DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102b as being anticipated by Dafni et al. (US 20050135560).
Regarding claim 1, Dafni teaches an x-ray medical imaging system, comprising:
a base 202 having a top surface;
a gantry ring comprising an outer shell containing an image collection apparatus and defining an inner bore (para 47), the gantry ring coupled to the base and positioned above the top surface of the base (figure 1a); and
a motorized system that translates the gantry ring along a length of the base in an imaging mode (para 49-50).
Regarding claim 2, Dafni teaches the base is a mobile base configured to transport the gantry (para 49-50).
Regarding claim 3, Dafni teaches the base is mobile and includes a stationary mode 210 and a transport mode 208.
Regarding claim 4, Dafni teaches the gantry ring is supported by a gimbal, the gimbal operatively attached to the base and being rotatable relative to the base at least about 90 degrees with respect to an axis extending generally normal to the top surface (figure 1a, para 46-47).
Regarding claim 5, Dafni teaches the gantry ring defines an inner bore extending along an imaging axis (para 69).
Regarding claim 6, Dafni teaches the gantry ring includes an image collection apparatus (para 38-39)..
Regarding claim 7, Dafni teaches a pedestal arranged adjacent to the gimbal (para 78).
Regarding claim 8, Dafni teaches the gantry ring is moveably coupled to the base and configured to translate along a length of the base between a first position and a second position (figure 1a, para 49-50).
Regarding claim 9, Dafni teaches the base is configured to move 208 the gantry ring.
Regarding claim 10, Dafni teaches a computer control system that is coupled to the motorized system for controlling translational motion of the gantry ring along the length of the base (para 79-82).
Regarding claim 11, Dafni teaches a transport motor geared into at least one wheel that drives the base in a transport mode (para 41).
Regarding claim 12, Dafni teaches the image collection apparatus includes an x-ray source and an x-ray detector supported for rotation about an inner bore of the gantry ring (para 68).
Regarding claim 13, Dafni teaches the x-ray medical imaging system is an x-ray computed tomography (CT) imaging system; and wherein the x-ray source and the x-ray detector rotate within the gantry ring as the gantry ring translates along the length of the base to obtain a plurality of helical scan images (para 86-88).
Regarding claim 14, Dafni teaches a method of imaging a patient including an x-ray imager comprising a base having a top surface, a gantry ring comprising an outer shell containing an image collection apparatus and defining an inner bore, the gantry ring coupled to the base and positioned above the top surface of the base, and a motorized system that moves the base and translates the gantry ring along a length of the base in an imaging mode, the method comprising: positioning the x-ray imager by moving the base; positioning a patient on a patient support, the patient support aligned along an imaging axis defined by the gantry ring; and translating the gantry ring along the base and the patient in the imaging mode to obtain images of the patient (figure 1a, para 49-50, 86-88).
Regarding claim 15, Dafni teaches rotating the gantry ring relative to the base between a first position and a second position; wherein the second position is at least 90 degrees from the first position with respect to an axis extending generally normal to the top surface of the base (figure 1a, para 46-47).
Regarding claim 16, Dafni teaches the x-ray imager includes a pedestal, the pedestal configured to removable couple with the patient support (para 78).
Regarding claim 17, Dafni teaches the imaging mode is x-ray computer tomography (para 86-88).
Regarding claim 18, Dafni teaches the gantry ring has an inner bore diameter that is greater than about 38 inches (para 47).
Regarding claim 19, Dafni teaches the motorized system comprises at least one actuator for translating and rotating the gantry ring on the base (para 49-50).
Regarding claim 20, Dafni teaches the x-ray imager further includes a control system for controlling the operation of translation and rotation of the gantry ring, and controlling the operation of the image collection apparatus (para 79-82).
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884