DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference numeral not mentioned in the description: 51 (see Figure 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference numeral in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
4. The specification is objected to due to the following informalities.
In lines 13-15 on page 5, it appears that reference numeral 3 after “stacked manner” in the phrase “the resistor bodies 3 being provided in a stacked manner 3 and a conducting length of each of the resistor bodies 3 being greater than the physical length of the resistor bodies in a stacked state” should be removed because reference numeral 3 is used to designate the resistor bodies.
In line 22 on page 7, it appears that the phrase “outer conductor 5” should be revised to “central shaft conductor 5” because reference numeral 5 is used to designate the central shaft conductor.
In lines 15-19 on page 9, reference is made to Figure 6 in which the bending number of times of each of the resistor bodies 3 is an “odd” number of times. However, Figure 6 shows the resistor bodies bent twice, an even number of times.
In line 22 on page 9, it appears that the phrase “outer conductor 5” should be revised to “central shaft conductor 5” because reference numeral 5 is used to designate the central shaft conductor.
In lines 24-26 on page 10, in reference to Figure 7, it is stated that a flow direction of a current of the fourth conductive section 357 is opposite to flow directions of a current of the second conductive section 353 and the first conductive section 351. However, Figure 7 shows a flow direction of a current of the fourth conductive section 357 as being the same as the flow directions of a current of the second conductive section 353 and the first conductive section 351.
In lines 5-8 on page 12, it is stated that the high-frequency current signal flows through the first conductive section 351, the inner third conductive section 355, the fourth conductive section 357, the inner third conductive section 355, and the second conductive section 353 successively, and the conductive length is the sum of the lengths of the above five conductive sections. However, it appears that the underlined portion should be revised to “the outer third conductive section 355” because lines 3-4 on page 11 indicate that the outer third conductive section 355 is connected to the second conductive section 353.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Per claim 1, the limitation “the physical length” in line 4 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, said limitation is interpreted as implying “a physical length.” Claims 2-9 are consequently rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Per claim 2, it is unclear if the limitation “the conductive films” in line 3 refers to the limitation “conductive film sheets.” Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the conductive films” in line 3 is interpreted as implying “the conductive film sheets.”
Per claim 4, it is unclear if the limitation “a second conductive end” in lines 7-8 refers to the limitation “the second conductive end” recited previously in claim 2, from which claim 4 depends. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “a second conductive end” in lines 7-8 of claim 4 is interpreted as implying “the second conductive end.”
Per claim 7, it is stated that the fourth conductive section is clamped between two adjacent third conductive sections and a flow direction of a current of the fourth conductive section is opposite to flow directions of a current of the second conductive section and the first conductive section. However, Figure 7 of the specification shows the flow direction of a current of the fourth conductive section 357 as being the same as the flow directions of a current of the second conductive section 353 and the first conductive section 351. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, claim 7 is interpreted as implying that a flow direction of a current of the fourth conductive section is the same as flow directions of a current of the second conductive section and the first conductive section.
Per claim 9, the limitation “the second conductive end” in line 3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, said limitation is interpreted as implying “a second conductive end.”
Claim Interpretation
7. The specification appears to provide a description of the resistor bodies 3 that encompasses a single body. For example, Figures 3-7 show the resistor bodies 3 as a single cylindrical component having a stacked structure formed through folding a conductive film sheet 35. Therefore, the terms “resistor bodies” and “conductive film sheets” are interpreted as encompassing a single body and a single sheet, respectively.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young (US 3,458,846).
Per claim 1, Young teaches a method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt, comprising the following steps:
S1: providing resistor bodies (Figs. 2-3; shunt resistance 22; col. 2, line 37), the resistor bodies being provided in a stacked manner and a conducting length of each of the resistor bodies being greater than the physical length of the resistor bodies in a stacked state (The shunt resistance 22 is a folded tubular member having a conducting length that is greater than a distance between the free ends of the shunt resistance 2 in the vertical direction (Fig. 2; col. 3, lines 15-22));
S2: providing an outer conductor (Fig. 2; line conductor 10; col. 2, line 16) an accommodating cavity being provided in the outer conductor (The line conductor 10 is a tubular member comprising fittings 10a and 10b and a conductive shell 10c (Fig. 2; col. 2, line 66 and col. 3, lines 4-9));
S3: providing a center shaft conductor (Fig. 2; line conductor 12; col. 2, line 16), the center shaft conductor penetrating through the outer conductor, and the resistor bodies and the center shaft conductor both being of cylindrical structures and coaxially provided from outside to inside (The line conductor 12 penetrates through the line conductor 10. The shunt resistance 22 and the line conductor 12 are cylindrical structures that are coaxially provided from outside to inside (Figs. 2-3; col. 2, lines 64-66)); and
S4: accommodating each of the resistor bodies in the accommodating cavity, and connecting the resistor bodies to the center shaft conductor and the outer conductor (An accommodating cavity of the line conductor 10 houses the shunt resistance 22. The shunt resistance 22 connects the line conductor 12 to the line conductor 10 (Figs. 1-3; col. 3, lines 15-22)).
