DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 6, ”pf” should be amended to “of”.
Claim 13, line 5 it recites “cause the electronic device to scan the electronic data”. The document is scanned and not the electronic data. Electronic data is the output of scanning.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
!!!CLAIMS 4-5, 11-12 ARE NOT REJECTED BY DOUBLE PATENTING!!!
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 11, 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11907597 to Yamada (‘597). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1
Claim 1 of ‘597
Claim 1. An operation device comprising:
circuitry configured to:
display a first screen to cause one storage area to be selected from one or more storage areas of an information storing apparatus;
1. An operation device, the operation device including an application providing a scanning and uploading function, the operation device comprising:
circuitry configured to:
display a first screen to receive a selection of one storage area (reads on cause one storage area to select) from one or more storage areas of an information storing apparatus;
receive a selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
receive the selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
send, to an electronic device, a first request to cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device;
send, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code, a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning, process; wherein the scan data (electronic data) is generated by the one electronic device based on the request; (scanning provides input of electronic data);
receive the electronic data sent from the electronic device in response to the first request;
receive scan data sent from the one electronic device, wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request (in response to request);
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the storage area selected via the first screen.
upload (reads on sending) the scan data received from the one electronic device to the information storing apparatus without receiving further instruction from the user after receiving the start instruction, so that the scan data generated by the one electronic device is stored in the one storage area;
receive the selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
Regarding claim 2
Claim 1, 3 of ‘597
Claim 2. The operation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
obtain identification information from the electronic device;
send, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device.
Claim 1: obtain, by reading from a QR code taken by the camera, address information (identification information) for communicating with one electronic device among a plurality of electronic devices to execute a scanning process;
claim 3. The operation device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to: obtain the address information from the one electronic device via infrared communication, Bluetooth or NFC.
Claim 1; send, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code (identification information), a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning, process;
wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request; (scanning provides input of electronic data);
Regarding claim 3
Claim 3 of ‘597
Claim 3. The operation device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
obtain the identification information from the electronic device via infrared communication, Bluetooth or NFC.
3. The operation device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to: obtain the address information (identification information) from the one electronic device via infrared communication, Bluetooth or NFC.
Regarding claim 6
Claim 1 of ‘597
Claim 6. The operation device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the electronic data are scan data, and
wherein the circuitry is configured to:
send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic device to perform a scan; and
receive the scan data created by and sent from the electronic device in response to the first request.
send, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code, a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning, process;
receive scan data sent from the one electronic device,
wherein the scan data is generated (created) by the one electronic device based on the request (in response to the first request);
Regarding claim 8
Claim 11 of ‘597
Claim 8. An method comprising steps of:
displaying a first screen to cause one storage area to be selected from one or more storage areas of an information storing apparatus;
11. A method comprising steps of: displaying a first screen to receive a selection (cause one storage area to be selected) of one storage area from one or more storage areas of an information storing apparatus;
receiving a selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
receiving the selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
sending, to an electronic device, a first request to cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device;
sending, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code, a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process;
wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request; (scan execution and scan data generation reads on electronic data to be input)
receiving the electronic data sent from the electronic device in response to the first request;
receiving scan data (electronic data) sent from the one electronic device, wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request (in response to request);
controlling sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the storage area selected via the first screen.
uploading (sending) the scan data received from the one electronic device to the information storing apparatus without receiving further instruction from the user after receiving the start instruction, so that the scan data generated by the one electronic device is stored in the one storage area;
receiving the selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
Regarding claim 9
Claims 11 and 12 of ‘597
Claim 9. The method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising:
obtaining identification information of the electronic device from the electronic device,
wherein the step of sending the first request comprises a step of sending, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device.
Claim 11: obtaining, by reading from a QR code taken by the camera, address information (identification information) for communicating with one electronic device
Claim 12: obtaining the address information of the one electronic device from the one electronic device,
Claim 11: sending, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code (specified by the identification information), a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process; wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request (scan execution and scan data generation reads on electronic data to be input)
Regarding claim 10, see rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 13
Claim 11 of ‘597
Claim 13. The method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the step of sending the first request comprises a step of sending, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic device to scan the electronic data; and
wherein the step pf receiving the electronic data comprises a step of receiving the scanned electronic data created by and sent from the electronic device in response to the first request.
sending, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code, a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process;
wherein the scan data (electronic data) is generated by the one electronic device based on the request;
receiving scan data sent from the one electronic device, wherein the scan data is generated (created) by the one electronic device based on the request (in response to first request);
Claims 7, 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 11, 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11907597 to Yamada (‘597) in view of US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr.
