DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s initial application filed 20 December 2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “40”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the abstract, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In the Summary of the Disclosure, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14-19, and 21-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 8-9, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 14, line 5, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 14, line 11, the phrase “connect alignment member” should be changed to “connect the alignment member”.
In claim 14, line 13, the phrase “disconnect alignment member” should be changed to “disconnect of the alignment member”.
In claim 15, line 7, the phrase “connect alignment member” should be changed to “connect the alignment member”.
In claim 15, line 9, the phrase “disconnect alignment member” should be changed to “disconnect of the alignment member”.
In claim 16, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 17, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 18, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 19, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 21, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 22, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
In claim 23, lines 3-4, the phrase “positioning of alignment member” should be changed to “positioning of the alignment member”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 27 recite that the compartment of the drill guide block includes a magnet. However, the specification only recites that the magnet is located in a compartment in the alignment member, such that there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the specification. For the purposes of examination, the magnet limitation has been treated as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 14-17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiezel (US 3,807,889).
Regarding claim 1, Kiezel discloses a doweling jig system 12, comprising: a drill guide block 13; the drill guide block having one or more drill guides 58; an alignment member 23/24; the alignment member operably connected to the drill guide block (in tracks 18 of channels 14/15); the alignment member configured to engage a surface of a workpiece component 51 (using locator pins 36); wherein the alignment member has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component (by expanding and contracting arms 21 of alignment members 23/24) to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling a dowel hole (using guide tubes 58) in the workpiece component.
Regarding claim 2, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more alignment features 21 includes an index pin system 36; the index pin system configured to engage an edge of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling the dowel hole.
Regarding claim 3, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more alignment features 21 includes an index pin system 36; the index pin system having an index pin 44/45/46/47; the index pin system having one or more index pin holes (not labeled, holes in contracting arms 21 that receive pins 36) configured to receive and hold the index pin; wherein when the index pin is held in one of the one or more index pin holes, the index pin is positioned to engage an edge of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling the dowel hole.
Regarding claim 7, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more alignment features 21 includes an alignment window 58 (one of the guide tubes 58 is aligned with a previous drilled hole and a dowel is inserted into the guide tube to position the device for drilling another hole) formed in the alignment member 23/24.
Regarding claim 8, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more alignment features 21 includes an alignment window 58 (one of the guide tubes 58 is aligned with a previous drilled hole and a dowel is inserted into the guide tube to position the device for drilling another hole) formed in the alignment member 23/24; wherein the alignment window includes one or more indicators (the guide tube opening being a visual indicator for alignment and insertion of a dowel) for visual alignment with the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling the dowel hole in a workpiece component having a second thickness (a workpiece having a second thickness may be used once it has already received a first drilled hole).
Regarding claim 9, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more alignment features 21 includes an alignment window 58 (one of the guide tubes 58 is aligned with a previous drilled hole and a dowel is inserted into the guide tube to position the device for drilling another hole) formed in the alignment member 23/24; wherein the alignment window includes one or more indicators (the dowel inserted into the previous drilled hole may be considered to be an indicator for use with the alignment window) for visual alignment with the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling the dowel hole in a workpiece component having a second thickness (a workpiece having a second thickness may be used once it has already received a first drilled hole); wherein the one or more indicators are protrusions (the dowel may be considered to be a protrusion) extending into the alignment window.
Regarding claim 14, Kiezel discloses a doweling jig system 12, comprising: a first drill guide block 14; the first drill guide block having one or more drill guides 58; an alignment member 23/24; the alignment member configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along a surface of a workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; the first drill guide block having a first connection member 18; the alignment member having a second connection member 20; the first connection member and the second connection member configured to connect with one another to operably connect alignment member with the first drill guide block; the first connection member and the second connection member configured to detach from one another to disconnect alignment member from the first drill guide block (if clamp screw 25 is removed).
Regarding claim 15, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more drill guides 58 of the first drill guide block 14 are configured for drilling of dowel holes of a first diameter; the system further comprising a second drill guide block 15; the second drill guide block having one or more drill guides 58 (the other drill guide 58); the second drill guide block having a third connection member 18; the third connection member and the second connection member 20 configured to connect with one another to operably connect alignment member 23/24 with the second drill guide block; the third connection member and the second connection member configured to detach from one another to disconnect alignment member from the second drill guide block (if clamp screw 25 is removed); wherein the one or more drill guides of the second drill guide block are configured for drilling of dowel holes of a second diameter (guide tube 58 may be replaced with a guide tube having a different diameter, see column 4, lines 15-22); wherein the second diameter is different from the first diameter.
Regarding claim 16, Kiezel discloses wherein the alignment member 23/24 has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; wherein the one or more alignment features includes an index pin system 36; the index pin system configured to engage an edge of the workpiece component to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling the dowel hole.
Regarding claim 17, Kiezel discloses wherein the alignment member 23/24 has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; wherein the one or more alignment features includes an index pin system 36; the index pin system having an index pin 44/45/46/47; the index pin system having one or more index pin holes (not labeled, holes in contracting arms 21 that receive pins 36) configured to receive and hold the index pin; wherein when the index pin is held in one of the one or more index pin holes, the index pin is positioned to engage an edge of the workpiece component to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling the dowel hole.
Regarding claim 21, Kiezel discloses wherein the alignment member 23/24 has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; wherein the one or more alignment features includes an alignment window (one of the guide tubes 58 is aligned with a previous drilled hole and a dowel is inserted into the guide tube to position the device for drilling another hole) formed in the alignment member.
