DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to a continuation application filed in which claims 1-8 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 filed in parent Application 17/775,583.
However, applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application filed in parent Application 17/775,583 to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited functions and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “setting unit configured to set a transform type...” and “orthogonal transform unit configured to orthogonally transform coefficient data...” in claim 1. Similar arguments apply regarding the “setting unit” functions in claims 2-7.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,462. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,462, either singularly or in combination, contain each and every element and/or render each and every element of claims 1-8 of the instant application obvious. The claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the issued patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting.
More specifically, the subject matter in claim 8 of U.S. Patent Number 12,192,462 discloses all the elements and steps of independent claims 1 and 8 of the instant application and, as such, anticipate each and every feature of the aforementioned independent claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray (“On the combination of JCCR and TS”) in view of Aono (US 2020/0053365).
As to claim 1, Ray teaches an image processing device comprising: a setting unit configured to set a transform type in a non-joint chrominance encoding mode as a transform type in a joint chrominance encoding mode (see Abstract on Page 1; see Pages 2-3, Section 1 describing bestCostCbCr, bestDistCbCr, and bestJointCbcr; further see Pages 3-4, Section 2: Proposal 1 and Table 3 describing MTS index of best independent coding of cb and cr components, i.e. non-joint chrominance coding, being used in JCCR),
and a transform unit configured to transform coefficient data of an image based on the transform type in the joint chrominance encoding mode set by the setting unit (see Abstract on Page 1; see Pages 2-3, Section 1 describing bestCostCbCr, bestDistCbCr, and bestJointCbcr; further see Pages 3-4, Section 2: Proposal 1 and Table 3 describing MTS index of best independent coding of cb and cr components, i.e. non-joint chrominance coding, being used in JCCR).
Ray does not explicitly teach an orthogonal transform unit configured to orthogonally transform coefficient data of an image based on the transform type in the joint chrominance encoding mode set by the setting unit.
However, Aono teaches a orthogonal transform unit configured to orthogonally transform coefficient data of an image based on a transform type ([0006], [0095], [0137], [0159], [0187]-[0188], and [0192]).
Therefore, based on the above teachings in Ray and Aono, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ray’s system with Aono’s system to show an orthogonal transform unit configured to orthogonally transform coefficient data of an image based on the transform type in the joint chrominance encoding mode set by the setting unit in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques.
As to claim 8, the aforementioned claim is rejected similarly as claim 1.
As to claim 2, Ray further teaches wherein the setting unit is configured to set a transform skip as the transform type in the joint chrominance encoding mode (see Pages 3-4, Section 2: Proposal 1 and Table 3).
As to claim 3, Ray further teaches wherein the setting unit is configured to, in a case of not applying the transform skip, apply DCT2 as the transform type in the joint chrominance encoding mode (see Pages 3-4, Section 2: Proposal 1 and Table 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray in view of Aono and further in view of Xiu (“AHG11: Encoder improvements on JCCR with chroma transform skip mode”).
As to claim 4, the combination of Ray and Aono does not teach wherein the setting unit is configured to set a value of a transform skip flag in the non-joint chrominance encoding mode as a value of a transform skip flag in the joint chrominance encoding mode.
However, Ray does teach, in the non-joint chrominance encoding mode, deriving and setting a transform skip as the transform type in the joint chrominance encoding mode (see Pages 3-4, Section 2: Proposal 1 and Table 3).
In addition, Xiu teaches enabling R-D checking of chroma transform skip (TS) mode when the JCCR mode is applied (Section 1, Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ray’s system and Aono’s system with Xiu’s system to show wherein the setting unit is configured to set a value of a transform skip flag in the non-joint chrominance encoding mode as a value of a transform skip flag in the joint chrominance encoding mode in order to provide encoder improvements to properly enable the chroma TS mode for the chroma residual coding of the JCCR mode (Xiu; Page 1, Abstract).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray in view of Aono and further in view of Bross (“Versatile Video Coding (Draft 7)”). Bross was cited in applicant’s IDS filed on 05/10/2022 in parent Application 17/775,583 and can be accessed from the aforementioned parent Application.
As to claim 5, the combination of Ray and Aono does not teach wherein the setting unit is configured to set the joint chrominance encoding mode based on a chrominance encoding block flag in the non-joint chrominance encoding mode.
However, Bross teaches setting the joint chrominance encoding mode based on a chrominance encoding block flag in the non-joint chrominance encoding mode (see Section 7.3.9.10 from Pages 77-79 and Section 7.4.10.10 from Pages 159-161).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ray’s system and Aono’s system with Bross’s system to show wherein the setting unit is configured to set the joint chrominance encoding mode based on a chrominance encoding block flag in the non-joint chrominance encoding mode in order to provide improved and more flexible video coding techniques.
As to claim 6, the combination of Ray, Aono, and Bross teaches wherein the setting unit is configured to set a coded component identifier based on the set joint chrominance encoding mode (Bross; see Section 7.3.9.10 from Pages 77-79 and Section 7.4.10.10 from Pages 159-161; additionally see Section 8.7.2 from Pages 296-297).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the above patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/ZHIHAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482