DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ross (US 2013/0188309).
Regarding claim 1, Ross discloses a power input connector module comprising:
a movable member (104, fig. 9) configured to be movably connected (para. 120) to a chassis (102, fig. 9) of an information processing device (100 in fig. 1 and in fig. 9) such that the movable member is movable outside the chassis to an extended position (see 104’ in fig. 10) and inside the chassis to a retracted position (see 104 in fig. 9-10); and
a first power input connector (see top 170 in fig. 15) and a second power input connector (see bottom 170 in fig. 15) both disposed serially (para. 128) spaced apart from each other along an axis (248, fig. 10) parallel to a direction of movement of the movable member (see 104 to 104’ in fig. 10), and coupled to the chassis via the movable member (see 134 on 104 in fig. 9; wherein e.g. the moveable member includes two 104 in fig. 1 connected to top and bottom 170 in fig. 15),
wherein the movable member supports the first and second power input connectors relative to the chassis (see fig. 15 as applied to fig. 9-10), and
wherein the first and second power input connectors are configured to travel along with the movable member relative to the chassis as the movable member moves between the extended position and the retracted position (see para. 120 and fig. 9-10; wherein computer system 104 extends to or retracts from 104’).
Regarding claim 2, Ross discloses wherein the first power input connector is pivotably coupled to the movable member (para. 119) such that the first power input connector is rotatable relative to the movable member between a first orientation parallel to the axis (see 170 in fig. 9) and a second orientation perpendicular to the axis (see 170 in fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Ross discloses wherein, in the first orientation of the first power input connector and in one of the extended position or the retracted position of the movable member (see fig. 9 and para. 119), the first power input connector is physically accessible to detachably mate with a first power source connector (para. 66) of a first external power cord (178, fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Ross discloses wherein, in the first orientation of the first power input connector and in the retracted position of the movable member (see fig. 15), the second power input connector (see top 170 in fig. 15) is positioned within the chassis and is not physically accessible to detachably mate with a second power source connector (para. 66) of a second external power (178, fig. 15) cord (see fig. 15 and para. 115; wherein the top 170 is located behind the bottom 170 and is inaccessible in the normal/closed position, further wherein the top 170 is accessible in maintenance/open position).
Regarding claim 5, Ross disclose wherein, in the second orientation of the first power input connector and in the extended position of the movable member (see 104’ in fig. 10), the second power input connector is physically accessible to detachably mate with a second power source connector (para. 66) of a second external power (178, fig 15) cord (see fig. 15 as applied to fig. 10 and para. 115; wherein when 104 is in the maintenance position the top 170 becomes accessible to the user to detachably mate).
Regarding claim 6, Ross discloses further comprising a first latch (see rail in para. 90) coupled to the movable member (para. 131), and wherein, in the first orientation of the first power input connector and in the retracted position of the movable member (see fig. 9), the first latch is configured to releasably secure the movable member to the chassis (para. 90, 163; wherein the chassis is removable from the rack).
Regarding claim 7, Ross discloses further comprising a second latch (276, fig. 18) coupled to the movable member (para. 131), and wherein, in the first orientation of the first power input connector (fig. 18), the second latch is configured to releasably secure the first power input connector to the movable member (fig. 18 and para. 131, 163).
Regarding claim 8, Ross discloses further comprising a guide member coupled to the chassis (para .90), and wherein the movable member is movably connected to the chassis via the guide member (para. 90).
Regarding claim 9, Ross discloses an information processing device comprising:
a chassis (102, fig. 9);
a first power supply unit (116, fig. 13, as applied to a first server 258) and a second power supply unit (116, fig. 13, as applied to second server 258) both installed in the chassis (para. 127);
a power input connector module disposed (fig. 9) in the chassis, comprising:
a movable member (104, fig. 9) movably connected to the chassis (para. 120) such that the movable member is movable outside the chassis to an extended position (104’ in fig. 10) and inside the chassis to a retracted position (104 in fig. 10); and
a first power input connector (top 170 in fig. 15) and a second power input connector (bottom 170, fig 15) both disposed serially spaced (para. 128) apart from each other along an axis (248, fig. 10) parallel to a direction of movement of the movable member (see 104 to 104’ in fig. 10) and coupled to the chassis via the movable member (see 134 on 104 in fig. 9), wherein the movable member supports the first and second power input connectors relative to the chassis (see fig. 15 as applied to fig. 9-10, further wherein e.g. the moveable member includes two 104 in fig. 1 connected to top and bottom 170 in fig. 15), wherein the first and second power input connectors are configured to detachably mate (para. 66) with first and second external power cords (178 in fig. 15), respectively;
a first power transfer cable (top 178 in fig. 15) electrically connecting the first power input connector to the first power supply unit (see fig. 15 and fig. 13); and
a second power transfer cable (bottom 178 in fig. 15) electrically connecting the second power input connector to the second power supply unit (see fig. 15 and fig. 13),
wherein the first and second power input connectors and a portion of each of first and second power transfer cables travel along with the movable member relative to the chassis as the movable member moves between the extended position and the retracted position (see fig. 10 and para. 120; wherein 104 moves to 104’).
