Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2017/0311073) in view of Evans (US 2021/0329363).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches An earphone assembly, comprising: a charging case comprising: a first earphone slot and a second earphone slot that are disposed at a first interval between each other (Kang figures 2 and 5, left and right holder 220a-b), and a first electrode, a second electrode, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, power supply terminals 227), wherein both the first electrode and the second electrode are at least partially located in the first earphone slot, both the third electrode and the fourth electrode are at least partially located in the second earphone slot (Kang figure 5, each of holders 220a and 220b has a + and - terminals 227), the second electrode and the third electrode are located between the first electrode and the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, - terminal of 220a and + terminal of 220b), a polarity of the first electrode is the same as a polarity of the third electrode (Kang figure 5, + terminal of 220a and + terminal of 220b), and a polarity of the second electrode is the same as a polarity of the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, - terminal of 220a and - terminal of 220b); a first earphone comprising a first contact and a second contact that are disposed at a second interval between each other (Kang figure 5, charging terminals 247 of earbud 240a); and a second earphone comprising a first contact and a second contact that are disposed at the second interval each other (Kang figure 5, charging terminals 247 of earbud 240b), wherein a polarity of the first contact of the second earphone is the same as a polarity of the first contact of the first earphone, and a polarity of the second contact of the second earphone is the same as a polarity of the second contact of the first earphone (Kang figure 5, and ¶0070, “A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220.” It is inherent that each of earbuds 240a and 240b would have a positive and a negative terminal 247), wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot (Kang figure 2 and ¶0053-0054, earbuds 240a-b coupling with holder 220), the first contact of the first earphone is configured to be in contact with the first electrode, and the second contact of the first earphone is configured to in contact with the second electrode (Kang figure 5, ¶0070, “The holder 220 includes a power supply terminal 227 connected to the auxiliary battery 219 provided to the body 210. A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220”), and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot (Kang figure 2 and ¶0053-0054, earbuds 240a-b coupling with holder 220), the first contact of the second earphone is configured to be in contact with the third electrode, and the second contact of the second earphone is configured to be in contact with the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, ¶0070, “The holder 220 includes a power supply terminal 227 connected to the auxiliary battery 219 provided to the body 210. A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220”), however does not explicitly teach wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot.
Evans teaches wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot (Evans ¶0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Evans to improve the known earphone of Kang to achieve the predictable result of proper charging for different orientations of earphones in the earphone charging socket (Evans ¶0013).
Regarding claim 2, Kang in view of Evans teaches wherein: both the first contact of the first earphone and the second contact of the first earphone are fastened to a housing of the first earphone, and are exposed relative to the housing of the first earphone; both the first contact of the second earphone and the second contact of the second earphone are fastened to a housing of the second earphone, and are exposed relative to the housing of the second earphone (Kang figure 5); and the housing of the first earphone and the housing of the second earphone comprise mutually symmetric structures (Kang ¶0008, “a detecting unit configured to detect whether the earbud attaches to the first holder or the second holder," since each earbud can fit in the same holder, they are symmetrical in structure), the first contact of the first earphone is symmetrically disposed with the second contact of the second earphone, and the second contact of the first earphone is symmetrically disposed with the first contact of the second earphone (Kang figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, Kang in view of Evans teaches wherein the first earphone comprises: a charging circuit electrically connected to