DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Amendment/Remarks filed on 8 July 2026 has been acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 5, 11, 13 and 16 are amended.
Currently, claims 1 – 20 are pending and considered as set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant first argues, “Independent claim 11 has been amended to recite that the event location is a location along a route being traversed by the vehicle at which the vehicle will platoon with at least one other vehicle. Moon paragraphs [0028]-[0032] merely describe map information and route generation. They do not disclose that the event location is a location along a route at which the vehicle will platoon with at least one other vehicle. Therefore, Moon does not anticipate amended claim 11. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested. For at least the reasons discussed above with respect to amended independent claim 11, the dependent claims depending therefrom are likewise patentable over Moon. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections of the dependent claims are respectfully requested.”
The Examiner respectfully traverses that, considering the reference as a whole, paragraph 87 teaches vehicle moving as a group which is equivalent to platooning. Therefore, Moon still teaches the claim limitations of amended claim 11 and the Examiner finds the argument unpersuasive.
The Applicant further argues, “Independent claim 16 has been amended to recite that the at least one event action is determined based at least in part on one or more of an identity of a passenger of the vehicle, a number of passengers of the vehicle, or a physical characteristic or appearance of at least one passenger of the vehicle. Moon does not disclose amended claim 16. As amended, claim 16 requires determining the event action based on passenger-specific information, namely an identity of a passenger, a number of passengers, or a physical characteristic or appearance of a passenger. Moon's cited disclosures describe displaying notifications on vehicle displays based on distance/proximity and describe general vehicle components such as displays and speakers. Moon does not disclose using passenger identity, passenger number, or passenger appearance to determine the event action.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and traverses that, considering the reference as a whole, paragraph 60 and figure 6C teaches the limitations of ” the at least one event action is determined based at least in part on one or more of an identity of a passenger of the vehicle, a number of passengers of the vehicle, or a physical characteristic or appearance of at least one passenger of the vehicle. Moon does not disclose amended claim 16. As amended, claim 16 requires determining the event action based on passenger-specific information, namely an identity of a passenger, a number of passengers, or a physical characteristic or appearance of a passenger,” and finds the Applicant’s argument unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 13 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (Hereinafter Moon) (US 2022/0080879 A1).
As per claim 11, Moon teaches
An apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code is configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least:
obtain map information corresponding to an event location, wherein the event location is a location along the route being traversed by the vehicle at which the vehicle will platoon with at least one other vehicle (See at least paragraph 50 and 87; The passenger may enter an address or other location information, tap a location on a map or select a location from a list in order to identify a pickup and/or destination location. For instance, the client computing device 120 may send its current location, such as a GPS location, to the one or more server computing devices 110 via network 460 and/or a destination name or address for any intermediate and the final destination. In response, the server computing devices 410 may provide one or more suggested locations or may identify the current location as a pickup location and locations corresponding to the destination name or address as an intermediate or final destination for the vehicle. One the user (now a passenger) has selected or confirmed the pickup and destination locations, the server computing devices may assign a vehicle, such as vehicle 100, to the passenger and the passenger's trip and send dispatching instructions to the vehicle including the pickup location, an intermediate destination, and the final destination. This may cause the vehicle to control itself in the autonomous driving mode towards the pickup location, for instance by using the various systems of the vehicle as described above, in order to complete the trip. Although the examples herein relate to transporting passengers, similar features may be used for the transportation of goods or cargo. …Vehicles may also use the displays to broadcast information to one another or signal a bigger message as a fleet. For example vehicles traveling together in a group might indicate approximately how much time until the entire group passes a given point. Or multiple vehicles could be used in a marriage proposal with each vehicle displaying one or a few words of a sentence.);
based at least in part on the map information corresponding to the event location, determine at least one event action to be performed by a vehicle responsive to a vehicle location indicating a location of the vehicle satisfying a proximity criteria corresponding to the event location (See at least paragraph 58; when the vehicle is the distance D1 or between the two distances D1 and D2 to the destination or the passenger, the vehicle may display a first notification on the display. This first notification may be fairly simple, such as a single block of color. For example, turning to FIG. 6B, a first notification 650 may be displayed on the display 152, 154 by the computing devices 110 when the vehicle reaches the location of marker 620 (or rather is the distance D1 from the location 610) or is between the locations of marker 620 and 630 (or rather between the two distances D1 and D2 from the location 610). In this example, the first notification 650 includes only a “color” (represented by shading). In this regard, the first notification does not include additional information such as text (including alphanumeric characters) and/or one or more images, icons, emoticons, emojis or other details. This may be because the first and second distance are far enough away from the destination or the passenger that the passenger would have a hard time perceiving any additional detail, such as 30 to 100 meters, 10 seconds to 30 seconds, or more or less. In this regard, the greater the first or second distances are, the greater amount of time or longer the notifications may be displayed.); and
cause one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action responsive to determining that the vehicle location satisfies the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location (See at least paragraph 58).
