DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, which depends on claim 1 recites the limitation "the shipping or storage container" in which claim 1 does not introduce "the shipping or storage container"; Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by US 20190118016 A1 to Severijns et al.
Regarding claim 1, Severijns et al. teaches a modular fire training system, comprising: an outer structure; (See Fig 26, elements 12, 14, 16, and 18)
an inner structure, the inner structure configured to be position able within the outer structure; (See Fig 3, element 100)
one or more openings formed in either or both of the outer structure and/or the inner structure; (See Fig 26, element 84)
a burn crib configured to be position able within the inner structure; (See Fig 3, element 22) an insulation layer disposed about an exterior of the inner structure (See Fig 21, element 16).
Regarding claim 2, The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more openings comprise any one or more of doors, windows, vents, and/or cleanouts. (Severijns et al. discloses FIGS. 2-6, one or more of the wall panels 16 can have a building feature, which can include, but is not limited to, a window opening (e.g. an opening entirely internally positioned in the wall panel 16) and/or a window 84, a door opening (e.g. an opening positioned adjacent to or intersecting part of an outer perimeter of the wall panel 16) and/or a door 86, a ventilation opening or grate [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more openings are formed in both of the outer structure and the inner structure, and wherein the one or more openings are configured such that in a configuration where the inner structure is positioned within the outer structure the one or more openings of the inner structure align with the one or more openings of the outer structure. (Severijns et al. discloses a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, and a roof or roof structure 18 oriented parallel to the floor 14. The exterior wall panels 16 can be configured and positioned to extend around an outer perimeter of the floor 14 and/or roof [0047]. Severijns further discloses in FIGS. 8, 11 and 13, each cross beam 50 can include a cutout, aperture or opening 56 extending therethrough, where the openings 56 are aligned to thereby form a channel 60 [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the inner structure comprises a burn box comprising an arrangement of panels, the arrangement of panels configured to form a generally rectangular structure. (Severijns et al. discloses a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, and a roof or roof structure 18 oriented parallel to the floor 14. The exterior wall panels 16 can be configured and positioned to extend around an outer perimeter of the floor 14 and/or roof [0047].)
Regarding claim 5, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the outer structure comprises a shipping or storage container. (Severijns et al. discloses the beams 32, 34 can be arranged such that the outer frame 30 exactly or generally matches the size/outer perimeter of a standard sea transport or intermodal container, and in particular the corner castings 36 can be located at a standard position for such containers [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, The system of claim 1, wherein the shipping or storage container comprises any of a conex container, an ISO box, an ISO shipping container, or an ISO freight container. (Severijns et al. discloses he beams 32, 34 can be arranged such that the outer frame 30 exactly or generally matches the size/outer perimeter of a standard sea transport or intermodal container, and in particular the corner castings 36 can be located at a standard position for such containers. The frame 30 can in one case have a length of either twenty feet or forty feet (about six meters or about twelve meters) and a width of eight feet (2.44 m). [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a fuel source, wherein the burn crib is configured to receive the fuel source. (Severijns et al. discloses with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6, the technical room 104 an be divided into various sub-areas by one or more internal wall panels 100. Various equipment and the like can be positioned in the technical room 104, such as a fuel supply 106 (such as fuel gas containers) [0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 1,wherein the insulation layer comprises a high temperature insulation blanket. (Severijns et al. discloses the wall panels 16 can be removably coupled directly to each other or can be removably coupled together using one or more connectors 92, as described in greater detail below. The wall panels 16 can include or have thermal isolation panels 89 and/or shielding panels 90 coupled to an inner surface 88 thereof [0066]. It further discloses the fire retardant concrete tiles can be used to provide thermal isolation capable of withstanding higher temperatures, such as those temperatures common with dual-fuel type fires (carbonaceous and gas) [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 4, further comprising an air gap formed between an outer surface of the insulation layer of one or more of the panels of the burn box and one or more associated interior surfaces of the outer structure when the burn box is positioned within the outer structure. (Severijns et al. discloses the tabs 176 can be coupled or integral with the cover 166 and extend inward toward the base 164, and if desired the tabs 176 can be removably attachable to the base 164 and/or cover 166. When the cover 166 is installed on the base 164, as shown in FIGS. 36 and 37, the flanges/tabs 176 define the gap 178 between an outer surface 180 of the base 164 and an inner surface 182 of the cover 166. The gap 178 provides an exit path for cooling air, which can enter the connection box 22 from an inlet air connection 172 (FIG. 36) and/or directly from a branch 126 of the cooling air utility distribution system (FIG. 37) [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Severijns et al. teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more of the panels of the burn box comprise a first side panel, a second side panel, a back side panel, and a ceiling panel. (Severijns et