DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’s filed 1/3/2025, 8/22/2025 and 11/9/2025 have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 recites, “an effective solute concentration of at least 1.5 Osm/L”. Paragraph [0066] of the instant specification states,
Regardless of how achieved, the osmolarity of the composition is at least moderately high, with an osmolarity of at least ~0.5 Osm/L being preferred for most applications. Depending on particular end-use application, the composition can have any of the following concentrations: at least ~0.6, at least ~0.75, at least ~1.0, at least ~1.5, at least ~1.75, at least ~2.0, at least ~2.25, at least ~2.5, at least ~2.75, at least ~3.0, at least ~3.25, and even at least ~3.5 Osm/L (with the upper limit being defined by the solubility limit of the solutes in the solvent component). Some applications, particularly those involving contact with human or animal tissue, usually involve relatively lower solute concentrations (e.g., 0.7 to 2.5 Osm/L, 0.8 to 2.45 Osm/L, 0.9 to 2.4 Osm/L, 0.95 to 2.35 Osm/L, and 1 to 2.33 Osm/L), while other applications, such as those requiring sterilization of inanimate objects, can employ relatively higher solute concentrations (e.g., 1 to 3.6 Osm/L, 1.1 to 3.5 Osm/L, 1.2 to 3.4 Osm/L, 1.3 to 3.3 Osm/L, 1.4 to 3.2 Osm/L, and 1.5 to 3.1 Osm/L). (As points of comparison, in biological applications, a 0.9% (by wt.) saline solution, which is ~0.3 Osm/L, typically is considered to be have moderate tonicity, while a 3% (by wt.) saline solution, which is ~0.9 Osm/L, generally is considered to be hypertonic.) Without wishing to be bound by theory, compositions having higher osmolarities may exert higher osmotic pressure on bacterial cell walls, which increases susceptibility to interruption by solvent and/or surfactant.
Claim 18 sets out an effective solute concentration range of at least 1.5 Osm/L without a maximum. The instant specification describes osmolarities as high as 3.6 Osm/L depending on the intend use. Thus, the disclosure provides support for a maximum of 3.6 Osm/L, but not the full scope of at least 1.5 Osm/L. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites, “an effective solute concentration of at least 1.75 Osm/L”. As discussed above, the instant specification describes osmolarities as high as 3.6 Osm/L depending on the intend use. Thus, the disclosure provides support for a maximum of 3.6 Osm/L, but not the full scope of at least 1.75 Osm/L. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent claim 19 does not remedy the written description issue of parent claim 18 and as such said dependent claim suffers from the same deficiency.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 recites, “The composition of claim 1 comprising the cationic surfactant in an amount of 0.02% to 0.08% (w/w)”. Claim 11 depends form claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “A liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of”. Due to the conflicting closed “consisting of” in claim 1 and the open-ended “comprising” language of claim 11, the claim does not properly further limit the subject matter of claim 1. It is suggested that claim 11 is amended to recite, “The composition of claim 1, wherein the cationic surfactant is in an amount of 0.02% to 0.08% (w/w)” to overcome this rejection.
Claim 12 recites, “The composition of claim 1 comprising the cationic surfactant in an amount of at least 0.02% (w/w)”. Claim 12 depends form claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “A liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of”. Due to the conflicting closed “consisting of” in claim 1 and the open-ended “comprising” language of claim 12, the claim does not properly further limit the subject matter of claim 1. It is suggested that claim 12 is amended to recite, “The composition of claim 1, wherein the cationic surfactant is in an amount of...” to overcome this rejection.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myntti (US 2010/0086576 Al, Apr. 8, 2010, hereafter as "Myntti") as evidenced by Britannica (see PTO-892) and in view of Pronovost (US 2009/0148502 A1, Jun. 11, 2009, hereafter as “Pronovost”).
The instant claims are drawn to a liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of (1) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid and a buffer precursor, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L; and products thereof.
Regarding instant claims 1, 5-7, 13, 14 and 18, Myntti teaches an aqueous antimicrobial composition, which is slightly to moderately acidic, includes a significant amount of one or more surfactants (e.g., cationic surfactants) and large amounts of osmotically active solutes (abstract; [0045]). Myntti teaches that a portion of the solutes result from the dissociation product(s) of one or more alkali metal salts of one or more acids ([0009]-[0010] and [0036]) and that acidity is achieved by adding to water (or vice versa) one or more acids ([0041]-[0042]). Specific acids taught include monoprotic acids, acetic acid and salts thereof ([0041] and [0050]). Myntti also teaches the pH of the composition can be less than 5, less than 4, less than 3, etc. as well as ranges of about 3 to about 6 and about 3.5 to about 5.5 ([0040]) and the effective solute concentration can be at least 1 Osm, at least 1.5 Osm, at least 1.75 Osm, at least 2.0 Osm, etc. ([0051]-[0052]; instant claims 18 and 20). Myntti teaches topical application to skin ([0064]). Myntti teaches that the surfactant is generally included in amount greater than about 0.2% ([0046]; instant claim 12).
