DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160121131 A1 to Delise et al. (hereinafter “Delise”) in view of US 5285779 to Cameron et al. (hereinafter “Cameron”).
Regarding [Claim 1] and [Claim 7] Delise discloses a method/defibrillator (abstract, para 0006-0008, 0014, etc.), comprising: a first battery (para 0006, 0007, 0008 “first battery”); a second battery (para 0006, 0007, 0008 “second battery” or “power source”); a capacitor that stores defibrillation energy (para 0006-0008 “capacitor”); and a controller that controls, whether to use the second battery for the charging of the capacitor (para 0006-0008, para 0024-0026 “determine the available capacity of each of the batteries 12 and 16 and may regulate access to battery terminals depending on the power requirements of the capacitors 22”, “control circuitry or module 30”, “based on the charging rate or stored energy in the batteries 12, 16, especially after a shock has been deployed, the controller 30 selects whether to [] recharge the capacitors directly from the battery 12, recharge the capacitors directly from the battery 16 []”).
Delise fails to explicitly disclose having a voltage analyzer that measures a voltage of the first battery during charging of the capacitor by using the first battery and based on the voltage measured by the voltage analyzer, whether to use the second battery for the charging of the capacitor
Cameron from a similar field of endeavor teaches the charging circuit monitors the output voltage levels of both the battery and the AC-to-DC converter and enables or disables the power supplies in accordance to their ability to charge the storage capacitor within a predetermined amount of time (abstract, Col. 5, ln 1-30). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Delise with the known teachings of Cameron to provide the predictable result of charging the capacitor based on the ability of the battery/power source.
Regarding [Claim 3] Delise as modified by Cameron renders obvious the defibrillator according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the measured voltage of the first battery is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold and control the charging of the capacitor such that the capacitor is charged by using the second battery in a case where the voltage of the first battery is less than the threshold (see rejection of claim 1; Delise, para 0024-0026; Cameron, abstract, Col. 5, ln 1-30).
Regarding [Claim 4] Delise as modified by Cameron renders obvious the defibrillator according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the charging of the capacitor such that the capacitor is charged by using the second battery in a case where steepness of a voltage drop in the measured voltage of the first battery is greater than a predetermined threshold (see rejection of claim 1; Delise, para 0024-0026; Cameron, abstract, Col. 5, ln 1-30).
Regarding [Claim 5] Delise as modified by Cameron renders obvious the defibrillator according to claim 1, wherein the first battery and the second battery are primary batteries (Delise, para 0026 “both batteries 12 and 16 to recharge the capacitors 22”).
Regarding [Claim 6] Delise as modified by Cameron renders obvious the defibrillator according to claim 1, wherein the first battery is a replaceable battery, and the second battery is a built-in battery (Delise, para 0029, “Battery 12 may include a single four cell high discharge rate batter” which is understood to be replaceable; and “AC or DC battery charger for power source 16” which is understood to be built-in, at least to some extent; it is further noted that making components integral or separable is a matter of obvious engineering choice, see In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); and In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delise as modified by Cameron, and further in view of US 20210093877 to Beyer et al. (hereinafter “Beyer”).
Regarding [Claim 2] Delise as modified by Cameron renders obvious the defibrillator according to claim 1, further comprising, wherein: a voltage of the second battery is smaller than the voltage of the first battery, and the voltage of the second battery is applied to the capacitor (para 0007, 0022 “a high discharge rate battery 12 and a high capacity power source 16”, para 0031; it is understood that the batteries could be arbitrary marked as first and/or second) but fails to disclose having a voltage boost circuit
Beyer, from a similar field of endeavor teaches the power supply (typically, but not necessarily 5V) is used both to power the electronics carried on the defibrillator unit 110 and to charge the high voltage capacitor 209. Thus, voltage booster 207 is arranged to boost the voltage from 5V to the desired operational voltage of the discharge capacitor 209 (para 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Delise as modified by Cameron with the teachings Beyer to provide the predictable result of charging the capacitor to the desired operational voltage.
Conclusion
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796