DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Meitl has not been shown to teach a stamp wherein “the distal surface is continuously curved or has a rectangular stepped configuration extending away from the rigid support.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion noting Meitl teaches various continuously curved distal ends of the posts such as “a post surface contour 15 can have a corresponding protrusion (convex)” [0183]-[0184] (emphasis added), “A non-planar surface contour or non-planar contact surface can include a surface that has multiple different planes, curves, protrusions, indentations, recesses, or different surfaces” [0163] (emphasis added), “the surface contour 15 is at least partly curved, for example in a direction away from or toward the stamp body 12” [0178] (emphasis added), and the corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18A and 18D. Meitl further teaches various rectangular stepped configurations extending away from the rigid support (Fig. 11; corresponding stamp structure to Figs. 18B and 18E-H).
Applicant further argues the motivation to modify Meitl’s distal ends is conclusory and does not specify how the claimed distal ends would increase the purported contact area as compared to Meitl’s distal ends.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion as Meitl teaches modifying the shape of the non-planar surface of the distal end of each post to include the corresponding shape of the micro-structures to increase contact area between the end of the post and the micro-structure resulting in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0018]; [0168] and illustrates various shapes for both the distal end of the post and the micro-structure (See Figs.) to achieve strong adhesion between the post and the micro-structure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12438015 in view of Meitl et al (PGPub 2017/0047306 cited in IDS).
US Pat. 12438015 teaches all of the instant limitations except (i) the distal surface is (a) convex with a center farther from the rigid support than another portion of the distal surface away from the center such that the convex distal surface is structured to contact a component (e.g., device) when the distal surface is pressed against the component or (b) concave with a center closer to the rigid support than another portion of the distal surface away from the center such that the concave distal surface is structured to contact a component when the distal surface is pressed against the component or (iii} the distal surface is continuously curved ([0163]; [0178]; corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18A and 18D) or has a rectangular stepped configuration extending away from the rigid support (Fig. 11, Fig. 18B and 18E-H).
Meitl teaches an alternative micro-transfer-printing stamp (Abstract) wherein (i) the distal surface is (a) convex with a center farther from the rigid support than another portion of the distal surface away from the center such that the convex distal surface is structured to contact a component when the distal surface is pressed against the component ([0183]-[0184]- a post surface contour 15 can have a corresponding protrusion (convex)) or (b) concave with a center closer to the rigid support than another portion of the distal surface away from the center such that the concave distal surface is structured to contact a component when the distal surface is pressed against the component (Fig. 3- convex non-planar surface contour 15 of post 14) and (iii} the distal surface is continuously curved ([0163]; [0178]; corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18A and 18D) or has a rectangular stepped configuration extending away from the rigid support (Fig. 11, corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18B and 18E-H) in order to increase contact area between the post and the micro-structure and result in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0168].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stamping device of US Pat. 12438015 to include concave or convex posts as taught by Meitl with reasonable expectation of success to increase contact area between the post and the micro-structure and result in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0168].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meitl et al (PGPub 2017/0047306 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Meitl teaches a micro-transfer-printing stamp (Abstract; Fig. 1-3; stamp 10), comprising:
a rigid support (Figs. 1-3- body 12);
an array of posts disposed over the rigid support (Figs. 1-3- posts 14),
each of the posts in the array of posts extending in a direction away from the rigid support to a distal surface of the post (Figs. 1-3 posts 14 extending to distal end 16),
wherein (i) the distal surface is (a) convex with a center farther from the rigid support than another portion of the distal surface away from the center such that the convex distal surface is structured to contact a component when the distal surface is pressed against the component ([0183]-[0184]- a post surface contour 15 can have a corresponding protrusion (convex)) or (b) concave with a center closer to the rigid support than another portion of the distal surface away from the center such that the concave distal surface is structured to contact a component when the distal surface is pressed against the component (Fig. 3- convex non-planar surface contour 15 of post 14), and
(ii) each of the posts comprises an elastic material [0162] and
(iii} the distal surface is continuously curved ([0163]; [0178]; corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18A and 18D) or has a rectangular stepped configuration extending away from the rigid support (Fig. 11, Fig. 18B and 18E-H).
Regarding Claim 2, Meitl further teaches each of the posts in the array of posts comprises an elastomeric material [0162].
Regarding Claim 3, Meitl further teaches each of the posts in the array of posts comprises PDMS [0162].
Regarding Claim 8, Meitl further teaches a portion of the distal surface is flat (Fig. 3, 6, 11; corresponding stamp structures to Figs. 18A-H).
Regarding Claim 9, Meitl further teaches the portion that is flat includes the center. (Fig. 3, 11; corresponding stamp structures to Figs. 18B and 18D-H).
Regarding Claim 10, Meitl further teaches the portion that is flat forms a perimeter around the center (Fig. 3, 6, 11; corresponding stamp structures to Figs. 18A-H).
Regarding Claim 11, Meitl further teaches the portion that is flat is a simple closed curve (Fig. 3, 6, 11; corresponding stamp structures to Figs. 18A-H).
Regarding Claim 14, Meitl further teaches a mesa disposed on the rigid support between the rigid support and the posts, wherein the posts extend from the mesa away from the rigid substrate (Fig. 15 showing a mesa between body 12 and posts).
Regarding Claim 15 and 17, Meitl further teaches a component having a component surface (Figs. 1-3- printable device 20), wherein, for one of the posts, the post is under tension or compression [0173] and all of the distal surface of the post is in contact with the component surface (See Figs. showing posts in contact with printable device 20).