Myntti is silent to the particular osmolarity ranges of 1 to 2.33 Osm/L (instant claims 1 and 13), at least 1.5 Osm/L to 2.33 Osm/L (instant claims 9 and 16), and at least 1.5 Osm/L to 2.33 Osm/L (instant claims 10 and 17), however, Myntti teaches overlapping ranges of at least 1 Osm, at least 1.5 Osm, at least 1.75 Osm, at least 2.0 Osm, etc. ([0051]-[0052]). MPEP 2144.05 states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Accordingly, because the claimed ranges overlap with the ranges of the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Myntti is silent to the particular pH ranges of about 3 but less that 5.0 (instant claim 1), about 3 to less than 4.6 (instant claim 2), greater than about 3 but less than 4.4 (instant claims 13 and 18), however Myntti teaches overlapping ranges of about 3 to about 6 and about 3.5 to about 5.5 ([0040]). MPEP 2144.05 states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Accordingly, because the claimed ranges overlap with the ranges of the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
While Myntti is silent to acetate (instant claims 8, 15 and 19), Myntti teaches dissociation products of organic acids including monoprotic acids such as acetic acid and salts thereof [0009]-[0010], [0036], [0041] and [0050]). Acetic acid’s disassociation products are well understood in the art as acetate and hydronium as evidenced by Britannica. Accordingly, the inclusion of disassociation products of acetic acid would necessarily include acetate.
Myntti is silent to the particular alcohols, C₁-C₁₆ acyclic alcohols such as ethanol (instant claims 1, 3, 4, 13 and 18).
Pronovost teaches compositions for wound treatment including protecting from infection (abstract; [0008]). Said composition includes alcohols such as isopropyl alcohol (i.e., 2- propanol) ([0158]).
Both references are drawn to inhibiting bacteria on animal/human tissue, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the particular alcohol, ethanol, into Myntti, as suggested by Pronovost, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Pronovost teaches said ethanol is suitable for the same purpose of treating and protecting from infection.
The references silent to the solvent component exhibiting a δₚ range of 13.7 to 15.4 MPa¹/² (instant claims 1, 13 and 18).
However, said limitation is a property dependent on the particular solvents employed and the amounts thereof. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable (MPEP 2112.01). As discussed above, the references teach/suggest the claimed solvents. Please note that the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicant's antimicrobial composition differs and, if so, to what extent, from that of the discussed reference. MPEP 2144.05 also states, "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. '[W]here the
general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation". Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the amounts of water and one or more acyclic alcohols that make up the solvent in Myntti/Pronovost to arrive at the claimed δₚ range of 13.7 to 15.4 MPa¹/².
Thus, the combined teachings of Myntti and Pronovost render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,021,876.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant claims are drawn to a liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of (1) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid and a buffer precursor, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L; and products thereof.
The patented claims are drawn to an antimicrobial composition provided in the form of a gel adapted for dermal application, said gel comprising (a) a water-miscible base which carries (b) a liquid composition exhibiting an effective solute concentration of at least about 0.75 Osm/L and a pH of at least 3, wherein said liquid composition consists of (1) a solvent component that exhibits a δp value of no more than 14.4 MPa1/2 and consists of water, one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols and, optionally, glycerol; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least two organic acids. The patented claims further recite, a pH of from 3.5 to 5.5; and wherein said at least two organic acids comprise one or more monoprotic acids.
While the patented claims are drawn to a gel, said gel comprises a liquid composition that is similar to that of the instant application and, as such, the patented claims encompass the subject matter of the instant claims. The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that the osmolarity, pH and δp ranges are overlapping. MPEP 2144.05 states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Accordingly, because the claimed ranges overlap with the ranges of the patent, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It is further noted that glycerol is an optional ingredient recited in the patent and not a required element.
It is also noted the use of open-ended “comprising” language in describing the “solute component” of the instant claims that allows for additional unrecited elements.
