CTNF 18/989,647 CTNF 94786 DETAILED ACTION This is a Non-Final Office Action in response to Claims on 12/20/2024. Claims 1-17 are pending. The effective filling date is 05/16/2024. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 and 09/30/2025 was filed0. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Step 1- Claims 1-8 and 9-17 are directed to a apparatus and system, which are an apparatus, which is a patent eligible subject matter. Claim 9 is directed to a method, which is a process and is a patent eligible subject matter. Claims 1-17 pass step 1. Step 2A, Prong 1- The independent claim 1, and similarly claims 9 and 10, recite: An information processing apparatus, comprising: a communication interface that communicates with an external device (additional element analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 2) , the external device including a camera that images a plurality of transaction processing apparatuses that a customer performs an operation relating to a transaction and generates image information capable of identifying a state of each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses (additional element analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 2) , and a detection device that detects, for each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses, a person at a specified operation position on the transaction processing apparatus and outputs detection information indicating presence of the person at the specified operation position on the transaction processing apparatus (additional element analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 2) ; and a processor (additional element analyzed under Step 2A, Prong 2) configured to acquire the image information generated by the camera from the camera via the communication interface (acquiring information is collecting information and is considered a mental process under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) , receive the detection information output by the detection device from the detection device via the communication interface (recieving information is collecting information and is considered a mental process under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)) , determine, on a basis of the acquired image information and the received detection information, whether or not each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses is in a state where the operation by the customer can be started (making a determination is analyzing information and is considered a mental process under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016); additionally, the determination is about how people within a store environment are acting, and can therefore be grouped as a certain method of organizing human activity under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) An example of a claim reciting managing personal behavior is Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1636 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The patentee in this case claimed methods comprising storing user-selected pre-set limits on spending in a database, and when one of the limits is reached, communicating a notification to the user via a device. 792 F.3d. at 1367, 115 USPQ2d at 1639-40.) , and output, in accordance with a result of the determination, guidance information for guiding a waiting customer waiting to start the operation to a transaction processing apparatus that is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started, of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses (outputting the results of a determination is displaying results and is considered a mental process under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016); additionally, the output guides people within a store environment are acting, and can therefore be grouped as a certain method of organizing human activity under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) An example of a claim reciting managing personal behavior is Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1636 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The patentee in this case claimed methods comprising storing user-selected pre-set limits on spending in a database, and when one of the limits is reached, communicating a notification to the user via a device. 792 F.3d. at 1367, 115 USPQ2d at 1639-40.) . Step 2A, Prong 2- The additional elements of claim 1, and similarly claim 9 and 10, includes a communication interface, a camera, a detection device, processor and transaction processing apparatus. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are being used as tools to perform the abstract idea under MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). As stated in the claims, the communication interface if being used to communicate information, the camera is being used to capture images, the detection device is used to detect, the processor is used to process the abstract idea on a computer, and the transaction processing device processes the transactions within a store. When a computer is used as a tool to perform an existing process, in its ordinary capacity, as previously described in this section, then the claim fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The computer tools are being used to perform the mental processing and organization of humans within a store, both of which are the abstract idea, and the problem being solved in the need for a human to direct customers, or improve efficiency of human movement, and therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea. Step 2B- The independent claim 1, and similarly claim 9 and 10, do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are being used as tool to perform their ordinary capacity, and therefore do not provide sufficiently more than the abstract idea under MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Dependent Claims Claims 2-8 and 9-17 add additional steps about acquiring information and making additional determinations. This remains the abstract idea of a mental process, and this mental process is performing the act of organizing human activity, therefore falling into two different categories under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). The dependent claims additional elements include more display means, and using a computer to convey information does not do more than provide a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.05(f) the dependent claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US 2018/0232796 A1 Glaser et al. (hereinafter Glaser) . Regarding claim 1, 9 and 10, Glaser teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising: a communication interface that communicates with an external device (Glaser [0048] an agent monitoring system that is connected to a checkout system; Fig. 5, connection of the monitoring system with a camera and checkout device) , the external device including a camera that images a plurality of transaction processing apparatuses that a customer performs an operation relating to a transaction and generates image information capable of identifying a state of each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses (Glaser [0078-0079] the CV monitoring system includes collecting image data, which includes cameras within the store, or wearable cameras) , and a detection device that detects, for each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses, a person at a specified operation position on the transaction processing apparatus and outputs detection information indicating presence of the person at the specified operation position on the transaction processing apparatus (Glaser [0090] a synchronization engine communicates between the tracking of people