the first contact and the second contact; an in-case presence detection component configured to detect whether the first earphone is accommodated in the first earphone slot; and a processor electrically connected to the charging circuit and the in-case presence detection component, wherein the processor is configured to control the charging circuit to work in response to the first earphone being accommodated in the first earphone slot (Evans figure 4B and ¶0046, “When the wireless headphones 150A, 150B are retained in the sockets 120A, 120B, the electrical contacts 155 of the wireless headphone 150A, 150B interface with one or more electrical contacts of the sockets 120A, 120B (as described further below in the discussion of FIGS. 5A-5H) to provide an electrical interconnection that permits electrical charging power in the form of a charging signal to be delivered from the external power source, through the cable 110, and through the sockets 120A, 120B to the wireless headphones 150A, 150B”).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches An earphone assembly, comprising: a charging case comprising: a first earphone slot and a second earphone slot that are disposed at a first interval between each other (Kang figures 2 and 5, left and right holder 220a-b); and a first electrode, a second electrode, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, power supply terminals 227), wherein both the first electrode and the second electrode are at least partially located in the first earphone slot, both the third electrode and the fourth electrode are at least partially located in the second earphone slot (Kang figure 5, each of holders 220a and 220b has a + and - terminals 227), the second electrode and the third electrode are located between the first electrode and the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, - terminal of 220a and + terminal of 220b), a polarity of the first electrode is the same as a polarity of the third electrode (Kang figure 5, + terminal of 220a and + terminal of 220b), and a polarity of the second electrode is the same as a polarity of the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, - terminal of 220a and - terminal of 220b); a first earphone comprising a first contact and a second contact that are disposed at a second interval between each other (Kang figure 5, charging terminals 247 of earbud 240a); and a second earphone comprising a first contact and a second contact that are disposed at the second interval each other (Kang figure 5, charging terminals 247 of earbud 240b), wherein a polarity of the first contact of the second earphone is the same as a polarity of the first contact of the first earphone, and a polarity of the second contact of the second earphone is the same as a polarity of the second contact of the first earphone (Kang figure 5, and ¶0070, “A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220.” It is inherent that each of earbuds 240a and 240b would have a positive and a negative terminal 247), wherein: the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot (Kang figure 2 and ¶0053-0054, earbuds 240a-b coupling with holder 220), the first contact of the first earphone is configured to be in contact with the first electrode, and the second contact of the first earphone is configured to in contact with the second electrode (Kang figure 5, ¶0070, “The holder 220 includes a power supply terminal 227 connected to the auxiliary battery 219 provided to the body 210. A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220”), the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot (Kang figure 2 and ¶0053-0054, earbuds 240a-b coupling with holder 220), the first contact of the second earphone is configured to be in contact with the third electrode, and the second contact of the second earphone is configured to be in contact with the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, ¶0070, “The holder 220 includes a power supply terminal 227 connected to the auxiliary battery 219 provided to the body 210. A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220”), and a housing of the first earphone comprises a first asymmetric structure, the first earphone slot comprises a second asymmetric structure, and a shape of the first earphone slot has a same shape of the housing of the first earphone (Kang ¶0055, “The holder 220 can be formed in different shape at different location according to a shape of the earbud 240 or the body 210”), however does not explicitly teach wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot, and a housing of the first earphone comprises a first asymmetric structure, the first earphone slot comprises a second asymmetric structure, and a shape of the first earphone slot has a same shape of the housing of the first earphone.
