Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 108444436) in view of Gupta (US 20190250708).
Regarding claim 1 Zhang teaches a method for determining a finger joint angle (specific method for measuring the bending angle of each knuckle finger as follows:), comprising:
obtaining first sensor data relating to at least two target finger joints of a user (fig. 3, fig. 4, first, the glove together with multiple capacitive flexible dielectric sensor, where the sensor integrated with the gloves completely adhered. As shown in FIG. 4, flexible dielectric sensor arrangement needs corresponding to each position of the fingers of the finger corresponding to the forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and little finger of the first finger joints, the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three sensors. At the same time, there are adhered with two sensor the thumb first finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joint. sensor one end lead-out wire; the lead of all the sensors of the glove end collecting, through a flat cable and a measuring circuit of the next part.),
wherein the first sensor data is obtained using at least two strain sensors (Referring to FIG. 1-5, an embodiment of the present invention based on the hand posture measuring system of flexible deformation sensor, comprising a glove main body, flexible dielectric sensor, a data collecting module, a data analysis module, a joint angle and hand gesture display module and a power supply module, a flexible dielectric sensor and glove body are completely pasted, data collecting module, data analyzing module and the power supply module are integrated in the control box.),
each of the strain sensors is arranged in a glove body worn by the user and located at one of the at least two target finger joints (fig.4, claim 2, flexible deformation sensor based on the hand posture measuring system, wherein the glove main body and the hand of user, knuckle of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding with the position of each finger are arranged correspondingly. corresponding forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and little finger of the first finger joints, the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three flexible dielectric sensor, are bonded with two flexible dielectric sensor joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the first finger of the thumb; all the flexible dielectric sensor for obtaining the angle value of the finger skin by reading the elongation of corresponding knuckle, flexible dielectric sensor one end leading-out wire, lead the glove end of all flexible dielectric sensor, collecting data output by cable), and
the at least two target finger joints include at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints of the user (claim2: flexible deformation sensor based on the hand posture measuring system, wherein the glove main body and the hand of user, knuckle of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding with the position of each finger are arranged correspondingly. corresponding forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and little finger of the first finger joints, the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three flexible dielectric sensor, are bonded with two flexible dielectric sensor joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the first finger of the thumb; all the flexible dielectric sensor for obtaining the angle value of the finger skin by reading the elongation of corresponding knuckle, flexible dielectric sensor one end leading-out wire, lead the glove end of all flexible dielectric sensor, collecting data output by cable also see fig.4) and
at least two target finger joints further include at least two proximal interphalangeal joints corresponding to the at least two metacarpophalangeal joints (fig.4, the glove main body and the hand of user, knuckle of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding with the position of each finger is correspondingly arranged, corresponding to the forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and first interphalangeal joint of the little finger. the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three flexible dielectric sensor; there are adhered with two flexible dielectric sensor joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the thumb first finger; all flexible dielectric sensor for obtaining the angle value of the finger skin by reading the elongation of corresponding knuckle, flexible dielectric sensor one end leading-out wire, lead the glove end of all flexible dielectric sensor, collecting data output by cable);
obtaining a first mapping relationship, wherein the first mapping relationship reflects a relationship between sensor data corresponding to the at least two target finger joints and joint angles of the at least two target finger joints (method for measuring the bending angle of each knuckle finger as follows: step 1: to be hand of good posture wearing the glove, step 2, by the pulse width modulation circuit reading a capacitive dielectric sensor flexible dielectric value, through data collecting card sends the data read into the computer, step 3: analyzing the collected data, providing data through the filter and the peak reading downwards analysis program, step 4: through the program to calculate the angle of each joint); and
determining a first joint angle of each of the at least two target finger joints based on the first sensor data and the first mapping relationship (method for measuring the bending angle of each knuckle finger as follows: step 1: to be hand of good posture wearing the glove, step 2, by the pulse width modulation circuit reading a capacitive dielectric sensor flexible dielectric value, through data collecting card sends the data read into the computer, step 3: analyzing the collected data, providing data through the filter and the peak reading downwards analysis program, step 4: through the program to calculate the angle of each joint).
