DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference (RADEMARKER et al. (WO 2011106787 A2: hereinafter “RADEMARKER”)) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-18 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAWS in view of RADEMARKER et al. (WO 2011106787 A2: hereinafter “RADEMARKER”).
Consider claims 1, 10:
LAWS teaches a system (Fig. 3 elements 104-346), a method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system (Figs. 1, 3 elements 100-346) and a driver-support system comprising a processor (See LAWS, e.g., “…virtualizing industrial vehicles to automate task execution in a physical environment is described...the method includes determining input parameters for controlling vehicle hardware components…comprise actuators that are used to control hardware component operations, generating mappings between the input parameters and the hardware component operations…each of the input parameters is applied to an actuator to perform an corresponding hardware component operation, correlating the mappings with vehicle commands to produce abstraction information and executing at least one task comprising various ones of the vehicle commands using the abstraction information…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032], ¶ [0039]-¶ [0042], ¶ [0052], ¶ [0058], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0074]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120), the human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork (Figs. 1-3 elements 100-346), comprising: receiving a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet-management system (See LAWS, e.g., “…The forklift 200…is a powered industrial truck having various load capacities and used to lift and transport various objects…move one or more pallets…along paths within the physical environment…The paths may be pre-defined or dynamically computed as tasks are received…The mobile computer 104 implements a task automation system through which any industrial vehicle may be operated. In one embodiment, tasks for the forklift 200 are automated by emulating at the control-level, actions of a human driver, which include hardware component operation control and environment sensing…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058], ¶ [0066], ¶ [0074]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120); planning a trajectory based on the mission definition (See LAWS, e.g., “…The task manager 332 includes a path planning module 506 for creating a path 518 based the vehicle planning model 502. The task manager 332 also includes a motion control module 508, which uses the vehicle behavior model 504 to determine vehicle commands…for moving the industrial vehicle along the path 518. The task manager 332 also includes a positioning module 510 that communicates positional data 512 to the motion control module 508. The task manager 332 also optimizes motion control by updating the vehicle behavior model 504 with recent vehicle performance…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120); during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitoring, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface (Fig. 3 element 104, “…The mobile computer 104 implements a task automation system through which any industrial vehicle may be operated. In one embodiment, tasks for the forklift 200 are automated by emulating at the control-level, actions of a human driver, which include hardware component operation control and environment sensing…”) and at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle (See LAWS, e.g., “…The sensor array 108 is communicable coupled to the mobile computer 104, which is attached to an automated forklift (e.g., the forklift 200 of FIG. 2). The sensor array 108 includes a plurality of devices 318 for monitoring a physical environment and capturing data associated with various objects, which is stored by the mobile computer 104 as the sensor array data 338…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120), a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle (See LAWS, e.g., “…the task manager 332 may generate a path for executing the task 346 and then instruct the automated vehicle software 316 to move at a specific velocity and along the path curvature while engaging and transporting object loads to designated locations…The task manager 330 optimizes completion of these tasks in a timely and energy efficient manner by, for example, not moving the two vehicles unnecessarily, dividing the two tasks into sub-tasks and ensuring a particular industrial vehicle is capable of performing each activity required for either of the two tasks…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120); and detecting a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operating the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information (See LAWS, e.g., “…The path planning module 506 uses the vehicle planning model 502 to generate vehicle-dependent route data describing a path clear of known obstructions. Based on attributes such as a maximum velocity and a maximum size load, the path planning module 506 determines the path 518 for executing the task 346. The path 518 is communicated to the motion control module 508, which uses the vehicle pose and the vehicle behavior model 504 to generate velocity and steering commands 516. At any time, the path 518 may be altered because of previously unknown obstructions that are sensed during travel, such as a manually