DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 04/15/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Siwek, Galer, nor Hass disclose that the cutout includes at least one retention prong and at least one retention surface for retaining an edge of a nicotine pouch.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose the at least one additional cylindrical extension protruding from the bottom seal to keep the at least one spring in place. However, Siwek clearly discloses at least one additional cylindrical extension protruding from the bottom seal to keep the at least one spring in place (18,19 figure 3,4). For at least the foregoing reasons claim 9 and its dependent claims stand rejected.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Siwek discloses multiple cutouts instead of a single cutout. Neither the claimed invention nor Siwek actually rely on material being cutout of the housing to form the upper opening, instead they are both injection molded. Since all of the “cutouts” of Siwek are contiguous with a single opening it is argued that they comprising a single cutout with an irregular shape defining the opening and the retention prongs. For at least the foregoing reasons claim 17 and its dependent claims stand rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,588,702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are a mere broadening of the previously allowed claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11,13-17 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siwek US 5,071,033 in view of Galer US 2007/0248656 and Hass US 3,845,882.
Siwek discloses a system for dispensing nicotine pouches, comprising:
(Re claim 9) “a spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser, including: a body including an upper body section and a lower body section, wherein the upper body section includes a cutout on a top face of the upper body section” (16 figure 2). “wherein the cutout includes at least one retention prong” (20,16 figure 2). “wherein the lower body section includes at least one hinge” (22, 23 figure 2). “a plate installed below the cutout and the at least one retention prong” (26,12 figure 2). “a cap attached to the body by the at least one hinge and a pin” (11,29,30 figure 2). “at least one cylindrical extension protruding from the plate” (12,27 figure 2). “at least one additional cylindrical extension protrudin from the bottom” (13,18,19 figure 3,4).“at least one spring mounted between the bottom … and the plate and retained around the at least one additional cylindrical extension protruding from the bottom … constant upward pressure on the plate” (13,18,19,27 figure 2-4 ).
Siwek does not disclose a bottom seal attached to a bottom end of the body, nor that the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is operable to store a nicotine pouch and further operable to dispense the nicotine pouch.
Galer teaches that the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is configured to store a nicotine pouch and is further configured to dispense the nicotine pouch (1 figure 1, ‘nicotine’ claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Siwek to include that the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is configured to store a nicotine pouch and is further configured to dispense the nicotine pouch because it expands the market for the dispenser by using It for a greater number of dosage forms.
Hass teaches a bottom seal attached to a bottom end of the body (7, 17 figure 1,4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Siwek to include a bottom seal attached to a bottom end of the body because it makes the system easier to load and assemble.
(Re claim 10) Siwek does not disclose that the bottom seal is attached to the body through welding, plastic welding, adhesives, screws, latches, or other permanent or semi-permanent joining process.
Hass teaches that the bottom seal is attached to the body through welding, plastic welding, adhesives, screws, latches, or other permanent or semi-permanent joining (7,17 figure 1,4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Siwek to include that the bottom seal is attached to the body through welding, plastic welding, adhesives, screws, latches, or other permanent or semi-permanent joining makes the system easier to load and assemble.
(Re claim 11) “at least one second hinge is mounted on a backside of the lower body section” (22,23 figure 2).
(Re claim 13) “the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is formed of materials including plastic, metal, and/or fiber-reinforced composite” (col 3 lines 15-26).
(Re claim 14) “the cap includes a lip protruding from a body of the cap” (32,33 figure 3,4).
(Re claim 16). Siwek does not disclose that the dispenser is formed by injection molding.
Hass teaches that the dispenser is formed by injection molding (col 4 lines 11-18).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the dispenser of Siwek to include that the dispenser is formed by injection molding because it allows the parts to be produced inexpensively.
Siwek discloses a spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser, comprising:
(Re claim 17) “a body including an upper body section and a lower body section, wherein the upper body section includes a cutout, wherein the cutout consists of a single cutout on a top face of the upper body section, wherein the cutout includes at least one retention prong” (20,16 figure 2) Applicants cutout seems to merely refer to the contiguous upper opening, as no cutting is actually involved. Siwek discloses a single contiguous upper opening which can be considered the single cutout adjoining all of the cut-out notches. “wherein the lower body section includes at least one hinge” (22,23 figure 2). a plate installed below the cutout and the at least one retention prong” (26,12 figure 2). “a cap attached to the body by the at least one hinge and a pin” (11,29,30 figure 2). “at least one cylindrical extension protruding from the plate” (12,27 figure 2). “at least one spring mounted between the bottom … and the plate and positioned around the at least one cylindrical extension” (13,27 figure 2,3).
Siwek does not disclose a bottom seal attached to a bottom end of the body nor that the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is operable to store a nicotine pouch and
further operable to dispense the nicotine pouch.
Galer teaches disclose that the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is configured to store a nicotine pouch and is further configured to dispense the nicotine pouch (1 figure 1, ‘nicotine’ claim 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Siwek to include that the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is configured to store a nicotine pouch and is further configured to dispense the nicotine pouch because it expands the market for the dispenser by using It for a greater number of dosage forms.
Hass teaches a bottom seal attached to a bottom end of the body (7, 17 figure 1,4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Siwek to include a bottom seal attached to a bottom end of the body because it makes the system easier to load and assemble.
(Re claim 19) “the bottom seal includes at least one additional cylindrical extension, wherein the at least one additional cylindrical extension retains the at least one spring on the bottom seal” (18 figure 3).
(Re claim 20) “the spring-loaded nicotine pouch dispenser is formed of materials including plastic, metal, and/or fiber-reinforced composite” (col 3 lines 15-26).
(Re claim 21) “the plate experiences constant pressure from the at least one spring” (13 figure 3,4).
(Re claim 22) “the at least one retention prong consists of two retention prongs” (20 figure 2). The to opposing prongs can be considered the retention prongs, which the front prong 25,20 could be considered a lip prong.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siwek/Galer/Hass in view of Evans US 2014/0069829.
Siwek/Galer/Hass discloses the system as rejected above.
Siwek/Galer/Hass does not disclose at least one gasket.
Evans teaches at least on gasket (‘gasket’ para 0040).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Siwek/Galer/Hass to include at least one gasket because it enhances the seal preventing the entry of moisture or other contaminants.
Allowable Subject Matter
No prior art could be found to support a 102 or 103 rejection of claims 1-8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2008/0245814 discloses a dispenser with two springs pressing a plate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655