Regarding claim 22, Kiezel discloses wherein the alignment member 23/24 has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; wherein the one or more alignment features includes an alignment window (one of the guide tubes 58 is aligned with a previous drilled hole and a dowel is inserted into the guide tube to position the device for drilling another hole) formed in the alignment member; wherein the alignment window includes one or more indicators (the guide tube opening being a visual indicator for alignment and insertion of a dowel) for visual alignment with the workpiece component to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling the dowel hole in a workpiece component having a second thickness (a workpiece having a second thickness may be used once it has already received a first drilled hole).
Regarding claim 23, Kiezel discloses wherein the alignment member 23/24 has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; wherein the one or more alignment features includes an alignment window (one of the guide tubes 58 is aligned with a previous drilled hole and a dowel is inserted into the guide tube to position the device for drilling another hole) formed in the alignment member; wherein the alignment window includes one or more indicators (the dowel inserted into the previous drilled hole may be considered to be an indicator for use with the alignment window) for visual alignment with the workpiece component to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling the dowel hole in a workpiece component having a second thickness (a workpiece having a second thickness may be used once it has already received a first drilled hole); wherein the one or more indicators are protrusions (the dowel may be considered to be a protrusion) extending into the alignment window.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 10-13, 19-20, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiezel (US 3,807,889) in view of Lane.
Regarding claims 5-6, Kiezel discloses wherein the one or more alignment features 21 includes an index pin system 36; the index pin system having an index pin 44/45/46/47; the index pin system having one or more index pin holes (not labeled, holes in contracting arms 21 that receive pins 36) configured to receive and hold the index pin; wherein when the index pin is held in one of the one or more index pin holes, the index pin is positioned to engage an edge of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling the dowel hole. Kiezel does not disclose wherein the drill guide block includes a compartment configured to receive and hold the index pin when not in use or wherein the alignment member includes a compartment configured to receive and hold the index pin when not in use. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel, in either the drill guide block or the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold extra index pins in case one or more in use index pins are lost.
Regarding claims 10-11, Kiezel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Kiezel does not disclose wherein the alignment member includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use, or wherein the drill guide block includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel, in either the drill guide block or the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold a drill bit when not in use.
Regarding claim 12, Kiezel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Kiezel does not disclose wherein the alignment member includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use; wherein the compartment includes a stepped cylindrical shaped recess configured to receive and hold drill bits of a plurality of different sizes. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel in the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold a drill bit when not in use.
The modified invention of Kiezel does not disclose wherein the compartment includes a stepped cylindrical shaped recess configured to receive and hold drill bits of a plurality of different sizes. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the storage compartment of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient for the purpose of being able to hold multiple drills bits of different sizes. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Additionally, according to the teachings of KSR, it would have been obvious to try making the storage compartment to include a stepped cylindrical shaped recess configured to receive and hold drill bits of a plurality of different sizes, as one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to make this modification to the storage compartment. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., No 04-1350 (U.S. Apr. 30, 2007)
Regarding claim 13, Kiezel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Kiezel does not disclose wherein the drill guide block includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use; wherein the compartment includes a magnet configured to magnetically hold the drill bit within the compartment. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel, in either the drill guide block or the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold a drill bit when not in use.
Regarding claims 19-20, Kiezel discloses wherein the alignment member 23/24 has one or more alignment features 21; wherein the one or more alignment features are configured to facilitate positioning of alignment member along the surface of the workpiece component 51 to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides 58 for drilling a dowel hole in the workpiece component; wherein the one or more alignment features includes an index pin system 36; the index pin system having an index pin 44/45/46/47; the index pin system having one or more index pin holes (not labeled, holes in contracting arms 21 that receive pins 36) configured to receive and hold the index pin; wherein when the index pin is held in one of the one or more index pin holes, the index pin is positioned to engage an edge of the workpiece component to facilitate the positioning of the one or more drill guides for drilling the dowel hole.
Kiezel does not disclose wherein the drill guide block includes a compartment configured to receive and hold the index pin when not in use, or wherein the one or more alignment features includes a compartment configured to receive and hold the index pin when not in use. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel, in either the drill guide block or the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold extra index pins in case one or more in use index pins are lost.
Regarding claims 24-25, Kiezel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Kiezel does not disclose wherein the alignment member includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use, or wherein the drill guide block includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use.
Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel, in either the drill guide block or the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold a drill bit when not in use.
Regarding claim 26, Kiezel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Kiezel does not disclose wherein the alignment member includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use; wherein the compartment includes a stepped cylindrical shaped recess configured to receive and hold drill bits of a plurality of different sizes. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel in the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold a drill bit when not in use.
The modified invention of Kiezel does not disclose wherein the compartment includes a stepped cylindrical shaped recess configured to receive and hold drill bits of a plurality of different sizes. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the storage compartment of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient for the purpose of being able to hold multiple drills bits of different sizes. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Additionally, according to the teachings of KSR, it would have been obvious to try making the storage compartment to include a stepped cylindrical shaped recess configured to receive and hold drill bits of a plurality of different sizes, as one of ordinary level of skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to make this modification to the storage compartment. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., No 04-1350 (U.S. Apr. 30, 2007)
Regarding claim 27, Kiezel discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Kiezel does not disclose wherein the drill guide block includes a compartment configured to receive and hold a drill bit for drilling the dowel hole when not in use; wherein the compartment includes a magnet configured to magnetically hold the drill bit within the compartment. Lane teaches the use of a drill jig that comprises an underside compartment (see figure 2B) that includes magnets 48 that are used for the purpose of holding an Allen key 49 when not in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the doweling jig system of Kiezel, in either the drill guide block or the alignment member as determined by design choice, with the storage compartment with magnets as taught by Lane in order to be able to hold a drill bit when not in use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kiezel (US 7,762,749) discloses a related doweling jig system.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 21 July 2026