driven forklift, which will result in the industrial vehicle driving around the obstruction, if possible, or the facility manager 330 may select a different industrial vehicle and produce another path that avoids the obstruction to complete the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120); and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork (See LAWS, e.g., “…The path 518 is communicated to the motion control module 508, which uses the vehicle pose and the vehicle behavior model 504 to generate velocity and steering commands 516. At any time, the path 518 may be altered because of previously unknown obstructions that are sensed during travel, such as a manually driven forklift, which will result in the industrial vehicle driving around the obstruction, if possible, or the facility manager 330 may select a different industrial vehicle and produce another path that avoids the obstruction to complete the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120), updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision (See LAWS, e.g., “…At any time, the path 518 may be altered because of previously unknown obstructions that are sensed during travel, such as a manually driven forklift, which will result in the industrial vehicle driving around the obstruction, if possible, or the facility manager 330 may select a different industrial vehicle and produce another path that avoids the obstruction to complete the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
LAWS further teaches the human-operated material-transport vehicle, planning a trajectory (See LAWS, e.g., “…The task manager 332 includes a path planning module 506 for creating a path 518 based the vehicle planning model 502. The task manager 332 also includes a motion control module 508, which uses the vehicle behavior model 504 to determine vehicle commands…for moving the industrial vehicle along the path 518. The task manager 332 also includes a positioning module 510 that communicates positional data 512 to the motion control module 508. The task manager 332 also optimizes motion control by updating the vehicle behavior model 504 with recent vehicle performance…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120), the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the vehicle (Fig. 3 element 104, “…The mobile computer 104 implements a task automation system through which any industrial vehicle may be operated. In one embodiment, tasks for the forklift 200 are automated by emulating at the control-level, actions of a human driver, which include hardware component operation control and environment sensing…”). However, LAWS does not explicitly teach display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
In an analogous field of endeavor, RADEMARKER teaches display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface (e.g., “…a display for presenting route information…”, of Figs. 5-10B elements 500-1032) to assist an operator of vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks (See RADEMARKER, e.g., “…wherein the route planning engine 504 determines appropriate changes to the route to include the rendezvous location in the route, and applies the changes to the route stored in the dispatch data store 516…the route planning engine 504 transmits the updated route for presentation to the operator. The route planning engine 504 may transmit the information for presentation via the operator interface device 522 or the vehicle interface device 524…the delivery interface layer 518 receives the route from the route planning engine 504, retrieves an appropriate map from the map generation engine 508, and transmits the map with the route superimposed thereon…the delivery interface layer 518 may transmit the updated route information directly to the vehicle interface device 524 or the operator interface device 522, and the receiving device applies the updates to a displayed map or route…”, of Pages 5-12, 18-25, and Figs. 5-10B elements 500-1032, Figs. 11A-H steps 1100-1180); and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface (See RADEMARKER, e.g., “…the delivery interface layer 518 may transmit the updated route information directly to the vehicle interface device 524 or the operator interface device 522, and the receiving device applies the updates to a displayed map or route…”, of Pages 5-12, 18-25, and Figs. 5-10B elements 500-1032, Figs. 11A-H steps 1100-1180).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…virtualizing industrial vehicles to automate task execution in a physical environment is described...the method includes determining input parameters for controlling vehicle hardware components…comprise actuators that are used to control hardware component operations, generating mappings between the input parameters and the hardware component operations…each of the input parameters is applied to an actuator to perform an corresponding hardware component operation, correlating the mappings with vehicle commands to produce abstraction information and executing at least one task comprising various ones of the vehicle commands using the abstraction information…”, as disclosed in LAWS with “display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.”, as taught in RADEMARKER with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, method for efficiently, robustly, and seamlessly operate autonomous vehicles to carry out tasks in an appropriate fashion, and mitigate, avoid any collisions and mishaps.
