DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/5/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examiner has not established that there is a serious examination and/or search burden. Applicants’ arguments are convincing, because search for Group I, would include searches for Group II, and the species are usable together in the specification. Thus, the species election requirement is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “patient monitor”, “user interface device” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1)
Claim 2 recites a product, thus meets Step 1. All dependent Claims meet this step.
Step 2a, prong one)
The claims recite:
“based on …physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provide a treatment protocol and one or more of at least one suggested disease state diagnosis and a patient disposition”.
which is directed to an ineligible concept, namely an abstract idea. These limitations recited in claim 2 are drawn to an abstract idea since they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper and/or they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations. These limitations would cover: i) a physician examining and diagnosing a patient according to a protocol and communicating the results thereof, or a physician’s assistant providing a protocol to a physician, which would fall under the abstract idea- methods of organizing human activity [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).II.C.iii], and ii) a mental process performed in the human mind or by mere use of pen and paper, such as observing and evaluating the health condition of a subject according to a protocol.
Thus, Claim 2 does not meet the requirements of Step2a, prong one.
All dependent claims include this ineligible concept.
Step 2a, prong two)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because: the claims do not recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The claims merely add generic “patient monitor”, “sensor(s)”, “user interface device”, “memory”, “processor”, the processor controlling the user interface “according to” the protocols (DTPs in the claims), and receiving selections “related to” the protocols. The communication between the elements is recited at a generic level that would amount to no more than extra-solution data gathering. These are generally linking the use of the exception to a generic technological environment or field of use, and merely use a generic computer to perform the ineligible concept. The patient monitor, sensor(s) and associated limitations are drawn to extra-solution activities that can be summarized as data gathering. The processor merely automates the abstract idea. The user interface is not even required to display the diagnosis and disposition. Even if it did, that would merely amount to post-solution activity, akin to a physician generally communicating an outcome. None of these limitations add to the claims: a) improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, b) use of the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, c) a particular machine or a transformation, or d) use of the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Independent claim 2 does not even provide an output that is perceptible by a user, something which is indicative of the generality of the scope of the claims and the lack of integration to anything practical.
Thus, Claim 2 does not meet the requirements of Step 2a, prong two.
Dependent Claims 3-5, 10-12, 16-17, 20-22, and 24, are directed to pre-solution (sensor types for data gathering), and post-solution activities (generic communication).
Claims 6-9, 13, 15, 19, and 23 only elaborate on the abstract idea itself (belonging to Step 2a, prong one), by explaining the types of protocols.
Thus, no claim meets the requirements of Step 2a, prong two.
Step 2b)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of all the reasons explained in Step 2a, prong two, and in addition, all of those additional elements individually or in combination are well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The generic “patient monitor”, “sensor(s)”, “user interface device”, “memory”, “processor”, the processor controlling the user interface “according to” the protocols (DTPs in the claims), and receiving selections “related to” the protocols, as recited in the independent claims, are all well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, as evidenced by US 20040214148 by Salvino and the Applicant Admitted Prior Art (e.g. as mentioned in the instant disclosure in ¶¶ 66,76-77). These are recited with a high level of generality, that merely append the exception to the bare minimum of any type of monitoring in the art. This conclusion is further supported by the subject matter rejections below.
Thus, Claim 2 is not eligible.
Dependent Claims 3-5, 10-12, 16-17, 20-22, and 24, do not remedy the above as the additional elements therein are all well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the art (e.g. ECG, protocols for respiratory distress, cardiac distress or trauma, display of results etc.), as evidenced by US 20040214148 by Salvino and the Applicant Admitted Prior Art (e.g. as mentioned in the instant disclosure in ¶¶ 66,76-77).
Claims 6-9, 13, 15, 19, and 23 only elaborate on the abstract idea itself (belonging to Step 2a, prong one), by explaining the types of protocols.