Evans teaches wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot (Evans ¶0042), and a housing of the first earphone comprises a first asymmetric structure, the first earphone slot comprises a second asymmetric structure, and a shape of the first earphone slot has a same shape of the housing of the first earphone (Evans figure 1 and ¶0035, “the case may have a shape that only allows each of the wireless headphone(s) to be seated in a specific position with a specific orientation that results in a proper charging”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Evans to improve the known earphone of Kang to achieve the predictable result of proper charging for different orientations of earphones in the earphone charging socket (Evans ¶0013).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches An earphone assembly, comprising: a charging case comprising: a first earphone slot and a second earphone slot that are disposed at a first interval between each other (Kang figures 2 and 5, left and right holder 220a-b), and a first electrode, a second electrode, a third electrode, and a fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, power supply terminals 227), wherein both the first electrode and the second electrode are at least partially located in the first earphone slot, both the third electrode and the fourth electrode are at least partially located in the second earphone slot (Kang figure 5, each of holders 220a and 220b has a + and - terminals 227), the second electrode and the third electrode are located between the first electrode and the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, - terminal of 220a and + terminal of 220b), a polarity of the first electrode is the same as a polarity of the third electrode (Kang figure 5, + terminal of 220a and + terminal of 220b), and a polarity of the second electrode is the same as a polarity of the fourth electrode (Kang figure 5, - terminal of 220a and - terminal of 220b), wherein: the first earphone slot is configured to detachably accommodate a first earphone (Kang figure 2 and ¶0053-0054, earbuds 240a-b coupling with holder 220), the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to respectively be in contact with the a first contact and a second contact of the first earphone (Kang figure 5, ¶0070, “The holder 220 includes a power supply terminal 227 connected to the auxiliary battery 219 provided to the body 210. A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220”), and the second earphone slot is configured to detachably accommodate a second earphone (Kang figure 2 and ¶0053-0054, earbuds 240a-b coupling with holder 220), the third electrode and the fourth electrode are configured to respectively be in contact with the a first contact and a second contact of the second earphone (Kang figure 5, ¶0070, “The holder 220 includes a power supply terminal 227 connected to the auxiliary battery 219 provided to the body 210. A charging terminal 247 of the earbud 240 is situated at a location where the charging terminal 247 comes into contact with the power supply terminal 227 on coupling the earbud 240 with the holder 220”), however does not explicitly teach wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot.
Evans teaches wherein the first earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the first earphone slot and the second earphone is configured to be detachably accommodated in the second earphone slot (Evans ¶0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Evans to improve the known earphone of Kang to achieve the predictable result of proper charging for different orientations of earphones in the earphone charging socket (Evans ¶0013).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2017/0311073) in view of Evans (US 2021/0329363) in further view of Qin (CN 209462021).
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Evans does not explicitly teach wherein the first earphone comprises: an anti-reverse connection circuit; and a charging circuit, wherein: the anti-reverse connection circuit is connected in series between the first contact and the charging circuit, or is connected in series between the second contact and the charging circuit, the anti-reverse connection circuit is configured to be turned on in response to the first contact being in contact with the first electrode and the second contact being in contact with the second electrode, and the anti-reverse connection circuit is further configured to be turned off in response to the first contact being in contact with the second electrode and the second contact being in contact with the first electrode.
Qin teaches wherein the first earphone (Qin Claim 10, “a kind of earphone, which is characterized in that the earphone includes reverse connection preventing over-voltage as described in any one of claim 1 to 9 Protective device”) comprises: an anti-reverse connection circuit (Qin figure 1, Overload protection module 11, reverse connection protection module 12, and overvoltage protective module 13); and a charging circuit (Qin figure 7, 131-132, 16, 17 and Vout), wherein: the anti-reverse connection circuit is connected in series between the first contact and the charging circuit (Qin figure 7, Vin is in series with Q1), or is connected in series between the second contact and the charging circuit, the anti-reverse connection circuit is configured to be turned on in response to the first contact being in contact with the first electrode and the second contact being in contact with the second electrode, and the anti-reverse connection circuit is further configured to be turned off in response to the first contact being in contact with the second electrode and the second contact being in contact with the first electrode (Qin Page 8, “when the positive and negative anodes of input DC power are reversely connected, reverse connecting protection module 12 is according to reversal connection Input DC power disconnects input DC power, so that circuit safety be protected to run” and “when the positive and negative anodes of input DC power correctly connect, input DC power is from overload protection mould Block 11 flows through reverse connecting protection module 12, passes through overvoltage protective module 13, finally exports and powers to late-class circuit.Input direct-current”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Qin to improve the known earphone of Kang in view of Evans to achieve the predictable result of protecting the circuit of the earphone from overload.
