DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
1. Terminal Disclaimer filed on 7/21/2026 has been accepted.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claim 8, 14, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3 Claims 24-25 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 24 in combination with other limitations of the claims the prior art of record fails to disclose or specifically suggest a method performed by a server in an environment that includes the server, a first data processing system and a second data processing system and a third data processing system, the method comprising: receiving, by the server from the first data processing system, identification of codec capabilities of the first data processing system, the identification indicating a first set of codecs in the first data processing system that are available for use in an audiovisual (AV) conference, each codec associated with a respective coding quality; receiving, by the server from the second data processing system, identification of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the identification indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference, each codec associated with a respective coding quality; selecting a first codec to be used in the AV conference from among the first and second set of codecs according to a quality selection; communicating an identification of the first selected codec to the first and second data processing system; in response to a request from the third processing system to join the AV conference: receiving, by the server from the third data processing system, identification of codec capabilities of the third data processing system, the identification indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference, each codec associated with a respective coding quality; when the selected coded is not included in the identification of codec capabilities of the third data processing system, selecting a second codec from among the identification of codec capabilities of the third data processing system, and communicating the selection of the second codec to the third data processing system and at least one of the first and second data processing systems., when taking the claim as a whole.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reason for allowance:
The amendment filed on (07/21/2026) addresses the similar claim set in the patented claims issued on presented on d the previous set of claims with regards to the combined teachings of Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1), Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078) and Ravishankar et al. (US 2005/0013309). However, by Applicant’s claim amendment have been distinguished from the combination of Lu, Leung and Ravishankar. Thus the prior art on record in correlation with amended claim language does not disclose claim as whole. For the foregoing reason, the claims are allowable over the cited prior art.
Response to Amendment
4. This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 7/21/2026. Claims 1-23 are pending. Claims 24-25 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicants arguments filed in the 7/21/2026 remarks have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Discussion of claims 1, 15.
Applicant argues that Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) and Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078) do not teach or suggest “receiving, at the first data processing system, a request from the second data processing system to receive a first stream, encoded with a first codec, in the AV conference, the first codec in the first set of codecs in the first data processing system; receiving, by the first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec, in the AV conference, the second codec being in the first set of codecs and being different than the first codec; creating, on demand and in response to the request from the third data processing system, the second stream in the AV conference and transmitting the second stream to the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the first data processing system continues to transmit the first stream to the server for delivery to the second data processing system “
Examiner disagrees.
Lu discloses devices having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities. There are different processing system which entails different devices where different capabilities are determined. Thus having a first set of data being received and a second set data also being received which includes capabilities of devices. Each client device encodes, using an encoder, at least one data stream to send to conference server. Conference server receives the encoded data stream, process the encoded data stream and send the data stream to clients devices. Each client may have the ability to decode the data stream(s) received from the conference server and play or display the audio and/or video information embedded in the data stream(s) (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0023-0024, 0033, 0036.)
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “receiving, at the first data processing system, a request from the second data processing system to receive a first stream, encoded with a first codec”.
Lu discloses client device uses an encoder to produce two data streams 302, 304, which are transmitted to conference server (fig. 3). The encoder of sender client device employ’s the use of a video scalability standard, such as SVC, to reduce the number of data streams that are generated and transmitted. The conference server receives the two data streams 302, 304 and may process the data streams according to the capabilities of the receiver clients. As the processing performed by the conference server, the data stream 302 is split into two data streams. Conference server collects capability data from each registered client and one or more receiver clients, such as clients 130, 140 and 150 can each send a source request to conference server 110, wherein the source request may include capability data for each client, such as: the download bandwidth, the frame rate supported by the client, the resolution supported by the client, the video scalability type supported by the client and the loss rate of the client. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component. Therefore requesting data for streams from devices are aggregated by the server (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036).
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “receiving, by the first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec”.
Lu discloses wherein the conference server process the one or more data streams received from sender client based on the capabilities of the receiver clients 130, 140 and 150. Conference server alters or divides a data stream before sending it to a receiver client. Conference server receives a high frame rate data stream that meets the capabilities of a first receiver client but exceeds the capabilities of a second receiver client (see figs. 1-6; ¶ 0031-0051, 0068, 0070-0071).
