DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the election filed on 8/10/26.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Species 25 (figures 4-6 and 19) directed to claims 1-3, 7, 14, and 18 in the reply filed on 8/10/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “there is no serious search or examination burden. The species share the same field of search (LLC, CLLC, L3C and DAB multi- port resonant converters; integrated magnetics) and would be evaluated on largely overlapping prior art.”
This is not found persuasive because “the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or --the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).”, Since the Species of the claimed invention are configured differently. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdel-Rahman (US 20200177089).
Regarding claim 1: Abdel-Rahman disclsoes a resonant converter circuit (i.e. figure 4) comprising:
a first switch network (i.e. 410);
a first transformer (i.e. 440) having a first winding (i.e. primary winding of 440) connected to the first switch network (i.e. 410);
a second switch network (i.e. 420);
a second transformer (i.e. 442) having a first winding (i.e. secondary winding of 442) connected to the second switch network (i.e. 420); and
a loop comprising an inductor (i.e. lkp), a capacitor (i.e. 456), a second winding (i.e. secondary winding of 440) of the first transformer (i.e. 440) and a second winding (i.e. primary winding of 442) of the second transformer (i.e. 442).
Regarding claim 2: (i.e. figure 4) wherein: the first switch network (i.e. 410) has a DC input and is a half-bridge converter, a full-bridge converter, a push-pull converter or a multilevel converter; and the second switch network (i.e. 420) has a DC output and is another half-bridge converter, another full-bridge converter, another push-pull converter or another multilevel converter.
Regarding claim 3: (i.e. figure 4) wherein switches in the first and second switch networks (i.e. 410) (i.e. 440) realize soft switching (i.e. soft switching of the switches).
Regarding claim 7: (i.e. figure 4) further comprising: a first port (i.e. 412) connected to the first switch network (i.e. 1410); and a second port (i.e. 422) connected to the second switch network (i.e. 420); wherein: the second port (i.e. 422) provides an output power (i.e. output of 420) when the first port (i.e. 410) receives an input power (i.e. power to 412); and the first port (i.e. 412) provides another output power (i.e. from 412) when the second port (i.e. 422) receives another input power (i.e. input to 422) (i.e. bi-directional configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdel-Rahman (US 20200177089) in view of Ye et al. (US 20170063251).
Regarding claim 14: Abdel-Rahman discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first and second switch networks are multilevel converters.
Ye et al. disclose a converter (i.e. figure 4A) comprising the first (i.e. 402) and second switch (i.e. 414) networks are multilevel converters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Abdel-Rahman’s invention with the converter as disclose by Ye et al., because the converters operating with wide voltage regulation ranges.
8. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdel-Rahman (US 20200177089) in view of Yang et al. (US 20170214330).
Regarding claim 18: Abdel-Rahman disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose an integrated magnetic assembly on which the first and second windings of the first and second transformers are wound.
Yang et al. disclose a converter having a magnetic element (i.e. figure 3A, 3B) comprising an integrated magnetic assembly (i.e. column of 50 or 60) on which the first and second windings (i.e. first and second winding of Tx1, Tx2) of the first and second transformers (i.e. Tx1, Tx2) are wound (i.e. ¶ 10-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Abdel-Rahman’s invention with the converter as disclose by Yang et al. to improve efficiency of a power supply.’
Conclusion
/Nguyen Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838