Thus, no Claim is eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably concluded from the original disclosure that Applicant was in possession of the full scope of a processor configured to “based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provide …a patient disposition at the user interface”. Note here that the instant application had been filed as a a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/358,997, filed on July 26, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Pat. Application No. 16/824,763, filed on March 20, 2020, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/399,827, filed on April 30, 2019, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 13/294,947, filed on Nov. 11, 2011. The original disclosure and claims (11/11/2011) can be found in application 13/294,947 (else the instant application would be filed as CIP). There is no mention of “providing patient disposition” in the original disclosure. The only relevant disclosure relates to specifically “transporting” the patient (e.g. Fig. 13). The newly introduced terms “providing patient disposition” are not supported in their full scope by the original disclosure. The original disclosure does not present a sufficient description of a representative number of species to support the genus of “providing patient disposition” at the user interface, and based on the sensor data and the differential diagnosis process. For example, the claims would cover based on any physiological sensor and a differential diagnosis process, providing at the user interface a decision to dismiss a patient from a hospital or an ER, or a decision to intubate the patient, yet the claims do not preclude this. Thus, Claim 2 fails the written description requirement. No dependent claim remedies this. See MPEP 2163, 2163.05.
Claims 2-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, it is unclear what the scope of “one or more of at least one suggested disease state diagnosis and a patient disposition”. It is not clear whether the claim requires both the “disease state diagnosis” and the “patient disposition”, given that the limitations begin with “one or more of”. Does the “of” refer to the “at least one” or to the “and”? For examination purposes, the claim is read under the broadest reasonable interpretation as “one of” the “disease state diagnosis” and the “patient disposition”, ie. only one of the two is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 2-6, 10-11, and 21-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US 20040214148 by Salvino.
Regarding Claim 2, Salvino discloses a system for clinical decision support to a caregiver during a clinical encounter with a patient (e.g. ¶ 5: “techniques for managing health care protocols with a medical device such as a defibrillator, patient monitor, trainer, or other device. The device may be brought to the site of a patient in need of medical assistance, or may be used to train personnel such as EMTs, or both”), the system comprising:
a patient monitor comprising a sensor configured to gather physiological data from the patient (e.g. ¶ 62: “In FIG. 2, monitoring device 50 is depicted as a blood pressure cuff, but monitoring device 50 may be any of several monitoring devices, such as a temperature sensor, a blood oxygen meter, a carbon dioxide sensor, and the like. A multi-lead set of electrodes, such as a twelve-lead apparatus for sensing electrical signals, is also an example of a monitoring device. An electrode pair, like electrodes 14 and 16 of defibrillator 12, is another example of a monitoring device.”);
a user interface device (e.g. ¶ 20: “FIG. 4 is an example of a screen display that lists protocols supported by a device such as a patient monitor or defibrillator.“; ¶ 38: output device 34);
a memory (e.g. ¶¶ 13, 42-43: memory); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the patient monitor, the memory, and the user interface device (e.g. Fig. 1-2, ¶¶ 11, 51: processor/microprocessor 26 in communication with the sensing interface 22, the electrodes 14/16 or the monitoring device 50 and the memory 36), the processor configured to:
control the user interface device according to a plurality of diagnosis and treatment pathways, wherein the plurality of DTPs correspond to a plurality of treatment classes that define a series of steps to treat the patient, respectively (e.g. Fig. 4, ¶¶ 6, 14, 43-45, 49-51, 72: different protocols for diagnosis and treatment of different conditions are presented on the display for selection by a caregiver to guide the user through the appropriate procedures),
receive a selection related to the plurality of DTPs [from the caregiver] (e.g. Fig. 3, ¶¶ 19,57,76,81: user selected protocols),
control the user interface device according to a differential diagnosis process and a portion of the physiological data from the sensors based on the [caregiver] selection (e.g. ¶¶ 46,49,54,56,69,77,98-99: the protocols include differential diagnosis, e.g. stroke vs. fibrillation or ischemic vs. hemorrhagic strokes, based on sensor data, and respective displays or display modes of different protocols), and
based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provide a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device (e.g. ¶¶ 46,49,54,56,69,77,98-99: the protocols include differential diagnosis, e.g. stroke vs. fibrillation or ischemic vs. hemorrhagic strokes, based on sensor data, and respective displays or display modes of different protocols).
Regarding Claim 3, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the sensor include electrocardiogram (ECG) electrodes to measure ECG data and at least one additional sensor (e.g. ¶¶ 41,49,62: ECG, oxygen saturation, temperature).
Regarding Claim 4, Salvino discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to control the user interface device to display the ECG data (e.g. ¶41: ECG is displayed).