Regarding claim 7, Yamada ‘597 does not disclose the operation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more storage areas are one or more folders, and
wherein the circuitry is configured to:
display the first screen to cause one folder to be selected from one or more folders as the one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus;
receive the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen; and control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen.
Bahr discloses wherein the one or more storage areas are one or more folders (column 10, lines 39-43; index path (one or more storage areas) can be subdirectory (folder) in the server), and
wherein the circuitry is configured to (column 5, lines 40-55; client device 10 includes processor/memory circuitry):
display the first screen to cause one folder to be selected from one or more folders as the one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
receive the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selects index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28); and
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen (column 12, lines 56-67; in s22 client device sends the document data received to the server to store document data at the selected subdirectory for storing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yamada ‘597 as taught by Bahr to provide display of folder for selection on a screen for storing scan data.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide option for user to select remote storage locations of scan data such as folder existing on servers without having to store the scan data at the operation device wherein scan data can be stored in server in different formats such as individual pages or as multipage files (column 10, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 14, Bahr discloses the method as claimed in claim 8,
wherein the step of displaying the first screen comprises a step of displaying the first screen to cause the one folder to be selected from one or more folders of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data),
wherein the step of receiving the selection comprises a step of receiving the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selects index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28), and
wherein the step of controlling sending the electronic data comprises a step of controlling sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen (column 12, lines 56-67; in s22 client device sends the document data received to the server to store document data at the selected subdirectory for storing).
Claim 15-17, 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11907597 to Yamada in view of US 20120019858 to Sato.
Regarding claim 15
Claim 19 of ‘597
Claim 15. A system in which an operation device, and an electronic device are connected with each other via a network,
A system in which an operation device and an electronic device are connected with each other via a network,
wherein the operation device comprising:
a first circuitry configured to:
display a first screen to cause one storage area to be selected from one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus;
wherein the operation device comprises: a first circuitry configured to:
display a first screen to receive a selection of one storage area (reads on cause one storage area to be selected) from one or more storage areas of an information storing apparatus;
receive a selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
receive the selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
send, to an electronic device, a first request to cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device;
send, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code, a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process;
wherein the scan data (electronic data) is generated by the one electronic device based on the request; (scan execution and scan data generation reads on electronic data to be input)
receive the electronic data sent from the electronic device in response to the first request; and
receive scan data sent from the one electronic device, wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request (in response to the first request);
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the storage area selected via the first screen,
upload (sending) the scan data received from the one electronic device to the information storing apparatus without receiving, further instruction from the user after receiving the start instruction, so that the scan data generated by the one electronic device is stored in the one storage area;
receive the selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen;
the electronic device comprising:
a second circuitry configured to:
cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device in response to the first request received from the operation device; and
the one electronic device comprises: a second circuitry configured to: cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process after the request received (in response) from the operation device, the scan data being generated by the scanning process (scan execution and scan data generation reads on electronic data to be input)
send the electronic data to the operation device.
send the scan data to the operation device.
However Yamada ‘597 does not disclose a system in which an operation device, an information storing apparatus and an electronic device are connected with each other via a network.
Sato discloses the operation device, an information storing apparatus and an electronic device are connected with each other via a network (paragraph 37-38; handheld device (operation device), server (information storing apparatus) and image forming apparatus (electronic device) are connected to network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yamada ‘597 as taught by Sato to provide connection of all the devices via a single network.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide wireless network for the operation device so that it can send scan commands wirelessly to the image forming apparatus (electronic device) and also send scan data to the server wirelessly providing convenience and mobility to the user (paragraph 43, 46, 98).
Regarding claim 16
Claim 19, 20 of ‘597
Claim 16. The system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
obtain identification information from the electronic device;
send, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device.
