DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “vague request” in claims 7 and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “vague request” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear where the line would be between a vague and non-vague request. The specification gives an example where a user does not specify a make or model of a thermostat, but this example on its own does not make clear what defines a vague or non-vague request.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain (U.S. Patent 11,947,923).
As to claim 1, Jain discloses a method implemented by one or more processors, the method comprising:
receiving user input associated with a client device of a user (col. 5, lines 29-53), the user input including a request for responsive content that is responsive to the user input and that does not request any generative image content or generative video content (col. 2, lines 4-34; col. 11, lines 19-32; a user inputs “show me an image of a nerdy attorney” as a request for responsive content; this is not a request for generative image/video content since it states “show me” rather than “create”, “make me”, “modify”, etc.);
generating the responsive content that is responsive to the user input (figs. 3-5), wherein generating the responsive content that is responsive to the user input comprises:
processing, using a generative model (GM), initial GM input to generate initial GM output, the initial GM input including at least the user input, and the initial GM output including at least a generative image or generative video (col. 2, lines 4-34; col. 15, lines 4-59; col. 25, lines 31-38; an image generative model generates an initial output image of a cartoon-like patent attorney);
and determining, based on processing at least the generative image or the generative video, the responsive content and causing the responsive content to be rendered at the client device (col. 15, lines 27-59; it is determined whether the generative image should be included in the response; if not, further iterations are performed; if so, the image is included in a rendered response).
As to claim 19, see the rejection to claim 1. Further, Jain discloses a system comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to be operable to perform the method (col. 34, lines 36-50).
As to claim 20, see the rejections to claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Cundall (U.S. Publication 2026/0154875).
As to claim 2, Jain does not disclose, but Cundall discloses wherein determining the responsive content based on processing at least the generative image or the generative video comprises:
determining, based on processing at least the generative image or the generative video, subsequent GM input, the subsequent GM input including at least information derived from the generative image or the generative video (fig. 4; p. 9, section 0051; an image generated by an image generative model is used to construct a second prompt input to a subsequent vision language generative model);
processing, using the GM or an additional GM, the subsequent GM input to generate subsequent GM output (p. 2, section 0020; p. 9, section 0051; output from the vision language model, which can be seen as either an additional generative model or a portion of the overall hybrid generative model, is generated using the second prompt input); and
determining, based on processing at least the subsequent GM output, the responsive content (fig. 4; elements 180, 182, 202, 204, 206; figs. 6a-6g; the output is used, with other variables, to produce a customized image asset that is used as responsive content to the user’s prompt).
The motivation for this is to enable an image repository for request fulfillment, saving computational, energy, and water costs (p. 2, section 0019). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jain to determine, based on processing at least the generative image or the generative video, subsequent GM input, the subsequent GM input including at least information derived from the generative image or the generative video, process, using the GM or an additional GM, the subsequent GM input to generate subsequent GM output and determine, based on processing at least the subsequent GM output, the responsive content in order to enable an image repository for request fulfillment, saving computational, energy, and water costs as taught by Cundall.
As to claim 3, Jain does not disclose, but Cundall discloses wherein processing at least the generative image or the generative video comprises processing, using the GM, the generative image or the generative video to extract features from the generative image or the generative video; and utilizing the extracted features from the generative image or the generative video as the information derived from the generative image or the generative video (fig. 4; p. 9, section 0051; a key terms extraction unit, which reads on a unit that extracts features, utilizes the terms/features as information derived from the generative image to prompt the second portion of the hybrid GM or additional GM). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 4, Jain does not disclose, but Cundall discloses, wherein processing at least the generative image or the generative video comprises processing, using the additional GM, the generative image or the generative video to extract features from the generative image or the generative video; and utilizing the extracted features from the generative image or the generative video as the information derived from the generative image or the generative video (fig. 4; p. 9, section 0051; a key terms extraction unit, which reads on a unit that extracts features, utilizes the terms/features as information derived from the generative image to prompt the second portion of the hybrid GM or additional GM). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 5, Jain does not disclose, but Cundall discloses wherein the subsequent GM input further includes the user input (fig. 4; p. 8, section 0048; p. 9, section 0051; the key terms from the user input are analyzed and used as prompt input). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 2.
