DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 20, 2024, September 30, 2025, April 8, 2026, and July 8, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi (US 20230283348 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MolavianJazi teaches a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a network node, a beam indication for access links from a wireless communication node, the access links comprising at least one of a first forwarding link from the network node to a wireless communication device, or a second forwarding link from the wireless communication device to the network node ([0182] Throughout the present disclosure an NCR-MT is also referred to as SR-MT, an NCR-Fwd is also referred to as SR-RU or NCR-RU, an NCR backhaul link or an NCR control-link (C-link) is also referred to as NCR-to-gNB link, and the NCR access link is also referred to as NCR-to-UE(s) link. Fig. 14, [0257] One embodiment includes beam indication and beam management for the NCR-to-UE link (also referred to as the NCR access link): Exchange of information between NCR-MT and gNB about beam selection for/by the NCR-Fwd on the access link. The NCR-MT can be provided by the gNB information about selection of beams by the NCR-Fwd for the NCR-to-UE link (also referred to as the NCR access link) for UE(s) that are served through the NCR. Such beams can be used by the NCR-Fwd, for example, when performing amplify-and-forward (AF) for transmissions from the gNB to the UE(s) served through the NCR, or for receptions from such UE(s) to the gNB. [0262] The gNB provides the beam indication for NCR-Fwd beam selection to a corresponding NCR-MT using a ‘beam indication message’ which is one of various side control information messages exchanged between gNB and the NCR for controlling the NCR operation by the gNB. [0264] One embodiment includes a first approach to beam indication for the access link: Association of NCR beams with T/F resources, with NCR transparency to signals/channels. In the first approach to beam indication for NCR on the access link, the gNB provides the NCR-MT a mapping from time/frequency resources to a set of UE-side NCR-Fwd spatial filters (namely, NCR spatial filters for the access link), without indicating whether the time/frequency (T/F) resources correspond to signals or channel, downlink or uplink, and so on. The mapping includes a list of T/F resource indexes along with associated beam indexes/indications.);
receiving, by the network node, a beam indication for backhaul links from the wireless communication node, the backhaul links comprising at least one of a third forwarding link from the wireless communication node to the network node, or a fourth forwarding link from the network node to the wireless communication node (Fig. 14, [0181] The NCR-Fwd is defined as a functional entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signal between gNB and UE via backhaul link and access link. The behaviour of the NCR-Fwd will be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB. [0242] In another example, the NCR-MT can be provided a separate indication that provides a third beam index from the multiple beams on the gNB-to-NCR link (C-link), and NCR-Fwd uses the third beam for transmission/reception on the gNB-to-NCR link (backhaul link) until the NCR-Fwd is provided a new indication.); and
performing a communication using at least one of the access links or the backhaul links ([0267] The NCR-RU can use the indicated beam for transmitting (after AF operation on) DL receptions of the UE(s) from the gNB, or for receiving (before AF operation of) UL transmissions from the UE(s) to the gNB, based on the FDD band configuration or TDD DL/UL configuration information that is provided to the NCR.).
Regarding claim 2, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the network node, a beam indication for control links from the wireless communication node, the control links comprising at least one of a first control link from the wireless communication node to a network node, or a second control link from the network node to the wireless communication node ([0241] As illustrated in FIG. 17, at step 1710, an NCR-MT is provided a set of spatial relation(s) for communication with the gNB. At step 1720, the NCR-MT receives an indication to use a first spatial relation from the set of spatial relation(s) (beam indication) on the C-link (control links).); and
performing a communication using at least one of the control links ([0241] At step 1730, both NCR-MT and a corresponding NCR-Fwd use the first spatial relation for communication with the gNB on the C-link and the backhaul link, respectively).