Regarding Claim 5, Salvino discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to control the user interface device to display the ECG data and a portion of the physiological data from the additional sensor (e.g. ¶ 41: ECG is displayed; ¶ 49: data from other sensors is displayed).
Regarding Claim 6, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of DTPs includes at a cardiac distress pathway (e.g. ¶¶ 49, 77: cardiac display mode; Fig. 4: CPR/Rescue).
Regarding Claim 10, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol in response to a user confirmation of the suggested disease state diagnosis (e.g. ¶¶ 74-75: user selection of a DTP, such as “chest pain”, through the input devices from a menu, ie. “confirmation” is drawn to intended use, as in the intent of a user without requiring any particular or additional feature from the system itself other than presenting DTP options which are selectable).
Regarding Claim 11, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to monitor a physiological signal indicative of an effect of the treatment protocol on the patient (e.g. ¶¶ 41,49,62: ECG, oxygen saturation, temperature; Any of the sensor signals in Salvino are “indicative” of patient condition, including though a hypothetical effect of the treatment, ie. the claim does not require any type of determination or identification or distinction of the effect).
Regarding Claim 21, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection (e.g. ¶ 127: Bluetooth).
Regarding Claim 22, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a wired and/or wireless coupling (e.g. Fig. 2: the claim covers all possibilities of a connection, and is therefore met by the connection between monitor 50 and output device 46).
Regarding Claim 23, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to a geography or a regulation (e.g. ¶¶ 3-4, 6, 110: customized by jurisdiction).
Regarding Claim 24, Salvino discloses the system of claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured upload and/or download the customized DTP (e.g. abstract: the medical device receives an updated protocol; ¶ 110: Client devices 186 receive and store the custom protocol).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 20040214148 by Salvino, as applied to Claims 2 and 6, in view of US 2007/0191687 by Justus.
Regarding Claims 7-8, Salvino discloses the system of claims 2 and 6, wherein the processor is further configured to control the user interface device to display a process specifically directed to a chest pain pathway based on the selected DTP being the chest pain pathway (e.g. Fig. 4, ¶¶ 72,74,78-79,95), yet does not explicitly disclose that the process is a differential diagnosis process specifically directed to the respiratory distress pathway based on the selected DTP.
However, Justus teaches an analogous diagnostic device wherein a processor is configured to carry out a fast first differential diagnosis of respiratory distress, through a display, before more detailed diagnostic steps are undertaken (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 1,6,13, Claim 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a DTP including differential diagnosis of respiratory distress in a system according to the teachings of Salvino, as taught by Justus, in order to predictably assist the first responder or caregiver in correctly and quickly assessing respiratory distress (e.g. COPD vs. asthma vs. heart related chest pain), before more detailed diagnostic steps are undertaken.
Regarding Claim 9, Salvino as modified in Claim 8 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the suggested disease state diagnosis includes a COPD diagnosis (e.g. Justus, ¶ 6, 13: COPD differential diagnosis).
Claim 12 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 20040214148 by Salvino, as applied to Claim 11, in view of US 6898462 by Rock.
Regarding Claim 12, Salvino discloses the system of claim 11, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to generate an audio indication of the physiological data reaching a predetermined numerical limit.
However, Rock teaches an analogous defibrillator/monitor, wherein a physiological signal is monitored, and an audio alert is generated when a preset threshold is reached (e.g. title, abstract, Fig. 3, 4:41-48: HR alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate audio alarms for any physiological parameter reaching a preset limit in a system according to the teachings of Salvino, as taught by Rock, in order to predictably provide notice to the responder or caregiver of a potentially significant development in the patient’s condition.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 20040214148 by Salvino, as applied to Claim 11, in view of US 2006/0111933 by Wheeler.
Regarding Claim 13, Salvino teaches the system of claim 11, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: provide an analysis at the user interface device that indicates whether a patient condition is improving in response to the treatment protocol, and request a confirmation of the analysis from the caregiver.
However, Wheeler teaches an analogous diagnosis and treatment decision support system, which includes an analysis module which receives treatment and response data which is used to confirm or modify the diagnostic and treatment rules [e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 1,9,78-79,86,96, Fig. 4B: patient improvement is monitored so that if the patient is not improving (via user selection in the pathway, which is a confirmation between two choices), the system gives the user a different alternative diagnosis and/or further treatment steps for the same diagnosis, and if the patient improves, the user confirms by declaring that the event has ended]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to analyze patient improvement and provide user choices depending on improvement at a user interface according to the teachings of Salvino, as taught by Wheeler, in order to predictably adjust the treatment according to the needs of the patient.
