan teaches paragraphs 0012, 0018-0019, 0044-0050 and 0224-0227 dynamic allocation of frequency/time resources. Guan is silent on wherein the transmission mode information indicates that frequency hopping transmission is performed on the transmission target in time domain, and a bandwidth of a frequency domain resource range allocated to a transmission in each hop is less than or equal to 5 MHz.. However, in the same field of endeavor, CMCC teaches in section 2.3 Analysis of coexistence with legacy UEs on pages 3-4 and fig. 1 of R18 Red Cap UEs with reduced maximum bandwidth can only receive data within 5MHz at a time and CORESETT0/SIB1 transmission is periodic, as shown in fig. 1, R18 RedCap UEs can receive 5MHz part of CORESET0/SIB1 at different frequency location in multiple occasions of CORESET0/SIB1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective date to combine the teachings of CMCC into the invention of Guan in order ensure flexibility of network configuration without increase in network overhead.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Guan teaches paragraphs 0012, 0018-0019, 0044-0050 and 0224-0227 dynamic allocation of frequency/time resources. However, Guan is silent on wherein frequency domain resources of frequency domain resource ranges of transmissions in different hops are different. However, in the same field of endeavor, CMCC teaches in section 2.3 Analysis of coexistence with legacy UEs on pages 3-4 and fig. 1 of R18 RedCap UEs can receive 5MHz part of CORESET0/SIB1 at different frequency location in multiple occasions of CORESET0/SIB1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective date to combine the teachings of CMCC into the invention of Guan in order ensure flexibility of network configuration without increase in network overhead.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et al. (US 2019/0327756 A1), hereinafter Guan in view of CMCC: “Discussion on further reduced UE complexity”, hereinafter referred as CMCC and further in view of Yu (EP 4432587A1).
Regarding claim 7, Gaun in view of CMCC is silent on determining, by the terminal, a frequency domain position of the second frequency domain resource allocation range according to reference information, wherein the reference information comprises at least one (alternative form) of the following: a frequency domain resource boundary at which the control channel is located; a frequency domain resource boundary configured by a network side; Yu in the same field of endeavor teaches paragraphs 0079-0082, 0097and figs. 1 and 3 of a terminal determining frequency domain position based on SSB reference information corresponding to a frequency domain boundary and information including index of first OFDM symbol in the search space of the downlink control channel and position information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective date to combine the teachings of Guan in view of CMCC into the invention of Yu in order to ensure association information between SSB and search space of downlink control channel mode is effectively configured.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHIRAG G SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477