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “creating, on demand and in response to the request from the third data processing system, the second stream in the AV conference and transmitting the second stream to the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the first data processing system continues to transmit the first stream to the server for delivery to the second data processing system”.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Discussion of claims 9.
Applicant argues that Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) and Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078) do not teach or suggest “transmitting, by the server to the first data processing system, a second set of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the second set of codec capabilities indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference”; “transmitting, by the server to first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec, in the AV conference, the second codec being in the first set of codecs and being different than the first codec; and receiving the second stream at the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the server continues to transmit the first stream to the second data processing system”.
Examiner disagrees.
Lu discloses devices having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities. There are different processing system which entails different devices where different capabilities are determined. Thus having a first set of data being received and a second set data also being received which includes capabilities of devices. Each client device encodes, using an encoder, at least one data stream to send to conference server. Conference server receives the encoded data stream, process the encoded data stream and send the data stream to clients devices. Each client may have the ability to decode the data stream(s) received from the conference server and play or display the audio and/or video information embedded in the data stream(s) (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0023-0024, 0033, 0036.)
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “transmitting, by the server to the first data processing system, a second set of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the second set of codec capabilities indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference”.
Lu discloses client device uses an encoder to produce two data streams 302, 304, which are transmitted to conference server (fig. 3). The encoder of sender client device employ’s the use of a video scalability standard, such as SVC, to reduce the number of data streams that are generated and transmitted. The conference server receives the two data streams 302, 304 and may process the data streams according to the capabilities of the receiver clients. As the processing performed by the conference server, the data stream 302 is split into two data streams. Conference server collects capability data from each registered client and one or more receiver clients, such as clients 130, 140 and 150 can each send a source request to conference server 110, wherein the source request may include capability data for each client, such as: the download bandwidth, the frame rate supported by the client, the resolution supported by the client, the video scalability type supported by the client and the loss rate of the client. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component. Therefore requesting data for streams from devices are aggregated by the server (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036).
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “transmitting, by the server to first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec, in the AV conference, the second codec being in the first set of codecs and being different than the first codec”.
Lu discloses wherein the conference server process the one or more data streams received from sender client based on the capabilities of the receiver clients 130, 140 and 150. Conference server alters or divides a data stream before sending it to a receiver client. Conference server receives a high frame rate data stream that meets the capabilities of a first receiver client but exceeds the capabilities of a second receiver client (see figs. 1-6; ¶ 0031-0051, 0068, 0070-0071).
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “receiving the second stream at the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the server continues to transmit the first stream to the second data processing system”.
Lu discloses device capabilities with have multiple components and firmware/software to process received streams.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Discussion of claims 23.
Applicant argues that Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) and Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078) do not teach or suggest “transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, a request for a first stream encoded by a first codec at the second data processing system, the request based on criteria at the first data processing system of a highest quality codec that is common to the first and the second sets of codecs”.
Examiner disagrees.
Lu discloses client device uses an encoder to produce two data streams 302, 304, which are transmitted to conference server (fig. 3). The encoder of sender client device employ’s the use of a video scalability standard, such as SVC, to reduce the number of data streams that are generated and transmitted. The conference server receives the two data streams 302, 304 and may process the data streams according to the capabilities of the receiver clients. As the processing performed by the conference server, the data stream 302 is split into two data streams. Conference server collects capability data from each registered client and one or more receiver clients, such as clients 130, 140 and 150 can each send a source request to conference server 110, wherein the source request may include capability data for each client, such as: the download bandwidth, the frame rate supported by the client, the resolution supported by the client, the video scalability type supported by the client and the loss rate of the client. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component. Therefore requesting data for streams from devices are aggregated by the server. Wherein the conference server process the one or more data streams received from sender client based on the capabilities of the receiver clients 130, 140 and 150. Conference server alters or divides a data stream before sending it to a receiver client. Conference server receives a high frame rate data stream that meets the capabilities of a first receiver client but exceeds the capabilities of a second receiver client. This process (see figs. 1-6; ¶ 0031-0051, 0068, 0070-0071).