As per claim 13, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the event location is a destination of a route being traversed by the vehicle, a location of interest along the route being traversed by the vehicle, a location along the route being traversed by the vehicle that is a destination of another vehicle (See at least paragraph 28 – 32).
As per claim 14, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location is satisfied when at least one of the vehicle is expected to arrive at the event location within a set amount of time, the vehicle is within a set distance of the event location, or a door of the vehicle is opened within the set distance of the event location (See at least paragraph 58).
As per claim 15, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the at least one event action comprises at least one of:
controlling an exterior color or color pattern of the vehicle,
controlling an exterior shape of the vehicle,
projecting an image on a structure located at the event location,
controlling at least one of a pointing direction, color, beam shape, or beam intensity of one or more exterior lights of the vehicle,
controlling at least of a pointing direction, color, beam shape, beam intensity, projection location, or projection pattern of one or more interior lights of the vehicle,
controlling a sound scape at least one of interior to the vehicle or exterior to the vehicle,
performing a coordinated action in coordination with at least one additional vehicle at the event location,
controlling operation of one or more drones in proximity to the event location, or
controlling movement of the vehicle, or causing display of one or more images or textual messages on one or more public screens at the event location. (See at least paragraph 58 – 60).
As per claim 16, Moon teaches
A computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer- readable storage medium having computer-readable program code portions stored therein, the computer- readable program code portions comprising executable portions configured, when executed by a processor of an apparatus, to cause the apparatus to:
obtain map information corresponding to an event location (See at least paragraph 50; The passenger may enter an address or other location information, tap a location on a map or select a location from a list in order to identify a pickup and/or destination location. For instance, the client computing device 120 may send its current location, such as a GPS location, to the one or more server computing devices 110 via network 460 and/or a destination name or address for any intermediate and the final destination. In response, the server computing devices 410 may provide one or more suggested locations or may identify the current location as a pickup location and locations corresponding to the destination name or address as an intermediate or final destination for the vehicle. One the user (now a passenger) has selected or confirmed the pickup and destination locations, the server computing devices may assign a vehicle, such as vehicle 100, to the passenger and the passenger's trip and send dispatching instructions to the vehicle including the pickup location, an intermediate destination, and the final destination. This may cause the vehicle to control itself in the autonomous driving mode towards the pickup location, for instance by using the various systems of the vehicle as described above, in order to complete the trip. Although the examples herein relate to transporting passengers, similar features may be used for the transportation of goods or cargo.);
based at least in part on the map information corresponding to the event location, determine at least one event action to be performed by a vehicle responsive to a vehicle location indicating a location of the vehicle satisfying a proximity criteria corresponding to the event location, wherein the at least one event action is determined based at least in part on one or more of an identity of a passenger of the vehicle, a number of passengers of the vehicle, a physical characteristic or appearance of at least one passenger of the vehicle (See at least paragraph 24, 58 and 60; electronic display 152 may be located within a cabin of vehicle 100 and may be used by computing devices 110 to provide information to passengers within the vehicle 100. Electronic display 154 may be located on an exterior of the vehicle, such as mounted on the roof or at some other portion of the vehicle. Alternatively, the display 154 or in an interior location which allows persons outside of the vehicle to view information presented on the display 154, such as s a display mounted at the center of a dashboard of the vehicle and oriented outwards. In some instances, the displays 152, 154, may be flat, curved, and may extend 360 degrees. As discussed in further detail below, the computing devices 110 in combination with display 152 and/or display 154 may be a notification system which can provide information to passengers as well as other persons outside of the vehicle 100. … when the vehicle is the distance D1 or between the two distances D1 and D2 to the destination or the passenger, the vehicle may display a first notification on the display. This first notification may be fairly simple, such as a single block of color. For example, turning to FIG. 6B, a first notification 650 may be displayed on the display 152, 154 by the computing devices 110 when the vehicle reaches the location of marker 620 (or rather is the distance D1 from the location 610) or is between the locations of marker 620 and 630 (or rather between the two distances D1 and D2 from the location 610). In this example, the first notification 650 includes only a “color” (represented by shading). In this regard, the first notification does not include additional information such as text (including alphanumeric characters) and/or one or more images, icons, emoticons, emojis or other details. This may be because the first and second distance are far enough away from the destination or the passenger that the passenger would have a hard time perceiving any additional detail, such as 30 to 100 meters, 10 seconds to 30 seconds, or more or less. In this regard, the greater the first or second distances are, the greater amount of time or longer the notifications may be displayed. … turning to FIG. 6C, a second notification 660 may be displayed when the vehicle reaches the location of marker 630 (or rather is the distance D2 from the location 610) or is between the locations of marker 630 and the location 610 (or rather less than the distance D2 of marker 630 from the location 610). In this example, the second notification 660 displayed on the display 152, 154 includes both the “color” (represented by shading) from the first notification 650 as well as text, here, “Joe's Car” identifying the vehicle 100 as being assigned to passenger “Joe”. In this regard, the second notification 660 provides additional information not provided by the first notification 650.); and
cause one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action responsive to determining that the vehicle location satisfies the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location (See at least paragraph 58).