Thus, the patented claims and the instant claims are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,477,860.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant claims are drawn to a liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of (1) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid and a buffer precursor, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L; and products thereof.
The patented claims are drawn to an antimicrobial composition adapted for dermal application, said composition comprising (a) a carrier base and (b) a liquid composition exhibiting an effective solute concentration of at least about 0.75 Osm/L and a pH of at least 3, wherein said liquid composition consists of (1) a solvent component that exhibits a δp value of no more than 14.4 MPa1/2 and consists of water, one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols and, optionally, glycerol; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least two organic acids. The patented claims further recite, a pH of from 3.5 to 5.5; and wherein said at least two organic acids comprise one or more monoprotic acids.
While the patented claims are drawn to an antimicrobial composition comprising a carrier base (e.g., an oleaginous or absorption carrier base), said composition comprises a liquid composition that is similar to that of the instant application and, as such, the patented claims encompass the subject matter of the instant claims. The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that the osmolarity, pH and δp ranges are overlapping. MPEP 2144.05 states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Accordingly, because the claimed ranges overlap with the ranges of the patent, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It is further noted that glycerol is an optional ingredient recited in the patent and not a required element.
It is also noted the use of open-ended “comprising” language in describing the “solute component” of the instant claims that allows for additional unrecited elements.
Thus, the patented claims and the instant claims are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,219,208.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant claims are drawn to a liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of (1) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid and a buffer precursor, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L; and products thereof.
The patented claims are drawn to a method for rinsing a surgical site, said method comprising introducing to said site a liquid composition that consists of (1) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant, dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid, and dissociation products of at least one salt of at least one monoprotic organic acid, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L; and related methods of using. The patented claims further recite the particular C1-C16 acyclic alcohol, ethanol; the particular monoprotic acid, acetic acid; the particular salt of a monoprotic acid, acetate; an effective solute concentration of at least 1.5 Osm/L; and an effective solute concentration of at least 1.75 Osm/L.
While the patented claims are drawn to a method of using a liquid composition, said method comprises a liquid composition that is similar to that of the instant application and, as such, the patented claims encompass the subject matter of the instant claims.
It is also noted the use of open-ended “comprising” language in describing the “solute component” of the instant claims that allows for additional unrecited elements.
Thus, the patented claims and the instant claims are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,234,435 in view of Naidu (US 2005/0163825 A1, Jul. 28, 2005; hereafter as “Naidu”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims and the subject matter of the patented claims are significantly overlapping.
The instant claims are drawn to a liquid composition useful for cleansing a surgical site upon introduction thereto, said composition consisting of (1) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant and dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid and a buffer precursor, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L; and products thereof.
The patented claims are drawn to a method for treating a dermal wound, said method comprising applying to said wound a liquid wash composition adapted for dermal application, said composition consisting of a) a solvent component exhibiting a δp value of from 13.7 to 15.4 MPa1/2 that consists of water and one or more C1-C16 acyclic alcohols; and (2) a solute component that comprises cationic surfactant, dissociation products of at least one organic polyacid and dissociation products of at least one salt of at least one organic acid, said composition having a pH of greater than about 3 but less than 5.0 and an effective solute concentration of from 1 to 2.33 Osm/L.; and related methods and compositions thereof. The patented claims further recite the particular C1-C16 acyclic alcohol, ethanol; an effective solute concentration of at least 1.5 Osm/L; and an effective solute concentration of at least 1.75 Osm/L.
The patented claims and the instant claims differ in that the patented claims require dissociation products of at least one organic polyacid and disassociation products of at least one salt of at least one organic acid whereas the instant claims require dissociation products of at least one monoprotic organic acid and a buffer precursor (e.g., disassociation product of a salt of a monoprotic acid).
Naidu teaches acetic acid (a monoprotic acid) and citric acid (a polyacid) are known antimicrobial agents (10053]).
Naidu and the patent are drawn to compositions for biological use, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the polyacid, citric acid and its salt with the monoprotic acid, acetic acid and its salt with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Naidu effectively teaches that acetic acid and citric acid are functional equivalents for the purpose of imparting antimicrobial properties. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06(II)).
While the patented claims are drawn to a method of using a liquid composition, said method comprises a liquid composition that is similar to that of the instant application and, as such, the patented claims encompass the subject matter of the instant claims.
It is also noted the use of open-ended “comprising” language in describing the “solute component” of the instant claims that allows for additional unrecited elements.
Thus, the patented claims and the instant claims are not patentably distinct from one another.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/CASEY S HAGOPIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1617