Therefore Lu teaches the limitation of “transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, a request for a first stream encoded by a first codec at the second data processing system, the request based on criteria at the first data processing system of a highest quality codec that is common to the first and the second sets of codecs”
Lu discloses device capabilities with have multiple components and firmware/software to process received streams.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Discussion of claims 6 and 20.
Applicant argues that Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) and Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078) do not teach or suggest “wherein the method further comprises: monitoring, by the first data processing system, one or more of: uplink bandwidth from the first data processing system, thermal data about a thermal state of the first data processing system, or battery state about a battery in the first data processing system; in response to one or more conditions determined from the monitoring, switching from transmitting to the second data processing system the first stream to transmitting to the second data processing system the second stream”.
Examiner disagrees.
Lu discloses a client device re-evaluate the capabilities of the receiver clients and/or the sender client device, as well as the presence of the receiver clients in the conference call, and dynamically alter the number and type of data streams transmitted from sender client, since such changes may alter the determination of stage 430. Conference server and/or the sender client may determine that the downlink bandwidth available to receiver client has dropped from 3 Mbps to 500 Kbps and sender client device may begin sending the CIF resolution data stream instead of the VGA resolution data stream to receiver client 150. A client using a mobile phone to connect to the conference, have a low uplink and downlink bandwidth and support only low frame rate video. A client connecting to the conference using a desktop computer on a corporate intranet may have a high uplink and downlink bandwidth and support a high frame rate. A mobile phone client may only be able to encode and receive video at Common Intermediate Format (CIF) resolution (e.g., 320 by 240 pixels per frame) with a frame rate of 15 frames per second (fps), while the intranet client may be able to encode and play back video at Video Graphics Array (VGA) resolution (e.g., 640 by 480 pixels) with a frame rate of 30 fps (see ¶ 0036, 0040, 0051).
Therefore, Lu teaches the limitation of “monitoring, by the first data processing system, one or more of: uplink bandwidth from the first data processing system, thermal data about a thermal state of the first data processing system, or battery state about a battery in the first data processing system; in response to one or more conditions determined from the monitoring, switching from transmitting to the second data processing system the first stream to transmitting to the second data processing system the second stream”.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 9, 15, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) in view of Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches a non-transitory machine readable medium storing executable program instructions which when executed by a first data processing system cause the first data processing system to perform a method in an environment that includes the first data processing system (140, "desktop computer", fig. 1) and a second data processing system (150, "laptop", fig. 1) and a third data processing system (130, "tablet near1 computer", fig. 1) and a server (110, fig. 1, [0015]-[0018]), the method comprising: transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, codec capabilities of the first data processing system, the codec capabilities of the first data processing system indicating a first set of codecs in the first data processing system that are available for use in an audiovisual (AV) conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server.), receiving, by the first data processing system, a second set of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the second set of codec capabilities indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0023-0024, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities.); receiving, at the first data processing system, a request from the second data processing system to receive a first stream, encoded with a first codec, in the AV conference, the first codec in the first set of codecs in the first data processing system (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.); transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, the first stream for delivery to the second data processing system (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.), receiving, by the first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec, in the AV conference, the second codec being in the first set of codecs and being different than the first codec (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.); creating, on demand and in response to the request from the third data processing system, the second stream in the AV conference (see ¶ 0068. The system can process the stream based on the capabilities of each component of the device.); and transmitting the second stream to the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the first data processing system continues to transmit the first stream to the server for delivery to the second data processing system (see figs. 1-6; ¶ 0031-0051, 0070-0071).
