DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending in the instant application and are being examined on the merits in the instant application.
Advisory Notice
Priority
The instant Application is a Continuation (CON) of 18/541,054 filed 12/15/2023, which is a CON of 17/552,412 filed 12/16/2021, which is a CON of 15/778,294 filed 05/23/2018, which is U.S. entry (371) of PCT/EP2016/079465 filed 12/01/2016, and claims priority to the U.S. Provisional Application Nos. 62/412,916 filed 10/26/2016, and 62/262,978 filed 12/04/2015.
The U.S. effective filing date for claims 1-3 has been determined to be 10/26/2016, the filing date of the 62/129,916, from which the claims derive support. The examiner finds no support for “(b) one or more immediate release coatings” (instant claim 1) in 62/262,978. The U.S. effective filing date for claims 4-19 has been determined to be 12/04/2015, the filing date of 62/262,978.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner has considered the prior art references cited in the parent cases, and reminds Applicants that should they wish that any of those references be printed on the face any Patent from the instant Application, an information disclosure statement should be (re)filed in the instant case (MPEP §609.02(II)(A)(2)).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract is only 27 words and does not contain “a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.”
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 includes items (a) through (f), including commas following items (a), (b), (e), and (f) and the conjunction “and” following items (c) and (d) but not last two items (e) and (f). Additionally, each of items (a), (c) (d), (e) and (f) are presented on new lines, whereas item (b) is not. For consistency the examiner suggest placing item (b) on a new line as with each of the other items. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the barrier coatings" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the film coatings" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the immediate release coating" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the stabilizer" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 is rejected as depending from claim 12 and doing nothing to clarify the aforementioned issue. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the immediate release coating" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 is rejected as depending from claim 12 and doing nothing to clarify the aforementioned issue. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the immediate release coating" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 19 is rejected as depending from claim 13 and doing nothing to clarify the aforementioned issue. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the color coating and final coating" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by ITO ‘543 (US 2013/0236543 A1; published September, 2013).
Applicant Claims
A solid pharmaceutical dosage form comprising in the order from the core to the outside (a) an extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride and one or more excipients, and (b) one or more immediate release coatings comprising linagliptin and/or empagliflozin and one or more stabilizers for stabilizing linagliptin and one or more excipients, wherein the amount of linagliptin is in the range of from 2.5 mg to 5 mg, the amount of empagliflozin is in the range from 5 mg to 25 mg and the amount of metformin hydrochloride is in the range of 500 mg to 2000 mg (instant claim 1).
Disclosure of the Prior Art
ITO ‘543 discloses “the present invention relates to a pharmaceutical composition, particularly a solid preparation (e.g. an oral solid dosage form, such as e.g. a tablet), comprising or consisting essentially of a) an inner extended release core comprising metformin (particularly metformin hydrochloride) and one or more excipients; b) an optional intermediate seal coating; and c) an outer immediate release coating comprising at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from a DPP-4 inhibitor, preferably linagliptin, and a SGLT-2 inhibitor, preferably Compound "A", and one or more excipients.” ([0003] through [0009])(instant claim 1). And that: the “SGLT-2 inhibitor (preferably l-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-l-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene,” which is empagliflozin ([0011]) as evidenced by US 2013/0137646 A1 at paragraph [0019].
ITO ‘543 discloses the composition of (a) Metformin part ([0050] through [0084]), (b1) Linagliptin Part ([0085] through [0100]), and (b2) l-Chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-( (S )-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy )-benzyl ]-benzene Part (i.e. empagliflozin part)([0101] through [0113]).
ITO ‘543 discloses that “L-Arginine is preferably necessary for the stabilization of linagliptin.” ([0115]), and teaches “a seal and/or a barrier coat is present between the metformin XR core and the linagliptin containing film coat (preferably further containing L-arginine).” ([0116])(instant claim 2).
ITO ‘543 discloses Example formulations for API-coating of linagliptin on top of metformin XR cores (p. 7, Table 1), and Further Example formulations for API-coating of linagliptin on top of metformin XR cores (p. 8, Table 2). And Example formulations for API-coating of Compound A – empagliflozin (p. 8, Table 3).