and the actual checkout terminal; See fig. 21, where the automatic checkout process is able to detect a user in the checkout area) ; and a processor configured to acquire the image information generated by the camera from the camera via the communication interface (Glaser [0048] an agent monitoring system that is connected to a checkout system; Fig. 5, connection of the monitoring system with a camera and checkout device) , receive the detection information output by the detection device from the detection device via the communication interface (Glaser [0090] a synchronization engine communicates between the tracking of people and the actual checkout terminal; See Fig. 21, where the automatic checkout process is able to detect a user in the checkout area) , determine, on a basis of the acquired image information and the received detection information, whether or not each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses is in a state where the operation by the customer can be started (Glaser [0103-0104] the assessment of the checkout process can determine that the checkout process is complete, and that the customer may exit the terminal area, and determine that the area is cleared for the next customer; Fig. 20-22) , and output, in accordance with a result of the determination, guidance information for guiding a waiting customer waiting to start the operation to a transaction processing apparatus that is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started, of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses (Glaser [0120] the checkout guidance system can monitor a variety of different tools, including the assessment at the terminal, and how to direct customers; See Fig. 22 where there is a visual sign to direct customers in line to an open lane) . Regarding claim 2 and 11, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine, on the basis of the image information, whether or not the transaction processing apparatus for which the detection information has not been received is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started (Glaser [0103-0104] the assessment of the checkout process can determine that the checkout process is complete) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glaser in view of US 2024/0242503 A1 Musiani et al. (hereinafter Musiani) . Regarding claim 3 and 12, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and that there is an indicator light element to show green for go and red for stop (Glaser [0127] indicator light includes green and red). Glaser fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to acquire, as the image information, image information including an image obtained by imaging a display member, the transaction processing apparatus including the display member, the display member displaying either the transaction processing apparatus is in a state of waiting to start use by the customer or a state of being used by the customer, and determine, on a basis of the image of the display member included in the image information, whether or not the transaction processing apparatus is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer, and determine that the transaction processing apparatus that is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started. Musiani is in the field of self checkout stations (Musiani Abstract, self checkout stations) and teaches wherein the processor is further configured to acquire, as the image information, image information including an image obtained by imaging a display member, the transaction processing apparatus including the display member, the display member displaying either the transaction processing apparatus is in a state of waiting to start use by the customer or a state of being used by the customer (Musiani [0011-0013] a projector to display the status of the checkout; [0067] the smart projector has preset graphics to mean specific actions) , and determine, on a basis of the image of the display member included in the image information, whether or not the transaction processing apparatus is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer, and determine that the transaction processing apparatus that is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started (Musiani [0067] the smart projector has preset graphics to mean specific actions) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator lights of Glaser with the ability to change the specific signal based on a determination of status as taught by Musiani. The motivation for doing so would be to have active communication between a system controller, camera and projector to make the entire checkout system more user friendly (Musiani [0010-0011] use of lights and cameras makes the footprint of the checkout terminal smaller, more user friendly and dynamic). Regarding claim 4 and 13, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 3. Glaser fails to explicitly disclose wherein the image of the display member included in the image information includes an image of a patrol lamp that expresses the state of waiting to start use by the customer and the state of being used by the customer of the transaction processing apparatus by at least one of a light emission color or a light emission state. Musiani teaches wherein the image of the display member included in the image information includes an image of a patrol lamp that expresses the state of waiting to start use by the customer and the state of being used by the customer of the transaction processing apparatus by at least one of a light emission color or a light emission state (Musiani [0067] the smart projector has preset graphics to mean specific actions; Fig. 10) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator lights of Glaser with the overhead projector as taught by Musiani. The motivation for doing so would be to have active communication between a system controller, camera and projector to make the entire checkout system more user friendly (Musiani [0010-0011] use of lights and cameras makes the footprint of the checkout terminal smaller, more user friendly and dynamic). Regarding claim 5 and 14, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, and teaches the imaging camera can be moved to face any particular location (Glaser [0079-0080] the imaging system can be static or video images, and can collect data from a specific area, which can include the display device) . Glaser fails to explicitly disclose wherein the image of the display member included in the image information includes an image of a display screen of a display device that displays the state of waiting to start use by the customer and the state of being used by the customer of the transaction processing apparatus by at least one of a character or a symbol. Musiani teaches wherein the image of the display member included in the image information includes an image of a display screen of a display device that displays the state of waiting to start use by the customer and the state of being used by the customer of the transaction processing apparatus by at least one of a character or a symbol (Musiani [0050] the scanning region includes an overhead camera, and the area includes an electronic display, as shown in Fig. 2, the electronic display showcases an “Open” signal) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the identification cameras of Glaser with the display screen state as taught in Musiani. The motivation for doing so would be to communicate the checkout status to a shopper, which can then be picked up by cameras to dynamically communicate during the self-checkout process (Musiani [0072] communication of checkout information using a display). Regarding claim 6 and 15, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, and