DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 33, line 23, the unit of pressure (kP) is unknown, should be changed to –kPa--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: the unit of pressure (kP) is unknown, should be changed to –kPa--. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/887,258 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope overlaps. Note that the process steps of the current application are broader than that of the reference application and thus the claims of the reference application could be used to reject the claims of the current application. Note also that the dependent claims of reference application are the same or at the very least in eth scope than eth dependent claims of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/011,926 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope overlaps. Note that the process steps of the current application are broader than that of the reference application and thus the claims of the reference application could be used to reject the claims of the current application. Note also that the dependent claims of reference application are the same or at the very least in eth scope than eth dependent claims of the current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope overlaps. Note that the process steps of the current application are broader than that of the reference application and thus the claims of the reference application could be used to reject the claims of the current application. Note also that the dependent claims of reference application are the same or at the very least in eth scope than eth dependent claims of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eklund et al., (hereafter Eklund), US Patent 3,620,911 in view of Hurter et al., (hereafter Hurter), US patent No. 6,302,997 and further in view of Xu, WO 2005/042830 Al (all of them cited in the IDS filed on January 16, 2025).
With regard to claims 1 and 4, 10, Eklund teaches a method of making a non-woody pulp including the steps of, (see column 1, lines 60-75 and column 4, lines 4-9 for the optional bleaching ):
a) providing a non-wood material;
b) cutting the non-wood material; (the material is pre-cut before being employed in the process. The material is manually cut; see example 1 on column 4, lines 40-42);
c) compressing and macerating the cut material; (the shredding of the wet non-woody material);
d) impregnation of the bagasse with a caustic solution; (the dewatering and impregnation with an alkali metal hydroxide);
e) Cooking the impregnated bagasse to extract the fibers;
f) Optionally Bleaching the fiber/pulp.
The primary reference fails to explicitly teach the use of Asparagaceae family of the non-woody plants, but teaches that other non-wood can be used; see column 2, lines 1-5. However, Hurter teaches that pulps can be made using sugar cane (bagasse) and other non-wood plants including Hesperaloe; see table on column 1, lines 25 through 33 and column 5, lines 31-36. Therefore, using Hesperaloe in the process taught by Eklund would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if such non-wood plan were used to make papermaking pulps as suggested by Hurter. The other difference is the mechanical pulping step of the impregnated bagasse, since Eklund uses a chemical process. However, the use of mechanical processing steps instead of a chemical cooking to obtain the pulp is considered an obvious design choice, since such processes are known in the art as evidenced by Hurter; column 3, lines 39-52 and Xu that teaches a chemical-mechanical pulping with a refiner flown line treatment as the ones claimed; see abstract and the Summary of the invention expanding from page 2 through page 3.
Regarding to claims 2-3, Hurter teaches the cutting of the non-wood into pieces of 2 to 4 inches, but the cut size/length would depend on the type of conveyors and feed screws used; see column 11, lines 10-12, and therefore cutting the pieces to the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since it depends on the type of non-wood and the tool used for the cut.
With regard to claims 5-6 and 9-12, Xu teaches that using alkaline peroxide, in a mechanical pulping system (APMP) before, during or after the refining, is well-known in the art; see page 1, lines 1-2 of the Background of the Invention. The alkaline peroxide consists of a mixture of hydroxide/caustic, a hydrogen peroxide and usually a stabilizer, which silicate is commonly used1. Xu also teaches the mixing of the alkaline peroxide through blow line; see for example, page 7, lines 7-9 and teaches temperature within the claimed range, i.e., at least 80 ºC; see page 7, end of the first full paragraph.
Regarding to claims 7-8, Xu teaches the use of a refiner operating at pressure falling within the claimed range, since Xu teaches that the refiner operates at pressure higher that 45 psi (310 kPa) at the high pressure refiner and lower than 45 psi (310 kPa) at the low pressure refiner; see page 8, lines 1-9. Xu also teaches that the consistency of the bagasse falls within the claimed range; see page 7, at the end of the first paragraph, which teaches that “Prior to entry into the separator the pulp may have a consistency of about 20% to about 60% and a temperature of about 80°C to about 155°C.,” which indicates that the bagasse in the refiner is at that consistency range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Method of Making Non-Wood Pulp a Dispersible Non-Wood Pulp.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 See ¶-[0061] of US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0095491 A1, which also teaches the use of the alkaline peroxide on non-wood fibers/pulp.