ITO ‘543 discloses “Further Example formulations for extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride, barrier coating and API-coating of Compound "A":” including 750 mg metformin hydrochloride, and 5, 10, 12.5 and 25 mg API (i.e. empagliflozin), the example including hydroxypropyl methylcellulose and polyethylene oxide in the core with the metformin hydrochloride (pp. 9-10, Table 4a)(instant claim 8-9), a barrier coating (instant claim 2), and an API coating including Compound A – empagliflozin (instant claims 1-2). ITO ‘543 discloses “Further Example formulations for extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride, barrier coating and API-coating of Compound "A":” including 1000 mg metformin hydrochloride, and 5, 10, 12.5 and 25 mg API (i.e. empagliflozin), the example including hydroxypropyl methylcellulose and polyethylene oxide in the core with the metformin hydrochloride (instant claim 8-9), a barrier coating (instant claim 2), and an API coating including Compound A – empagliflozin (instant claims 1-2).
ITO ‘543 discloses “Further Example formulations for extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride barrier coating and API-coating of linagliptin” (p. 12, Table 6a), including 750 mg/table metformin HCl, a barrier coating, 2.5 mg/table API-Linagliptin, and 10.0 mg/table L-Arginine (instant claims 1-2, 12, 14 & 16)
ITO ‘543 discloses the chemical structures of linagliptin and l-Chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene (Compound "A")(p. 17, col. 2).
ITO ‘543 discloses orally administering their solid dosage forms for the treatment of type II diabetes ([0223], [0266] through [0268])(instant claim 17).
ITO ‘543 discloses the inclusion of a color and/or final coating including and one or more pigments and/or colors ([0329], claims 22-24)(instant claim 3 & 15).
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 12, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by ITO ‘887 (US 2013/0064887 A1; published March, 2013).
Applicant Claims
A solid pharmaceutical dosage form comprising in the order from the core to the outside (a) an extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride and one or more excipients, and (b) one or more immediate release coatings comprising linagliptin and/or empagliflozin and one or more stabilizers for stabilizing linagliptin and one or more excipients, wherein the amount of linagliptin is in the range of from 2.5 mg to 5 mg, the amount of empagliflozin is in the range from 5 mg to 25 mg and the amount of metformin hydrochloride is in the range of 500 mg to 2000 mg (instant claim 1).
Disclosure of the Prior Art
ITO ‘887 discloses that: “The present invention relates to pharmaceutical compositions comprising fixed dose combinations of a DPP-4 inhibitor drug and/or a SGLT-2 inhibitor drug, and metformin XR, processes for the preparation thereof, and their use to treat certain diseases.” (abstract).
ITO ‘887 discloses “the present invention relates to a pharmaceutical composition, particularly a solid preparation (e.g. an oral solid dosage form, such as e.g. a tablet), comprising or consisting essentially of a) an inner extended release core comprising metformin (particularly metformin hydrochloride) and one or more excipients; b) an optional intermediate seal coating; and c) an outer immediate release coating comprising at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from a DPP-4 inhibitor, preferably linagliptin, and a SGLT-2 inhibitor, preferably Compound "A", and one or more excipients.” ([0003] through [0009])(instant claim 1). And that: the “SGLT-2 inhibitor (preferably l-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-l-yl)-2-[ 4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene,” which is empagliflozin ([0011]) as evidenced by US 2013/0137646 A1 at paragraph [0019].
ITO ‘887 discloses the composition of (a) Metformin part ([0050] through [0070]), (b1) Linagliptin Part ([0071] through [0084]), and (b2) l-Chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-( (S )-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy )-benzyl ]-benzene Part (i.e. empagliflozin part)([0085] through [0097]).
