DETAILED ACTION
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 6 omits the dependence on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (US 20020180418).
With respect to claim 1, figs. 1 and 2 of Jones disclose a circuit, comprising: a first input node (fig. 2 element 11) and a second input node (fig. 2 element 13) configured to receive current sensing signals (fig. 1) from terminals of a sensing circuit element (fig. 1 element 12); a pair of transistors (fig. 2 elements 60 and 61) coupled to the first and the second input nodes and configured to provide an amplified current sensing signal at an output node via an output stage (fig. 2 element 18A, 22, 26 and 40); wherein the pair of transistors (fig. 2 60 and 61) comprises a first transistor (fig. 2 element 60) having a current flow path therethrough via a first transistor node (emitter element 60) coupled to the first input node and a second transistor node (collector element 60) coupled to a first biasing current generator circuit (fig. 2 element 65) , and a second transistor (fig 2 element 61) having a current flow path therethrough via a third transistor node (emitter element 61) coupled to the second input node and a fourth transistor node (collector element 61) coupled to a second biasing current generator circuit (fig. 2 element 66), the first and second transistors in the pair of transistors having a common control node (base connection of fig.2 element 60 and 61) ; and an auxiliary amplifier circuit (fig. 2 elements 64, 65 and 66) having a first auxiliary input node (node of 65 connected to element 62) coupled to the second transistor node of the first transistor (fig. 2) and a second auxiliary input node (node of 66 coupled to element 63) coupled to the fourth transistor node of the second transistor (fig 2 collector of 61), the auxiliary amplifier circuit further having an output node (node connecting 64 to bases of elements 60 and 61) generating a control signal applied to the common control node of the pair of transistors (fig. 2).
With respect to claim 2, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary amplifier circuit (fig. 2 elements 64, 65 and 66) comprises: an auxiliary differential arrangement of transistors comprising transistors (65 and 66) having a common biasing node (ground) coupled to a biasing current generator referred to ground; and an auxiliary current mirror arrangement (60 and 61 are mirrored) of transistors coupled to the first input node (11) and to the auxiliary differential arrangement of transistors (65 and 66).
With respect to claim 3, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein said output stage comprises: a further arrangement of transistors (26) coupled to the pair of transistors (60 and 61); and a set of resistive elements (40, note it is within the scope of the invention for Rout to be resistive elements) interposed between the further arrangement of transistors (26) and ground.
With respect to claim 4, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 1, wherein said pair of transistors (60 and 61) comprises bipolar junction transistors (BJT).
With respect to claim 5, Jones et al. disclose the circuit of claim 1, comprising a minimum selector circuit (i.e. 16 and 19 would suffice to be the selector circuit as well as any circuit upstream from 18A as these features go to the function of the selection which is inherent in the operation of the ampifier) coupled to the auxiliary amplifier circuit (64, 65 and 66) .
With respect to claim 6, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 1, comprising a diode (either 67 or 68) coupled to the common control node of the pair of transistors (60 and 61) of the circuit. (Here, it is believed claim 6 depends on claim 1.)
With respect to claim 7, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 1, comprising: a current mirror arrangement of transistors (60 and 61) configured to mirror said current sensing signal (through diodes); wherein the current mirror arrangement of transistors comprises a first current mirror transistor (60) coupled to the first input node (11) and a second current mirror transistor (61) coupled to the second input node (13), the first current mirror transistor and the second current mirror transistor having a common control node (at base).
With respect to claim 8, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 7, comprising a further current mirror arrangement of transistors (65 and 66) coupled in series with the current mirror arrangement of transistors (60 and 61).
With respect to claim 9, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 8, wherein the transistors in the further current mirror arrangement of transistors (aux circuit comprising 65 and 66) have a different multiplication factor value in order to introduce an offset current to turn off the auxiliary amplifier circuit. (here, the transistors inherently have a multiplication factor value).
With respect to claim 11, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 10, further comprising a clamping diode (Here the clamping diode is interpreted as the mirror element of 65) connected between the output from said further current mirror arrangement of transistors and the common control node of the pair of transistors.
With respect to claim 12, Jones et al. discloses a current sensing device, comprising: a power supply (V3 element 14 or alternatively i.e. VDD) configured to supply an electrical current; a load circuit (15 or alternatively at Vout or i.e Rout) coupled to the power supply to receive the electrical current therefrom; a sensing circuit element (see fig. 1 element 12) interposed the power supply and the load circuit and having a current flow therethrough indicative of a current flowing in said load circuit (15 or alternatively at Vout or i.e Rout), and the circuit of claim 1 coupled to the sensing circuit element (i.e. diode 67 or 68) to receive the current sensing signal therefrom and to provide an amplified current sensing signal at the output node.
With respect to claim 13, Jones produces a method, comprising: receiving current sensing signals from terminals (11 or 13) of a sensing circuit element (fig. 1 element 12); applying signal amplification processing to said current sensing signals via a pair of transistors (60 and 61) having first conduction nodes coupled to the terminals of a sensing circuit element (67 or 68); generating an amplified current sensing signal at an output node via an output stage (fig. 2 element 18A, 22, 26 and 40); differentially amplifying signals at second conduction nodes of the pair of transistors (60 and 61) to generate a control signal; and applying the control signal to common control nodes of the pair of transistors. (60 and 61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 20020180418). In view of Vosteen (US 3077566).
With respect to claim 10, Jones et al. discloses the circuit of claim 8, wherein the output stage comprises: a first output transistor (within op amp) having a control node coupled to receive a first control signal (62) generated by an output from said pair of transistors (60 and 61) ; a second output transistor (within op amp) having a control node coupled to receive a second control signal (63) generated by an output from said further current mirror arrangement of transistors (65 and 66) ; wherein the first and second output transistors are connected in parallel (here, the structure of the op amp would be such that the transistors inside would be connected in parallel configuration and thus is within the scope of the invention. See for example US 3077566 fig.1 showing transistors 13 and 14 in parallel between 15 and 19) demonstrating common op amp construction).
/KHAREEM E ALMO/Examiner, Art Unit 2849