DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/24/2026 (hereafter “the amendment”) has been accepted and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-9,21-23, and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welcome (US9765290B2).
Regarding claim 1, Welcome teaches a travel case comprising (see annotated fig.2 of Welcome below):
a top section (see annotated fig.4 of Welcome below for top section);
a bottom section having an interior with a cavity, the interior including an upper surface above a lower surface (see annotated fig.4 of Welcome below for a bottom section with an cavity on the interior and annotated fig.5 below for interior having an upper and lower surface);
at least one opening extending through the bottom section from the upper surface to the lower surface (see annotated fig.5 below for opening extending through the bottom section from the upper surface to the lower surface); and
a slider disposed in the bottom section below the lower surface of the bottom section; wherein the slider is movable from an open position to a closed position by sliding within and confined to a region bounded by the bottom section (see annotated fig.4 below for the slider disposed in the bottom section below the lower surface of the bottom section and the slider is movable from an open to closed position, see fig.5, by sliding within and confined to a region bounded by the bottom section i.e. the slider does not have to come out of the bottom section entirely when in open position);
wherein the at least one opening can be blocked by moving the slider from the open position to the closed position (see annotated fig.5 below where the opening is blocked by moving the slider from open to the closed position; closed position being fig.7 and open in fig.4).
Annotated fig.4 of Welcome
Annotated fig.5 of Welcome
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the slider is removable from the bottom section (see annotated fig.4 above the slider is removable from the bottom section).
Regarding claim 3, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the slider includes at least one tab on opposing sides of the slider with the at least one tab mating with slots in the bottom section, and wherein the slots are sized to receive the slider when inserted into the bottom section, and wherein the slots enable the slider to be removed from the bottom section (see annotated fig.4 above for the tab on the slider on the opposing sides and the tab mates with the slot on the bottom section and the slots are sized to receive the slider when inserted into the bottom section and the slots enable the slide to be removed from the bottom section).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the at least one opening is provided only on half of the bottom section (see annotated fig.5 above the opening is provided only on half on the bottom section).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the slider can be locked into the closed position (see annotated fig.5 where the slider is capable of being locked into the closed position).
Regarding claim 7, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the top section can be connected to the bottom section to close the travel case (see annotated fig.5 above where the top section can be connected to the bottom to close the case).
Regarding claim 8, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the top section can be secured to the bottom section to restrict opening of the travel case (see annotated fig.5 above where the top section can be secure to the bottom to restrict the opening of the case).
Regarding claim 9, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches
wherein the upper surface slopes from a first side of the bottom section to an opposite side of the bottom section (see annotated fig.5 above where the upper surface slops from the corners of the bottom section to an opposite side of the bottom section).
Regarding claim 21, Welcome teaches a travel case comprising (see annotated fig.2 of Low below):
a top section (see annotated fig.4 of Welcome above for top section);
a bottom section having an interior with a cavity, the interior including an upper surface above a lower surface, with a plurality of walls extending from the bottom section and bounding an area of the lower surface (see annotated fig.4 of Welcome above for a bottom section with an cavity on the interior and annotated fig.5 above for interior having an upper and lower surface and with the walls extending from the bottom section and bounding an area to the lower surface);
at least one opening extending through the bottom section from the upper surface to the lower surface (see annotated fig.5 above for opening extending through the bottom section from the upper surface to the lower surface); and
a slider disposed in the bottom section below the lower surface of the bottom section;
wherein the slider is movable from an open position to a closed position by sliding within and confined to the area of the lower surface bound by the plurality of walls (see annotated fig.4 above for the slider disposed in the bottom section below the lower surface of the bottom section and the slider is movable from an open to closed position, see fig.5, by sliding within and confined to a region bounded by the bottom section i.e. the slider does not have to come out of the bottom section entirely when in open position);
wherein the at least one opening can be blocked by moving the slider from the open position to the closed position (see annotated fig.5 above where the opening is blocked by moving the slider from open to the closed position; closed position being fig.7 and open in fig.4).
Regarding claim 22, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the slider is removable from the bottom section (see annotated fig.4 above the slider is removable from the bottom section).
Regarding claim 23, the references as applied to claim 22 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the slider includes at least one tab on opposing sides of the slider with the at least one tab mating with slots in the bottom section, and wherein the slots are sized to receive the slider when inserted into the bottom section, and wherein the slots enable the slider to be removed from the bottom section (see annotated fig.4 above for the tab on the slider on the opposing sides and the tab mates with the slot on the bottom section and the slots are sized to receive the slider when inserted into the bottom section and the slots enable the slide to be removed from the bottom section).
Regarding claim 25, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the at least one opening is provided only on half of the bottom section(see annotated fig.5 above the opening is provided only on half on the bottom section).
Regarding claim 26, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the slider can be locked into the closed position (see annotated fig.5 where the slider is capable of being locked into the closed position).
Regarding claim 27, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the top section can be connected to the bottom section to close the travel case.
Regarding claim 28, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the top section can be secured to the bottom section to restrict opening of the travel case(see annotated fig.5 above where the top section can be connected to the bottom to close the case).
Regarding claim 29, the references as applied to claim 21 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome further teaches wherein the upper surface slopes from a first side of the bottom section to an opposite side of the bottom section (see annotated fig.5 above where the upper surface slops from the corners of the bottom section to an opposite side of the bottom section).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welcome (US9765290B2) and further in view of Hermans (US10306921B2).
Regarding claim 4, the references as applied to claim 3 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome does not teach wherein the at least one tab are retractable at least partially into the slider.
Hermans teach wherein the at least one tab are retractable at least partially into the slider (fig.4 shows the ribs 36 that conform at least partially into the slider 4 to accommodate into the of the compartment 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tab disclosed by Welcome by adding the teaching of retractable tab as disclosed by adding the teaching of ribs that conform in order to easily slide in the slider when its taken out since the tabs can conform and adjust to the width of the slots.
Regarding claim 24, the references as applied to claim 22 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Welcome does not teach wherein the at least one tab are retractable at least partially into the slider.
Hermans teach wherein the at least one tab are retractable at least partially into the slider (fig.4 shows the ribs 36 that conform at least partially into the slider 4 to accommodate into the of the compartment 6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tab disclosed by Welcome by adding the teaching of retractable tab as disclosed by adding the teaching of ribs that conform in order to easily slide in the slider when its taken out since the tabs can conform and adjust to the width of the slots.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See claim 1 amendment rejection and claim 21 rejection above. Lowe’s was withdrawn due to claim amendments. With regard to Welcome applicant argues the limitation of “by sliding within and confined to a region bounded by the bottom section” is not taught however that is not percussive as applicant has not defined the “region” or the confinement of which the sliding can take place in this instance the slider is movable from an open position to close position by sliding and can be confined by a region bounded by the bottom section i.e. not take the entire slider out of the bottom section therefore would “confined” by the bottom section. Similar arguments are made for new claim 21, with addition to the plurality of walls extending from bottom section and bounding an area of lower surface which is also taught by Welcome as the bottom section has plurality of walls that extend from the bottom section and bound an area of the lower surface. Once again “bounding an area of lower surface” is given no reference to what it is or what area is bounded in this instance the cavity of the bottom section can be bounded by it.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRINCE PAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735