ITO ‘887 discloses that: “L-Arginine is preferably necessary for the stabilization of linagliptin. Alternatively, a seal coat may be used between the metformin XR core and the linagliptin-containing film coat. In one embodiment, a seal coat is present between the metformin XR core and the linagliptin-containing
film coat (optionally further containing L-arginine).” ([0098])(instant claim 12), the
ITO ‘887 discloses orally administering their solid dosage forms for the treatment of type II diabetes ([0123], [0160] through [0162])(instant claim 17).
ITO ‘887 claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising (a) an inner extended release core comprising metformin or metformin hydrochloride and one or more excipients; (b) an optional intermediate seal coating; and (c) an outer immediate release coating comprising at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from a DPP-4 inhibitor and a SGLT-2 inhibitor, and one or more excipients (claim 1). And “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the inner extended release core a) is a formulation comprising metformin hydrochloride, a swellable and/or extended release polymer, and one or more further excipients.” (claim 2). And that: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 3, wherein the weight ratio of the L-arginine to linagliptin is within the range from about 2:1 to about 1:1” (claim 4; instant claims 12 & 14). And that: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1 wherein the seal coating is present.” (claim 14; instant claim 2, barrier coating). And that “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the metformin hydrochloride is present in a unit dosage strength of 500, 750, 850, 1000 or 1500 mg.” (claim 17)(instant claims 1 & 16, amount of metformin HCl). And that: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the DPP-4 inhibitor is linagliptin and is present in a unit dosage strength of 0.5, 1, 2.5 or 5 mg.” (claim 18)(instant claims 1 & 16, amount of linagliptin). And that: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the SGLT-2 inhibitor is l-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene and is present in a unit dosage strength of 5, 10, 12.5 or 25mg.” (claim 19)(instant claims 1 & 16, amount of empagliflozin). And that “The tablet according to claim 20 further comprising an outer film over-coat.” (claim 20)(instant claim 3). And that: “The tablet according to claim 21, wherein the outer film over-coat comprises a film-coating agent, a plasticizer, and, optionally, a glidant, one or more pigments and/or colors.” (claim 22)(instant claims 3 & 13).
ITO ‘887 teaches that: “In particular, the fixed-dose combination products
of the present invention comprise-as first part-an inner core extended release formulation comprising metformin hydrochloride, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (hypromellose), polyethylene oxide, microcrystalline cellulose, and magnesium stearate.” ([0054])(instant claims 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITO ‘543 (US 2013/0236543 A1; published September, 2013) and/or ITO ‘887 (US 2013/0064887 A1; published March, 2013) in view of BROEDL (US 2014/0303097 A1; published October, 2014) and EISENREICH (US 2010/0209506 A1; published August, 2010).
Applicants Claims
Applicant claims a solid pharmaceutical dosage form according to claim 1 (discussed above), comprising in the order from the core to the outside (a) an extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride and one or more excipients, (b) none, one or more barrier coatings, (c) an immediate release coating comprising linagliptin and empagliflozin and one or more stabilizers for stabilizing linagliptin and one or more excipients, and (d) none, one or more color and/or final coatings, wherein the amount of linagliptin is in the range of from 2.5 mg to 5 mg, the amount of empagliflozin is in the range from 5 mg to 25 mg and the amount of metformin hydrochloride is in the range of 500 mg to 2000 mg (instant claim 4).
Applicant claims a solid pharmaceutical dosage form according to claim 1 comprising in the order from the core to the outside: (a) an extended release core
comprising metformin hydrochloride and one or more excipients, and (b) none, one or more barrier coatings, and ( c) a first immediate release coating comprising one of the active ingredients linagliptin or empagliflozin and in case the active ingredient is linagliptin one or more stabilizers for stabilizing linagliptin and one or more excipients, and (d) optionally a barrier coating, and (e) a second immediate release coating comprising the other one of the active ingredients empagliflozin or linagliptin and in case the active ingredient is linagliptin one or more stabilizers for stabilizing linagliptin and one or more excipients, (f) none, one or more color and/or final coatings, wherein the amount of linagliptin is in the range from 2.5 mg to 5 mg, the amount of empagliflozin is in the range from 5 mg to 25 mg and the amount of metformin hydrochloride is in the range from 500 mg to 2000 mg (instant claim 5).