Regarding Claim 14, Salvino as modified in claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to provide additional steps in the treatment protocol based on the confirmation of the analysis (e.g. Fig. 4B: further treatment steps for same diagnosis).
Regarding Claims 15-16, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to provide a probability associated with the suggested disease state diagnosis, and does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol based on a treatment outcome probability.
However, Wheeler teaches an analogous diagnosis and treatment decision support system, wherein a processor is configured to provide a probability associated with a suggested disease state diagnosis, and configured to provide a treatment protocol based on a treatment outcome probability (e.g. ¶¶ 76,83,89,155: Diagnoses, treatments and potential outcomes are determined based on probability). Therefore, Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a probability associated with a suggested disease state diagnosis, and provide a treatment protocol based on a treatment outcome probability in a system according to the teachings of Salvino, as taught by Wheeler, in order to predictably optimize the options available to the caregiver for selecting the most efficient treatment plan based on expected outcome.
Claims 17, and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 20040214148 by Salvino, as applied to Claim 2, in view of US 2008/0108884 by Kiani.
Regarding Claim 17, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to receive [caregiver] input comprising health history information for the patient via an input user interface device (e.g. ¶¶ 36,45,55: operator enters medical history though input touchscreen). Salvino does not explicitly disclose that the user interface (display) and the input device are the same. Regarding Claim 20, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the user interface device is a display on the patient monitor.
However, Kiani discloses an analogous patient monitor which includes a modular user interface display, wherein the display is also configured as an input device (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 5,16,22,27,46, Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 11A-C: handheld unit 200 with touch-screen and/or tablet 100/1160). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate as part of the patient monitor a modular user interface display configured to receive input in a system according to the teachings of Salvino, as taught by Kiani, in order to predictably input and display data, while permitting the responder to select the placement of the interface as desired.
Regarding Claim 19, Salvino as modified in Claim 17 discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol and the suggested disease state diagnosis based at least in part on the health history information or the examination findings (Salvino: ¶¶ 45,55,59,68,78: the protocols which correspond to diagnoses are also based in part on the health history inputs).
Claim 18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Salvino/Kiani, as applied to Claim 17, and further in view of US 2007/0197882 by Smith.
Regarding Claim 18, Salvino as modified in Claim 17 discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the physiological data at the user interface device (as discussed in Claim 1), yet does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to provide the examination findings with the physiological data at the user interface device.
However, Smith teaches an analogous differential diagnosis system, wherein patient history findings are provided with physiological data at a display (e.g. ¶ 36, Fig. 9: blood pressure is displayed with patient history findings). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate display of any and all relevant data, including patient history and findings therein, in a system according to the teachings of Salvino, as taught by Smith, in order to predictably provide the responder with all the relevant information available to make the best decision,
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6, 10-11, and 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490 in view of Salvino.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490 teaches a system for clinical decision support to a caregiver during a clinical encounter with a patient (Claim 1: A medical system for determining by a medical responder a diagnosis and treatment pathway in a pre-hospital or acute treatment setting), the system comprising:
a patient monitor comprising one or more sensors configured to gather physiological data from the patient (Claim 1: at least one sensor configured to monitor physiological status of a patient and to generate sensor data based on the physiological status);
at least one user interface device (Claim 1: a user interface device);
a memory (Claim 1: a processor; all processors include cache memory at a minimum in order to operate); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the patient monitor, the memory, and the at least one user interface device (Claim 1: a processor communicably coupled to the user interface device and the at least one sensor), the processor configured to:
control the at least one user interface device according to a plurality of diagnosis and treatment pathways (DTPs), wherein the plurality of DTPs correspond to a plurality of treatment classes that define a series of steps to treat the patient, respectively (Claim 1: the processor configured to: cause the user interface device to present a first screen, the first screen displaying a first array of two or more input elements, the input elements each corresponding to a class of patients or the diagnosis and treatment pathway),
receive a selection related to the plurality of DTPs from the caregiver (Claim 1: receive, from the medical responder, a selected input element based on a user selection among the first array of two or more input elements),
control the at least one user interface device according to a differential diagnosis process and at least a portion of the physiological data from the one or more sensors based on the caregiver selection (Claim 1: cause the user interface device to modify the first screen to display a second screen upon the user selection among the first array of the two or more input elements, the second screen displaying a second array of two or more input elements that are diagnosis or treatment pathway input elements for the diagnosis or treatment pathway for the selected input element, the second screen also graphically displaying the physiological data in a manner that is both (a) different from that in which the first screen graphically displays the physiological data, and also (b) according to a customized template of the diagnosis or treatment pathway for the selected input element, the second screen graphically displaying the physiological data in one or more of a size, scale, type, and position that differs from that in which the first screen graphically displays the physiological data; wherein the processor is further configured to provide a differential diagnosis of the patient).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490 does not explicitly teach based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provide a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device.