As per claim 17, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the at least one event action is determined based at least in part on one or more of user preferences associated with at least one passenger of the vehicle, sensor data generated by one or more sensors of the vehicle, or information regarding capabilities of the vehicle (See at least paragraph 51).
As per claim 18, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the event location is a destination of a route being traversed by the vehicle, a location along the route being traversed by the vehicle at which the vehicle will platoon with at least one other vehicle, a location of interest along the route being traversed by the vehicle, a location along the route being traversed by the vehicle that is a destination of another vehicle (See at least paragraph 28 – 32 and 87).
As per claim 19, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location is satisfied when at least one of the vehicle is expected to arrive at the event location within a set amount of time, the vehicle is within a set distance of the event location, or a door of the vehicle is opened within the set distance of the event location (See at least paragraph 58).
As per claim 20, Moon teaches limitations of:
wherein the at least one event action comprises at least one of:
controlling an exterior color or color pattern of the vehicle,
controlling an exterior shape of the vehicle,
projecting an image on a structure located at the event location,
controlling at least one of a pointing direction, color, beam shape, or beam intensity of one or more exterior lights of the vehicle,
controlling at least of a pointing direction, color, beam shape, beam intensity, projection location, or projection pattern of one or more interior lights of the vehicle,
controlling a sound scape at least one of interior to the vehicle or exterior to the vehicle,
performing a coordinated action in coordination with at least one additional vehicle at the event location,
controlling operation of one or more drones in proximity to the event location, or
controlling movement of the vehicle, or causing display of one or more images or textual messages on one or more public screens at the event location. (See at least paragraph 58 – 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon.
As per claim 12, Moon electronic display on exterior of the vehicle and control action of displaying event action when the vehicle is proximity of the event location (See at least paragraph 24, 51 and 58), but does not expressly show the claimed data including: one or more LED lights or one or more LED display.
The Examiner notes, even though Moon doesn't expressly disclose one or more LED lights or one or more LED display, these differences are only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps recited. controlling operation of the at least one of one or more displays on the one or more exterior surfaces of the vehicle to control an appearance of the vehicle would be performed in the same manner regardless of the display type. Thus, this material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 10 are allowed over the records of prior arts.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The independent claim 1 recites limitations of:
A method comprising:
obtaining, by at least one processor, map information corresponding to an event location, wherein the map information comprises a two-dimensional or three-dimensional model of the event location indicating one or more structures located at or proximate the event location;
based at least in part on the map information corresponding to the event location, determining, by the at least one processor, at least one event action to be performed by a vehicle responsive to a vehicle location indicating a location of the vehicle satisfying a proximity criteria corresponding to the event location, wherein determining the at least one event action comprises identifying, based at least in part on the two-dimensional or three-dimensional model, a structure of the one or more structures on which an image is to be projected; and
causing, by the at least one processor, one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action responsive to determining that the vehicle location satisfies the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location, wherein causing the one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action comprises controlling one or more exterior lights or projectors of the vehicle to project the image onto the identified structure.
The most remarkable prior arts are Moon et al. (US 2022/0080879 A1), Diehl et al. (US 2020/0285240 A1), Sweeney et al. (US 2017/0240098 A1), and Hillis et al. (US 2017/0010679 A1).
None of prior arts teaches the particular limitations of:
“wherein the map information comprises a two-dimensional or three-dimensional model of the event location indicating one or more structures located at or proximate the event location;
wherein determining the at least one event action comprises identifying, based at least in part on the two-dimensional or three-dimensional model, a structure of the one or more structures on which an image is to be projected; and
causing, by the at least one processor, one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action responsive to determining that the vehicle location satisfies the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location, wherein causing the one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action comprises controlling one or more exterior lights or projectors of the vehicle to project the image onto the identified structure.”
Sweeney et al. and Hillis et al. do teach projecting external light at location for pedestrians but that does not teach event location indicating one or more structures located at or proximate the event location, and wherein determining the at least one event action comprises identifying, based at least in part on the two-dimensional or three-dimensional model, a structure of the one or more structures on which an image is to be projected; and causing, by the at least one processor, one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action responsive to determining that the vehicle location satisfies the proximity criteria corresponding to the event location, wherein causing the one or more components of the vehicle to perform the at least one event action comprises controlling one or more exterior lights or projectors of the vehicle to project the image onto the identified structure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IG T AN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662
IG T AN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3662