Determination of the scope
and content of the prior art (MPEP 2141.01)
ITO ‘543 discloses an oral solid dosage form, such as e.g. a tablet comprising of (a) an inner extended release core comprising metformin (particularly metformin hydrochloride) and one or more excipients; (b) an optional intermediate seal coating; and (c) an outer immediate release coating comprising at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from a DPP-4 inhibitor, preferably linagliptin, and a SGLT-2 inhibitor, preferably Compound "A", and one or more excipients, as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
ITO ‘887 discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising fixed dose combinations of a DPP-4 inhibitor drug and/or a SGLT-2 inhibitor drug, and metformin XR, processes for the preparation thereof, and their use to treat certain diseases, as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Ascertainment of the difference between
the prior art and the claims (MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the rejected claims and the teachings of ITO ‘543 and/or ITO ‘887 is that these references do not expressly teach a specific embodiment including both linagliptin and empagliflozin, in the same immediate release layer or separate immediate release layers (instant claims 4-6).
Regarding the combination of one or more immediate release coatings containing linagliptin and empagliflozin with the extended release core containing metformin, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include both linagliptin immediate release coating (first immediate release coating) and empagliflozin immediate release coating (second immediate release coating) with the metformin extended release core because it is generally considered to be prima facie obvious to combine compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition that is to be used for an identical purpose. The motivation for combining them flows from their having been used individually in the prior art, and from the being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose. As shown by the recited teachings, instant claims are no more than the combination of conventional components of solid pharmaceutical compositions (e.g. tablets) for treatment/control of symptoms associated with diabetes. It therefore follows that the instant claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. Cf. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 848, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding the claimed barrier coating between the first immediate release coating and the second immediate release coating (instant claim 7), ITO ‘543 clearly teaches barrier coatings (see e.g., [0013], [0014], pp. 9-10, Tables 4a,b – Barrier coating, [0149]); and ITO ‘887 teaches a seal coating (see, e.g., [0005], [0018], [0022], [0117], and claims 1 & 14). It would have been prima facie obvious to include both linagliptin immediate release coating (first immediate release coating) and empagliflozin immediate release coating (second immediate release coating) with the metformin extended release core, as discussed above, it would have been prima facie obvious to include a barrier coating in order to separate and smooth the surface for subsequent coatings. Separation layers are typically used to prevent chemical reactions between components in different layers, and smooth coatings are used such that subsequent coatings can be evenly applied. For example where a drug layer is applied an even layer is necessary to have better control over drug dosing.
Applicants claim include embodiments where the linagliptin and the empagliflozin are (1) in the same immediate release layer (instant claims 4, 10, 11 & 13). In the instant case the function of immediate release would have been the same for each active agent (linagliptin and empagliflozin) in both (1) and (2), and thus considered a simple Rearrangement of Parts (MPEP §2144.04-VI-C). The motivation to include both active ingredients in the same layer would have been to simplify the drug formulation manufacturing process where a single immediate release coating including both the linagliptin and empagliflozin would have reasonably resulted in a simpler manufacturing process (instant claims 4, 10, 11 & 13). Furthermore, ITO ‘543 clearly suggest both linagliptin and empagliflozin for immediate release (abstract, and [0085]-[0113]); and ITO ‘887 teaches clearly suggest both linagliptin and empagliflozin for immediate release (abstract, and [0071]-[0097]); and both ITO ‘543 and ITO ‘887 each suggested the excipients hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, poly(ethylene glycol) as a plasticizer, and a glidant such as talc (ITO ‘543 – [0086] & [0102];ITO ‘887 – [0072] & [0086]). ITO even suggests L-arginine in the empagliflozin portion (ITO ‘543 – [0105]; ITO ‘887 – [0089]), which is clearly suggested as a stabilizer for the linagliptin (ITO ‘543 – [0086]; ITO ‘887 – [0072]), further suggesting the combination of linagliptin and empagliflozin in the same immediate release layer.