However, Salvino teaches an analogous diagnosis support system with a user interface and processor that based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provides a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device (e.g. ¶¶ 46,49,54,56,69,77,98-99: the protocols include differential diagnosis, e.g. stroke vs. fibrillation or ischemic vs. hemorrhagic strokes, based on sensor data, and respective displays or display modes of different protocols). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate processing that based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provides a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device in a system according to Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490, in order to predictably assist the responder or caregiver to distinguish between stroke and fibrillation, thus selecting the appropriate treatment for the patient.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 5 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more sensors include electrocardiogram (ECG) electrodes to measure ECG data and at least one additional sensor (Claim 5: ECG and blood pressure sensor).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 5 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to control the at least one user interface device to display the ECG data (Claim 1: the physiological data from the sensors is displayed).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the processor is further configured to control the at least one user interface device to display the ECG data and at least a portion of the physiological data from the at least one additional sensor (Claim 1: the physiological data from the sensors is displayed).
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 8 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of DTPs includes at least a respiratory distress pathway, a cardiac distress pathway, and a trauma pathway (Claim 8: respiratory, cardiac and trauma).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 1 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol in response to a user confirmation of the at least one suggested disease state diagnosis (Claim 1: the user selects from the array of DTPs, which amounts to a confirmation).
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 5 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to monitor a physiological signal indicative of an effect of the treatment protocol on the patient (Claim 5: monitoring any of the listed sensors would be “indicative” of the treatment protocol).
Regarding Claim 21, Claim 1 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, yet does not teach wherein the at least one user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection (e.g. ¶ 127: Bluetooth). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection in a device according to the teachings of Claim 1 of the issued patent, as taught by Salvino, as this would only amount to a selection among known and limited communication options that would have been obvious to try.
Regarding Claim 22, Claim 1 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a wired and/or wireless coupling (Claim 1: the user interface and the patient monitor are in communication, and since the claim covers all possibilities of a connection, and is therefore met by the connection between the monitor and the user interface).
Regarding Claim 23, Claim 1 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, yet does not teach wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to one or more of the caregiver, the patient, a geography, and a regulation. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to a geography or a regulation (e.g. ¶¶ 3-4, 6, 110: customized by jurisdiction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to one or more of the caregiver, the patient, a geography, and a regulation in a system according to the teachings of Claim 1 of the issued patent, as taught by Salvino, in order to predictably provide compliance with local regulations.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 1 of the issued patent as modified in Claim 23 teaches the system of claim 23, yet does not teach wherein the processor is further configured upload and/or download the customized DTP. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the processor is further configured upload and/or download the customized DTP (e.g. abstract: the medical device receives an updated protocol; ¶ 110: Client devices 186 receive and store the custom protocol). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processor is further configured download the customized DTP in a system according to the teachings of Claim 1 of the issued patent, as taught by Salvino, in order to predictably install current protocols in the system.
Claims 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino, as applied to Claims 2 and 11, and further in view of US 2007/0191687 by Justus.
Regarding Claims 7-8, claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino wherein the processor is further configured to control the user interface device to display a process specifically directed to a chest pain pathway based on the selected DTP being the chest pain pathway (e.g. Fig. 4, ¶¶ 72,74,78-79,95), yet does not explicitly disclose that the process is a differential diagnosis process specifically directed to the respiratory distress pathway based on the selected DTP.