Lu discloses device capabilities with have multiple components and firmware/software to process received streams.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Regarding claim 9, Lu teaches a method performed by a server in an environment that includes the server, a first data processing system (140, "desktop computer", fig. 1) and a second data processing system (150, "laptop", fig. 1) and a third data processing system (130, "tablet near1 computer", fig. 1) and a server (110, fig. 1, ¶0015-0018), the method comprising: receiving, by the server from the first data processing system, codec capabilities of the first data processing system, the codec capabilities of the first data processing system indicating a first set of codecs in the first data processing system that are available for use in an audiovisual (AV) conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server.), transmitting, by the server to the first data processing system, a second set of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the second set of codec capabilities indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0023-0024, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities.); receiving, by the server from the first data processing system, the first stream for delivery to the second data processing system; transmitting, by the server to first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec, in the AV conference, the second codec being in the first set of codecs and being different than the first codec (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.); transmitting, by the server to the first data processing system, a request from the second data processing system to receive a first stream, encoded with a first codec, in the AV conference, the first codec in the first set of codecs in the first data processing system (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.), and receiving the second stream at the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the server continues to transmit the first stream to the second data processing system (see fig. 1-6, 0027-0031-0051, 0070-0071. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.).
Lu discloses device capabilities with have multiple components and firmware/software to process received streams.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Regarding claim 15, Lu teaches a method performed by a first data processing system in an environment that includes the first data processing system (140, "desktop computer", fig. 1) and a second data processing system (150, "laptop", fig. 1) and a third data processing system (130, "tablet near1 computer", fig. 1) and a server (110, fig. 1, ¶ 0015-0018), the method comprising: transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, codec capabilities of the first data processing system, the codec capabilities of the first data processing system indicating a first set of codecs in the first data processing system that are available for use in an audiovisual (AV) conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server.), receiving, by the first data processing system, a second set of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the second set of codec capabilities indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference; receiving, at the first data processing system, a request from the second data processing system to receive a first stream, encoded with a first codec, in the AV conference, the first codec in the first set of codecs in the first data processing system (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0023-0024, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities.); transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, the first stream for delivery to the second data processing system (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.); receiving, by the first data processing system, a request from the third data processing system for a second stream, encoded with a second codec, in the AV conference, the second codec being in the first set of codecs and being different than the first codec (see fig. 3, 0027-0030, 0033, 0036. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.); creating, on demand and in response to the request from the third data processing system, the second stream in the AV conference (see ¶ 0068. The system can process the stream based on the capabilities of each component of the device.); and transmitting the second stream to the server for delivery to the third data processing system while the first data processing system continues to transmit the first stream to the server for delivery to the second data processing system (see figs. 1-6; ¶ 0031-0051, 0070-0071).
Lu discloses device capabilities with have multiple components and firmware/software to process received streams.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Regarding claim 23, Lu teaches a non-transitory machine readable medium storing executable program instructions which when executed by a first data processing system cause the first data processing system to perform a method in an environment that includes the first data processing system (140, "desktop computer", fig. 1) and a second data processing system (150, "laptop", fig. 1) and a third data processing system (130, "tablet near1 computer", fig. 1) and a server (110, fig. 1, ¶ 0015-0018), the method comprising: transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, codec capabilities of the first data processing system, the codec capabilities of the first data processing system indicating a first set of codecs in the first data processing system that are available for use in an audiovisual (AV) conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server.), receiving, by the first data processing system, a second set of codec capabilities of the second data processing system, the second set of codec capabilities indicating a second set of codecs in the second data processing system that are available for use in the AV conference (see fig. 2-3, ¶ 0016, 0019, 0023-0024, 0033, 0036. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities.); transmitting, by the first data processing system to the server, a request for a first stream encoded by a first codec at the second data processing system, the request based on criteria at the first data processing system of a highest quality codec that is common to the first and the second sets of codecs (see figs. 1-6; ¶ 0027-0028, 0031-0051, 0070-0071).
Lu discloses device capabilities with have multiple components and firmware/software to process received streams.
Leung discloses device capabilities that are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095).
The combination of Leung to Lu provide the codec processing in which each device having multiple different codecs that processes the streams provide from the terminal gateway.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
7. Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) in view of Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078).
