DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-16, and 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winden (Pub. No. US 2015/0124098 A1; hereafter Winden) in view of Chang (Pub. No. US 2007/0183026 A1; hereafter Chang).
Regarding claim 1, Winden discloses a method for assembling an imager assembly for a vehicular camera, the method comprising: providing an imager printed circuit board (imager PCB), wherein the imager PCB comprises a first side and a second side opposite the first side and separated from the first side by a thickness of the imager PCB (see Winden Figs. 5 and 6, item 112), and wherein an imager is disposed at the first side of the imager PCB (see Winden Fig. 6, item 120); providing a cylindrical structure having a passageway therethrough (see Winden Fig. 6, item 114); attaching the cylindrical structure to the imager PCB such that the imager disposed at the first side of the imager PCB faces the passageway (see Winden Figs. 6 and 7A, items 120 and 114); providing a lens barrel accommodating a lens, the lens barrel having an inner end (see Winden Fig. 6, item 116), wherein the lens barrel comprises a radial protrusion (see Winden Fig. 6, note flange of barrel 116); adjusting the lens barrel relative to the cylindrical structure to align the imager and the lens (see Winden Fig. 5); and with the lens aligned relative to the imager, securing the lens barrel relative to the imager PCB (see Winden paragraph [0035] “This connecting member or bonding material or element must also have a means of being permanently fixed once the desired position is found.”).
Winden does not disclose providing a lens holder, wherein the lens holder comprises a slot extending longitudinally and partially along the lens holder from an engaging end of the lens holder; disposing the lens barrel at least partially within the lens holder, wherein, with the lens barrel at least partially disposed within the lens holder, the radial protrusion of the lens barrel is received within the slot of the lens holder; disposing the engaging end of the lens holder at the cylindrical structure, and wherein, with the engaging end of the lens holder disposed at the cylindrical structure, the imager at the first side of the imager PCB faces the lens accommodated by the lens barrel; with the engaging end of the lens holder disposed at the cylindrical structure, while adjusting the lens barrel relative to the cylindrical structure to align the imager and the lens, (i) the radial protrusion of the lens barrel is movable within the slot of the lens holder and (ii) the lens holder is movable relative to the cylindrical structure; and with the lens aligned relative to the imager, securing the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure and securing the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder to secure the lens barrel relative to the imager PCB.
Chang discloses providing a lens holder, wherein the lens holder comprises a slot extending longitudinally and partially along the lens holder from an engaging end of the lens holder (see Chang Fig. 3, items 10 and 123); disposing the lens barrel at least partially within the lens holder (see Chang Fig. 3, items 10 and 40), wherein, with the lens barrel at least partially disposed within the lens holder, the radial protrusion of the lens barrel is received within the slot of the lens holder (see Chang Fig. 3, item 45. See also paragraph [0024] “plurality of guide components 45 provided on the second lens barrel 41 and passing through the guide slots 123”); disposing the engaging end of the lens holder at the cylindrical structure (see Chang Fig. 3, either items 20 or 30 can be construed as a cylindrical structure), with the engaging end of the lens holder disposed at the cylindrical structure, while adjusting the lens barrel relative to the cylindrical structure to align the imager and the lens, (i) the radial protrusion of the lens barrel is movable within the slot of the lens holder and (ii) the lens holder is movable relative to the cylindrical structure (see Chang Fig. 3, items 23 and 123, which the protrusions 45 slide in while focusing); [claim 2] wherein the lens barrel comprises two radial protrusions diametrically opposing one another, and wherein the lens holder comprises two slots diametrically opposing one another, and wherein the lens barrel is disposed at least partially within the lens holder such that the two radial protrusions of the lens barrel are disposed within the respective two slots of the lens holder (see Chang Figs. 3 and 4, item 45 and 123. Fig. 4 shows them diametrically opposed. Even if in Fig. 3 it is unclear that they are diametrically opposed, the disclosure of Chang would at least render obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that diametrically opposing positions like that in Fig. 4 is an obvious configuration.); [claim 4] wherein the engaging end of the lens holder is secured to the second end of the cylindrical structure to join the lens holder with the cylindrical structure (see Chang Fig. 3, items 14 and 212); [claim 13] wherein the engaging end of the lens holder is secured to the cylindrical structure before the radial protrusion is secured within the slot of the lens holder (see Chang Figs. 4 and 5, which show that the device is movable when the holder and the cylinder are secured) [claim 14] wherein, with the engaging end of the lens holder secured to the cylindrical structure, the radial protrusion is movable within the slot to align the imager and the lens (see Chang Figs. 4 and 5, which show that the device is movable when the holder and the cylinder are secured).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the imaging device of Winden with a lens adjustment structure like that in Chang in order to enable the device of Winden to accurately move the lens in the optical axis direction while setting the focus of the lens barrel.
Chang does not discuss a PCB or specific imaging unit, and therefore does not specifically address that with the engaging end of the lens holder disposed at the cylindrical structure, the imager at the first side of the imager PCB faces the lens accommodated by the lens barrel; and with the lens aligned relative to the imager, securing the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure and securing the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder to secure the lens barrel relative to the imager PCB.
However, in combination with the teaching of Winden, when combined, the engaging end of the lens holder would be aligned with the cylindrical structure, and as taught by Winden, the cylindrical structure is aligned with the imager, so the apparatus would have the lens in the lens holder aligned with the imager in order to establish a clear and focused image. Similarly, Winden discloses that when the optical system is aligned, the position of the lens barrel is secured by fixing the position of the protrusion (see Winden paragraph [0035]), so in combination the teaching of Winden in view of Chang would have the lens barrel secured to the structure so that the position of the lens barrel is fixed. It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to fix the protrusions in the slot when the lens barrel was properly aligned so as to secure the device in the proper focus position, as taught by Winden.