However, Justus teaches an analogous diagnostic device wherein a processor is configured to carry out a fast first differential diagnosis of respiratory distress, through a display, before more detailed diagnostic steps are undertaken (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 1,6,13, Claim 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a DTP including differential diagnosis of respiratory distress in a system according to the teachings of the modified system, as taught by Justus, in order to predictably assist the first responder or caregiver in correctly and quickly assessing respiratory distress (e.g. COPD vs. asthma vs. heart related chest pain), before more detailed diagnostic steps are undertaken.
Regarding Claim 9, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino as modified in Claim 8 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the suggested disease state diagnosis includes a COPD diagnosis (e.g. Justus, ¶ 6, 13: COPD differential diagnosis).
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490 in view of Salvino, as applied to Claims 2 and 11, and further in view of US 6898462 by Rock.
Regarding Claim 12, claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to generate an audio indication of the physiological data reaching a predetermined numerical limit.
However, Rock teaches an analogous defibrillator/monitor, wherein a physiological signal is monitored and an audio alert is generated when a preset threshold is reached (e.g. title, abstract, Fig. 3, 4:41-48: HR alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate audio alarms for any physiological parameter reaching a preset limit in a system according to Claim 5 of the issued patent/Salvino, as taught by Rock, in order to predictably provide notice to the responder or caregiver of a potentially significant development in the patient’s condition.
Claims 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490 in view of Salvino, as applied to Claims 2 and 11, and further in view of US 2006/0111933 by Wheeler.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 5 of the issued patent/Salvino does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: provide an analysis at the user interface device that indicates whether a patient condition is improving in response to the treatment protocol, and request a confirmation of the analysis from the caregiver.
However, Wheeler teaches an analogous diagnosis and treatment decision support system, which includes an analysis module which receives treatment and response data which is used to confirm or modify the diagnostic and treatment rules [e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 1,9,78-79,86,96, Fig. 4B: patient improvement is monitored so that if the patient is not improving (via user selection in the pathway, which is a confirmation between two choices), the system gives the user a different alternative diagnosis and/or further treatment steps for the same diagnosis, and if the patient improves, the user confirms by declaring that the event has ended]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to analyze patient improvement and provide user choices depending on improvement at a user interface according to the teachings of Claim 5 of the issued patent/Salvino, as taught by Wheeler, in order to predictably adjust the treatment according to the needs of the patient.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 5 of the issued patent/Salvino as further modified in claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to provide additional steps in the treatment protocol based on the confirmation of the analysis (e.g. Fig. 4B: further treatment steps for same diagnosis).
Regarding Claims 15-16, Claim 1 of the issued patent/Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to provide a probability associated with the suggested disease state diagnosis, and does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol based on a treatment outcome probability.
However, Wheeler teaches an analogous diagnosis and treatment decision support system, wherein a processor is configured to provide a probability associated with a suggested disease state diagnosis, and configured to provide a treatment protocol based on a treatment outcome probability (e.g. ¶¶ 76,83,89,155: Diagnoses, treatments and potential outcomes are determined based on probability). Therefore, Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a probability associated with a suggested disease state diagnosis, and provide a treatment protocol based on a treatment outcome probability in a system according to the teachings of Claim 1 of the issued patent/Salvino, as taught by Wheeler, in order to predictably optimize the options available to the caregiver for selecting the most efficient treatment plan based on expected outcome.
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino, as applied to Claim 2, and further in view of US 2008/0108884 by Kiani.
Regarding Claim 17, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to receive [caregiver] input comprising health history information for the patient via an input user interface device (e.g. ¶¶ 36,45,55: operator enters medical history though input touchscreen). Salvino does not explicitly disclose that the user interface (display) and the input device are the same. Regarding Claim 20, Salvino discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the user interface device is a display on the patient monitor.
However, Kiani discloses an analogous patient monitor which includes a modular user interface display, wherein the display is also configured as an input device (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 5,16,22,27,46, Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 11A-C: handheld unit 200 with touch-screen and/or tablet 100/1160). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate as part of the patient monitor a modular user interface display configured to receive input in a system according to the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino, as taught by Kiani, in order to predictably input and display data, while permitting the responder to select the placement of the interface as desired.