Regarding claim 3, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication node receives beamforming capability information from the network node or an operations administration and maintenance (OAM) unit, wherein the beamforming capability information includes at least one of: a number of beams available for the network node ([0212] In one example, instead of reference to physical entities such as antenna panels or RF chains, the NCR reports capability with respect to logical entities such as a supported number of simultaneous beams / spatial filters that the NCR can generate, or a supported number of antenna port groups, and so on. [0311] As illustrated in FIG. 23, at step 2310, an NCR-MT reports a capability for generating K separate beam patterns at the NCR access link. [0278] For example, for an NCR that reports a capability to generate 4 beams on the UE-side RIB/connector of NCR (namely, for the NCR access link), as discussed herein, the NCR can be indicated first and second and third and fourth RSs associated with spatial filters #1, #2, #3, and #4, respectively.); indices or identities of beams available for the network node; type of beams available for the network node ([0337] An NCR-MT can report a capability for locally re-generating RS(s) (type of beams) that the NCR-Fwd could/would receive from the gNB or a capability for locally generating RS(s) that the NCR-Fwd may have not received from the gNB. [0340] For example, a first capability can be suitable for (re-)generation of SSBs, while a second capability can be suitable for (re-)generation of CSI-RS resources.); widths of beams available for the network node ([0218] In one example, the NCR-MT can report one or multiple values for the third number of distinct beams for the NCR-RU, wherein each report includes a pair (M, W). Herein, W refers to a beam-width or beam-directivity parameter, such as a spatial angle corresponding to the main lobe of each beam. Therefore, M can correspond to a number of beams that the NCR-Fwd (on the UE-side or BS-side) can generate with a beam-width or beam-directivity indicated by the parameter W. Herein, the parameter W can take values from a list of attributes such as ‘wide’ or ‘narrow’, or can take values from a numerical set of spatial coverage angles (for example, in degrees or in steradians), or fractions of a reference spatial coverage angle. [0312] In one example, an NCR-Fwd can generate different modes of beam, such as a first mode with 4 narrow beams or a second mode with 2 wide beams.); directions of beams available for the network node; or a location of the network node, wherein the beamforming capability information includes at least one of: a number of beams available for the network node; indices or identities of beams available for the network node; type of beams available for the network node; widths of beams available for the network node; directions of beams available for the network node; or a location of the network node, wherein the beamforming capability information is defined with a granularity, wherein the granularity is at least one of: per network node or per link.
Regarding claim 4, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the beam indication for the access links is associated with indices or identities of beams for the network node on the access links ([0264] In the first approach to beam indication for NCR on the access link, the gNB provides the NCR-MT a mapping from time/frequency resources to a set of UE-side NCR-Fwd spatial filters (namely, NCR spatial filters for the access link), without indicating whether the time/frequency (T/F) resources correspond to signals or channel, downlink or uplink, and so on. The mapping includes a list of T/F resource indexes along with associated beam indexes/indications.).
Regarding claim 5, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the beam indication for the access links for the network node on the access links is associated with a plurality of indices or identities of a set of reference signals ([0270] One embodiment includes a second approach to beam indication for the access link: Association of NCR beams with T/F resources, based on NCR beams for RS(s). In the second approach to beam indication for NCR-RU for the NCR-to-UE link (namely, the access link), in a first stage, the gNB indicates to the NCR-MT a set of reference UE-side NCR beams for a first set of time/frequency (T/F) resources.).
Regarding claim 6, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the reference signals include at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0270] In one realization, the first set includes a first set of reference signals (RSs), such as SSBs or CSI-RSs, for which the reference beams are indicated to the NCR).
Regarding claim 7, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the beam indication for the backhaul links is associated with indices or identities of beams for the network node on the backhaul links (0227] NCR-Fwd can be provided a (separate) indication of beam index(es) to use on the backhaul link, for example, when NCR-MT is provided multiple beams for the NCR C-link.).
Regarding claim 8, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the beam indication for the backhaul links is associated with a plurality of indices or identities of a set of reference signals ([0249] For example, a first set of spatial filters can include wide SSB beams for reliable communication with NCR-MT on the C-link, and a second set of spatial filters on the backhaul link can include narrow CSI-RS beams for increased coverage of UEs being served by NCR-Fwd on the corresponding access link. [0250] Alternatively, the NCR can be provided information of a second set of beams / spatial filters or reference signals such as SSBs for NCR-Fwd operation on the backhaul link (that is, for amplify and forward operation) that can be different from a first set of beams / spatial filters or reference signals such as SSBs for NCR-MT operation on the C-link.).
