DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan US 20130344994.
Regarding claim 1, Sullivan discloses a golf ball having at least one layer formed from a composition comprising the reaction product of:
a base rubber ([0015]);
from 5 phr to 50 phr of a crosslinking coagent selected from metal salts of acrylates, diacrylates, methacrylates, and dimethacrylates ([0028-29]);
from 0.1 phr to 5.0 phr of an organic peroxide ([0029]); and
from 0.1 phr to 4.0 phr of a COR agent selected from zinc 2-mercaptotoluimidazole, zinc 2-mercaptobenzothiazole, zinc dimethyldithiocarbamate, zinc diethyldithiocarbamate, and zinc dibutyldithiocarbamate ([0030];
wherein the composition is substantially free of zinc pentachlorothiophenol ([0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Sullivan further discloses that the COR agent is zinc 2-mercaptotoluimidazole and is included in an amount of from 0.3 phr to 1.2 phr ([0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Sullivan further discloses that the composition is substantially free of organosulfur compounds other than zinc 2-mercaptotoluimidazole ([0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Sullivan further discloses that the COR agent is zinc 2-mercaptobenzothiazole and is included in an amount of from 0.3 phr to 1.2 phr ([0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Sullivan further discloses that the composition is substantially free of organosulfur compounds other than zinc 2-mercaptotoluimidazole ([0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Sullivan further discloses that the composition includes from 26 phr to 34 phr of the crosslinking coagent ([0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Sullivan discloses a golf ball comprising a core layer ([0086]) from a composition comprising the reaction product of:
a base rubber ([0015]);
from 5 phr to 50 phr of a crosslinking coagent selected from metal salts of acrylates, diacrylates, methacrylates, and dimethacrylates ([0028-29]);
from 0.1 phr to 2 phr of an organic peroxide ([0029]); and
from 0.3 phr to 1.2 phr of zinc 2-mercaptotoluimidazole ([0034]);
wherein the composition is substantially free of zinc pentachlorothiophenol ([0038]).
Regarding claim 8, see claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, see claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, Sullivan discloses a golf ball comprising a core layer ([0086]) from a composition comprising the reaction product of:
a base rubber ([0015]);
from 5 phr to 50 phr of a crosslinking coagent selected from metal salts of acrylates, diacrylates, methacrylates, and dimethacrylates ([0028-29]);
from 0.1 phr to 2 phr of an organic peroxide ([0029]); and
from 0.3 phr to 1.2 phr of zinc 2-mercaptobenzothiazole ([0034]);
wherein the composition is substantially free of zinc pentachlorothiophenol ([0038]).
Regarding claim 11, see claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, see claim 6.
Conclusion
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711