Claims 6, 9, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Heo (U.S. Publication 2025/0139188).
As to claim 6, Jain does not disclose, but Heo discloses a method further comprising determining whether to generate, as part of a chain-of-thought (CoT) in generating the responsive content, the generative image or the generative video (p. 2, section 0014; p. 3, sections 0040-0041; based on user interaction, it is determined whether to generate a figure/image to show a user a solving process); and wherein processing the initial GM input to generate the initial GM output that includes at least the generative image or the generative video is in response to determining to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content (fig. 4; p. 2, section 0014; p. 3, sections 0040-0041; as part of the CoT/CoI, it is determined whether to generate a figure/image to show a user a solving process based on user interaction; in response to determining to generate the image, initial GM input from the chain of thought is used to generate initial GM output in the form of a generative image that explains how to solve a problem). The motivation for this is to better interpret and explain results (p. 1, section 0005). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jain to determine whether to generate, as part of a chain-of-thought (CoT) in generating the responsive content, the generative image or the generative video; and have processing the initial GM input to generate the initial GM output that includes at least the generative image or the generative video be in response to determining to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content in order to better interpret and explain results as taught by Heo.
As to claim 9, Jain does not disclose, but Heo discloses wherein determining whether to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content is based on determining that an image or video will improve understanding capabilities of the GM in generating the responsive content (p. 2, section 0014; p. 3, sections 0038-0041; for questions described as both figures and text, it is determined that it is necessary to generate an image for responsive content to provide understanding/interpretation for results, and thus a user is given an option to see the results in image/figure form). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 10, Jain does not disclose, but Heo discloses, wherein the initial GM input further includes an instruction to generate the initial GM output that includes at least the generative image or the generative video and based on determining to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content (fig. 4; p. 2, section 0014; p. 3, sections 0040-0041; as part of the CoT/CoI, it is determined whether to generate a figure/image to show a user a solving process based on user interaction; in response to determining to generate the image, initial GM input from the chain of thought is used to generate initial GM output in the form of a generative image that explains how to solve a problem; an instruction to generate the image is given through a multi-modal image generation model). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 6.
As to claim 18, Jain does not disclose, but Heo discloses that the initial GM input further includes one or more instructions to generate the generative image or generative video as part of a chain-of-thought (CoT) in generating the responsive content (fig. 4; p. 2, section 0014; p. 3, sections 0040-0041; as part of the CoT/CoI, it is determined whether to generate a figure/image to show a user a solving process based on user interaction; in response to determining to generate the image, initial GM input from the chain of thought is used to generate initial GM output in the form of a generative image that explains how to solve a problem). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 6.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Heo and further in view of Wu (WO 2025189851 A1, herein represented by a translation)
As to claim 7, as best understood, Jain does not disclose, but Heo discloses wherein determining whether to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content (see rejection to claim 6 above). Heo does not disclose, but Wu discloses that generation is based on determining that the request is a vague request (p. 3, p. 17; if a request is specific to an artist, it is determined that the generative model does not need to generate an image, but if the request is more vague, then an image is generated). The motivation for this is to avoid copyright issues. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jain and Heo to base generation on determining that the request is a vague request in order to avoid copyright issues as taught by Wu.
As to claim 8, as best understood, Heo discloses wherein the vague request includes a request for which a non-generative image or a non-generative video cannot be obtained (p. 3, p. 17; a general description of an artist’s art is the vague request, and the reference does not allow obtaining of that artist’s copyrighted work, which would be non-generative). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 7.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Heo and further in view of Rofouei (U.S. Publication 2024/0289407).
As to claim 11, Heo discloses wherein determining to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content comprises: processing, the user input to generate output; and determining, based on the output generated, to generate the generative image or the generative video as part of the CoT in generating the responsive content (fig. 4; p. 2, section 0014; p. 3, sections 0040-0041; as part of the CoT/CoI, it is determined whether to generate a figure/image to show a user a solving process based on user interaction; in response to determining to generate the image, initial GM input from the chain of thought is used to generate initial GM output in the form of a generative image that explains how to solve a problem). Motivation for the combination of Jain and Heo is given in the rejection to claim 6.