Consider claims 2, 11:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 10. In addition, LAWS teaches wherein, during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle, receiving one or more user inputs from an operator providing task-related data via the human-vehicle interface (See LAWS, e.g., “…The mobile computer 104 implements a task automation system through which any industrial vehicle may be operated. In one embodiment, tasks for the forklift 200 are automated by emulating at the control-level, actions of a human driver, which include hardware component operation control and environment sensing…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Consider claims 3, 12:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 10. In addition, LAWS teaches wherein, during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle, determining at least one of a vehicle location or a vehicle velocity from sensor data generated by the at least one sensor (See LAWS, e.g., “…The sensor array data 338 includes position, velocity and/or acceleration measurements associated with the industrial vehicle movement, which are stored as actuator data 342. The memory 308 also includes an emulation module 314 for generating the configuration information 310 and the abstraction information 312 as explained further below. The automated vehicle software 316 also invokes the emulation module 314 in order to execute vehicle commands 348…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Consider claims 4, 13:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 10. In addition, LAWS teaches wherein the driver-support system is located within an industrial facility (Figs. 1, 3 elements 100-346).
Consider claims 5, 14:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 10. In addition, LAWS teaches further comprises operating the processor to determine vehicle-proximity information associated with the human-operated material-transport vehicle (See LAWS, e.g., “…the physical environment 100 includes a vehicle 102 that is coupled to a mobile computer 104, a central computer 106 as well as a sensor array 108. The sensor array 108 includes a plurality of devices for analyzing various objects within the physical environment 100 and transmitting data (e.g., image data, video data, range map data, three-dimensional graph data and/or the like) to the mobile computer 104 and/or the central computer 106, as explained further below. The sensor array 108 includes various types of sensors, such as encoders, ultrasonic range finders, laser range finders, pressure transducers…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Consider claims 6, 15:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 5, 14. In addition, LAWS teaches further comprises operating the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the vehicle-proximity information (See LAWS, e.g., “…The path 518 is communicated to the motion control module 508, which uses the vehicle pose and the vehicle behavior model 504 to generate velocity and steering commands 516. At any time, the path 518 may be altered because of previously unknown obstructions that are sensed during travel, such as a manually driven forklift, which will result in the industrial vehicle driving around the obstruction, if possible, or the facility manager 330 may select a different industrial vehicle and produce another path that avoids the obstruction to complete the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Consider claims 7, 16:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, LAWS teaches further comprises operating the processor to determine kinematics information associated with the human-operated material transport vehicle based on the trajectory (See LAWS, e.g., “…The path 518 is communicated to the motion control module 508, which uses the vehicle pose and the vehicle behavior model 504 to generate velocity and steering commands 516. At any time, the path 518 may be altered because of previously unknown obstructions that are sensed during travel, such as a manually driven forklift, which will result in the industrial vehicle driving around the obstruction, if possible, or the facility manager 330 may select a different industrial vehicle and produce another path that avoids the obstruction to complete the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Consider claims 8, 17:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, LAWS teaches further comprises receiving payload information comprising payload dimensions (See LAWS, e.g., “…The path planning module 506 uses the vehicle planning model 502 to generate vehicle-dependent route data describing a path clear of known obstructions. Based on attributes such as a maximum velocity and a maximum size load, the path planning module 506 determines the path 518 for executing the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Consider claims 9, 18:
The combination of LAWS, RADEMARKER teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 8, 17. In addition, LAWS teaches further comprises operating the processor to determine kinematics information associated with the human-operated material transport vehicle based on the trajectory and the payload information (See LAWS, e.g., “…The path planning module 506 uses the vehicle planning model 502 to generate vehicle-dependent route data describing a path clear of known obstructions. Based on attributes such as a maximum velocity and a maximum size load, the path planning module 506 determines the path 518 for executing the task 346…”, of ¶ [0008], ¶ [0022]-¶ [0025], ¶ [0032]-¶ [0052], ¶ [0058]-¶ [0075], and Fig. 1 elements 100-114, Fig. 3 elements 104-346, Figs. 4-5 elements 200-518, Figs. 8-11 steps 800-1120).