Regarding claim 9, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein beam information associated with the backhaul links is identical to beam information of control links ([0241] At step 1720, the NCR-MT receives an indication to use a first spatial relation from the set of spatial relation(s) on the C-link. At step 1730, both NCR-MT and a corresponding NCR-Fwd use the first spatial relation for communication with the gNB on the C-link and the backhaul link, respectively. At step 1740, the NCR-MT determines whether the NCR has received an indication to use a second spatial relation from the set of spatial relations(s). When the NCR-MT has not received such indication, then at step 1750 the NCR-Fwd continues to use the first spatial relation for communication with the gNB on the backhaul link. [0249] In one example, an NCR-MT is provided information of a first set of spatial filters / beams or reference signals for C-link. For example, a corresponding NCR-Fwd can operate on the backhaul link with a same set of spatial filters / beams as the first set.).
Regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication node uses an additional signaling dedicated for the backhaul links to indicate beam information ([0242] In another example, the NCR-MT can be provided a separate indication that provides a third beam index from the multiple beams on the gNB-to-NCR link (C-link), and NCR-Fwd uses the third beam for transmission/reception on the gNB-to-NCR link (backhaul link) until the NCR-Fwd is provided a new indication. For example, the third beam index for the backhaul link can be same or different from the first or second beam index that is indicated for communication of NCR-MT with the gNB on the C-link. [0249] For example, the NCR-Fwd can operate with a second set of spatial filters / beams or reference signals for the backhaul link, which is different from the first set. For example, the NCR-MT can be provided information of the second set of spatial filters / beams or reference signals for NCR-Fwd operation.).
Regarding claim 12, MolavianJazi teaches a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a network node, from a wireless communication node, a configuration information that indicates information associated with a number of beams configured for the network node on access links ([0298] As illustrated in FIG. 22, at step 2210, an NCR-MT reports a capability for generating K separate beam patterns at the NCR access link. At step 2220, the NCR-MT receives/determines an association among the K separate beam patterns and a set of beam indexes {1, ..., K}. For example, the association can be based on NCR implementation, or based on gNB indication, or based on a predetermined rule. At step 2230, the NCR-MT is provided a beam indication message that provides a beam index k ∈ {1, ..., K} for a T/F resource. At step 2240, the NCR-Fwd generates a k-th beam pattern based on the associations, and uses the k-th beam pattern for the T/F resource.), wherein the configuration information includes at least one of: a list of beam patterns; or an ordered sequence of beam information to be used sequentially by the network node on access links, wherein each beam pattern includes an ordered sequence of beam information to be sequentially used by the network node on the access links ([0312] the NCR can be provided information whether a beam indication by the gNB refers to the first mode or the second mode. For example, the NCR beam generation mode can be separately indicated along with a beam index for each T/F resource or for each RS, or the beam generation mode can be jointly indicated as a header in the beginning of a beam indication message/signaling that applies to all following beam indexes in the beam indication message/signaling. For example, when first mode is indicated by ‘n’ and second mode is indicated by ‘w’, an example beam indication message (with separate mode indication) can be ‘1n, 3n, 2w, 4n, 1w, 2n, ...’ (an ordered sequence of beam information to be used sequentially) wherein each beam indication is interpreted based on the corresponding label for the beam generation mode. Another example (with joint mode indication) can be ‘n: 1, 2, 4, 3, 2, 2, 1, ...’ wherein all beam indications are based on the first mode (that is, beam indication from 4 narrow beams) or can be ‘w - 2, 1, 1, 2, 1, 2, 2, ...’ wherein all beam indication are based on the second mode (that is, beam indication from 2 wide beams).).