BROEDL teaches pharmaceutical compositions for control/treatment of symptoms associated with diabetes (see whole document), their compositions including certain SGLT-2 inhibitors ([0009]), particularly empagliflozin ([0188]), and can further include metformin and linagliptin (p. 4, col. 2, lines 3-5).
EISENREICH teaches pharmaceutical dosage forms including linagliptin (a DPP-IV inhibitor) in combination with an SGL-2 inhibitor (such as empagliflozin) for the treatment or control of symptoms associated with diabetes (see whole document, particularly [0002], [0014], [0020], [0032] & [0012]:(l.3)). EISENREICH teaches that their dosage forms include layered tablets including the active agents in the same layer or in different layers, including an active in a film coating layer ([0198]). EISENREICH further teaches that their dosage forms including linagliptin in combination with an SGLT-2 inhibitor exhibit a good shelf ([0015] to [0017]).
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rationale and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a combination fixed-dose formulation including metformin HCl, linagliptin and empagliflozin for the treatment or control of symptoms associated with diabetes, as suggested by ITO ‘543 and/or ITO ‘887, and produce the instantly claimed invention because it is generally considered to be prima facie obvious to combine compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition that is to be used for an identical purpose; and further to provide the linagliptin and empagliflozin in an immediate release layer, or layers, and the metformin in an extended release core, as taught by ITO, to provide the best fixed-dose formulation for the treatment or control of symptoms associated with diabetes, and to include the linagliptin and empagliflozin in the same layer or in different layers because ITO ‘543 and/or ITO ‘887 each teach these specific drugs as useful for the same purpose and simple rearrangement of parts is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to which the invention pertains; and as suggested by BROEDL, and to include the linagliptin and empagliflozin in separate layers, as suggested by EISENREICH produce the instantly claimed invention because the combination of the three active agents, each directed at the treatment or control of symptoms associated with diabetes, would have reasonably resulted in improved treatment of the same.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/447,117 (hereafter ‘117) in view of ITO ‘887 (US 2013/0064887 A1; published March, 2013) in view of BROEDL (US 2014/0303097 A1; published October, 2014) and EISENREICH (US 2010/0209506 A1; published August, 2010).
The instant claims are discussed above.
Copending ‘117 claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising: (a) an inner extended release tablet core consisting of metformin hydrochloride, poly(ethylene oxide) as swelling and/or extended release polymer, low molecular weight hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as binder, and magnesium stearate as lubricant, wherein the metformin hydrochloride is present in a unit dosage strength of 1000 mg, wherein the inner extended release tablet core is coated with a barrier coating; (b) an immediate release coating comprising 1-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene and one or more excipients, wherein the 1-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene is present in a unit dosage strength of 5, 10, 12.5 or 25 mg; wherein the immediate release coating comprises: 8-20 % w/w of polyethylene glycol of molecular weight of about 6000, 5-35 % w/w of 1-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene, 40-70 % w/w of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, 0-5 % w/w of polyethylene glycol of molecular weight of about 8000, 5-20 % w/w of talc, wherein % w/w relate to the weight of the immediate release coating; and (c) the barrier coating is present between said inner extended release tablet core and said immediate release coating, wherein the barrier coating separates the inner extended release tablet core from the immediate release coating, wherein the barrier coating has a weight in the range from 50 to 100 mg, or the barrier coating has a weight of 68 mg or 85 mg, wherein said pharmaceutical composition is a tablet for oral administration, wherein the barrier coating is a film coat formulation consisting of: one or more film-coating agents selected from a mixture of hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) and polydextrose; polyethylene glycol; and titanium dioxide. Where 1-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4-((S)-tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene is synonymous with empagliflozin as evidenced by US 2013/0137646 A1 at paragraph [0019].
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of copending ‘117 is that the claim of copending ‘117 do not expressly claim the inclusion of linagliptin in combination with the metformin extended release core and the immediate release empagliflozin.