Claim 19: obtain, by reading from a QR code taken by the camera, address information (identification information) for communicating with one electronic device
claim 20: obtain the address information from the one electronic device;
claim 19: send, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code (electronic device specified by the identification information), a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process; wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request; (scan execution and scan data generation reads on electronic data to be input)
Regarding claim 17
Claim 21 of ‘597
Claim 17. The system as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the second circuitry is configured to:
display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using a camera;
wherein the second circuitry is configured to:
display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using the camera;
wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
obtain identification information from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen; and
send, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device.
the first circuitry is configured to:
obtain address information (identification information) from the two-dimensional code photographed from the second screen; and send, to the one electronic device specified by the address information obtained from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen, the request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process. (scan execution and scan data generation reads on electronic data to be input)
Regarding claim 19
Claim 19 of ‘597
Claim 19. The system as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the second circuity is configured to create scan data by performing a scan, and
wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic device to perform the scan; and
receive the scan data created by and sent from the electronic device in response to the first request.
a second circuitry configured to:
cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process after the request received from the operation device, the scan data being generated (created) by the scanning process;
a first circuitry configured to:
send, to the one electronic device specified by the QR code, a request to cause the one electronic device to execute the scanning process; receive scan data sent from the one electronic device, wherein the scan data is generated by the one electronic device based on the request;
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11907597 to Yamada in view of US 20120019858 to Sato further in view of US 20120008161 to Rouhana.
Regarding claim 18, Yamada ‘597 discloses the system as claimed in claim 17, wherein the second circuitry is configured to display the two-dimensional code, photographed via the second screen (claim 21: display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using the camera).
However Yamada ‘597 does not disclose the two-dimensional code displayed on an operation panel of the electronic device.
Rouhana discloses the two-dimensional code displayed on an operation panel of the electronic device (paragraph 28, 39; QR code displayed on user interface (second screen) of the MFP 140 (electronic device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yamada ‘597 as taught by Rouhana to acquire electronic device identification information using QR code.
The motivation to combine the references is to automate the workflow such as scan jobs using QR code that store address information that facilitates the display of website related to the workflow simply by capturing the displayed QR code and perform rendering of the workflow for the jobs (paragraph 39, 42-43).
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11907597 to Yamada (‘597) in view of US 20120019858 to Sato further in view of US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr.
Regarding claim 20, Yamada ‘597 does not disclose the system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the one or more storage areas are one or more folders, and wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
display the first screen to cause one folder to be selected from one or more folders as the one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus;
receive the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen; and
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen.
Bahr discloses wherein the one or more storage areas are one or more folders (column 10, lines 39-43; index path (one or more storage areas) can be subdirectory (folder) in the server), and
wherein the first circuitry is configured to (column 5, lines 40-55; client device 10 includes processor/memory circuitry):
display the first screen to cause one folder to be selected from one or more folders as the one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
receive the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selects index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28); and
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen (column 12, lines 56-67; in s22 client device sends the document data received to the server to store document data at the selected subdirectory for storing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yamada ‘597 as taught by Bahr to provide display of folder for selection on a screen for storing scan data.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide option for user to select remote storage locations of scan data such as folder existing on servers without having to store the scan data at the operation device wherein scan data can be stored in server in different formats such as individual pages or as multipage files (column 10, lines 39-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr.
Regarding claim 1, Bahr discloses an operation device comprising (column 7, lines 10-15; client device (operation device)):
circuitry configured to (column 5, lines 40-55; client device 10 includes processor/memory circuitry):
display a first screen to cause one storage area to be selected from one or more storage areas of an information storing apparatus(column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user can select index path in step s19 for specifying one storage area in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
receive a selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen(column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path in step s19 is received for specifying one storage area in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
send, to an electronic device, a first request to cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device(column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40);
receive the electronic data sent from the electronic device in response to the first request(column 12, lines 1-20; client device receives the document data (scan data) from scanner after the scanning process in response to scan start signal);
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the storage area selected via the first screen(column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 46-67; in step s19 user selects the index path (storage area) via inputting the index data 41 in screen (first screen) shown in Fig. 3; index path is information specifying the path in the server to store the scan data; in step s22, the document data (scan data) is sent to the server to be stored at the selected index path).
Regarding claim 6, Bahr discloses the operation device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the electronic data are scan data (column 12, lines 1-20; client device receives the document data (scan data) from scanner after the scanning process), and
wherein the circuitry is configured to:
send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic device to perform a scan (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40); and
receive the scan data created by and sent from the electronic device in response to the first request (column 12, lines 1-20; client device receives the document data (scan data) from scanner after the scanning process in response to scan start signal).