al. discloses the structure 12 can include a floor or floor structure 14, a plurality of outer/exterior wall panels 16 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, and a roof or roof structure 18 oriented parallel to the floor 14. [0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Severijns et al. teaches a burn box, comprising an arrangement of panels configured to form a generally rectangular structure; and an insulation blanket disposed on an exterior surface thereof, wherein the arrangement of panels comprises a plurality of side walls, a ceiling panel, and a floor panel. (Severijns et al. discloses The structure 12 can include a floor or floor structure 14, a plurality of outer/exterior wall panels 16 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 [0047]. Severijns further discloses the wall panels 16 can include or have thermal isolation panels 89 and/or shielding panels 90 coupled to an inner surface 88 thereof [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box of claim 11, wherein the arrangement of panels comprises an arrangement of vertical and horizontal frame members covered with steel plating. (Severijns et al. discloses Each upright support 44 can be configured to receive a corner beam 48 therein (FIG. 1), where the corner beams 48 extend generally upwardly and perpendicularly away from the base 26/floor 14/outer frame 30, and define a height H of the structure 12 [0052]. Severijns further discloses Each wall panel 16 can be made of or include any of a variety of materials, such as corrugated sheet metal. Each wall panel 16 can have a lower edge 80 and an opposed upper edge 82 that are removably attachable to the floor 14 and roof 18, respectively, for attaching each of the wall panels 16 to the structure 12 [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box of claim 11, wherein the plurality of side walls comprises, a first side wall, a second side wall, and a back side wall. (Severijns et al. discloses the structure 12 can include a floor or floor structure 14, a plurality of outer/exterior wall panels 16 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, and a roof or roof structure 18 oriented parallel to the floor 14 [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box of claim 13, wherein the plurality of side walls further comprises a front side wall. (Severijns et al. disclose in addition, selected ones of the interior wall panels 100 can have an interior opening or window 84 or interior door opening or door 86 to permit access to adjacent areas otherwise separated by the interior wall panel 100 [0071]).
Regarding claim 15, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box of claim 11, wherein one or more of the plurality of side walls comprise one or more openings formed therein. (Severijns et al. disclose selected ones of the interior wall panels 100 can have an interior opening or window 84 or interior door opening or door 86 to permit access to adjacent areas otherwise separated by the interior wall panel 100 [0071]).
Regarding claim 16, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box of claim 15, wherein the one or more openings comprise any one or more of doors, windows, vents, and/or cleanouts. (Severijns et al. discloses FIGS. 2-6, one or more of the wall panels 16 can have a building feature, which can include, but is not limited to, a window opening (e.g. an opening entirely internally positioned in the wall panel 16) and/or a window 84, a door opening (e.g. an opening positioned adjacent to or intersecting part of an outer perimeter of the wall panel 16) and/or a door 86, a ventilation opening or grate [0064]).
Regarding claim 18, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box of claim 14, wherein the front side wall comprises a door. (Severijns et al. discloses The training scenario presented by the fire training simulator 10 can thus be changed as desired by removing and repositioning the modular wall panels 16 to reposition windows 84, doors 86, sacrificial plates 83 and/or other wall features; removing and repositioning roof panels 67 to reposition vents 76, roof access doors/hatches or other roof features; [0075]).
Regarding claim 20, Severijns et al. teaches a method of using a fire training system, the method comprising:
Providing a fire training system, comprising: an outer structure; (See Fig 26, elements 12, 14, 16, and 18)
an inner structure, the inner structure configured to be position able within the outer structure; (See Fig 3, element 100)
one or more openings formed in either or both of the outer structure and/or the inner structure; (See Fig 26, element 84)
a burn crib configured to be position able within the inner structure; (See Fig 3, element 22) an insulation layer disposed about an exterior of the inner structure (See Fig 21, element 16).
positioning the inner structure within the outer structure and positioning the burn crib within the inner structure; (Severijns et al. discloses the structure 12 can include a floor or floor structure 14, a plurality of outer/exterior wall panels 16 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, and a roof or roof structure 18 oriented parallel to the floor 14. The exterior wall panels 16 can be configured and positioned to extend around an outer perimeter of the floor 14 [0047]).
adding a fuel source to the burn crib; (Severijns et al. discloses the fuel distribution system 130 can include or be removably coupled to one or more fuel sources, such as a fuel supply container or containers 106, which can be positioned in the technical room 104 and/or be positioned external to the structure 12 [0083]).
igniting the fuel source and allowing a certain temperature and/or smoke level to be reached within the inner structure; (Severijns et al. discloses he base 164 can have one or more openings 168 (FIGS. 34 and 35) in a side wall 170 thereof to allow passage of a pilot burner 204 through the side wall 170 so that the pilot burner 204 be positioned adjacent to a burner 205 of the prop 24 to ignite the burner [0095]. Severijns et al. further discloses The safety network 158 transmits data from the safety system or e-stop 230, gas detection sensor 234, and temperature sensor 236 to the main controller 119 and/or safety controller 118 in the technical room 104 [0121]).