ITO ‘887 discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising fixed dose combinations of a DPP-4 inhibitor drug and/or a SGLT-2 inhibitor drug, and metformin XR, processes for the preparation thereof, and their use to treat certain diseases, as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
BROEDL teaches pharmaceutical compositions for control/treatment of symptoms associated with diabetes (see whole document), their compositions including certain SGLT-2 inhibitors ([0009]), particularly empagliflozin ([0188]), and can further include metformin and linagliptin (p. 4, col. 2, lines 3-5).
EISENREICH teaches pharmaceutical dosage forms including linagliptin (a DPP-IV inhibitor) in combination with an SGL-2 inhibitor (such as empagliflozin) for the treatment or control of symptoms associated with diabetes (see whole document, particularly [0002], [0014], [0020], [0032] & [0012]:(l.3)). EISENREICH teaches that their dosage forms include layered tablets including the active agents in the same layer or in different layers, including an active in a film coating layer ([0198]). EISENREICH further teaches that their dosage forms including linagliptin in combination with an SGLT-2 inhibitor exhibit a good shelf ([0015] to [0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the instantly rejected claims are an obvious variant of the claims of copending ‘117 because the claims are directed at pharmaceutical composition including active agents for the treatment of diabetes (metformin HCl and empagliflozin). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the claims of copending ‘117 and produce the instantly rejected claim because it is prima facie to combine compositions which are useful for the very same purpose to produce another composition useful for the same. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the invention of the instantly rejected claims because it would have required no more than an ordinary level of skill in the art to produce a pharmaceutical composition consistent with the claims of ‘117 and further comprising linagliptin in combination with, or in another immediate release layer.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 9,155,705 (claims 1-25, hereafter ‘705); 9,415,061 (claims 1-27, hereafter ‘016); 9,555,0011 (claims 1-17, hereafter ‘001); 10,406,172 (claims 1-13, hereafter ‘172); 10,973,827 (claims 1-10, hereafter ‘827); 11,564,8862 (claims 1-18, hereafter ‘886); and 12,678,442 (claims 1-23; hereafter ‘442) in view of ITO ‘543 (US 2013/0236543 A1; published September, 2013) and/or ITO ‘887 (US 2013/0064887 A1; published March, 2013) and further in view of BROEDL (US 2014/0303097 A1; published October, 2014) and EISENREICH (US 2010/0209506 A1; published August, 2010).
The instant claims are discussed above.
‘705 claim 1 recites a solid pharmaceutical composition comprising or made from: (a) [linagliptin] in a dosage range from about 0.5 mg to about 10 mg, (b) metformin hydrochloride, (c) a pharmaceutical excipient, and (d) about 1-50 mg of L-arginine. ‘705 claim 11 recites the pharmaceutical dosage form according to claim 1 in the form of tablet including a tablet which is film-coated for drug-loading.
‘016 claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising or made from: (a) 1-[(4-methyl-quinazolin-2-yl)methyl]-3-methyl-7-(2-butyn-1-yl)-8-(3 (R)amino-piperidin-1-yl)-xanthine [syn. linagliptin] in a dosage of 2.5 mg or 5 mg, (b) metformin hydrochloride, ( c) one or more pharmaceutical excipients, and ( d) a basic amino acid having an intramolecular amino group and alkaline characteristics, which basic amino acid is present in an amount sufficient to suppress degradation of said [linagliptin], wherein the pharmaceutical composition is a tablet comprising a film -coat; and wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises the following amounts(% by weight of total coated tablet mass): 0.1-0.5% of [linagliptin], and 47-85% of metformin hydrochloride. ‘016 claims 6-8 limit the amount of the metformin HCI (100-1500 mg), and claim 9 includes L-arginine, in an amount of 1-20, 1-50mg (claims 10-11).
‘001 claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising: (a) an extended release core comprising metformin hydrochloride, poly(ethylene oxide) as a swellable and/or extended release polymer, and one or more excipients; (b) a barrier coating comprising a mixture of hydroxypropyl cellulose and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as film-coating agent, and (c) an immediate release coating consisting of linagliptin, L-arginine, polyethylene glycol, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, and talc. ‘001 recites the weight ratio of the L-arginine to linagliptin is within the range of from about 4: 1 to about 2: 1.