Regarding claim 7, Bahr discloses the operation device as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the one or more storage areas are one or more folders (column 10, lines 39-43; index path (one or more storage areas) can be subdirectory (folder) in the server), and
wherein the circuitry is configured to:
display the first screen to cause one folder to be selected from one or more folders as the one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
receive the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selects index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28); and
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen (column 12, lines 56-67; in s22 client device sends the document data received to the server to store document data at the selected subdirectory for storing).
Regarding Claim 8, see rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Bahr discloses the method as claimed in claim 8,
wherein the step of sending the first request comprises a step of sending, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic device to scan the electronic data (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40); and
wherein the step pf receiving the electronic data comprises a step of receiving the scanned electronic data created by and sent from the electronic device in response to the first request (column 12, lines 1-20; client device receives the document data (scan data) from scanner after the scanning process in response to scan start signal).
Regarding claim 14, Bahr discloses the method as claimed in claim 8,
wherein the step of displaying the first screen comprises a step of displaying the first screen to cause the one folder to be selected from one or more folders of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data),
wherein the step of receiving the selection comprises a step of receiving the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selects index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28), and
wherein the step of controlling sending the electronic data comprises a step of controlling sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen (column 12, lines 56-67; in s22 client device sends the document data received to the server to store document data at the selected subdirectory for storing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2-3, 9-10 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr in view of US 20090033972 to Kato.
Regarding claim 2, Bahr discloses the operation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to: send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40).
However Bahr does not disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to: obtain identification information from the electronic device;
send, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device, the first request.
Kato discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to (paragraph 31-32; mobile device 200): obtain identification information from the electronic device (paragraph 82-83; mobile device obtains MFP ID from the MFP 400 (electronic device) using NFC 600 of the MFP);
send, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device, the first request (paragraph 83-84; mobile device sends print data (second request) to the MFP using the MFP ID (specified) obtained).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by Kato to modify the operation device such that it can acquire device identification data from the electronic device.
The motivation to combine the references is to acquire communication information including IP address to be used as identification data that can be used to specify the target electronic device that the operation device want to communicate with by using near field communication (paragraph 78, 83-84).
Regarding Claim 3, Kato discloses the operation device as claimed in claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
obtain the identification information from the electronic device via infrared communication, Bluetooth or NFC (paragraph 32, 78, 82-83; mobile device obtains the MFP ID (IP address) using NFC 600 (wireless) of the MFP).
Regarding claim 9, Bahr discloses the method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising:
wherein the step of sending the first request comprises a step of sending, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40). Further Kato discloses obtaining identification information of the electronic device from the electronic device, wherein the step of sending the first request comprises a step of sending, to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device, the first request (paragraph 32, 78, 82-83; mobile device obtains the MFP ID (IP address) of MFP using NFC 600 (wireless) of the MFP; print data (first request) sent to the MFP specified by the MFP ID).
Regarding claim 10, see rejection of claim 3.
Claim 4-5, 11-12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr in view of US 20120173347 to De Almeida further in view of US 20120008161 to Rouhana.
Regarding Claim 4, Bahr discloses the operation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to:
send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device(column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40).
However Bahr does not disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to:
display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using a camera;
obtain information from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen.
De Almeida discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to (paragraph 68; CPU):
display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using a camera; obtain information from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen (paragraph 6; 2D barcodes; paragraph 64-67, 93-95; when portable device is activated it displays a second screen shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 for capturing the barcode that includes the barcode as another screen including rectangle frame 210; decoded information is obtained from capturing the barcode while display second screen of Fig. 2 is displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by De Almeida to provide assistance information on display for capturing two-dimensional code.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide guidance including displaying frames around the two-dimensional code to assist the user during capturing of the two-dimensional code via the operation device (paragraph 64-67).
De Almeida discloses two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen. However Bahr in view of De Almeida does not disclose the identification information obtained from the two-dimensional code photographed, sending to the electronic device specified by the identification information a request.
Rouhana discloses the identification information obtained from the two-dimensional code photographed (paragraph 42-43; after photographing the QR code, the address information of the MFP 140 is obtained and the mobile device specifies the MFP 140 by accessing “landing page” associated with MFP 140) sending to the electronic device specified by the identification information a request (paragraph 43; submitting jobs (request) based on address of MFP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by Rouhana to acquire electronic device identification information using QR code.