Regarding Claim 19, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino/Kiani as modified in Claim 17 discloses the system of claim 17, yet does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol and the suggested disease state diagnosis based at least in part on the health history information or the examination findings. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol and the suggested disease state diagnosis based at least in part on the health history information or the examination findings (Salvino: ¶¶ 45,55,59,68,78: the protocols which correspond to diagnoses are also based in part on the health history inputs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol and the suggested disease state diagnosis based at least in part on the health history information or the examination findings in system according to the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino/Kiani, as taught by Salvino, in order to predictably refine and optimize the protocols.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino/Kiani, as applied to Claim 17, and further in view of US 2007/0197882 by Smith.
Regarding Claim 18, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino/Kiani as modified in Claim 17 discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the physiological data at the user interface device (as discussed in Claim 1), yet does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to provide the examination findings with the physiological data at the user interface device.
However, Smith teaches an analogous differential diagnosis system, wherein patient history findings are provided with physiological data at a display (e.g. ¶ 36, Fig. 9: blood pressure is displayed with patient history findings). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate display of any and all relevant data, including patient history and findings therein, in a system according to the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,485,490/Salvino/Kiani, as taught by Smith, in order to predictably provide the responder with all the relevant information available to make the best decision,
Claims 2, 6, 10, and 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,959,683 in view of Salvino.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,959,683 teaches a system for clinical decision support to a caregiver during a clinical encounter with a patient (Claim 1: wherein the defibrillation system is configured to provide a differential diagnosis tool; ), the system comprising:
a patient monitor comprising one or more sensors configured to gather physiological data from the patient (Claim 1: at least one physiological sensor input for the defibrillator to receive input signals indicative of a physiological measurement of the patient);
at least one user interface device (Claim 1: a first display on the defibrillator);
a memory (Claim 1: defibrillator processor); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the patient monitor, the memory, and the at least one user interface device (Claim 1: defibrillator processor), the processor configured to:
control the at least one user interface device according to a plurality of diagnosis and treatment pathways (DTPs), wherein the plurality of DTPs correspond to a plurality of treatment classes that define a series of steps to treat the patient, respectively (Claim 13 to cause the user interface to present two or more possible input elements for a user to select between classes of at least one of patients, potential workflows, and diagnosis and treatment pathways; Claim 15: cause the user interface to present physiological data according to a template based at least in part on the user selection between the classes of the at least one of patients, potential workflows, and diagnosis and treatment pathways),
receive a selection related to the plurality of DTPs from the caregiver (Claim 14: to receive a selected input based on a user selection among the two or more possible input elements),
control the at least one user interface device according to a differential diagnosis process and at least a portion of the physiological data from the one or more sensors based on the caregiver selection (Claim 1: process the data regarding the physiological parameter, cause the user interface to display visual information based on the data regarding the physiological parameter, receive and process the touch input from the touchscreen to generate touch signals, and cause the user interface to alter the displayed visual information based on the touch signals, wherein the defibrillation system is configured to provide a differential diagnosis tool; Claim 15: to cause the user interface to present physiological data according to a template based at least in part on the user selection between the classes of the at least one of patients, potential workflows, and diagnosis and treatment pathways; Claim 16: to cause the user interface to customize the template, according to which the physiological data is presented, based at least in part on the user selection between the classes of the at least one of patients, potential workflows, and diagnosis and treatment pathways).
Claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,959,683 does not explicitly teach based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provide a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device.
However, Salvino teaches an analogous diagnosis support system with a user interface and processor that based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provides a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device (e.g. ¶¶ 46,49,54,56,69,77,98-99: the protocols include differential diagnosis, e.g. stroke vs. fibrillation or ischemic vs. hemorrhagic strokes, based on sensor data, and respective displays or display modes of different protocols). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate processing that based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provides a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device in a system according to Claim 16 of the issued patent, in order to predictably assist the responder or caregiver to distinguish between stroke and fibrillation, thus selecting the appropriate treatment for the patient.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 17 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of DTPs includes at least a respiratory distress pathway, a cardiac distress pathway, and a trauma pathway (Claim 17: respiratory, cardiac and trauma).
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 16 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to provide the treatment protocol in response to a user confirmation of the at least one suggested disease state diagnosis (Claim 14: the user selects from the array of DTPs, which amounts to a confirmation).