The combination of Jain and Heo does not disclose, but Rofouei discloses that user input is processed using a machine learning classifier and determining based on output generated using the machine learning classifier, to generate a generative image or generative video (p. 1-2, section 0010; p. 5, section 0052; p. 12, section 0131; p. 16, section 0176; a video or image can be generated depending on the results of the ML classifier classifying user input). The motivation for this is to take into account more than just the text of a query when responding, avoiding content that does not resonate with a user (p. 1, sections 0001-0002). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jain and Heo to have user input processed using a machine learning classifier and determine based on output generated using the machine learning classifier, to generate a generative image or generative video in order to take into account more than just the text of a query when responding, avoiding content that does not resonate with a user as taught by Rofouei
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Shamir (U.S. Publication 2025/0371413).
As to claim 12, Jain does not disclose, but Shamir discloses prior to receiving the user input: causing the GM to be supervise fine-tuned (p. 6, section 0058; p. 15, section 0160; the model is pre-trained using a supervised fine-tuning stage) to generate the initial GM output that includes the generative image or the generative video as part of a chain-of-thought (CoT) in generating the responsive content (p. 15, section 0164; p. 18, sections 0197-0198; p. 23, section 0242; initial GM output including a generated image is generated by the trained model as part of a chain of thought). The motivation for this is to improve the technical efficacy of models and also maximize utility and efficiency of computational resources dedicated to model training (p. 4, section 0045-p. 5, section 0046). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jain to prior to receiving the user input: cause the GM to be supervise fine-tuned to generate the initial GM output that includes the generative image or the generative video as part of a chain-of-thought (CoT) in generating the responsive content in order to improve the technical efficacy of models and also maximize utility and efficiency of computational resources dedicated to model training as taught by Shamir.
As to claim 17, Shamir discloses a method further comprising: prior to receiving the user input: causing the GM to be trained using reinforcement learning from human feedback (p. 14, section 0154-p. 15, section 0157; p. 20, section 0216) to generate the initial GM output that includes the generative image or the generative video as part of a chain-of-thought (CoT) in generating the responsive content (p. 15, section 0164; p. 18, sections 0197-0198; p. 23, section 0242; initial GM output including a generated image is generated by the trained model as part of a chain of thought). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 12.
Conclusion
Claims 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 13, Jain discloses input to generate a corresponding predicted generative image or generative video (see rejection to claim 1). Cundall discloses processing, using the GM or an additional GM, at least the user input and the corresponding predicted generative image or generative video (p. 2, section 0020; p. 9, section 0051; output from the vision language model, which can be seen as either an additional generative model or a portion of the overall hybrid generative model, is generated using the second prompt input) to generate predicted responsive content (fig. 4; elements 180, 182, 202, 204, 206; figs. 6a-6g; the output is used, with other variables, to produce a customized image asset that is used as responsive content to the user’s prompt).
Shamir discloses obtaining a plurality of supervised fine-tuning instances, each of the plurality of supervised fine-tuning instances including corresponding user input and corresponding ground truth responsive content (p. 14, sections 0151-0155; p. 15, sections 0158-0163; for a learning model with user input and corresponding output, supervised fine-tuning is performed for multiple instances with inputs of each instance mapped to outputs and compared with ground truth to determine a loss) and generally comparing responsive content to ground truth responsive content to generate one or more losses; and causing, based on the one or more losses, the GM to be updated (p. 14, sections 0151-0155; the model is updated based on the losses).
The combination of Jain and Cundall teaches generating predicted responsive content from user input and a generative image, but does not disclose such as part of a supervised fine-tuning instance with comparison to ground truth, and updates based on loss. Shamir discloses comparison of responsive content to ground truth responsive content to generate losses but does not disclose such in a multi-step process of using input to generate an image or video and then, using a GM, processing the input and the generative image to generate responsive content.
Because the “corresponding predicted generative image or generated video” in the claim is generated from a given supervised fine-tuning instance, and then processed along with user input to generate predicted responsive content, and then this content is compared to ground truth, the prior art does not fully teach the limitations of processing, using the GM or an additional GM, at least the user input and the corresponding predicted generative image or generative video to generate predicted responsive content; and comparing the corresponding predicted responsive content to the ground truth responsive content to generate one or more losses along with the other limitations of claim 13.
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617