‘172 claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising in a single dosage form: (a) a sodium-dependent glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitor, wherein said SGLT2 inhibitor is [empagliflozin], wherein said pharmaceutical composition comprises 5, 10, 12.5 or 25 mg of said SGLT2 inhibitor, and (b) a dipeptidyl peptidase IV (DPPIV) inhibitor, wherein said DPPIV inhibitor is linagliptin or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein said pharmaceutical composition comprises 2.5 or 5 mg of said DPPIV inhibitor, and (c) a third antidiabetic agent, wherein said third antidiabetic agent is metformin hydrochloride, wherein said pharmaceutical composition comprises 1000 mg of metformin hydrochloride.
‘827 claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising l-[(4 methylquinazolin-2-yl)methyl]-3-methyl-7-(2-butyn-1-yl)-8-(3-(R)-amino-piperidin-1-yl)-xanthine [syn. linagliptin] in a dosage of 2.5 mg or 5 mg, metformin hydrochloride, and a basic amino acid having an intramolecular amino group and alkaline characteristics in an amount sufficient to suppress degradation of said [linagliptin], wherein the pharmaceutical composition is in the form of a tablet comprising a film-coat, which film-coated tablet comprises the following amounts (% by weight of total coated tablet mass): 0.1-0.5% of [linagliptin], 47-85% of metformin HCl, 0.07-2.2% of L-arginine as the basic amino acid, 3.9-8.1 % of a binder, 2.3-5.9% of a first filler, 0-4.4% of a second filler, 0-33% of a third filler, 0.7-1.5% of a lubricant, and 0.1-0.5% of a glidant.
‘886 claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising: (a) an inner extended release core, wherein the inner extended release core is a formulation comprising metformin hydrochloride, a swellable and/or extended release polymer, and one or more further excipients; (b) an intermediate seal coating, wherein the seal coating comprises a film -coating agent, a plasticizer, and, optionally, a glidant, one or more pigments and/or colors, wherein the film coating agent and the plasticizer are a mixture of hydroxypropylcellulose and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose; and (c) an outer immediate release coating, wherein the outer immediate release coating is a film coat formulation comprising l-chloro-4-(β-D-glucopyranos-1-yl)-2-[4 ((S)tetrahydrofuran-3-yloxy)-benzyl]-benzene [syn. empagliflozin], a film coating agent, a plasticizer, and, optionally, a glidant. ‘886 claim 18 recites the pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the outer immediate release coating comprises [empagliflozin] and linagliptin.
‘442 claim 1 recites stable pharmaceutical composition comprising a dipeptidyl peptidase-4 (DPP-4) inhibitor which is l-[(4-methyl-quinazolin-2-yl)methyl]-3-methyl-7-(2-butyn-1-yl )-8-(3-(R)-amino-piperidin-1-yl)-xanthine free base, a partner drug which is metformin hydrochloride, one or more pharmaceutical excipients, and a stabilizing agent for stabilizing said DPP-4 inhibitor against degradation to form an impurity and/or degradation product caused by reaction of the primary amino group of 1-[( 4-methyl-quinazolin-2-yl)methyl]-3-methyl-7-(2-butyn-1-yl)-8-(3-(R)-amino-piperidin-1-yl)xanthine [syn. Linagliptin] free base when combined with metformin hydrochloride in the composition; wherein the stabilizing agent is a nucleophilic and/or basic agent or a buffering agent that is a basic amino acid having an intramolecular amino group and alkaline characteristics; wherein the pharmaceutical composition is bioequivalent to the free combination of the DPP-4 inhibitor and metformin hydrochloride; wherein the DPP-4 inhibitor is present in a dosage range from 0.5 mg to 10 mg, and the stabilizing agent is present in an amount minimized to not alter the bioequivalence of the pharmaceutical composition to the free combination but sufficient to stabilize said DPP-4 inhibitor against degradation, and wherein the impurity and/or degradation product is an N-acetyl or N-carbamoyl derivative of the free base DPP-4 inhibitor.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of ‘705 is that the claims of ‘705 do not expressly claim the inclusion of empagliflozin or that the core is a metformin (extended release) ER core, and the film-coated drug layer is an immediate release layer.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of ‘016 is that the claims of ‘016 do not expressly claim the linagliptin is in an immediate release coating.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of ‘00l is that the claims of ‘001 do not expressly claim the inclusion of empagliflozin.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of ‘172 is that the claims of ‘172 do not expressly claim that the core is a metformin ER core, and the film-coated drug layer is an immediate release layer including the empagliflozin and/or the linagliptin.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of ‘827 is that the claims of ‘827 do not expressly claim do not expressly claim the linagliptin is in an immediate release coating.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of ‘886 is that the claims of ‘886 do not expressly claim the inclusion of empagliflozin and linagliptin in different immediate release layers.