Regarding Claim 21, Claim 16 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, yet does not teach wherein the at least one user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection (e.g. ¶ 127: Bluetooth). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a Bluetooth® connection in a device according to the teachings of Claim 16 of the issued patent, as taught by Salvino, as this would only amount to a selection among known and limited communication options that would have been obvious to try.
Regarding Claim 22, Claim 16 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one user interface device is communicatively coupled to the patient monitor via a wired and/or wireless coupling (Claim 1: the user interface and the patient monitor are in communication, and since the claim covers all possibilities of a connection, and is therefore met by the connection between the monitor and the user interface).
Regarding Claim 23, Claim 16 of the issued patent teaches the system of claim 2, yet does not teach wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to one or more of the caregiver, the patient, a geography, and a regulation. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to a geography or a regulation (e.g. ¶¶ 3-4, 6, 110: customized by jurisdiction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the selected DTP is a customized DTP specific to one or more of the caregiver, the patient, a geography, and a regulation in a system according to the teachings of Claim 16 of the issued patent, as taught by Salvino, in order to predictably provide compliance with local regulations.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 16 of the issued patent as modified in Claim 23 teaches the system of claim 23, yet does not teach wherein the processor is further configured upload and/or download the customized DTP. However, Salvino further teaches wherein the processor is further configured upload and/or download the customized DTP (e.g. abstract: the medical device receives an updated protocol; ¶ 110: Client devices 186 receive and store the custom protocol). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the processor is further configured download the customized DTP in a system according to the teachings of Claim 16 of the issued patent, as taught by Salvino, in order to predictably install current protocols in the system.
Claims 2, 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,181 in view of Salvino and US 2007/0191687 by Justus.
Regarding Claims 2, 7-9, Claim 11 1of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,181 teaches a system for clinical decision support to a caregiver during a clinical encounter with a patient (Claim 1: A system for clinical decision support for a caregiver during a clinical encounter involving respiratory distress), the system comprising:
a patient monitor comprising one or more sensors configured to gather physiological data from the patient (Claim 1: defibrillator-patient monitor comprising one or more sensors configured to gather physiological data from a patient);
at least one user interface device (Claim 1: at least one user interface device);
a memory (Claim 1: a memory); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the patient monitor, the memory, and the at least one user interface device (Claim 1: a processor communicatively coupled to the defibrillator-patient monitor, the memory, and the at least one user interface device), the processor configured to:
control the at least one user interface device according to a plurality of diagnosis and treatment pathways (DTPs), wherein the plurality of DTPs correspond to a plurality of treatment classes that define a series of steps to treat the patient, respectively (Claim 1: control the at least one user interface device to display a plurality of diagnosis and treatment pathways (DTPs) comprising a respiratory distress DTP),
receive a selection related to the plurality of DTPs from the caregiver (Claim 1: receive a user selection of respiratory distress DTP),
control the at least one user interface device according to a differential diagnosis process and at least a portion of the physiological data from the one or more sensors based on the caregiver selection (Claim 1: control the at least one user interface device to provide at least a portion of the physiological data in response to the user selection of the respiratory distress DTP, wherein the at least a portion of the physiological data comprises capnography data; Claim 11: wherein the processor is configured to automatically narrow a differential diagnosis to provide the at least one suggested respiratory distress diagnosis).
Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,181 does not explicitly teach based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provide a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device.
However, Salvino teaches an analogous diagnosis support system with a user interface and processor that based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provides a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device (e.g. ¶¶ 46,49,54,56,69,77,98-99: the protocols include differential diagnosis, e.g. stroke vs. fibrillation or ischemic vs. hemorrhagic strokes, based on sensor data, and respective displays or display modes of different protocols). Justus teaches an analogous diagnostic device wherein a processor is configured to carry out a fast first differential diagnosis of respiratory distress, through a display, before more detailed diagnostic steps are undertaken (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 1,6,13, Claim 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate processing that based on the physiological data and the differential diagnosis process, provides a treatment protocol and a suggested disease state diagnosis at the user interface device in a system according to Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,826,181, in order to predictably assist the responder or caregiver to distinguish between COPD, asthma, stroke and fibrillation, thus selecting the appropriate treatment for the patient, before more detailed diagnostic steps are undertaken.
/MANOLIS PAHAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3796