DETAILED ACTION
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Claims 1-14 are examined; claims 13 and 14, previously withdrawn, are now directed to the elected embodiment and are examined herein; claims 15-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissl (US 4083254) in view of Hirsch et al. (US 6220312).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Nissl discloses a storage system comprising:
a container body at 12 having an interior space and that stores an item 1 and a closure 11;
a light transmission medium 3 within the container body, wherein the light transmission medium divides the interior space into a first portion (below) and a second portion (above), further wherein the item is disposed within the second portion, fig. 1;
a light emitter 8 that emits emitted light into the first portion towards the light transmission medium, wherein the light transmission medium transmits the emitted light;
a light receiver (photocell 9) to receive the emitted light that is transmitted by the light transmission medium and determine a light intensity measurement, col. 3: 60-66;
each of the light emitter and receiver are disposed in the first portion (below the light transmission medium) and
a conductive layer 2, within the interior space of the container body, that is capable of being part of a capacitive sensor. The device of Nissl is used to provide “an indication of the size of acceleration forces” (inertial forces) by measurement of fluctuations in light intensity, col. 1: 60-end.
Nissl does not disclose any measurement per se or a processor.
Hirsch is analogous art in regard to devices that use changes in light intensity for measuring force. Hirsch teaches an apparatus for measuring the weight of items to be filled into a container, col. 1: 40-end. The apparatus of Hirsch includes a processor 32 that uses a fluctuation in light intensity to measure weight, col. 2: 1-2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed method of using fluctuations of light intensity to indicate a force of Nissl with a processor able to calculate weight as taught by Hirsch in order to provide a system that can measure the weight in addition to providing a means for indicating inertial force in order to provide the ability of weighing the item 1 of Nissl if the mass held in the container 12 is replaced.
Regarding claim 3, Nissl discloses (fig. 1) that the conductive layer 2 directly supports the item.
Regarding claim 4, Nissl discloses that the light transmission medium 3 comprises a glass screen that supports the conductive layer, col. 3: 30-33.
Regarding claim 5, Nissl discloses that the light emitter emits the light into the glass screen, fig. 1, col. 3: 30-end.
Regarding claim 6, Nissl discloses that the conductive layer is a metallic lining, col. 3: 41-45.
Regarding claim 7, Nissl discloses that the light within the light transmission medium reflects and is transmitted back and forth through the light transmission medium a plurality of times, fig. 1.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Nissl discloses a storage system comprising:
a container body at 12 (seen in fig. 1 and 3) having an interior space and that stores an item 1;
a light transmission medium 5 within the container body, the light transmission medium having a first surface, wherein the first light transmission medium divides the interior space into a first (lower) portion and a second (upper) portion, further wherein the item is disposed within the second portion, fig. 2;
a light emitter 8 that emits emitted light into the first portion towards the first surface of the light transmission medium; and
a light receiver 9 to receive the emitted light that is transmitted by the light transmission medium and determine a light intensity measurement, wherein the first light transmission medium supports the item and transmits the emitted light,
each of the light emitter and receiver are disposed in the first portion (below the light transmission medium).
Nissl does not disclose any measurement per se or a processor.
Hirsch is analogous art in regard to devices that use changes in light intensity for measuring force. Hirsch teaches an apparatus for measuring the weight of items to be filled into a container, col. 1: 40-end. The apparatus of Hirsch includes a processor 32 that uses a fluctuation in light intensity to measure weight, col. 2: 1-2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the undisclosed method of using fluctuations of light intensity to indicate a force of Nissl with a processor able to calculate weight as taught by Hirsch in order to provide a system that can measure the weight in addition to providing a means for indicating inertial force in order to provide the ability of weighing the item 1 of Nissl if the mass held in the container 12 is replaced.
Regarding claims 11, 13, and 14, Nissl discloses that the first surface reflects the emitted light, fig. 2 and 3, the light transmission medium has a second surface, opposite to the first surface, emitted light is reflected a plurality of times between the first and second surfaces, col. 1: 50-end.
Regarding claim 12, Nissl discloses that the light transmission medium 3 comprises a glass, col. 3: 30-33.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Li (US 2016/0361234), previously applied, is the closest available prior art that teaches claim 10. However, without using applicant’s disclosure, there is no clear reason to form the bottom surface of the storage system of Nissl as an electronic circuit board.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any references or combinations thereof applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOLLIE IMPINK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
MOLLIE LLEWELLYN IMPINK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799