The difference between the instantly rejected claims and the claims of copending ‘442 is that the claim of copending ‘442 do not expressly claim linagliptin is in an immediate release layer, or the inclusion of an extended release metformin HCl core, and an immediate release empagliflozin.
ITO ‘543 discloses an oral solid dosage form, such as e.g. a tablet comprising of (a) an inner extended release core comprising metformin (particularly metformin hydrochloride) and one or more excipients; (b) an optional intermediate seal coating; and (c) an outer immediate release coating comprising at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient selected from a DPP-4 inhibitor, preferably linagliptin, and a SGLT-2 inhibitor, preferably Compound "A", and one or more excipients, as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
ITO ‘887 discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising fixed dose combinations of a DPP-4 inhibitor drug and/or a SGLT-2 inhibitor drug, and metformin XR, processes for the preparation thereof, and their use to treat certain diseases, as discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
BROEDL teaches pharmaceutical compositions for control/treatment of symptoms associated with diabetes (see whole document), their compositions including certain SGLT-2 inhibitors ([0009]), particularly empagliflozin ([0188]), and can further include metformin and linagliptin (p. 4, col. 2, lines 3-5).
EISENREICH teaches pharmaceutical dosage forms including linagliptin (a DPP-IV inhibitor) in combination with an SGL-2 inhibitor (such as empagliflozin) for the treatment or control of symptoms associated with diabetes (see whole document, particularly [0002], [0014], [0020], [0032] & [0012]:(l.3)). EISENREICH teaches that their dosage forms include layered tablets including the active agents in the same layer or in different layers, including an active in a film coating layer ([0198]). EISENREICH further teaches that their dosage forms including linagliptin in combination with an SGLT-2 inhibitor exhibit a good shelf ([0015] to [0017]).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the instantly rejected claims are an obvious variant of the claims of (‘705, ‘016, ‘001, ‘172, ‘827, ‘886 and/or ‘442) because the claims include a pharmaceutical dosage form including a combination of active agents linagliptin (and/or empagliflozin) with metformin for treating diabetes, and it would have been obvious to include a third active for treating the same, as taught by BROEDL, and further to formulate the dosage form as an ER metformin core surrounded by immediate release layer(s) of linagliptin and/or empagliflozin. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the claims of (‘705, ‘016, ‘001, ‘172, ‘827, ‘886 and/or ‘442) and produce the instantly rejected claim in order to improve the
pharmaceutical efficacy of the formulation by including the empagliflozin SGL-2 inhibitor. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the invention of the instantly rejected claims because it would have required no more than an ordinary level of skill in the art to formulate a tablet having an metformin ER core surrounded by immediate release layer(s) of linagliptin and/or empagliflozin.
Conclusion
Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined on the merits. The instant Specification and claim 5 are objected to. Claims 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); claims 1-3, 8-9, 12, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1); claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103; claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 19/447,117; and claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 9,155,705; 9,415,061; 9,555,001; 10,406,172; 10,973,827; 11,564,886 and 12,678,442. No claims allowed at this time.
/IVAN A GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619
1 In view of ITO ‘887 and not ITO ‘543.
2 In view of ITO ‘543 and not ITO ‘887.