DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. 20160092363 herein Wang.
Per claim 1, Wang discloses: a shared last level cache coupled to multiple clients and a dynamic random access memory; (fig. 1 ¶0022&0023; processor 110 may be a single die processor including multiple tiles 120.sub.a-120.sub.n. Each tile includes a processor core and an associated private cache memory hierarchy that, in some embodiments is a three-level hierarchy with a low level cache, a MLC and an LLC. In addition, each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage and thus power and performance of each individual tile) a linear dropout regulator that supplies power to the shared last level cache;(¶0023; Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage and thus power and performance of each individual tile) and a data fabric that controls a level of the power supplied from the linear dropout regulator based on usage of the shared last level cache (¶0022& ¶0081; a processor 110 which as shown is a multicore processor. Processor 110 may be coupled to a power supply 150 via an external voltage regulator 160, which may perform a first voltage conversion to provide a primary regulated voltage to processor 110).
Per claim 2, Wang discloses: wherein the data fabric is configured to control the level of the power supplied from the linear dropout regulator to be either a first level that enables at least one active client to use the shared last level cache or a second level to keep the shared last level cache in a ready state when the at least one active client does not use the shared last level cache (¶0048; Note that this threshold may be a value above zero. That is, even if MLC is generating misses, but the misses are generated at a very slow pace, it may be more beneficial to power gate the LLC and let those misses be serviced by a further portion of a memory hierarchy instead of keeping the LLC consuming on and leakage power to service such a slow request rate. In some embodiments, this threshold (th_MPKI) may depend on the LLC leakage and the dynamic power difference between fetching data from the LLC as compared to fetching data from memory).
Per claim 3, Wang discloses: a side-band connection between the linear dropout regulator and the data fabric, (fig. 1) wherein the data fabric controls the level of the power supplied from the linear dropout regulator by sending a signal over the side-band connection to cause the linear dropout regulator to supply power for the shared last level cache at either the first level or the second level (¶0023; each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage (first level or second level) and thus power and performance of each individual tile.¶0025; PCU 138 may include logic to perform adaptive local LLC power control in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Furthermore, PCU 138 may be coupled via a dedicated interface to external voltage regulator 160. In this way, PCU 138 can instruct the voltage regulator to provide a requested regulated voltage to the processor. ¶0032; circuit 275 includes various components that provide information regarding processor activities to a cache power management logic 290 that in turn generates a decision as to power control of an LLC.).
Per claim 4, Wang discloses: wherein the first level comprises a normal voltage level and the second level comprises a retention voltage level that is less than the normal voltage level (¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.).
Per claim 5, Wang discloses: at least one processor configured to execute power management firmware that: turns the linear dropout regulator on to supply the power at the first level to initialize the shared last level cache and enable the at least one active client to use the shared last level cache; and turns the linear dropout regulator off to supply the power at a third level that is lower than the second level when none of the multiple clients is active (¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 6, Wang discloses: wherein the third level comprises an approximately zero-voltage level (¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 7, Wang discloses: wherein the system is configured to operate in at least three different states, wherein: during a first state, the power management firmware causes the shared last level cache to be powered-off; during a second state, the power management firmware causes the shared last level cache to be powered-on; and during a third state, the data fabric causes the shared last level cache to operate in retention mode where, based on the power supplied for the shared last level cache at the second level, the shared last level cache remains initialized to be ready to handle future accesses upon later transitioning back to the second state (¶0023; each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage (first level or second level) and thus power and performance of each individual tile.¶0025; PCU 138 may include logic to perform adaptive local LLC power control in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Furthermore, PCU 138 may be coupled via a dedicated interface to external voltage regulator 160. In this way, PCU 138 can instruct the voltage regulator to provide a requested regulated voltage to the processor. ¶0032; circuit 275 includes various components that provide information regarding processor activities to a cache power management logic 290 that in turn generates a decision as to power control of an LLC.¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 12, Wang discloses: wherein when none of the multiple clients is active the system transitions from the second state to the first state or from the third state to the second state to the third state (¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0049; a decision may be made as to whether an LLC slice should be power gated when an associated core or cluster of cores enters into a given low power state. Independently, MLC utilization may be monitored to determine whether the LLC can be power gated even when the core is running).