Regarding claim 9, Kang in view of Evans in further view of Qin teaches wherein the first earphone further comprises a third resistor, and two ends of the third resistor are respectively connected to two ports of the charging circuit (Qin figure 7, resistors R1-R6).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2017/0311073) in view of Evans (US 2021/0329363) in further view of Mehrabi (US 2022/0046352).
Regarding claim 12, Kang in view of Evans does not explicitly teach wherein the charging case further comprises: a processor; and a charging circuit electrically connected to the processor, the first electrode, and the second electrode, wherein the processor is configured to: in response to the first earphone being accommodated in the first earphone slot, obtain a battery level of the first earphone through the charging circuit, the first electrode, and the second electrode, and in response to the battery level of the first earphone being less than or equal to a threshold, control the charging circuit to charge the first earphone.
Mehrabi teaches wherein the charging case further comprises: a processor; and a charging circuit electrically connected to the processor (Mehrabi figure 2), the first electrode, and the second electrode (Mehrabi ¶0029, “power transfer connection 120 may be formed through contact between a portion of the wireless audio device 130 and the charging interface 110”), wherein the processor is configured to: in response to the first earphone being accommodated in the first earphone slot (Mehrabi ¶0027, “Once inserted, the charging case will typically attempt to determine the voltage of the internal battery of the earbud”), obtain a battery level of the first earphone through the charging circuit, the first electrode, and the second electrode, and in response to the battery level of the first earphone being less than or equal to a threshold, control the charging circuit to charge the first earphone (Mehrabi ¶0038, “According to an example, the charging circuitry 150 may be further configured to, if the device battery voltage 160 is less than or equal to the UVLO value 170, charge the device battery 140, via the power transfer connection 120”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Mehrabi to improve the known earphone of Kang in view of Evans to achieve the predictable result of avoiding undervoltage lockout for the earphones.
Regarding claim 13, Kang in view of Evans in further view of Mehrabi teaches wherein a housing of the first earphone comprises a first asymmetric structure, the first earphone slot comprises a second asymmetric structure, and a shape of the first earphone slot has a same shape of the housing of the first earphone (Kang ¶0055 and Evans figure 1 and ¶0035, “the case may have a shape that only allows each of the wireless headphone(s) to be seated in a specific position with a specific orientation that results in a proper charging”).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2017/0311073) in view of Evans (US 2021/0329363) in further view of Mehrabi (US 2022/0046352) in further view of Chawan (US 2020/0288229).
Regarding claim 14, Kang in view of Evans in further view of Mehrabi teaches both the first contact and the second contact are fastened to the main housing and exposed relative to the main housing (Kang figure 5), however does not explicitly teach wherein the housing of the first earphone comprises: a main housing; and a front housing fastened on a front side of the main housing, wherein an internal space of the front housing is in communication with an internal space of the main housing, and, the front housing is configured to face a user's ear when the first earphone or the second earphone is being worn, wherein the main housing comprises a first end in contact with the front housing and a second end that is far away from the front housing than the first end, an outer contour of the main housing first contracts and then expands in a direction from the first end to the second end of the main housing.
Chawan teaches wherein the housing of the first earphone comprises: a main housing (Chawan figure 32, housing 3005); and a front housing fastened on a front side of the main housing (Chawan figure 32, ear portion 3010), wherein an internal space of the front housing is in communication with an internal space of the main housing (Chawan figure 32, ear portion 3010), and, the front housing is configured to face a user's ear when the first earphone (Chawan figure 32, ear portion 3010) or the second earphone is being worn, wherein the main housing comprises a first end in contact with the front housing and a second end that is far away from the front housing than the first end, an outer contour of the main housing first contracts and then expands in a direction from the first end to the second end of the main housing (Chawan figure 32, curves of housing 3005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Chawan to improve the known earphone of Kang in view of Evans in further view of Mehrabi to achieve the predictable result of a comfortable fit of the earphone on the ear of a user.