Further, “a component having a component surface, wherein, for one of the posts, the post is under compression or tension and all of the distal surface of the post is in contact with the component surface” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a component having a component surface, wherein, for one of the posts, the post is under compression or tension and all of the distal surface of the post is in contact with the component surface is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 16, Meitl further teaches a component source wafer (Fig. 16- destination substrate), wherein the component is connected to the component source wafer (Fig. 16- step 150).
Further, “a component source wafer, wherein the component is connected to the component source wafer” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a component source wafer, wherein the component is connected to the component source wafer is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 18, Meitl further teaches a component having a component surface (Figs. 1-3- printable device 20), wherein the posts are under compression or tension [0173], and less than all of the distal surface of one of the posts is in contact with the component surface ([0186]- the stamp is misaligned and a post is physically displaced).
Further, “a component having a component surface, wherein the posts are under compression or tension, and less than all of the distal surface of one of the posts is in contact with the component surface” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a component having a component surface, wherein the posts are under compression or tension, and less than all of the distal surface of one of the posts is in contact with the component surface is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 19, Meitl further teaches a target substrate having a target substrate surface (Fig. 16- destination substrate), wherein the component is in contact with the target substrate surface on a surface of the component opposite the component surface (Fig. 16- step 150).
Further, “a target substrate having a target substrate surface, wherein the component is in contact with the target substrate surface on a surface of the component opposite the component surface” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a target substrate having a target substrate surface, wherein the component is in contact with the target substrate surface on a surface of the component opposite the component surface is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 20, Meitl further teaches the distal surface is concave or convex in one dimension (corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18A).
Regarding Claim 21, Meitl further teaches the distal surface is concave or convex in two dimensions (corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meitl et al (PGPub 2017/0047306 cited in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, in the alternative if the teaching above regarding the limitation of “(iii) the distal surface is continuously curved or has a rectangular stepped configuration extending away from the rigid support” is not sufficient, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the non-planar surface of the distal end of each post to include the corresponding shape of the micro-structures to increase contact area between the end of the post and the micro-structure resulting in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0018]; [0168] as taught by Mietl with reasonable expectation of success thus meeting the instant limitation of (iii) the distal surface is continuously curved or has a rectangular stepped configuration extending away from the rigid support.
Regarding Claim 2, Meitl further teaches each of the posts in the array of posts comprises an elastomeric material [0162].
Regarding Claim 3, Meitl further teaches each of the posts in the array of posts comprises PDMS [0162].
Regarding Claims 5-6, Mietl does not specify a radius of curvature of the distal surface decreases from the center to the edge or a radius of curvature of the distal surface is constant.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the non-planar surface of the distal end of each post to include the corresponding shape of the micro-structures to increase contact area between the end of the post and the micro-structure resulting in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0018]; [0168] as taught by Mietl with reasonable expectation of success thus meeting the instant limitations.
Regarding Claims 8-11 and 20-21, in the alternative if the teaching above is not sufficient, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the non-planar surface of the distal end of each post to include the corresponding shape of the micro-structures to increase contact area between the end of the post and the micro-structure resulting in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0018]; [0168] as taught by Mietl with reasonable expectation of success thus meeting the instant limitations.
Regarding Claims 12-13, Mietl further teaches a portion of the distal surface that is not flat is curved ([0163]; [0178]; corresponding stamp structure to Fig. 18A and 18D) but does not specify a radius of curvature of the distal surface decreases from the center to the edge or a radius of curvature of the distal surface is constant.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the non-planar surface of the distal end of each post to include the corresponding shape of the micro-structures to increase contact area between the end of the post and the micro-structure resulting in stronger adhesion between the post and the micro-structure [0018]; [0168] as taught by Mietl with reasonable expectation of success thus meeting the instant limitations.
Regarding Claim 14, Meitl further teaches a mesa disposed on the rigid support between the rigid support and the posts, wherein the posts extend from the mesa away from the rigid substrate (Fig. 15 showing a mesa between body 12 and posts).
Regarding Claim 15 and 17, Meitl further teaches a component having a component surface (Figs. 1-3- printable device 20), wherein, for one of the posts, the post is under tension or compression [0173] and all of the distal surface of the post is in contact with the component surface (See Figs. showing posts in contact with printable device 20).
Further, “a component having a component surface, wherein, for one of the posts, the post is under compression or tension and all of the distal surface of the post is in contact with the component surface” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a component having a component surface, wherein, for one of the posts, the post is under compression or tension and all of the distal surface of the post is in contact with the component surface is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 16, Meitl further teaches a component source wafer (Fig. 16- destination substrate), wherein the component is connected to the component source wafer (Fig. 16- step 150).
Further, “a component source wafer, wherein the component is connected to the component source wafer” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a component source wafer, wherein the component is connected to the component source wafer is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 18, Meitl further teaches a component having a component surface (Figs. 1-3- printable device 20), wherein the posts are under compression or tension [0173], and less than all of the distal surface of one of the posts is in contact with the component surface ([0186]- the stamp is misaligned and a post is physically displaced).
Further, “a component having a component surface, wherein the posts are under compression or tension, and less than all of the distal surface of one of the posts is in contact with the component surface” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a component having a component surface, wherein the posts are under compression or tension, and less than all of the distal surface of one of the posts is in contact with the component surface is not given significant patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 19, Meitl further teaches a target substrate having a target substrate surface (Fig. 16- destination substrate), wherein the component is in contact with the target substrate surface on a surface of the component opposite the component surface (Fig. 16- step 150).
Further, “a target substrate having a target substrate surface, wherein the component is in contact with the target substrate surface on a surface of the component opposite the component surface” is a recitation of the article worked upon. The "inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." MPEP 2115; In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus, the recitation of a target substrate having a target substrate surface, wherein the component is in contact with the target substrate surface on a surface of the component opposite the component surface is not given significant patentable weight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 9/21/26
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748