Regarding claim 2, Lu does not teach the non-transitory machine readable medium as in claim 1, wherein each codec in the first set of codecs and in the second set of codecs is configured to compress video content in an AV conference for transmission to other participants in the AV conference and is configured to decompress video content received in the AV conference.
Leung teaches wherein each codec in the first set of codecs and in the second set of codecs is configured to compress video content in an AV conference for transmission to other participants in the AV conference and is configured to decompress video content received in the AV conference (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095. The device capabilities are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Regarding claim 3, Lu teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium as in claim 1, wherein the second codec is a codec that is common to and available for use in the first, the second and the third data processing systems (see ¶ 0028-0030. The conference server 110, the sender client 120 may use a single data stream 302 to service two receiver clients (130, 140) having different capabilities. The system determines the different device capabilities. However to determine if the third device is available is a broad but it can be understood as the device being turned off or not part of the conference session. Therefore the system will determine the device availability.).
Regarding claim 4, Lu teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium as in claim 1 wherein the first and the second data processing systems execute one or more versions of a first operating system during the AV conference and the third data processing system executes a second operating system during the AV conference (see fig. 6; ¶ 0070-0071. Each device having an operating system will be able to execute processing commands for each device. Each device can have different operating systems which will depending on device make as well as operating system. This would make it broad to interpretation as to device make, model and operating system.).
Regarding claim 5, Lu teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium as in claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, at the first data processing system, a third stream in the AV conference from the second data processing system, the third stream encoded with the first codec; decoding the third stream using the first codec; receiving, at the first data processing system, a fourth stream in the AV conference from the third data processing system, the fourth stream encoded with the second codec; decoding the fourth stream using the second codec at the first data processing system; and displaying video from the third stream, video from the fourth stream and video from the first stream on a display of the first data processing system (see figs. 2-3; ¶ 0025 – 0030. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.).
Regarding claim 6, Lu teaches the non-transitory machine readable medium as in claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: monitoring, by the first data processing system, one or more of: uplink bandwidth from the first data processing system, thermal data about a thermal state of the first data processing system, or battery state about a battery in the first data processing system; in response to one or more conditions determined from the monitoring, switching from transmitting to the second data processing system the first stream to transmitting to the second data processing system the second stream (see ¶ 0036, 0040, 0051. The system processes the device capabilities which can be one of a bandwidth. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities ).
Regarding claim 10, Lu does not teach the method as in claim 9, wherein each codec in the first set of codecs and in the second set of codecs is configured to compress video content in an AV conference for transmission to other participants in the AV conference and is configured to decompress video content received in the AV conference, and wherein the server is a set of one or more data processing systems.
Leung teaches wherein each codec in the first set of codecs and in the second set of codecs is configured to compress video content in an AV conference for transmission to other participants in the AV conference and is configured to decompress video content received in the AV conference, and wherein the server is a set of one or more data processing systems (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095. The device capabilities are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches the method as in claim 10, wherein the second codec is a codec that is common to and available for use in the first, the second and the third data processing systems (see ¶ 0028-0030. The conference server 110, the sender client 120 may use a single data stream 302 to service two receiver clients (130, 140) having different capabilities. The system determines the different device capabilities. However to determine if the third device is available is a broad but it can be understood as the device being turned off or not part of the conference session. Therefore the system will determine the device availability.).
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches the method as in claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: switching from transmitting to the second data processing system the first stream to transmitting to the second data processing system the second stream (see ¶ 0036, 0040, 0051. The system processes the device capabilities which can be one of a bandwidth. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities ).
Regarding claim 16, Lu does not teach the method as in claim 15, wherein each codec in the first set of codecs and in the second set of codecs is configured to compress video content in an AV conference for transmission to other participants in the AV conference and is configured to decompress video content received in the AV conference.
Leung teaches wherein each codec in the first set of codecs and in the second set of codecs is configured to compress video content in an AV conference for transmission to other participants in the AV conference and is configured to decompress video content received in the AV conference (see fig. 1, 4, ¶ 0009, 0062-0064, 0085-0095. The device capabilities are sent to the terminal gateway for processing. Each device having different codecs in which will determine support for the streams.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu to incorporate a device having multiple codecs that the terminal gateway will receive and provide the stream to the device based on the codec component. The modifications provides for each device having multiple codecs in which process the stream in different ways based on the capabilities of each device.