Regarding claim 15, Kang in view of Evans in further view of Mehrabi in further view of Chawan teaches wherein: the main housing comprises a main housing member; the main housing member comprises a top part, a middle part, and a bottom part that are sequentially connected (Chawan figure 32, curves of housing 3005); the top part of the main housing member is connected to the front housing; both the first contact and the second contact are fastened to the bottom part of the main housing member (Chawan figure 3 and ¶0143, “each earbud in pair of earbuds 115a, 115b can be electrically coupled to charging system 125 by a connector 347 disposed at an end of a stem portion of each earbuds 115a, 115b”); the first earphone slot comprises a first bottom slot and a first top slot located in a case body of the charging case (Chawan figure 1, bottom where stem section 116a-b are, and top where bud section 117a-b are); and in response to the first earphone being placed in the first earphone slot, the bottom part of the main housing member is configured to be located in the first bottom slot, both the front housing and the top part of the main housing member are configured to be partially located in the first top slot and partially located outside the case body (Chawan figure 1), and the middle part of the main housing member is configured to be located outside the case body (Chawan figure 1, part of the housing is outside housing 105).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2017/0311073) in view of Evans (US 2021/0329363) in further view of Chawan (US 2020/0288229).
Regarding claim 17, Kang in view of Evans teach both the first contact and the second contact are fastened to the main housing and exposed relative to the main housing (Kang figure 5), however does not explicitly teach wherein the housing of the first earphone comprises: a main housing; and a front housing fastened on a front side of the main housing, wherein an internal space of the front housing is in communication with an internal space of the main housing, and, the front housing is configured to face a user's ear when the first earphone or the second earphone is being worn, wherein the main housing comprises a first end in contact with the front housing and a second end that is far away from the front housing than the first end, an outer contour of the main housing first contracts and then expands in a direction from the first end to the second end of the main housing.
Chawan teaches wherein the housing of the first earphone comprises: a main housing (Chawan figure 32, housing 3005); and a front housing fastened on a front side of the main housing (Chawan figure 32, ear portion 3010), wherein an internal space of the front housing is in communication with an internal space of the main housing (Chawan figure 32, ear portion 3010), and, the front housing is configured to face a user's ear when the first earphone (Chawan figure 32, ear portion 3010) or the second earphone is being worn, wherein the main housing comprises a first end in contact with the front housing and a second end that is far away from the front housing than the first end, an outer contour of the main housing first contracts and then expands in a direction from the first end to the second end of the main housing (Chawan figure 32, curves of housing 3005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Chawan to improve the known earphone of Kang in view of Evans to achieve the predictable result of a comfortable fit of the earphone on the ear of a user.
Regarding claim 18, Kang in view of Evans in further view of Chawan teaches wherein: the main housing comprises a main housing member; the main housing member comprises a top part, a middle part, and a bottom part that are sequentially connected (Chawan figure 32, curves of housing 3005); the top part of the main housing member is connected to the front housing; both the first contact and the second contact are fastened to the bottom part of the main housing member (Chawan figure 3 and ¶0143, “each earbud in pair of earbuds 115a, 115b can be electrically coupled to charging system 125 by a connector 347 disposed at an end of a stem portion of each earbuds 115a, 115b”); the first earphone slot comprises a first bottom slot and a first top slot located in a case body of the charging case (Chawan figure 1, bottom where stem section 116a-b are, and top where bud section 117a-b are); and in response to the first earphone being placed in the first earphone slot, the bottom part of the main housing member is configured to be located in the first bottom slot, both the front housing and the top part of the main housing member are configured to be partially located in the first top slot and partially located outside the case body (Chawan figure 1) , and the middle part of the main housing member is configured to be located outside the case body (Chawan figure 1, part of the housing is outside housing 105).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the closest prior art either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed limitation of “wherein the anti-reverse connection circuit comprises an NMOS transistor, a drain of the NMOS transistor is electrically connected to the first contact or the second contact, and a source of the NMOS transistor is electrically connected to the charging circuit” in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by the applicant.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693