DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 02/03/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 6, 8 and 13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground of rejection has been applied to amended limitations.
Drawings/Objections
The drawings are objected to because the replacement drawing uses reference character 20 and 6 to refer to the same part.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites limitation “active conductors (L1, L1)” in line 4 and it should be “active conductors (L1, L2)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "measuring and control electronics (20)" in line 5 and this renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear whether “a measuring device (6)” of claim 1 is same or different from "measuring and control electronics (20)" of claim 4. The reference characters 6 and 20 have both been used to designate a single element in the replacement drawings. For purpose of examination, Examiner interprets both are same.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites limitation “the active conductors” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites limitation “the grounding device (M1)” in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites limitation “the active conductors” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites limitation “the grounding device (M1)” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites limitation “the active conductor (L, L2)” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 is an improper dependent claim. Specifically, it fails to include all limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 refers to an insulation monitor device including grounding device according to claim 1. The ground device M1 is only one portion of the measuring arrangement of claim 1 and therefore claim 7 does not include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. It is unclear if the other elements of claim 1 are required in claim 7.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (see Fig. 1 and para [0040]-[0043] of the pending application); hereinafter AAPA) in view of Burroughs et al. (Patent NO. US 4,962,347; hereinafter Burroughs).
Regarding Claim 1, AAPA teaches a measuring arrangement (M (M1, M2, K)) (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]) for measuring a loop impedance (Zs) of a residual current loop (W) formed by an active conductor (L1, L2) and a protective conductor (PE) in an ungrounded power supply system (2) (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0042]-[0043]),
the measuring arrangement (M (M1, M2, K)) having a measuring device (6) connected to a consumer point (4) and serving to measure a conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) and to compute the loop impedance (Zs), characterized in that a controlled grounding device (M1) is disposed between the active conductors (L1, L2) (See Fig. 11 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]) and
the protective ground (PE) at a feeding point (3) of the ungrounded power supply system (2) (See Fig. 1 and Fig below; See [0040]-[0043]) and
switches the grounding of one of the active conductors (L1, L2) (a/b switches L1/L2 ground in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]), and
in that a unidirectional communication channel (K) is formed between an extended measuring device (M2) and the grounding device (M1) (the wire between M1 and M2 is unidirectional communication channel in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]),
control information being transmitted from the extended measuring device (M2) to the grounding device (M1) via the communication channel (K) in order to control the grounding device (M1) (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]).
AAPA teaches switches (a/b in fig. 1),
However AAPA is silent about a three-way switch (S3) configured to switch.
Burroughs teaches three-way switch (S3) configured to switch (See three-way switch 144 in Fig. 10; See Col. 2, Lines 20-25).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention wad made to modify the switch of AAPA by using a three-way switch (S3) configured to switch, as taught by Burroughs in order to achieve quick and efficient testing system (Burroughs; Col. 2, Lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 2, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring arrangement (M) according to claim 1. AAPA further teaches wherein the communication channel (K) is formed by the residual current loop (W) (W in Fig. 1), a modulated residual current, which transmits the control information, flowing in the residual current loop (W) (modulated residual current flows in current loop W to 4, 6 in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 4, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring arrangement (M) according to claim 1. AAPA further teaches wherein the extended measuring device (M2) (4, 6 in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]) has a coupling change-over switch (S2) for the controlled overriding of one of the active conductors (L1, L2) (4 has switch inside to control L1, L2 in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]), a load resistance (R1) (load resistance R1 in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]), via which the conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) is registered (See U0, U1 in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]), a make contact (S1) for the controlled overriding of the load resistance (R1) (switch a, b makes contact in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]) and measuring and control electronics (20), the measuring and control electronics (20) being configured to measure the conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) (control electronics 6 measure conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]), to control the coupling change-over switch (S2) and the make contact (S1), to generate and transmit the control information to the grounding device (M1) via the communication channel (K) and to compute the loop impedance (Zs) (See Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 5, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring arrangement (M) according to claim 4. AAPA further teaches wherein the make contact (S1) is designed as a semiconductor switch (a, b is semiconductor switch in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 7, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches an insulation monitoring device (IMD) for determining the insulation resistance in an ungrounded power supply system (2) including the grounding device (M1) according to claim 1 (AAPA; See [0004]-[0014]).
