DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolb (US 20170251656).
Regarding claim 1, Kolb discloses a system for applying agricultural fluid to a target, the system comprising:
a fluid supply line (288) connected to a fluid supply (Paragraph 27, reservoir);
a plurality of nozzle assemblies (Paragraph 178, plurality of nozzle assemblies 178) connected in fluid communication with the fluid supply line (Figure 3 and Paragraph 26), the nozzle assemblies being positioned and oriented to spray the target (Figure 3; The nozzles assemblies are capable of performing the claimed function);
a plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies (182), each valve assembly of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies connected in fluid communication between the fluid supply line and a corresponding one of the plurality of nozzle assemblies to control fluid flow through the respective nozzle assembly (Figure 3);
a user interface (406) configured to receive a user input relating to a user selection of an alternative operation mode of the system (Paragraph 35); and a controller (400) communicatively connected to the valve assemblies and configured to control at least one operating parameter of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies (Paragraph 37, The controller is capable of controlling the flow rate), wherein the controller is configured to:
retrieve a first flow value (Paragraph 35, the controller retrieves a flow rate);
determine the at least one operating parameter based on the first flow value (Paragraph 35, The device may control valve to maintain flow rate and determine spray band length);
receive a signal from the user interface relating to the user selection of the alternative operation mode (Paragraph 35, the device may receive a inputs drawn to a desired flow rate); retrieve a second flow value (The device may receive information about the current flow rate); and determine the at least one operating parameter based on the second flow value in response to the user selecting the alternative operation mode (Paragraph 35, The device may control valve to maintain the alternative flow rate and determine alternative spray band length).
Regarding claim 2, Kolb discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies includes a first set of electrically actuated valve assemblies (a first set of the valves 178) and a second set of electrically actuated valve assemblies (a second set of the valves 178), wherein the user input is a first user input relating to a first user selection of an alternative operation mode for the first set of electrically actuated valve assemblies (The first user input may be for the first and second set of valves), and wherein the user interface is configured to receive a second user input relating to a second user selection of an alternative operation mode for the second set of electrically actuated valve assemblies (The controller may receive a second user input that is also for both sets of assemblies; Examiner recommends qualifying if the intent is for the second alternative mode is to be only for the second set of valve assemblies).
Regarding claim 3, Kolb discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to operate the first set of electrically actuated valve assemblies in accordance with the second flow value in response to the first user input, and operate the second set of electrically actuated valve assemblies in accordance with the second flow value in response to the second user input (The device is capable of operating both sets of valve assemblies in response to each of the inputs and flow values).
Regarding claim 5, Kolb discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a portable electronic device that is configured to store a new user profile in a memory based on a user input, wherein the new user profile includes the second flow value, and wherein the controller is configured to retrieve the new user profile in response to the user selection of the alternative operation mode (Paragraph 37, the device includes memory that is capable of executing saved or programmed instructions).
Regarding claim 6, Kolb discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one operating parameter of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies includes at least one of the following: a desired application rate, an on/off setting of one or more of the electrically actuated valve assemblies, a flow distribution of the fluid emitted by the plurality of nozzle assemblies, a set point operating pressure of the fluid flowing through the system, and emitted set point pressure of the fluid by the plurality of nozzle assemblies (application rate).
Regarding claim 7, Kolb discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies comprise direct acting solenoid valves (Paragraph 25), each solenoid valve including an actuator configured to pulse with a timing, a duration, a frequency, and a duty cycle determined by the controller (Paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 8, Kolb discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the user interface comprises at least one switch (Paragraph 48), wherein the user interface is configured to receive the user input in response to the user adjusting a position of the at least one switch (Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 9, Kolb discloses a method of applying agricultural fluid to a target, the method comprising: positioning a spray apparatus within a field including the target (Paragraph 6), the spray apparatus including:
a fluid supply line (288)
a plurality of nozzle assemblies (Paragraph 178, plurality of nozzle assemblies 178) connected in fluid communication with the fluid supply line (Figure 3 and Paragraph 26), the nozzle assemblies being positioned and oriented to spray the target (Figure 3; The nozzles assemblies are capable of performing the claimed function);
a plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies (182), each valve assembly of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies connected in fluid communication between the fluid supply line and a corresponding one of the plurality of nozzle assemblies to control fluid flow through the respective nozzle assembly (Figure 3);
wherein a controller (400) is communicatively connected to the valve assemblies and configured to control at least one operating parameter of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies (Paragraph 37, The controller is capable of controlling the flow rate), wherein the controller is configured to:
retrieving, using the controller, a first flow value (Paragraph 35, the controller retrieves a flow rate);
determine the at least one operating parameter based on the first flow value (Paragraph 35, The device may control valve to maintain flow rate and determine spray band length);
receive a user input relating to the user selection of an alternative operation mode of the system (Paragraph 35, the device may receive a inputs drawn to a desired flow rate);
retrieving, using the controller, a second flow value (The device may receive information about the current flow rate);
determining the at least one operating parameter of the plurality of valve assemblies based on the second flow value in response to the user selecting the alternative operation mode (Paragraph 35, The device may control valve to maintain the alternative flow rate and determine alternative spray band length).