Obviousness Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of US Patent No. 10,585,440 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claims 1, 10 of the instant application and claims 1, 10, and 17 of the US Patent No. 10,585,440 B2 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/989,167
Claims of US Pat. No. 10,585,440 B2 (hereinafter ‘440)
Reasoning
A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system and a driver-support system comprising a processor, the human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, comprising: receiving a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet-management system; planning a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human- operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material-transport vehicle; during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitoring, using at least one of [[a]]the human-vehicle interface and at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detecting a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operating the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, the system comprising: a fleet-management system; and a driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle; a human-vehicle interface; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor and the human- vehicle interface, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet- management system; plan a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via the human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material- transport vehicle; and during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitor, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface and the at least one sensor, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detect a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operate the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
1. A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, comprising: operating a driver-support system mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle, the driver-support system comprising a processor operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system, wherein the driver-support system comprises: at least one sensor for determining at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity; and a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from the operator for providing a task-related data; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks; during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: operating the fleet-management system to: determine, based on the at least one of the vehicle location and the vehicle velocity and a fleet status of one or more other vehicles operating within the industrial facility, of one or more potential collisions between the human-operated material-transport vehicle and the one or more other vehicles; and determine, based on the one or more user inputs, a task status of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and generate and transmit to the driver-support system a collision notification associated with the one or more potential collisions and an updated mission definition based the task status; and operating the driver-support system to: in response to receiving the collision notification, generating a collision alert via the human-vehicle interface to warn the operator of the one or more potential collisions; update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
10. A driver-support system mounted to a human-operated material-transport vehicle and in communication with a fleet-management system, the driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor operable to determine at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity; a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from an operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for providing a task-related data; a human-vehicle interface; and a transceiver for communicating with the fleet-management system; a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor, the task-input device, the human-vehicle interface and the transceiver, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path using a mapping application and a localization application based at least on information received from the at least one sensor and the mission definition; display the path via the human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system, wherein the vehicle-mission information comprises: at least one of a vehicle location and vehicle velocity determined by the at least one sensor; and one or more user inputs from the operator providing a task-related data via the task-input device; during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system; receive from the fleet-management system: a collision notification associated with one or more potential collisions between the human-operated material-transport vehicle and one or more other vehicles operating within the industrial facility based on the at least one of a vehicle location and vehicle determined by the at least one sensor; and an updated mission definition generated based on a task status determined by the fleet-management system from the one or more user inputs received via the task-input device; in response to receiving the collision notification, generate a collision alert via the human-vehicle interface to warn the operator of the one or more potential collisions; update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
17. A non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions executable on a processor for operating a driver-support system mounted to a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, the processor is operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system, wherein the driver-support system comprises: at least one sensor for determining at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity; and a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from the operator for providing a task-related data; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system; receive from the fleet-management system: a collision notification associated with one or more potential collisions between the human-operated material-transport vehicle and one or more other vehicles operating within the industrial facility based on the at least one of a vehicle location and vehicle determined by the at least one sensor; and an updated mission definition generated based on a task status determined by the fleet-management system from the one or more user inputs received via the task-input device; in response to receiving the collision notification, generate a collision alert via the human-vehicle interface to warn the operator of the one or more potential collisions; update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
Claims of ‘440 only differ from the instant application, in that the claims of ‘440 specify “at least one sensor for determining at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity…determine, based on the at least one of the vehicle location and the vehicle velocity and a fleet status of one or more other vehicles operating within the industrial facility, of one or more potential collisions between the human-operated material-transport vehicle and the one or more other vehicles… and generate and transmit to the driver-support system a collision notification associated with the one or more potential collisions and an updated mission definition based the task status…”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims of the instant application made claims a broader version of claims of ‘440. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims are not patentably distinct from claims of '440.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,054,840 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a nonprovisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have in fact been patented/issued, take an example of claims 1, 10 of the instant application and claims 1, 11, and 20 of the US Patent No. 11,054,840 B2 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/989,167
Claims of US Pat. No. 11,054,840 B2 (hereinafter ‘840)
Reasoning
A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system and a driver-support system comprising a processor, the human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, comprising: receiving a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet-management system; planning a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human- operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material-transport vehicle; during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitoring, using at least one of [[a]]the human-vehicle interface and at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detecting a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operating the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, the system comprising: a fleet-management system; and a driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle; a human-vehicle interface; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor and the human- vehicle interface, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet- management system; plan a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via the human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material- transport vehicle; and during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitor, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface and the at least one sensor, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detect a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operate the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