Per claim 13, Wang discloses: wherein the multiple clients include a central processing unit, wherein the system further comprises a main cache internal to the central processing unit, and the shared last level cache is coupled to the main cache and the dynamic random access memory (¶0030; Core 210 may couple to a first level cache 220 that may be a relatively small cache memory closely associated with the core. In turn, cache 220 is coupled to a mid-level cache (MLC) 230 that may include greater storage capacity. In turn, MLC 230 is coupled to a further portion of a cache hierarchy, namely a last level cache (LLC) 240 that may include even greater amounts of storage capacity; ¶0031; Also understand that this tile-included cache hierarchy includes slices or portions of a shared cache implemented with LLC 240 of a larger cache memory structure).
Per claim 14, Wang discloses: switch a level of power supplied to a shared last level cache to be at a first level that enables multiple active clients to use the shared last level cache; switch the level of power to be at a second level that keeps the shared last level cache in a ready state when each of the active clients is idle with respect to use of the shared last level cache; and switch the level of power to be at the first level when at least one of the active clients is no longer idle with respect to use of the shared last level cache (¶0023; each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage (first level or second level) and thus power and performance of each individual tile.¶0025; PCU 138 may include logic to perform adaptive local LLC power control in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Furthermore, PCU 138 may be coupled via a dedicated interface to external voltage regulator 160. In this way, PCU 138 can instruct the voltage regulator to provide a requested regulated voltage to the processor. ¶0032; circuit 275 includes various components that provide information regarding processor activities to a cache power management logic 290 that in turn generates a decision as to power control of an LLC.¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 15, Wang discloses: enabling, by a data fabric of a system, an active client to fulfill accesses using a shared last level cache instead of a dynamic random access memory; (fig. 1 ¶0022&0023; processor 110 may be a single die processor including multiple tiles 120.sub.a-120.sub.n. Each tile includes a processor core and an associated private cache memory hierarchy that, in some embodiments is a three-level hierarchy with a low level cache, a MLC and an LLC. In addition, each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage and thus power and performance of each individual tile) controlling, by the data fabric, a linear dropout regulator to switch a level of power supplied to the shared last level cache to be at a first level; (¶0023; Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage and thus power and performance of each individual tile) and based on the active client being idle with respect to use of the shared last level cache; and controlling, by the data fabric, the linear dropout regulator to switch the level of power to be at a second level when the active client is no longer idle with respect to use of the shared last level cache (¶0022& ¶0081; a processor 110 which as shown is a multicore processor. Processor 110 may be coupled to a power supply 150 via an external voltage regulator 160, which may perform a first voltage conversion to provide a primary regulated voltage to processor 110; ¶0048; Note that this threshold may be a value above zero. That is, even if MLC is generating misses, but the misses are generated at a very slow pace, it may be more beneficial to power gate the LLC and let those misses be serviced by a further portion of a memory hierarchy instead of keeping the LLC consuming on and leakage power to service such a slow request rate. In some embodiments, this threshold (th_MPKI) may depend on the LLC leakage and the dynamic power difference between fetching data from the LLC as compared to fetching data from memory).
Per claim 16, Wang discloses: executing, by a processor of the system, power management firmware to identify a workload of the active client that benefits from access to the shared last level cache instead of the dynamic random access memory; and communicating the active client to the data fabric to cause the data fabric to enable the active client to fulfill accesses at the shared last level cache (¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 17, Wang discloses: controlling, via the power management firmware, the linear dropout regulator to switch the level of the power supplied to the shared last level cache to be at a third level that is lower than the second level to power off the shared last level cache when no active clients are available to use the shared last level cache; and controlling, via the power management firmware, the linear dropout regulator to switch the level of the power supplied to the shared last level cache to transition from the third level to the first level for enabling the active client to use the shared last level cache (¶0023; each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage (first level or second level) and thus power and performance of each individual tile.¶0025; PCU 138 may include logic to perform adaptive local LLC power control in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Furthermore, PCU 138 may be coupled via a dedicated interface to external voltage regulator 160. In this way, PCU 138 can instruct the voltage regulator to provide a requested regulated voltage to the processor. ¶0032; circuit 275 includes various components that provide information regarding processor activities to a cache power management logic 290 that in turn generates a decision as to power control of an LLC.¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 18, Wang discloses: wherein controlling the linear dropout regulator by the data fabric comprises: sending, by the data fabric, a signal over a side-band connection between the linear dropout regulator and the data fabric, (fig. 1) whether the linear dropout regulator is to supply power at the first level or the second level (¶0023; each tile may be associated with an individual voltage regulator 125.sub.a-125.sub.n. Accordingly, a fully integrated voltage regulator (FIVR) implementation may be provided to allow for fine-grained control of voltage (first level or second level) and thus power and performance of each individual tile.¶0025; PCU 138 may include logic to perform adaptive local LLC power control in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. Furthermore, PCU 138 may be coupled via a dedicated interface to external voltage regulator 160. In this way, PCU 138 can instruct the voltage regulator to provide a requested regulated voltage to the processor. ¶0032; circuit 275 includes various components that provide information regarding processor activities to a cache power management logic 290 that in turn generates a decision as to power control of an LLC.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. 20160092363 herein Wang in view of Lilly et al. 20140195737 herein Lilly.
