DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) and 120.
Drawings
The originally filed drawings were received on 12/20/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2020/0057179 A1).
Yang et al. discloses an imaging lens assembly (See for example Abstract; Figures 1-10), having an optical axis (In the instant case, an optical axis can be defined as an axis normal to the center of the optical surface 110 of 100 in Figures 1-5), and comprising a radial reduction lens element (See for example 100 in Figures 1-5), comprising an effective optical portion (See for example 110 in Figure 2), the optical axis passing through the effective optical portion, and comprising a reduction part (See for example portion of lens at 114, 113 in Figure 2) shrinking from a portion of the effective optical portion towards the optical axis so that the effective optical portion being non-circular (See Figure 2); and a peripheral portion (See for example 130, 131, 132 in Figure 2) extending from the effective optical portion towards a direction away from the optical axis, and the peripheral portion and the reduction part disposed at interval along a circumferential direction surrounding the optical axis (See Figure 2); and a light blocking element (See for example 200 in Figures 1, 3-9) having a central opening (See for example 210 in Figure 7), the optical axis passing through the central opening, and comprising a receiving structure (See for example 211, 212 in Figure 7) extending along the optical axis and towards one of an object side and an image side of the imaging lens assembly; and an extending light blocking structure (See for example 213, 214 in Figure 7) connected to the receiving structure; wherein the receiving structure is directly contacted with the peripheral portion of the radial reduction lens element (See for -example 211, 212, 130, 131, 132 in Figures 2-7; Paragraphs 0081-0083); wherein the extending light blocking structure and the radial reduction lens element are correspondingly disposed (See for example 113, 213 in Figure 6; Paragraphs 0083-0084); wherein a location parallel to the optical axis of an end part of the extending light blocking structure is different from a location parallel to the optical axis of a middle part of the extending light blocking structure (See for example 213, 214 in Figures 6-7, 9); wherein a distance of a long side of the extending light blocking structure defined via the central opening is DL (See for example L1 in Figure 7), a distance of a short side of the receiving structure defined via the central opening is DS (See for example L2 in Figure 7), and the following condition is satisfied: DS/DL < 1.0 (In the instant case, L2 is smaller than L1 in Figures 5, 7, and hence DS/DL=L2/L1<1). Yang et al. further discloses the peripheral portion of the radial reduction lens element comprises a receiving surface directly contacted with the receiving structure of the light blocking element (See for example 211, 212, 130, 131, 132 in Figures 2-7; Paragraphs 0081-0083); an air gap is located between the extending light blocking structure and the radial reduction lens element (See for example 113, 213 in Figure 6; Paragraphs 0083-0084); a camera module, comprising the above imaging lens assembly (See for example Figures 1-10); and an electronic device, comprising the above camera module; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the camera module (See for example Figures 1-10).
Yang et al. discloses the invention as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose DS/DL>0.3 or 0.5 < DS/DL < 0.9. However, as shown in Figures 5, 7, this ratio will necessarily lie between 0 and 1, i.e. 0.1 < DS/DL=L2/L1 < 1. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have DS/DL>0.3 or 0.5 < DS/DL < 0.9, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to have DS/DL>0.3 or 0.5 < DS/DL < 0.9, to adjust the amount of lens surface needed to focus/defocus the available cross-sectional shape of the incident light beam. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12210137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12210137 similarly claims and discloses an imaging lens assembly (See for example Claims 1, 11), having an optical axis (See for example Claim 1, line 1), and comprising a radial reduction lens element (See for example Claim 1, line 3), comprising an effective optical portion, the optical axis passing through the effective optical portion, and comprising a reduction part shrinking from a portion of the effective optical portion towards the optical axis so that the effective optical portion being non-circular (See for example Claim 1, lines 3-10); and a peripheral portion extending from the effective optical portion towards a direction away from the optical axis, and the peripheral portion and the reduction part disposed at interval along a circumferential direction surrounding the optical axis (See for example Claim 1, lines 11-15); and a light blocking element having a central opening, the optical axis passing through the central opening, and comprising a receiving structure extending along the optical axis and towards one of an object side and an image side of the imaging lens assembly (See for example Claim 1, lines 16-21); and an extending light blocking structure connected to the receiving structure (See for example Claim 1, lines 22-27); wherein the receiving structure is directly contacted with the peripheral portion of the radial reduction lens element (See for example Claim 1, lines 28-30); wherein the extending light blocking structure and the radial reduction lens element are correspondingly disposed (See for example Claim 1, lines 31-33); wherein a location parallel to the optical axis of an end part of the extending light blocking structure is different from a location parallel to the optical axis of a middle part of the extending light blocking structure (See for example Claim 1, lines 34-37); wherein a distance of a long side of the extending light blocking structure defined via the central opening is DL, a distance of a short side of the receiving structure defined via the central opening is DS, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.3 < DS/DL < 1.0 (See for example Claim 11). Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12210137 further similarly claims and discloses wherein the distance of the long side of the extending light blocking structure defined via the central opening is DL, the distance of the short side of the receiving structure defined via the central opening is DS, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.5 < DS/DL < 0.9 (See for example Claim 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 12-14, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an imaging lens assembly as generally set forth in Claim 1, 3, the assembly including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 3, wherein a maximum distance parallel to the optical axis between the end part and the middle part is D1, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.01 mm ≤ D1 ≤ 3.0 mm. Claims 4-8 are dependent on Claim 3, and hence are allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 3 is allowable.
Claim 9 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an imaging lens assembly as generally set forth in Claim 1, 9, the assembly including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 9, wherein a cross-sectional area of the middle part is A0, a cross-sectional area of the end part is A1, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.05 < A0/A1 < 2. Claim 10 is dependent on Claim 9, and hence are allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 9 is allowable.
Claim 12 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an imaging lens assembly as generally set forth in Claim 1, 12, the assembly including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 12, wherein the light blocking element further comprises a coplanar structure formed by connecting the receiving structure and the extending light blocking structure. Claims 13-14 are dependent on Claim 12 and hence are allowable for at least the same reasons Claim 12 is allowable.
Claim 16 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest an imaging lens assembly as generally set forth in Claim 1, 16, the assembly including, in combination with the features recited in Claims 1, 16, wherein the light blocking element is a black plastic product, and the light blocking element comprises at least one gate trace.
Conclusion
ARNEL C. LAVARIAS
Primary Examiner
Group Art Unit 2872
9/15/2026
/ARNEL C LAVARIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872