Regarding Claim 8, AAPA teaches a measuring method for measuring a loop impedance (Zs) of a residual current loop (W) formed by an active conductor (L1, L2) and a protective conductor in an ungrounded power supply system (2) (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0042]-[0043]), the method comprising the following steps:
measuring a conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) and computing the loop impedance (Zs) by means of an extended measuring device (M2) connected to a consumer point (4) (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]),
wherein the grounding of one of the active conductors (L1, L2) is switched by means of a controlled grounding device (M1) disposed at a feeding point (3) of the ungrounded power supply system between the active conductors and the protective conductor (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]), and
in that control information is transmitted to the grounding device (M1) from the extended measuring device (M2) by means of a unidirectional communication channel (K) (the wire between M1 and M2 is unidirectional communication channel in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]) formed between the extended measuring device (M2) and the grounding device (M1) in order to control the grounding device (M1) (See Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0043]).
AAPA teaches switches (a/b in fig. 1),
However AAPA is silent about a three-way switch (S3) configured to switch.
Burroughs teaches three-way switch (S3) configured to switch (See three-way switch 144 in Fig. 10; See Col. 2, Lines 20-25).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention wad made to modify the switch of AAPA by using a three-way switch (S3) configured to switch, as taught by Burroughs in order to achieve quick and efficient testing system (Burroughs; Col. 2, Lines 5-10).
Regarding Claim 2, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring arrangement (M) according to claim 1. AAPA further teaches wherein the communication channel (K) is formed by the residual current loop (W) (W in Fig. 1), a modulated residual current, which transmits the control information, flowing in the residual current loop (W) (modulated residual current flows in current loop W to 4, 6 in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 9, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring device according to claim 8. AAPA further teaches wherein the control information is transmitted by a modulated residual current which flows in the residual current loop (W) (W in Fig. 1) forming the communication channel (K) (modulated residual current flows in current loop W to 4, 6 in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 11, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring method according to claim 8. AAPA further teaches further including a controlled overriding of one of the active conductors (L1, L2) by means of a coupling change-over switch (S2) of the extended measuring device (M2) (4, 6 in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]),
a detection of the conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) via a load resistance (R1) in the extended measuring device (M2) (See U0, U1 in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]),
a controlled overriding of the load resistance (R1) by means of a make contact (S1) of the extended measuring device (M2) (switch a, b makes contact in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]),
a measurement of the conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) by means of measuring and control electronics (20) of the extended measuring device (M2) (control electronics 6 measure conductor-to-ground voltage (U0, U1) in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]),
a control of the coupling change-over switch (S2) and the make contact (S1) (See Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]),
a generation and transmission of the control information by means of the measuring and control electronics (20), and a computation of the loop impedance (Zs) by means of the measuring and control electronics (20) (See Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 12, AAPA in view of Burroughs teaches the measuring method according to claim 11. AAPA further teaches wherein the load resistance (R1) is overridden by means of a make contact (S1) designed as a semiconductor switch (a, b is semiconductor switch in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0043]).
Examiner Note
Claims 3, 6, 10 and 13 stand rejected under 35 USC 112a and b as set forth above. No prior art rejection is provided as the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach the following:
Regarding Claim 3, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the measuring arrangement (M) according to claim 2, wherein, during a setting time (Ts), the modulated residual current has the shape of a residual-current pulse sequence binary encoded by via amplitude modulation, the active conductor to be grounded being encoded in the residual-current pulse sequence as the control information.
Regarding Claim 6, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the measuring arrangement (M) according to claim 1, wherein the grounding device (M1) has a measuring and evaluation electronics (10) for evaluating the modulated residual current using a measuring resistance (Rm) connected between the active conductors (L1, L1) and the protective conductor (PE) via coupling capacitors (Ce1, Ce2).
Regarding Claim 10, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the measuring method according to claim 9, wherein the modulated residual current is transmitted as a binary-encoded residual-current pulse sequence during a setting time (Ts), the active conductor (L1, L2) to be grounded being encoded in the residual-current pulse sequence as control information.
Regarding Claim 13, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests the measuring method according to claim 9, further including an evaluation of the modulated residual current by means of measuring and evaluation electronics (10) using a measuring resistance (Rm) connected via coupling capacitors (Ce1, Ce2).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/
Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858