teaches the imaging camera can be moved to face any particular location (Glaser [0079-0080] the imaging system can be static or video images, and can collect data from a specific area, which can include the display device) . Glaser fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to acquire, as the image information, image information including an image obtained by imaging a display screen of a monitoring device, the monitoring device communicating with each of the transaction processing apparatuses to monitor the transaction processing apparatuses by displaying a state of each of the transaction processing apparatuses on the display screen, and determine, on a basis of the image of the display screen included in the image information, whether or not the transaction processing apparatus is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer, and determine that the transaction processing apparatus that is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started. Musiani teaches wherein the processor is further configured to acquire, as the image information, image information including an image obtained by imaging a display screen of a monitoring device, the monitoring device communicating with each of the transaction processing apparatuses to monitor the transaction processing apparatuses by displaying a state of each of the transaction processing apparatuses on the display screen (Musiani [0050] the scanning region includes an overhead camera, and the area includes an electronic display, as shown in Fig. 2, the electronic display showcases an “Open” signal) , and determine, on a basis of the image of the display screen included in the image information, whether or not the transaction processing apparatus is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer, and determine that the transaction processing apparatus that is in the state of waiting to start use by the customer is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started (Musiani [0050] the scanning region includes an overhead camera, and the area includes an electronic display, as shown in Fig. 2, the electronic display showcases an “Open” signal) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the identification cameras of Glaser with the display screen state as taught in Musiani. The motivation for doing so would be to communicate the checkout status to a shopper, which can then be picked up by cameras to dynamically communicate during the self-checkout process (Musiani [0072] communication of checkout information using a display). Regarding claim 7 and 16, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Glaser fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a storage device that stores the image information capable of identifying the state of each of a plurality of transaction processing apparatuses and the detection information indicating presence of a person at a specified operation position on each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses. Musiani teaches further comprising a storage device that stores the image information capable of identifying the state of each of a plurality of transaction processing apparatuses and the detection information indicating presence of a person at a specified operation position on each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses (Musiani [0067] the smart projector has preset graphics to mean specific actions) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator lights of Glaser with the multiple stored presets as taught by Musiani. The motivation for doing so would be to have active communication between a system controller, camera and projector to make the entire checkout system more user friendly (Musiani [0010-0011] use of lights and cameras makes the footprint of the checkout terminal smaller, more user friendly and dynamic). Regarding claim 8 and 17, Glaser teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7. Glaser fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to acquire the image information generated by the camera from the camera via the communication interface and the acquired image information in the storage device, receive the detection information output by the detection device from the detection device via the communication interface and store the received detection information in the storage device, and determine, on a basis of the image information and the detection information stored in the storage device, whether or not each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started. Musiani teaches wherein the processor is further configured to acquire the image information generated by the camera from the camera via the communication interface and the acquired image information in the storage device, receive the detection information output by the detection device from the detection device via the communication interface and store the received detection information in the storage device (Musiani [0050] the scanning region includes an overhead camera, and the area includes an electronic display, as shown in Fig. 2, the electronic display showcases an “Open” signal; [0067] the smart projector has preset graphics to mean specific actions; Fig. 10) , and determine, on a basis of the image information and the detection information stored in the storage device, whether or not each of the plurality of transaction processing apparatuses is in the state where the operation by the customer can be started (Musiani [0067] the smart projector has preset graphics to mean specific actions) . It would have been obvious to recognize changes in the checkout area as taught by Glaser, with the specific signals from the light indicator stored in a database of signals, as taught by Musiani. The motivation for doing so would be to have active communication between a system controller, camera and projector to make the entire checkout system more user friendly (Musiani [0010-0011] use of lights and cameras makes the footprint of the checkout terminal smaller, more user friendly and dynamic). Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,573,163 B1 Benkreira et al. teaches payment at a point of sale device (Abstract). US 2025/0259168 A1 Ogomori et al. teaches information processing at a checkout station (Abstract) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA E SULLIVAN whose telephone number is (571)272-9501. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th; 9:00 AM-5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FAHD OBEID can be reached at (571) 270-3324. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JESSICA E SULLIVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627 /FAHD A OBEID/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 2 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 3 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 4 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 5 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 6 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 7 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 8 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 9 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 10 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 11 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 12 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 13 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 14 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 15 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 16 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 17 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 18 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/989,647 Page 19 Art Unit: 3627