Zhang does not expressly teach for each proximal interphalangeal joint among the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, determining, based on a second mapping relationship and the first joint angle of the proximal interphalangeal joint, a second joint angle of a distal interphalangeal joint corresponding to the proximal interphalangeal joint, wherein the second mapping relationship reflects a relationship between a joint angle of the proximal interphalangeal joint and a joint angle of the distal interphalangeal joint.
However, Gupta teaches for each proximal interphalangeal joint among the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, determining, based on a second mapping relationship and the first joint angle of the proximal interphalangeal joint, a second joint angle of a distal interphalangeal joint corresponding to the proximal interphalangeal joint, wherein the second mapping relationship reflects a relationship between a joint angle of the proximal interphalangeal joint and a joint angle of the distal interphalangeal joint (fig.3, step 302-304, [0092] fig.5, [0095] [0096] fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Zhang in light of Gupta teaching so that it could include teaches for each proximal interphalangeal joint among the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, determining, based on a second mapping relationship and the first joint angle of the proximal interphalangeal joint, a second joint angle of a distal interphalangeal joint corresponding to the proximal interphalangeal joint, wherein the second mapping relationship reflects a relationship between a joint angle of the proximal interphalangeal joint and a joint angle of the distal interphalangeal joint.
The motivation is to provide a method for hand pose tracking in a virtual reality (VR) environment by a wearable device.
Claims 2-3 canceled.
Regarding claim 4 Zhang teaches wherein the at least two metacarpophalangeal joints include metacarpophalangeal joints of at least one finger of the index finger, the middle finger, or the ring finger of the user and two adjacent fingers on two sides of the at least one finger (fig.4, the glove main body and the hand of user, knuckle of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding with the position of each finger is correspondingly arranged, corresponding to the forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and first interphalangeal joint of the little finger. the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three flexible dielectric sensor; there are adhered with two flexible dielectric sensor joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the thumb first finger; all flexible dielectric sensor for obtaining the angle value of the finger skin by reading the elongation of corresponding knuckle, flexible dielectric sensor one end leading-out wire, lead the glove end of all flexible dielectric sensor, collecting data output by cable).
Regarding claim 5 Zhang teaches wherein the at least two metacarpophalangeal joints include metacarpophalangeal joints of at least one finger of the thumb or the pinky thumb of the user and one adjacent finger of the at least one finger (fig.4, the glove main body and the hand of user, knuckle of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding with the position of each finger is correspondingly arranged, corresponding to the forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and first interphalangeal joint of the little finger. the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three flexible dielectric sensor; there are adhered with two flexible dielectric sensor joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the thumb first finger; all flexible dielectric sensor for obtaining the angle value of the finger skin by reading the elongation of corresponding knuckle, flexible dielectric sensor one end leading-out wire, lead the glove end of all flexible dielectric sensor, collecting data output by cable).
Regarding claim 6 Zhang teaches wherein the at least two strain sensors include at least two first strain sensors disposed at the at least two metacarpophalangeal joints, each of the at least two first strain sensors being configured to measure a deformation (fig.4, the glove main body and the hand of user, knuckle of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding with the position of each finger is correspondingly arranged, corresponding to the forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and first interphalangeal joint of the little finger. the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three flexible dielectric sensor; there are adhered with two flexible dielectric sensor joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the thumb first finger; all flexible dielectric sensor for obtaining the angle value of the finger skin by reading the elongation of corresponding knuckle, flexible dielectric sensor one end leading-out wire, lead the glove end of all flexible dielectric sensor, collecting data output by cable, also claim 6, he flexible deformation sensor based on hand gesture-measuring method, wherein, before reading the value, flexible dielectric sensor needs to be calibrated, determining a capacitance value of each of flexible dielectric sensor corresponding to the relation of the angle of a joint).
But does not expressly teach deformation of a corresponding metacarpophalangeal joint in two degrees of freedom.