Regarding claim 10, Kolb discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies includes a first set of electrically actuated valve assemblies and a second set of electrically actuated valve assemblies, wherein the user input is a first user input relating to a first user selection of an alternative operation mode for the first set of electrically actuated valve assemblies, and wherein the user interface is configured to receive a second user input relating to a second user selection of an alternative operation mode for the second set of electrically actuated valve assemblies, the method further comprising: operating the first set of electrically actuated valve assemblies in accordance with the second flow value in response to the first user input; and operating the second set of electrically actuated valve assemblies in accordance with the second flow value in response to the second user input (See claims 2 and 3 above).
Regarding claim 12, Kolb discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the user interface includes at least one switch (Paragraph 48), and wherein receiving the user input comprises receiving the user input in response to the user adjusting a position of the switch (Paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 21, Kolb discloses a system for applying agricultural fluid to a target, the system comprising:
a fluid supply line (288) connected to a fluid supply (Paragraph 27, reservoir);
a plurality of nozzle assemblies (Paragraph 178, plurality of nozzle assemblies 178) connected in fluid communication with the fluid supply line (Figure 3 and Paragraph 26), the nozzle assemblies being positioned and oriented to spray the target (Figure 3; The nozzles assemblies are capable of performing the claimed function);
a plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies (182), each valve assembly of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies connected in fluid communication between the fluid supply line and a corresponding one of the plurality of nozzle assemblies to control fluid flow through the respective nozzle assembly (Figure 3);
one or more sensors (Paragraph 35); and a controller (400) communicatively connected to the one or more sensors (Paragraph 35) and configured configured to control at least one operating parameter of the plurality of electrically actuated valve assemblies (Paragraph 37, The controller is capable of controlling the flow rate), wherein the controller is configured to:
retrieve a first flow value and a second flow value (Paragraph 35, the controller retrieves a flow rate by means of a user and/or meter);
determine the at least one operating parameter based on the first flow value (Paragraph 35, The device may control valve to maintain flow rate and determine spray band length);
receive a signal from the one or more sensors relating to the alternative operation mode (Paragraph 35, the device may operate based on input from a sensor); retrieve a second flow value (The device may receive information about the current flow rate); select the alternative operation mode based on the signal; and determine the at least one operating parameter based on the second flow value (Paragraph 35, The device may control valve to maintain the alternative flow rate and determine alternative spray band length).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolb.
Regarding claim 4, Kolb discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the user interface comprises a first switch and a second switch (Paragraph 48, switches), but fails to disclose wherein the first user input is based on the user adjusting a position of the first switch and the second user input is based on the user adjusting a position of the second switch.
Kolb discloses that a system may be optimized to provide for input as desired, and lists the use of switches as an option (Paragraphs 40 and 48).
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first user input is based on the user adjusting a position of the first switch and the second user input is based on the user adjusting a position of the second switch, as Applicant has not disclosed that the structure is for a stated purpose or solves a stated problem, and it appears the device would perform equally well as disclosed.
Regarding claim 11, Kolb discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the user interface comprises a first switch and a second switch (Paragraph 48, switches), but fails to disclose the method further comprising receiving the first user input in response to the user adjusting a position of the first switch; and receiving the second user input in response to the user adjusting a position of the second switch.
Kolb discloses that a system may be optimized to provide for input as desired, and lists the use of switches as an option (Paragraphs 40 and 48).
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method including receiving the first user input in response to the user adjusting a position of the first switch; and receiving the second user input in response to the user adjusting a position of the second switch, as Applicant has not disclosed that the structure is for a stated purpose or solves a stated problem, and it appears the device would perform equally well as disclosed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752