The motivation to combine the references is to automate the workflow such as scan jobs using QR code that store address information that facilitates the display of website related to the workflow simply by capturing the displayed QR code and perform rendering of the workflow for the jobs (paragraph 39, 42-43).
Regarding Claim 5, De Almeida discloses the operation device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the two-dimensional code, photographed via the second screen (paragraph 64-67, 93-95; when portable device is activated it displays a screen shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 for capturing the barcode as another screen including rectangle frame 210; decoded information is obtained from capturing the barcode while display of Fig. 2 is displayed) and Rouhana discloses the two-dimensional code is displayed on an operation panel of the electronic device (paragraph 28, 39; QR code displayed on user interface (second screen) of the MFP 140 (electronic device)).
Regarding claim 11, see rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection of claim 5.
Claim 15, 19, 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr in view of US 20120019858 to Sato.
Regarding claim 15, Bahr discloses a system in which an operation device, an information storing apparatus and an electronic device are connected (see Fig. 1 showing system including client device 10 (operation device), server 28/29 (information storing apparatus) and scanner (electronic device) are connected each other directly and indirectly (scanner)),
wherein the operation device comprising:
a first circuitry configured to (column 5, lines 40-55; client device 10 includes processor/memory circuitry):
display a first screen to cause one storage area to be selected from one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user can select index path in step s19 for specifying one storage area in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data) ;
receive a selection of the one storage area from the one or more storage areas via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path in step s19 is received for specifying one storage area in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
send, to an electronic device, a first request to cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (second request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40);
receive the electronic data sent from the electronic device in response to the first request (column 12, lines 1-20; client device receives the document data (scan data) from scanner after the scanning process in response to scan start signal); and
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the storage area selected via the first screen (column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 46-67; in step s19 user selects the index path (storage area) via inputting the index data 41 in screen (first screen) shown in Fig. 3; index path is information specifying the path in the server to store the scan data; in step s22, the document data (scan data) is uploaded to the server to be stored at the selected index path),
the electronic device comprising:
a second circuitry configured to (column 7, lines 1-10; scanner (electronic device)):
cause electronic data to be input to the electronic device in response to the first request received from the operation device (column 12, lines 1-15; scanner scans document in response to receiving the scan start signal (second request) from client to input document data (scan data) in scanner); and
send the electronic data to the operation device (column 12, lines 1-20; scanner sends document data to the client).
However Bahr does not disclose the operation device, an information storing apparatus and an electronic device are connected with each other via a network.
Sato discloses the operation device, an information storing apparatus and an electronic device are connected with each other via a network (paragraph 37-38; handheld device (operation device), server (information storing apparatus) and image forming apparatus (electronic device) are connected to network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by Sato to provide connection of all the devices via a single network.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide wireless network for the operation device so that it can send scan commands wirelessly to the image forming apparatus (electronic device) and also send scan data to the server wirelessly providing convenience and mobility to the user (paragraph 43, 46, 98).
Regarding claim 19, Bahr discloses the system as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the second circuity is configured to create scan data by performing a scan (column 12, lines 1-20; (scan data) generated by scanner after the scanning process), and wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic device to perform the scan (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40); and
receive the scan data created by and sent from the electronic device in response to the first request (column 12, lines 1-20; client device receives the document data (scan data) from scanner after the scanning process in response to scan start signal).
Regarding claim 20, Bahr discloses the system as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the one or more storage areas are one or more folders (column 10, lines 39-43; index path (one or more storage areas) can be subdirectory (folder) in the server), and
wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
display the first screen to cause one folder to be selected from one or more folders as the one or more storage areas of the information storing apparatus (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selection of index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28 (information storing apparatus) for storing the received scan image data);
receive the selection of the one folder from the one or more folders via the first screen (column 9, lines 10-20; column 10, lines 30-45; column 12, lines 45-67; on display screen shown in Fig. 3 (first screen), the user selects index path including subdirectory (folder) in step s19 is received for specifying folder in the server 28); and
control sending the electronic data received from the electronic device to the information storing apparatus so that the electronic data is stored in the folder selected via the first screen (column 12, lines 56-67; in s22 client device sends the document data received to the server to store document data at the selected subdirectory for storing).