Conducting a fire training exercise. (Severijns et al. discloses provide structural strength and integrity to the structure 12 and accommodate the rigors of firefighter training [0048].)
Regarding claim 21, Severijns et al. teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the inner structure comprises a burn box, and wherein the one or more openings comprise any one or more of doors, windows, vents, and/or cleanouts. (Severijns et al. discloses The structure 12 can include a floor or floor structure 14, a plurality of outer/exterior wall panels 16 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, a plurality of inner/interior wall panels 100 oriented perpendicular to the floor 14, and a roof or roof structure 18 oriented parallel to the floor 14 [0047]. Severijns et al. further discloses window 84 or interior door opening or door 86 to permit access to adjacent areas otherwise separated by the interior wall panel 100 [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Severijns et al. in view of US 7074043 B1 to Jacobson.
Regarding claim 17, Severijns et al. teaches a burn box which comprised of ceiling panels and/or side walls [0047]. It also further teaches as shown in FIG. 1, each corner beam 48 can extend upwardly from each corner casting 36 of the floor frame 30 to a corresponding corner casting 68 of the roof 18 and support for the roof 18 [0063]. With reference to FIGS. 2-6, one or more of the wall panels 16 can have a building feature, which can include, but is not limited to, a window opening (e.g. an opening entirely internally positioned in the wall panel 16) and/or a window 84, a door opening (e.g. an opening positioned adjacent to or intersecting part of an outer perimeter of the wall panel 16) and/or a door 86 [0064]. However, Severijns et al. lacks in teaching one or more lift points provided at one or more of the ceiling panel and/or side walls. Jacobson teaches The cargo container is generally designated by the numeral 10 and has opposite sidewalls 12 and 14, a roof 16 and a steel floor 20 supported on longitudinally extending beams 22 having openings 23 for a fork lift. The container is welded steel construction. Hinged doors 24 are provided at the ends of the container, as described above [Column 3 and 4, Lines 67-70]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fire training system of Severijn’s et al. to include the lift points taught by Jacobson in order to assist in transportation of the full-scale training structure and install the fire training structure by improving the transportation.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Severijns et al. in view of US 7008230 B2 to Hoglund
Regarding claim 19, Severijns et al. teaches the burn box, including the front side wall, wherein the front side wall is set inward a distance from a first end of the burn box [0071]. However, Severijns et al. lacks in teaching an approach apron extending outward from the front side wall to be substantially even with the first end of the burn box. Hoglund teaches this as shown in Fig 1 the first side wall 20 has a second door 72 exiting the third room 42 into an enclosed declining staircase 74 located outside the trailer. The enclosure surrounding the declining staircase 74 comprises a first and second collapsible sidewall 76 and 78, collapsible enclosure roof 80, and an end wall 82 disposed at the bottom of the declining staircase with an enclosure door 84. [Column 3, Lines 57-63]. Therefore, it would have been obvious in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the burn box of Severijns et al. to include the approach apron taught by Hoglund in order to provide improved and safe access to the burn box during the live fire training exercises.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Severijns et al. in view of US 5555939 A to Berger et al.
Regarding claim 22, Severijns et al. teaches allowing the burn box to cool and smoke to dissipate. Specifically, Severijns et al. teaches the utility distribution system 120 can in another case include or take the form of a smoke fluid distribution system 148 extending from a source of smoke fluid 149 in e.g. a liquid or gaseous state (FIG. 5) positioned in one case in the technical room 104 to the connection locations 20 and include conduits positioned in the channels 60 in the floor 14 [0085]. The reference further teaches the utility distribution system 120 can in another case include or take the form of an air distribution system configured to deliver cooling air to the connection location 20 [0084]. However, Severijns et al. lacks in teaching the cleaning out the burn box through the cleanout. Berger et al. teaches the burning material can then be accessed through the chimney cleanout and quickly extinguished [Column 3, lines 62-64]. Therefore, it would have been obvious in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the burn box of Severijns et al. to include the chimney cleanout and extinguishing step taught by Berger et al. in order to remove the unwanted ashes and residue and prepare the burn box for the next training session.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure US 9707424 B2 to Bloemker teaches a system to use a portable firefighting unit that includes a metal container with a combustible liner that has access opening in the metal container. The unit is used to demonstrate developing fire including the flammability of unburned products of combustion, hose stream techniques, flashover and backdraft. US 20170193859 A1 to McCollum teaches a system that is presented for training emergency personnel in the control, containment, and extinguishment of fires. The system includes array of waterless burn plaques in selective communication with a pressurized source of combustible gas, such as propane.
/SENIYA BAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715