DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,668 in view of Saravanan (US Pub NO. 2022/0390135).
Regarding claims 21 and 29, US 12,203,668 teaches an air quality monitoring device, the air quality monitoring device comprising:
a housing comprising a chamber and an inlet port, wherein the inlet port is structured
to receive an air flow from outside the housing and provide the air flow to the chamber; a plurality of sensors disposed within the chamber and configured to measure air quality data associated with the air flow; an adapter configured to be connected to the inlet port and a continuous positive airway pressure machine, wherein the inlet port is configured to receive the air flow from the continuous positive airway pressure machine via the adapter; and a controller connected with the plurality of sensors and configured to transmit the air quality data to a computing device, See claim 1.
US 12,203,668 does not teach wherein the computing device determines an air quality as good if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is less than a first particle threshold, wherein the computing device determines the air quality as moderate if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the first particle threshold but less than a second particle threshold, and wherein the computing device determines the air quality as bad if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the second particle threshold.
Saravanan teaches computing device determines an air quality as good if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is less than a first particle threshold, wherein the computing device determines the air quality as moderate if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the first particle threshold but less than a second particle threshold, and wherein the computing device determines the air quality as bad if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the second particle threshold.
Saravanan teaches the computing device determines an air quality as good if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is less than a first particle threshold, wherein the computing device determines the air quality as moderate if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the first particle threshold but less than a second particle threshold, and wherein the computing device determines the air quality as bad if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the second particle threshold.
Saravanan teaches computing device determines an air quality as good if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is less than a first particle threshold, wherein the computing device determines the air quality as moderate if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the first particle threshold but less than a second particle threshold, and wherein the computing device determines the air quality as bad if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the second particle threshold (See [0092]). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to use Saravanan teachings on particle thresholds for a more accurate air quality determination.
Claim 22 of the current application corresponds to claim 2 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 23 of the current application corresponds to claim 3 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 24 of the current application corresponds to claim 4 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 25 of the current application corresponds to claim 1 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 26 of the current application corresponds to claim 5 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 27 of the current application corresponds to claim 6 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 28 of the current application corresponds to claim 7 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 30 of the current application corresponds to claim 9 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 31 of the current application corresponds to claim 10 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 32 of the current application corresponds to claim 11 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 33 of the current application corresponds to claim 8 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 34 of the current application corresponds to claim 12 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim 35 of the current application corresponds to claim 13 of US Pat No. 12,203,668.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-28 and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22-28 and 30-35 are dependent on cancelled claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 26-31, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schatzl et al. (US Pub No. 2009/0020120) and Saravanan (US Pub NO. 2022/0390135).
Regarding claims 21 and 29, Schatzl teaches an air quality monitoring device, the air quality monitoring device comprising:
a housing comprising a chamber and an inlet port, wherein the inlet port is structured to receive an air flow from outside the housing and provide the air flow to the chamber (See abstract, Fig. 1 & 3, and [0011]);
a plurality of sensors disposed within the chamber and configured to measure data associated with the air flow (See Fig. 3, flow sensor and pressure sensor and [0044]);
an adapter configured to be connected to the inlet port and a continuous positive airway pressure machine, wherein the inlet port is configured to receive the air flow from the continuous positive airway pressure machine via the adapter (See Fig. 2, [0033], and [0041]), and
a controller connected with the plurality of sensors and configured to transmit the data to a computing device (See [0015] and [0016]).
Schatzl does not explicitly teach a computing device that determines an air quality as good if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is less than a first particle threshold, wherein the computing device determines the air quality as moderate if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the first particle threshold but less than a second particle threshold, and wherein the computing device determines the air quality as bad if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the second particle threshold (See [0092]).
Saravanan teaches computing device determines an air quality as good if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is less than a first particle threshold, wherein the computing device determines the air quality as moderate if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the first particle threshold but less than a second particle threshold, and wherein the computing device determines the air quality as bad if count of number of times the plurality of sensors detect particles of a particular size in the air flow is greater than the second particle threshold (See [0092]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Schatzl’s device to include Saravanan’s air quality data to better monitor health and environmental air quality to protect individuals who are particularly susceptible to air pollution. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Schatzl teaches the housing further comprises: an outlet port structured to discharge the air flow from the chamber (See Fig. 2 & 3, [0033], and [0041]).
Regarding claims 23 and 31, Schatzl does not teach the plurality of sensors comprise at least one of a particulate matter sensor, a volatile organic compound sensor, a temperature sensor, or a humidity sensor.
Saravanan teaches the plurality of sensors comprise at least one of a particulate matter sensor, a volatile organic compound sensor, a temperature sensor, or a humidity sensor (See [0015]).
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Schatzl does not teach the plurality of air quality measurements include the first air quality measurement.
Saravanan teaches the plurality of air quality measurements include the first air quality measurement (See [0092]).
Regarding claims 27 and 35, Schatzl does not teach a component indicates the air quality in a first color if the air quality data meets a first predetermined threshold.
Saravanan teaches a component indicates the air quality in a first color if the air quality data meets a first predetermined threshold (See [0096]).
Regarding claim 28, Schatzl teaches the adapter is interchangeable with one or more other adapters based on a type of the continuous positive airway pressure machine (See [0056] monitor can be applied to various types of CPAP machines.).
Claims 24 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shatzl and Saravanan as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Kennedy et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0020488).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, Schatzl does not teach the air quality data indicates a presence of mold in the air flow based on a size of one or more particles in the air flow determined by the particulate matter sensor.
Kennedy teaches determining a presence of mold in the air flow based on a size of one or more particles in the air flow determined by the particulate matter sensor (See [0198]).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to modify Schatzl’s device to include Kennedy’s teaching to increase comfort and effectiveness of the CPAP therapy. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
Conclusion
/THOMAS S MCCORMACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686