Regarding claim 3, Winden as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein attaching the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB comprises attaching a first end of the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB, and wherein the engaging end of the lens holder engages the cylindrical structure at a second end of the cylindrical structure opposite the first end (see Winden Fig. 5, note that the cylindrical structure is attached to the PCB on one side and the lens barrel on the other. In combination with Chang the lens barrel would also comprise the lens holder taught by Chang).
Regarding claim 5, Winden as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein attaching the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB comprises attaching the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB via at least one fastener (see Winden Fig. 5, item 136).
Regarding claim 6, Winden as modified discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one fastener comprises at least one threaded fastener (see Winden Fig. 5, item 136).
Regarding claim 7, Winden as modified discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one fastener comprises at least two fasteners (see Winden Fig. 5, item 136).
Regarding claim 15, Winden as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein an electrical connector extends from the imager PCB for electrically connecting the imager assembly to circuitry of the vehicular camera (see Winden paragraph [0036] “vehicular camera 110 may further be configured to transmit the video input to other vehicular devices.” While Winden does not specifically disclose that the PCB has an electrical connector, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that such a connector was necessary to connect the camera to the vehicle to achieve the data transmission contemplated by Winden.).
Regarding claim 16, Winden discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the imager PCB is configured to attach at structure of the vehicular camera via at least one fastener (see Winden Fig. 5, item 136).
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is substantially the same as claim 1, with the addition of the limitations of claims 15 and 16, rejected above, and is therefore similarly rejected.
Claims 27-33 are substantially the same as claims 3, 6, 7, and 11-14, respectively, and are therefore similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 9, 17-23, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winden in view of Chang and Shangguan et al. (Pub. No. US 2007/0058964 A1; hereafter Shangguan).
Claim 17 is substantially the same as claim 1, rejected in view of Winden and Chang, above, the rejections of those limitations will therefore not be repeated here. Claim 17 also presents the additional limitations of welding the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure; wherein, with the engaging end of the lens holder welded to the cylindrical structure, the radial protrusion is movable within the slot to align the imager and the lens; and with engaging end of the lens holder welded to the cylindrical structure, and with the lens aligned relative to the imager, welding the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder to secure the lens barrel relative to the imager PCB.
Winden discloses providing a UV curing adhesive to fix the components into position once the components are all aligned, and Chang discloses fixing the lens holder to the cylindrical structure while the radial protrusions are still movable within the slot to align the lens, but Winden in view of Chang do not specifically disclose welding the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure; wherein, with the engaging end of the lens holder welded to the cylindrical structure, the radial protrusion is movable within the slot to align the imager and the lens; and with engaging end of the lens holder welded to the cylindrical structure, and with the lens aligned relative to the imager, welding the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder to secure the lens barrel relative to the imager PCB.
Shangguan discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed that the components could be fixed via an adhesive or “by any suitable alternative means (e.g., a thermal weld, fastener, etc.)” (see Shangguan paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the components could have been fixed into position, as taught by Winden, using a welding technique instead of an adhesive, as taught by Shangguan, as a simple substitution of one known method for another to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claims 18-23 are substantially identical to claims 2, 3, and 5-8, respectively, and are therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 9 and 34, Winden as modified discloses the methods of claims 1 and 26, respectively, but does not specifically disclose that securing the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure and securing the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder comprises welding the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure and welding the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder.
Winden discloses providing a UV curing adhesive to fix the components into position once the components are all aligned, but does not disclose welding.
Shangguan discloses that it was well known in the art at the time the invention was filed that the components could be fixed via an adhesive or “by any suitable alternative means (e.g., a thermal weld, fastener, etc.)” (see Shangguan paragraph [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the components could have been fixed into position, as taught by Winden, using a welding technique instead of an adhesive, as taught by Shangguan, as a simple substitution of one known method for another to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winden in view of Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (U.S. Patent No. 10,274,812 B1; hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 8, Winden as modified disclose the method of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose that attaching the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB comprises adhesively attaching a first end of the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB, and wherein the engaging end of the lens holder engages the cylindrical structure at a second end of the cylindrical structure opposite the first end.
Chen discloses attaching the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB by adhesively attaching a first end of the cylindrical structure at the imager PCB (see Chen Fig. 2, items 70 and 40), and wherein the engaging end of the lens holder engages the cylindrical structure at a second end of the cylindrical structure opposite the first end (see Chen Fig. 2, items 40 and 50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to secure the cylinder of Winden in view of Chang to the PCB using adhesive instead of the fasteners of Winden as a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Claim(s) 10, 25, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winden in view of Chang and Shangguan as applied to claims 9, 17, and 34, above, and further in view of Clifford, Jr. et al. (Pub. No. US 2006/0049154; hereafter Clifford).
Regarding claims 10, 25, and 35, Winden as modified discloses the method of claims 9 17, and 34, respectively, but does not specifically disclose that welding the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure and welding the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder comprises laser welding the engaging end of the lens holder to the cylindrical structure and laser welding the radial protrusion within the slot of the lens holder.
Shangguan discloses welding as an option, but does not specifically note laser welding.
Clifford discloses that laser welding was well known for fixing optical components (see Clifford paragraph [0006] “The present invention is directed to systems and methods which utilize laser plastic welding techniques in bonding camera assembly components after their adjustment to a desired relative position.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the components could have been fixed into position using a laser welding technique instead of an adhesive or thermal weld, as taught by Shangguan, as a simple substitution of one known method for another to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NOAM REISNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 9/17/2026