Per claim 8, Wang discloses dynamic power regulation but does not specifically disclose: wherein the system transitions from the first state to the second state when at least one of the multiple clients becomes active.
However, Lilly discloses: wherein the system transitions from the first state to the second state when at least one of the multiple clients becomes active (fig. 4B, ¶0073; At block 455, the second cache is put into a low-power state. In some embodiments, the second cache is shared between multiple processor cores. The second cache may be put into the low-power state based on a determination that all cores associated with the second cache are in a low-power state. The second cache may be brought out of the low-power state based on a determination that one or more processing elements associated with the second cache is no longer in a low-power state. Flow ends at block 455).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Wand and Lilly’s cache power states to conserve power. Lilly reduces power consumption (¶0005; This may reduce power consumption compared to software flushing implementations. )
Per claim 9, Wang discloses: wherein the system transitions from the second state to the third state during an idle period of the data fabric when the at least one active client is not using the shared last level cache (.¶0048; A still further exemplary technique for power management is to power gate a LLC based on a measurement of MLC utilization to determine whether the LLC is needed or not. ¶0059; the association of cores with a given cluster may change dynamically. Also, depending on the activity of the cores, one or more of the corresponding clusters 620 may be placed into a low power state to reduce power consumption as described above.; the examiner notes that the different levels is a result of power management).
Per claim 10, Lilly discloses: wherein after transitioning to the third state the shared last level cache maintains cache content stored in the shared last level cache during the second state (fig. 4B, ¶0072-73; At block 455, the second cache is put into a low-power state. In some embodiments, the second cache is shared between multiple processor cores. The second cache may be put into the low-power state based on a determination that all cores associated with the second cache are in a low-power state. The second cache may be brought out of the low-power state based on a determination that one or more processing elements associated with the second cache is no longer in a low-power state. Flow ends at block 455).
Per claim 11, Lilly discloses: wherein after transitioning to the third state the shared last level cache maintains fuse distributions previously established for the shared last level cache during the second state (fig. 4B, ¶0072-73; At block 455, the second cache is put into a low-power state. In some embodiments, the second cache is shared between multiple processor cores. The second cache may be put into the low-power state based on a determination that all cores associated with the second cache are in a low-power state. The second cache may be brought out of the low-power state based on a determination that one or more processing elements associated with the second cache is no longer in a low-power state. Flow ends at block 455).
Per claim 19, Lilly discloses: wherein controlling the linear dropout regulator to switch the level of power to be at the second level comprises maintaining cache content in the shared last level cache (fig. 4B, ¶0072-73; At block 455, the second cache is put into a low-power state. In some embodiments, the second cache is shared between multiple processor cores. The second cache may be put into the low-power state based on a determination that all cores associated with the second cache are in a low-power state. The second cache may be brought out of the low-power state based on a determination that one or more processing elements associated with the second cache is no longer in a low-power state. Flow ends at block 455).
Per claim 20, Lilly discloses: controlling, by the data fabric, the linear dropout regulator to switch the level of power to be at the second level for maintaining the cache content and fuse distributions previously established for the shared last level cache (fig. 4B, ¶0072-73; At block 455, the second cache is put into a low-power state. In some embodiments, the second cache is shared between multiple processor cores. The second cache may be put into the low-power state based on a determination that all cores associated with the second cache are in a low-power state. The second cache may be brought out of the low-power state based on a determination that one or more processing elements associated with the second cache is no longer in a low-power state. Flow ends at block 455).
Remark
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
Conclusion
BABOUCARR . FAAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/BABOUCARR FAAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138