DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,175 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are covered by the scope of the claims in U.S. Patent No. 12,219,175 B2 as detailed below for at least claim 1.
Instant Application No. 18/989,311
U.S. Patent No. 12,219,175 B2
1. A decoding method, applicable to a decoder and comprising: decoding a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter; determining a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) parameter of a current block, in response to the prediction mode parameter indicating that MIP is used to determine an intra prediction value; determining transform coefficients of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index of the current block; determining a mapping mode of an LFNST transform set according to the MIP parameter; selecting, according to the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set, one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets, and determining, according to the LFNST index, and LFNST transform kernel used for the current block from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set; and transforming the transform coefficients using the LFNST transform kernel.
6. A transform method, applied to a decoder, the method comprising: parsing a bitstream and determining a prediction mode parameter of a current block; parsing the bitstream and determining a Matrix-based Intra Prediction (MIP) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that MIP is used for the current block to determine an intra prediction value; parsing the bitstream and determining a Low-Frequency Non-Separable Transform (LFNST) index and a transform coefficient of the current block; determining an LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the MIP parameter when the LFNST index indicates that an LFNST is used for the current block; and performing a transform processing on the transform coefficient by using the LFNST transform kernel; wherein the MIP parameter comprises a MIP mode index, the MIP mode index is used for indicating a MIP mode used for the current block, and the MIP mode is used for indicating a calculation and derivation mode for determining the intra prediction value of the current block by using MIP; wherein different MIP modes have different MIP mode indices; wherein determining the LFNST transform kernel used for the current block according to the MIP parameter when the LFNST index indicates that the LFNST is used for the current block comprises: determining a value of an LFNST intra prediction mode index according to a value of the MIP mode index, and selecting one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets according to the value of the LFNST intra prediction mode index; or selecting one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets according to a value of the MIP mode index; wherein the LFNST transform kernel candidate set contains two or more preset LFNST transform kernels.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,175 B2.
Claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,175 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17 which recites the limitation, “… determining a mapping mode of an LFNST transform set according to the MIP parameter…” it is unclear what is considered as a mapping mode. As best understood by the Examiner and for purposes of applying prior art, the claimed “mapping mode of the an LFNST transform set…” is mapping the LFNST to a prediction mode.
Claims 2-7, 10-16, and 19-20 are rejected based upon claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Nam et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0060751 A1)
As per claim 17, A bitstream generated by a method, the method comprising … is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP§2111.05(III). The non-transitory computer-readable medium storage medium storing a bitstream as recited in claim 17 merely serves as support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the storage medium. Therefore, the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Nam et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 20220060751 A1) para [0026] where disclosed is “a computer-readable recording medium according to another aspect of the disclosure may store the bitstream generated by the image encoding apparatus or the image encoding method of the present disclosure”).
Regarding claims 18-20, the claims depend from the product by process in claim 17 and thus are analyzed and rejected with respected to claim 17.
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Huo et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0329862).
As per claim 1, Huo teaches a decoding method, applicable to a decoder and comprising: decoding a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter (abstract, [0008], [0140-0141], [0143], fig. 2B, fig. 7 el. S701 “parse a bitstream and determine a prediction mode parameter of a current block”); determining a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) parameter of a current block, in response to the prediction mode parameter indicating that MIP is used to determine an intra prediction value (fig. 7 el. S702 “parsing the bitstream and determining a matrix-based Intra Prediction (MIP) parameter when the prediction mode parameter indicates that MIP is used for the current block to determine and intra prediction value” and [0145-0148]); determining transform coefficients of the current block and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index of the current block (fig. 7 el. S703, and [0150]; “parsing the bitstream and determining an LFNST index and a transform coefficient of the current block”); determining a mapping mode of an LFNST transform set according to the MIP parameter ([0039], [0119], [0158], [0196] and fig. 8 “in the LFNST technology, an LFNST transform process may include following acts: configuring a core parameter, an intra prediction mode mapping”); selecting, according to the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set, one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate set ([0087], [0107], [0153] and fig. 8) one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets, and determining, according to the LFNST index, and LFNST transform kernel used for the current block from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set (fig. 7 el. 704; [0107], [0168-0172], [; and transforming the transform coefficients using the LFNST transform kernel (fig. 7 el. S705 and [0199]).
As per claim 9, which is the corresponding encoding method, applicable to an encoder with the limitations of the decoding method, applicable to a decoder as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 17, which is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream, with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0329862 A1) and in view of Koo et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0199189 A1).
As per claim 2, Huo teaches wherein the MIP parameter comprises a size parameter of the current block (fig. 4; [0056], [0066-0068]). Huo does not explicitly disclose determining the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set using decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) in response to the size parameter not satisfying a first preset condition.
However, Koo teaches determining the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set using decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) in response to the size parameter not satisfying a first present condition (fig. 11, [0223-0224] and claim 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Koo with Huo in order to provide a method and an apparatus for increasing efficiency in transform index coding, [0005].
As per claim 10, which is the corresponding encoding method with the limitations of the decoding method as recited in claim 2. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
As per claim 18, which is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with the limitations of the decoding method as recited in claim 2. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Nam et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0060751 A1).
As per claim 1, Nam teaches a decoding method, applicable to a decoder (title) and comprising: decoding a bitstream to determine a prediction mode parameter (fig. 2, fig. 13, fig. 23, fig. 24 and [0110] and [0298-0299], [0300]), determining a matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) parameter, in response to the prediction mode parameter indicating that MIP is used to determine an intra prediction value (table 3, table 4, table 11, table 13, [0200], [0285-0287], [0291-0293]); determining transform coefficients of the current block ([0086], [0092] and fig. 2) and a low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) index of the current block (fig. 23, [0299-0300]) determining a mapping mode of LFNST transform set according to the MIP parameter (table 12, table 13, figs. 13-14 and [0291-0293]); selecting, according to the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set, one LFNST transform kernel candidate set from a plurality of LFNST transform kernel candidate sets, and determining, according to the LFNST index, and LFNST transform kernel used for the current block from the selected LFNST transform kernel candidate set ([0293], “an LFNST transform set having a value of 2 may be selected, and a transform kernel specified by st_idx (or lfnst_idx) among transform kernels included in a corresponding transform set may be used for secondary transform/inverse transform of the current block”) and transforming the transform coefficients using the LFNST transform kernel (fig. 2, fig. 22).
As per claim 9, which is the corresponding encoding method with the limitations of the decoding method as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 17, which is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 17 also applies here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al., () and further in view or Koo et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0199189 A1).
As per claim 2, Nam teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Nam teaches wherein the MIP parameter comprises a size parameter of the current block ([0200],[0204], [0285-0287]). Nam does not explicitly disclose determining the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set using decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) in response to the size parameter not satisfying a first preset condition.
However, Koo teaches determining the mapping mode of the LFNST transform set using decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) in response to the size parameter not satisfying a first present condition (fig. 11, [0223-0224] and claim 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Koo with Nam in order to provide a method and an apparatus for increasing efficiency in transform index coding, [0005].
As per claim 10, which is the corresponding encoding method with the limitations of the decoding method as recited in claim 2. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
As per claim 18, which is the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium with the limitations of the decoding method as recited in claim 2. Thus, the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 11-16, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486