1. A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, comprising: operating a driver-support system mounted to the human-operated material transport vehicle, the driver-support system comprising a processor, a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from an operator for providing a task-related data, a human-vehicle interface, and at least one sensor for determining at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity, the processor operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via the human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect, using at least one of the task-input device and the at least one sensor, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: operate the fleet-management system to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and operate the driver-support system to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
11. A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, the system comprising: the fleet-management system; and a driver-support system mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle and in communication with the fleet-management system, the driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor operable to determine at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity; a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from an operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for providing a task-related data; a human-vehicle interface; a transceiver for communicating with the fleet-management system; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor, the task-input device, the human-vehicle interface and the transceiver, the processor of the driver-support system being operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect, using at least one of the task-input device and the at least one sensor, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks, the fleet-management system being operable to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and the processor of the driver-support system being further operable to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions executable on a processor for operating a fleet-management system and a driver-support system mounted to a human-operated material-transport vehicle and communicating with the fleet-management system, the driver-support system comprising a processor, a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from an operator for providing a task-related data, a human-vehicle interface, and at least one sensor for determining at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity, the processor operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via the human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect, using at least one of the task-input device and the at least one sensor, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks, the fleet-management system being operable to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and the processor of the driver-support system being further operable to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
Claims of ‘840 only differ from the instant application, in that the claims of ‘840 specify “a task-input device for receiving one or more user inputs from an operator for providing a task-related data…and at least one sensor for determining at least one of a vehicle location and a vehicle velocity…”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims of the instant application made claims a broader version of claims of ‘840. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims are not patentably distinct from claims of '840.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,960,300 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claims 1, 10 of the instant application and claims 1, 11 of the US Patent No. 11,960,300 B2 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/989,167
Claims of US Pat. No. 11,960,300 B2 (hereinafter ‘300)
Reasoning
A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system and a driver-support system comprising a processor, the human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, comprising: receiving a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet-management system; planning a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human- operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material-transport vehicle; during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitoring, using at least one of [[a]]the human-vehicle interface and at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detecting a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operating the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, the system comprising: a fleet-management system; and a driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle; a human-vehicle interface; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor and the human- vehicle interface, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet- management system; plan a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via the human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material- transport vehicle; and during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitor, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface and the at least one sensor, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detect a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operate the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
1. A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, comprising: operating a driver-support system, the driver-support system comprising a processor and at least one sensor, the processor operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface or the at least one sensor, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: operate the fleet-management system to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and operate the driver-support system to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
11. A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, the system comprising: the fleet-management system; and a driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor; a human-vehicle interface; a transceiver for communicating with a fleet-management system; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor, the human-vehicle interface and the transceiver, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a path based on the mission definition; display the path via the human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface or the at least one sensor, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks, the fleet-management system being operable to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and the processor of the driver-support system being further operable to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface.
Claims of ‘300 only differ from the instant application, in that the claims of ‘300 specify “display the path via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks…and operate the driver-support system to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the path based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated path via the human-vehicle interface”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims of the instant application made claims a broader version of claims of ‘300. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims are not patentably distinct from claims of '300.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,228,950 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claims 1, 10 of the instant application and claims 1, 11 of the US Patent No. 112,228,950 B2 (Please see the Table below):
Claims of pending Application 18/989,167
Claims of US Pat. No. 12,228,950 B2 (hereinafter ‘950)
Reasoning
A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system and a driver-support system comprising a processor, the human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, comprising: receiving a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet-management system; planning a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human- operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material-transport vehicle; during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitoring, using at least one of [[a]]the human-vehicle interface and at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detecting a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operating the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle comprising a pallet fork, the system comprising: a fleet-management system; and a driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle; a human-vehicle interface; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor and the human- vehicle interface, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition comprising one or more tasks from the fleet- management system; plan a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via the human-vehicle interface to assist an operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material- transport vehicle; and during operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: monitor, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface and the at least one sensor, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and detect a forklift-proximity information associated with the pallet fork and operate the processor to perform collision-avoidance based on the forklift-proximity information; and in response to detecting one or more of a change in a task status of at least one task and a potential collision at the pallet fork, updating the trajectory based at least on the task status and the potential collision, and displaying the updated trajectory at the human-vehicle interface.