Regarding claim 17, Lu teaches the method as in claim 15, wherein the second codec is a codec that is common to and available for use in the first, the second and the third data processing systems (see ¶ 0028-0030. The conference server 110, the sender client 120 may use a single data stream 302 to service two receiver clients (130, 140) having different capabilities. The system determines the different device capabilities. However to determine if the third device is available is a broad but it can be understood as the device being turned off or not part of the conference session. Therefore the system will determine the device availability.).
Regarding claim 18, Lu teaches the method as in claim 15 wherein the first and the second data processing systems execute one or more versions of a first operating system during the AV conference and the third data processing system executes a second operating system during the AV conference (see fig. 6; ¶ 0070-0071. Each device having an operating system will be able to execute processing commands for each device. Each device can have different operating systems which will depending on device make as well as operating system. This would make it broad to interpretation as to device make, model and operating system.).
Regarding claim 19, Lu teaches the method as in claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, at the first data processing system, a third stream in the AV conference from the second data processing system, the third stream encoded with the first codec; decoding the third stream using the first codec; receiving, at the first data processing system, a fourth stream in the AV conference from the third data processing system, the fourth stream encoded with the second codec; decoding the fourth stream using the second codec at the first data processing system; and displaying video from the third stream, video from the fourth stream and video from the first stream on a display of the first data processing system (see figs. 2-3; ¶ 0025 – 0030. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities. The device can request a stream which can be divided into multiple streams and processed where it can have different resolutions. The capabilities on the device can process the streams based on each component.).
Regarding claim 20, Lu teaches the method as in claim 17, wherein the method further comprises: monitoring, by the first data processing system, one or more of: uplink bandwidth from the first data processing system, thermal data about a thermal state of the first data processing system, or battery state about a battery in the first data processing system; in response to one or more conditions determined from the monitoring, switching from transmitting to the second data processing system the first stream to transmitting to the second data processing system the second stream (see ¶ 0036, 0040, 0051. The system processes the device capabilities which can be one of a bandwidth. The device is able to transmit to the server device capabilities. Each device having a number of hardware and software components in which enable processing the conferencing stream from the server. The capabilities of each device are determined and processing the stream to each device will be based on the device capabilities ).
8. Claim(s) 7, 13, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 2013/0208075A1) in view of Leung et al. (US 2017/0006078) further in view of Garrido et al. (US 2019/0104163).
Regarding claim 7, Lu and Leung do not teach the non-transitory machine readable medium as in claim 6, wherein the switching comprises: associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system.
Garrido teaches associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system (see abstract, 0080, 0088, claim 1. The stream identifier is correlated with the second stream in where the stream is processed to the receiving device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu and Leung system to provide: wherein the switching comprises: associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system as this arrangement would facilitate routing desired stream to the remote devices as taught by Garrido.
Regarding claim 13, Lu and Leung do not teach the method as in claim 12, wherein the switching comprises: receiving a stream identifier for the second stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system.
Garrido teaches wherein the switching comprises: receiving a stream identifier for the second stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system (see abstract, 0080, 0088, claim 1. The stream identifier is correlated with the second stream in where the stream is processed to the receiving device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu and Leung system to provide: wherein the switching comprises: associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system as this arrangement would facilitate routing desired stream to the remote devices as taught by Garrido.
Regarding claim 21, Lu and Leung do not teach the method as in claim 20, wherein the switching comprises: associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system.
Garrido teaches associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system (see abstract, 0080, 0088, claim 1. The stream identifier is correlated with the second stream in where the stream is processed to the receiving device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu and Leung system to provide: wherein the switching comprises: associating the second stream with a stream identifier of the first stream to cause the server to forward the second stream to the second data processing system as this arrangement would facilitate routing desired stream to the remote devices as taught by Garrido.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691