However, Gupta teaches deformation of a corresponding metacarpophalangeal joint in two degrees of freedom (fig. 5, as the hand pose can move two independent ways).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Zhang in light of Gupta teaching so that it could include teach deformation of a corresponding metacarpophalangeal joint in two degrees of freedom.
The motivation is to provide a method for hand pose tracking in a virtual reality (VR) environment by a wearable device.
Claim 7 is canceled.
Regarding claim 8 Zhang teaches wherein the at least two strain sensors include at least two second strain sensors disposed at the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, each of the second strain sensors being configured to measure a deformation of a corresponding proximal interphalangeal joint in a single degree of freedom (fig.4, invention claims a glove can be used and measuring system of hand joint can hand first finger section when moving the angle of joint and metacarpophalangeal joint between the second finger in real time measurement. glove similar to the common gloves, can be directly worn, covered on the back of the glove, the sensor glove is when each joint bent, the sensor passively follows the human back skin bending and stretching action, so as to measure the bending angle of the joint. the circuit of the invention uses the filter device and software architecture, noise caused by the input voltage and a measuring circuit environment caused by noise can be well eliminated.).
Regarding claim 10 Zhang teaches wherein the first sensor data includes decoupling data of the at least two target finger joints, the decoupling data being determined based on raw data collected by the at least two strain sensors (claim 4, claim 5).
Regarding claim 21 Zhang in view of Gupta teach wherein the second mapping relationship is represented by a mapping function (Gupta: [0085] [0086]) or a trained machine learning model.
Regarding claim 23 Zhang teaches method for determining a finger joint angle (specific method for measuring the bending angle of each knuckle finger as follows:), comprising:
obtaining first sensor data relating to at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints of a user and second sensor data relating to at least 3 corresponding to the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints (fig. 3, fig. 4, first, the glove together with multiple capacitive flexible dielectric sensor, where the sensor integrated with the gloves completely adhered. As shown in FIG. 4, flexible dielectric sensor arrangement needs corresponding to each position of the fingers of the finger corresponding to the forefinger, middle finger, ring finger and little finger of the first finger joints, the second finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joints are bonded with three sensors. At the same time, there are adhered with two sensor the thumb first finger joint and metacarpophalangeal joint. sensor one end lead-out wire; the lead of all the sensors of the glove end collecting, through a flat cable and a measuring circuit of the next part);
determining a first joint angle of each of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints based on the first sensor data and a first mapping relationship (method for measuring the bending angle of each knuckle finger as follows: step 1: to be hand of good posture wearing the glove, step 2, by the pulse width modulation circuit reading a capacitive dielectric sensor flexible dielectric value, through data collecting card sends the data read into the computer, step 3: analyzing the collected data, providing data through the filter and the peak reading downwards analysis program, step 4: through the program to calculate the angle of each joint),
Zhang does not expressly teach determining a third joint angle of each of the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints based on the second sensor data, the first joint angle of each of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints, and a third mapping relationship, wherein the third mapping relationship reflects a relationship between joint angles of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints, sensor data relating to the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, and joint angles of the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints.
However, Gupta teaches determining a third joint angle of each of the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints based on the second sensor data, the first joint angle of each of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints, and a third mapping relationship, wherein the third mapping relationship reflects a relationship between joint angles of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints, sensor data relating to the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, and joint angles of the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints (fig.3, step 302-304, [0092] fig.5, [0095] [0096] fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Zhang in light of Gupta teaching so that it could include determining a third joint angle of each of the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints based on the second sensor data, the first joint angle of each of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints, and a third mapping relationship, wherein the third mapping relationship reflects a relationship between joint angles of the at least two adjacent metacarpophalangeal joints, sensor data relating to the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints, and joint angles of the at least two proximal interphalangeal joints.
The motivation is to provide a method for hand pose tracking in a virtual reality (VR) environment by a wearable device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 14-20, 22, 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the new reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160187973
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625