DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is more than one paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: please amend the limitations “described in claim 1” and “described in claim 5” to read “according to claim 1” and “according to claim 5” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanetani (JP 2007-009079).
Kanetani discloses an optical coating composition having high transparency. Concerning claims 1 and 3-4, Kanetani discloses the coating composition comprises a cationically polymerizable silsesquioxane having a 3,4-epoxycyclohexyl reactive functional group and a solvent that can be a cyclohexanone (abstract; para. 0008-0028, 0033-0043, and 0048). With respect to claim 5, the resulting coating composition is coated onto a substrate and subsequently cured to form a coating (para. 0057-0060 and 0074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanetani (JP 2007-009079).
Kanetani discloses the above, including the solid content concentration is 20 to 70% in view of coatability, wherein the viscosity is also adjusted for proper coatability and can include and encompass the claimed range (para. 0043 and 0056). As such, in order to allow for the composition to be coated onto a substrate, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the claimed viscosity for the composition.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanetani (JP 2007-009079) in view of Oshima et al. (US 20050171310).
Kanetani discloses the above, including the coating composition is applied to plastic or glass substrates used as lenses or as part of a display device (para. 0057 and 0077). However, Kanetani is silent to the substrate being formed from a cycloolefin.
Oshima discloses cycloolefin optical materials. With respect to the claimed cycloolefin, Oshima discloses the cycloolefin optical material is used to form articles such as lenses or substrates for display devices (para. 0305-0306). Cycloolefins are used in optical applications because such materials have good optical transparency while also having heat resistance (para. 0306). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the cycloolefin of Oshima to form the optical substrate or lens of Kanetani, in order to produce substrates that are optically transparent and also heat resistant. Oshima further discloses the resins also have good adhesion to other materials; since the combination teaches the claimed structure and materials, the limitations of claims 7 and 8 would be met by the combination of references.
Conclusion
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783