Claims 10-15 are rejected for the same reasons stated for claims 2-7, respectively. See above rejections.
Regarding claim 16, Ross discloses wherein each of the first and second power input connectors is one of a socket connector or a plug connector (see plugs at end of 178 in fig. 9 and para. 66), and wherein each of first and second power source connectors of the first and second external power cords, respectively, is another one of the socket connector or the plug connector (see plugs at end of 178 in fig. 9 and para. 66).
Regarding claim 17, Ross discloses wherein a first section of the portion of each of the first and second power transfer cables is tied to the movable member (see 134 in fig. 9) and a second section of the portion of each of the first and second power transfer cables is tied to the chassis (172, fig. 4),
wherein, in the extended position of the movable member, the portion of each of the first and second power transfer cables is untangled to allow the first and second power input connectors to travel forward along with the movable member (see the untangling of 178 from fig. 10 to fig. 9); and
wherein, in the retracted position of the movable member, the portion of each of the first and second power transfer cables is tangled to allow the first and second power input connectors to travel backward along with the movable member (see the tangling of 178 from fig. 9 to fig. 10).
Regarding claim 18, Ross discloses a method comprising:
pulling a movable member (104 to 104’ in fig. 10 and para 120) of a power input connector module (fig. 9), which is coupled to a chassis (102, fig. 9) of an information processing device (100, fig. 9), along a direction parallel to an axis (248, fig. 10) such that a portion of the movable member moves from a retracted position inside the chassis (104 in fig. to an extended position outside the chassis (104’ in fig. 10);
detachably mating a first power source connector (170, fig. 9) of a first external power cord (178, fig. 9) with a first power input connector (para. 66) pivotably coupled to the movable member (para. 119), wherein the first power input connector is supported by the movable member relative to the chassis and is electrically connected to a first power supply unit (116 in fig. 13 as applied to a first server 258) of the information processing device via a first power transfer cable (178, fig. 15);
providing clearance to allow access to a second power input connector by rotating the first power input connector from a first orientation to a second orientation (see fig. 15 as applied to fig. 10; wherein in the maintenance/open position the top 170 is accessible),
wherein the first orientation is parallel (see fig. 9) to the axis (248 in fig. 10) and the second orientation is perpendicular (see fig. 10) to the axis (248 in fig. 10), wherein the first and second power input connectors are disposed serially spaced (para. 128) apart from each other along the axis (see fig. 15) and coupled to the chassis via the moveable member (see 134 on 104 in fig. 9; wherein e.g. the moveable member includes two 104 in fig. 1 connected to top and bottom 170 in fig. 15), and
wherein the second power input connector is supported by the movable member relative to the chassis (see fig. 15 as applied to fig. 9-10) and is electrically connected to a second power supply unit (116, fig. 13, as applied to a second server 258) of the information processing device via a second power transfer cable (see bottom 176 in fig. 15);
detachably mating a second power source connector (top 170, fig. 15) of a second external power cord (top 178, fig. 15) with the second power input connector (para. 66) by moving an end of the second external power cord past the first power input connector while the first power input connector is in the second orientation (see fig. 15 as applied to fig. 10; wherein the top 170 is accessible in the maintenance position);
rotating the first power input connector from the second orientation to the first orientation (e.g. moving from fig. 10 to fig. 9); and
pushing the movable member along the axis into the retracted position (see fig. 9) such the first and second power input connectors travel along with the moveable member relative to the chassis (see fig. 10 in extended position and fig. 9 in retracted position, wherein connector 170 retracts with the computer system 104).
Claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 6-7, respectively. See above rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Ross fails to disclose “a moveable member configured to be moveably connected to a chassis of an information processing device”. The Office disagrees. Specifically, Ross discloses a moveable member (104, fig. 9; which is moveable from a retracted position in fig. 9 to an extended position in fig. 10) configured to be moveably connected to a chassis (see rack 102 in fig. 9; wherein a chassis is interpreted a structural frame of a device; further wherein a chassis is “an enclosure configured to house and provide support to the electronic components” (see para. 34 of current published patent application) of an information processing device (100 in fig. 1 and in fig. 9 and para. 93; wherein computer system 100 is e.g. a file server; wherein a computer system is a in information processing device). As currently claimed, the rack 102 of Ross reads on the “chassis” of the current application. Under this current interpretation, the remainder of the arguments regarding connections to the “chassis” are moot, as the mapping of the rack 102 to the chassis of the current application is valid (see claim citations above). Therefore the current rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628