Per claim 2, Young teaches the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 1, wherein in S1, each of the resistors comprises: conductive film sheets, the conductive films being provided in a stacked manner for prolonging the conducting length, each of the conductive film sheets comprising a first conductive end and a second conductive end, the first conductive end being electrically connected to the center shaft conductor, and the second conductive end being electrically connected to the outer conductor; and insulation sheets, the insulation sheets being attached to the conductive film sheets to prevent the conductive film sheets from being short-circuited (The shunt resistance 22 is a folded shunt conductor having one end connected to the line conductor 12 via junction 26 and another end connected to the line conductor 10 via junction 24. Insulation sleeve 31 separates folds of the shunt resistance 22 (Figs. 2-3; col. 2, line 18 and col. 3, lines 15-25)).
Per claim 3, Young teaches the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 2, wherein in S1, each of the conductive film sheets is integrally made and folded and rolled into a barrel structure; each of the insulation sheets is adhered to each of the conductive film sheets and is folded and rolled into a barrel structure with each of the conductive film sheets; or, after each of the conductive film sheets is folded, each of the insulation sheets is clamped between two adjacent conductive film sheets (The shunt resistance 22 is a folded tubular member and the insulation sleeve 31 separates folds of the shunt resistance 22 (Figs. 2-3; col. 3, lines 15-25)).
Per claim 4, Young teaches the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 2, wherein the bending number of times of each of the resistor bodies is an odd number of times; and each of the conductive film sheets comprises: a first conductive section, the first conductive section being provided with the first conductive end and located on one side of each of the conductive film layers close to the center shaft conductor; and a second conductive section, the second conductive section being provided with a second conductive end and located on one side of each of the conductive film layers close to the outer conductor, the second conductive section, the first conductive section, the outer conductor, and the center shaft conductor all being coaxially provided, and a flow direction of a current of the second conductive section is opposite to a flow direction of a current of the first conductive section (The shunt resistance 22 has a first conductive section electrically connected to the junction 26, a bent section, and a second conductive section electrically connected to the junction 24. A direction of current flow in the first conductive section is opposite to a direction of current flow in the second conductive section (Figs. 2-3)).
Per claim 10, Young teaches a current detection system, comprising: a detection device (Fig. 1; meter M; col. 2, lines 20-26); and a high-resistance value coaxial shunt, the high-resistance value coaxial shunt being made by the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 1, and the detection device being electrically connected to the outer conductor and the center shaft conductor (The meter M is electrically connected to the line conductors 10 and 12 (Figs. 2-3; col. 2, lines 20-26)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Young in view of Hilker (US 2022/0373578).
Per claim 9, Young does not explicitly teach the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt, according to claim 1, wherein the outer conductor is provided with an annular flange matching with each of the resistor bodies to abut against the second conductive end.
In contrast, Hilker teaches a device comprising a sleeve-shaped field control electrode 22 that is flange-connected to an end of a housing 10 and surrounds a conductor 18 (Fig. 1; ¶27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Young such that the fitting 10a includes a flange configured to contact the second conductive end of the shunt resistance 22. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of electrically connecting a sleeve-shaped conductor to a housing (Hilker; ¶27).
Claim Remarks
12. Although claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the subject matter disclosed in these claims is not believed to be taught or suggested by the prior art of record.
Per claim 5, the prior art of record is silent on the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 4, wherein each of the conductive film sheets further comprises at least one-third conductive section and at least one-fourth conductive section, the third conductive sections and the fourth conductive sections being in one-to-one correspondence in quantity, being provided in a stacked manner between the first conductive section and the second conductive section at an interval, and coaxially provided together with the first conductive section and the second conductive section, and a flow direction of a current of each of the third conductive sections is opposite to flow directions of a current of the first conductive section and the fourth conductive sections.
Per claim 6, the prior art of record is silent on the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 2, wherein the bending number of times of each of the resistor bodies is an even number of times; and each of the conductive film sheets comprises: a first conductive section, the first conductive section being provided with the first conductive end and located on one side of each of the conductive film layers close to the center shaft conductor; a second conductive section, the second conductive section being provided with the second conductive end and located on one side of each of the conductive film layers close to the outer conductor; and a third conductive section, the third conductive section, the second conductive section, the first conductive section, the outer conductor, and the center shaft conductor all being coaxially provided, the third conductive section being provided between the second conductive section and the first conductive section, and a flow direction of a current of the third conductive section is opposite to flow directions of a current of the second conductive section and the first conductive section. Dependent claim 7 inherits this subject matter of claim 6.
Per claim 8, the prior art of record is silent on the method for making a high-resistance value coaxial shunt according to claim 2, wherein in S1, each of the resistors is provided with at least two conductive film sheets, the conductive film sheets being provided in a stacked manner, and the sides between the two adjacent conductive film sheets being electrically connected to prolong the conductive length of the conductive film sheets; and each of the insulation sheets is clamped between the two adjacent conductive film sheets.
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852