1. A method of using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, comprising: operating a driver-support system, the driver-support system comprising a processor, the processor operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks, the human-vehicle interface being located remotely from the human-operated material-transport vehicle; monitor and collect, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface or at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks: operate the fleet-management system to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and operate the driver-support system to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the trajectory based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated trajectory via the human-vehicle interface.
11. A system for using a human-operated material-transport vehicle with a fleet-management system, the system comprising: the fleet-management system; and a driver-support system comprising: at least one sensor mounted to the human-operated material-transport vehicle; a human-vehicle interface located remotely from the human-operated material-transport vehicle; a transceiver for communicating with a fleet-management system; and a processor operable to communicate with the at least one sensor, the human-vehicle interface and the transceiver, the processor being operable to: receive a mission definition from the fleet-management system, wherein the mission definition comprises one or more tasks to be conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; plan a trajectory based on the mission definition; display the trajectory via the human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks; monitor and collect, using at least one of the human-vehicle interface or the at least one sensor, a vehicle-mission information associated with an operation of the human-operated material-transport vehicle by the operator within an industrial facility associated with the fleet-management system; and transmit the vehicle-mission information to the fleet-management system during operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and during the operation by the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle for completing the one or more tasks, the fleet-management system being operable to: monitor, based on the received vehicle-mission information, a task status of each task of the one or more tasks being conducted by the human-operated material-transport vehicle; and in response to detecting a change in a task status of at least one task, generate and transmit an updated mission definition to the human-operated material-transport vehicle based on the change in the task status; and the processor of the driver-support system being further operable to: in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the trajectory based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated trajectory via the human-vehicle interface.
Claims of ‘950 only differ from the instant application, in that the claims of ‘950 specify “display the trajectory via a human-vehicle interface to assist the operator of the human-operated material-transport vehicle to conduct the one or more tasks…in response to receiving the updated mission definition, update the trajectory based on the updated mission definition; and display the updated trajectory via the human-vehicle interface”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claims of the instant application made claims a broader version of claims of ‘950. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims are not patentably distinct from claims of '950.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
D'Andrea et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0204480 A1) teaches “A method for moving one or more mobile drive units within a workspace includes receiving, from a first mobile drive unit, a reservation request requesting use of a first path segment to move in a first direction. The method further includes determining that a second mobile drive unit is currently located on the first path segment and determining whether the second mobile drive unit is moving in the first direction. Additionally, the method includes transmitting a reservation response indicating that the reservation request is denied, in response to determining that the second mobile drive unit is not moving in the first direction. The method also includes transmitting a reservation response indicating that the reservation request is granted, in response to determining that the second mobile drive unit is moving in the first direction.”
Dalloro et al. (US Pat. No.: 2016/0247106 A1) teaches “A computer-implemented method for managing a fleet of electric vehicles includes a fleet management computing system selecting an optimal vehicle fleet size and a plurality of discharging parking lot locations based on (i) historical electrical energy consumption for a geographic area and (ii) historical traffic flow though the geographic area during one or more time periods of interest. The fleet management computing system collects transportation demand data from a plurality of users comprising requests for transportation to locations within the geographic area and uses (i) the optimal vehicle fleet size, (ii) the plurality of discharging parking lot locations, and (iii) the transportation demand data to select routing information for each of a plurality of electric vehicles. Then, the fleet management computing system routes each respective autonomous vehicle according to its respective routing information.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667