Claim 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr in view of US 20120019858 to Sato in view of US 20090033972 to Kato.
Regarding claim 16, Bahr discloses the system as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first circuitry is configured to: send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40).
However Bahr does not disclose wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
obtain identification information from the electronic device;
send to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device the first request.
Kato discloses wherein the first circuitry is configured to (paragraph 31-32; mobile device 200):
obtain identification information from the electronic device (paragraph 82-83; mobile device obtains MFP ID from the MFP 400 (electronic device) using NFC 600 of the MFP);
send to the electronic device specified by the identification information obtained from the electronic device the first request (paragraph 83-84; mobile device sends print data (first request) to the MFP using the MFP ID (specified) obtained).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by Kato to modify the operation device such that it can acquire device identification data from the electronic device.
The motivation to combine the references is to acquire communication information including IP address to be used as identification data that can be used to specify the target electronic device that the operation device want to communicate with by using near field communication (paragraph 78, 83-84).
Claim 17-18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 7765271 to Bahr in view of US 20120019858 to Sato in view of US 20120173347 to De Almeida further in view of US 20120008161 to Rouhana.
Regarding claim 17, Bahr discloses the system as claimed in claim 15,
wherein the second circuitry is configured to:
send, to the electronic device, the first request to cause the electronic data to be input to the electronic device (column 9, lines 18-32; column 11, lines 46-67; column 12, lines 1-10; when user selects the “iCopy” button a scan start signal (first request) is sent to the scanner (electronic device) to cause the scanner to scan document and generate document data 40).
However Bahr does not disclose wherein the first circuitry is configured to:
display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using a camera;
obtain information from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen.
De Almeida discloses wherein the first circuitry is configured to (paragraph 68; CPU):
display a second screen including a two-dimensional code to be photographed using a camera; obtain information from the two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen (paragraph 6; 2D barcodes; paragraph 64-67, 93-95; when portable device is activated it displays a second screen shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 for capturing the barcode that includes the barcode as another screen including rectangle frame 210; decoded information is obtained from capturing the barcode while display second screen of Fig. 2 is displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by De Almeida to provide assistance information on display for capturing two-dimensional code.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide guidance including displaying frames around the two-dimensional code to assist the user during capturing of the two-dimensional code via the operation device (paragraph 64-67).
De Almeida discloses two-dimensional code photographed via the second screen . However Bahr in view of De Almeida does not disclose the identification information obtained from the two-dimensional code photographed, sending to the electronic device specified by the identification information a first request.
Rouhana discloses the identification information obtained from the two-dimensional code photographed (paragraph 42-43; after photographing the QR code, the address information of the MFP 140 is obtained and the mobile device specifies the MFP 140 by accessing “landing page” associated with MFP 140) sending to the electronic device specified by the identification information a first request (paragraph 43; submitting jobs (request) based on address of MFP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Bahr as taught by Rouhana to acquire electronic device identification information using QR code.
The motivation to combine the references is to automate the workflow such as scan jobs using QR code that store address information that facilitates the display of website related to the workflow simply by capturing the displayed QR code and perform rendering of the workflow for the jobs (paragraph 39, 42-43).
Regarding claim 18, De Almeida discloses the system as claimed in claim 17, wherein the second circuitry is configured to display the two-dimensional code, photographed via the second screen (paragraph 6; 2D barcodes; paragraph 64-67, 93-95; when portable device is activated it displays a second screen shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 for capturing the barcode that includes the barcode as another screen including rectangle frame 210; decoded information is obtained from capturing the barcode while display second screen of Fig. 2 is displayed), and Rouhana discloses wherein it is displayed on an operation panel of the electronic device (paragraph 28, 39; QR code displayed on user interface (second screen) of the MFP 140 (electronic device)).
Other Prior Art Cited
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20050174606 to Matsueda discloses scan systems that sends scan commands and stores scan data in folders.
US 20110096360 to Fujita discloses scan system including connection apparatus controlling scanner device and file servers for storing scan data.
US 20100321728 to Shibao discloses scan system that uses profile data to setup scan jobs.
US 9035958 to Gopalasamy discloses scan system that transmits electronic documents scanned to select destinations.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
08/21/2026