Regarding claim 13, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the beam information is associated with at least one of indices or identities of beams, a source reference signal identity (RS ID), or a TCI state ID ([0298] At step 2220, the NCR-MT receives/determines an association among the K separate beam patterns and a set of beam indexes {1, ..., K} (indices or identities of beams). [0314] In one example, an NCR-RU receives, on the backhaul link, first and second SSB indexes with a same Rx beam / spatial reception filter (that is, with ‘overlaid’ SSB indexes), and the gNB indicates to the NCR-MT that the NCR-Fwd should use, on the access link, different Tx beams such as a first spatial transmission filter and a second spatial filter, respectively, when AF-ing the first and second SSB indexes (source reference signal identity (RS ID)). [0228] For example, NCR-MT can be provided a higher layer configuration, or corresponding L1/L2 indication(s) by DCI format(s) or MAC-CE(s), for spatial relations or TCI states (TCI state ID) for reception of PDCCH/PDSCH or for transmission of PUSCH/PUSCH/SRS and so on. [0263] Once NCR beam indication for the access link is coordinated between NCR and gNB, the gNB configures, for UEs served by the NCR, all spatial relations, QCL assumptions, TCIs states, and so on, based on such coordinated beam indication and association.).
Regarding claim 14, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 12, wherein a signaling of the configuration information is indicated via at least one of radio resource control (RRC), medium access control- control element (MAC CE), or downlink control information (DCI) ([0262] The gNB provides the beam indication for NCR-Fwd beam selection to a corresponding NCR-MT using a ‘beam indication message’ which is one of various side control information messages exchanged between gNB and the NCR for controlling the NCR operation by the gNB. The beam indication message can be provided by L1/L2 signaling such as by a MAC-CE or a DCI format. [0177] For transmission of DL SCI, the gNB can use one or a combination of signaling options. DL SCI can be transmitted in L1, e.g., by DCI or in any DL control channel, in L2 MAC, e.g., by MAC CE(s) or as part of any DL data channel, in L2 RRC, e.g., by RRC signaling messages and/or IEs. [0222] In one example, a beam switching latency can be from a time that the NCR-MT receives a command or side control information signaling from the gNB to the time that NCR-RU is ready/operational to receive/transmit with a new beam indicated by the gNB.).
Regarding claim 16, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising determining timing information applicable for the ordered sequence of beam information ([0316] One embodiment includes a structure of a beam indication message (a.k.a., beamforming side control information) -- methods for association of an NCR-RU beam with a time/frequency resource. The NCR-MT can be provided L1/L2 signaling that includes a beam indication message (also referred to as a beamforming side control information), such as one based on the first approach or the second approach described in Embodiments E-1-1 and E-1-2, respectively (or using any other approach). The mapping can additionally include an indication for a granularity of T/F resources. [0331] In another example, a list of T/F resources can include consecutive resources, so the NCR is provided indication of only index of a first symbol/slot and index of a first RE/RB, along with a number N of time slots/symbols and a number of M REs/RB s. The list can also provide information of an SCS configuration for determination of the T/F resources. For example, with i.sub.0,t = 0 and i.sub.0,f = 0 along with N = 40 slots and M = 100 RBs, the list refers to {slot#0, slot#1, ..., slot#39} and {RB#0, RB#1, ..., RB#99}. The beam indication can be in an ascending order with frequency first, then time. For example, a first beam indication is associated with (slot#0, RB#0), a second beam indication associated with (slot#0, RB#1), ..., and a 4000.sup.th beam indication is associated with (slot#39, RB#99).).
Regarding claim 19, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the timing information includes a plurality of time lengths corresponding to a plurality of beams, wherein each time length is associated with a beam ([0331] In another example, a list of T/F resources can include consecutive resources, so the NCR is provided indication of only index of a first symbol/slot and index of a first RE/RB, along with a number N of time slots/symbols and a number of M REs/RB s. The list can also provide information of an SCS configuration for determination of the T/F resources. For example, with i.sub.0,t = 0 and i.sub.0,f = 0 along with N = 40 slots and M = 100 RBs, the list refers to {slot#0, slot#1, ..., slot#39} and {RB#0, RB#1, ..., RB#99}. The beam indication can be in an ascending order with frequency first, then time. For example, a first beam indication is associated with (slot#0, RB#0), a second beam indication associated with (slot#0, RB#1), ..., and a 4000.sup.th beam indication is associated with (slot#39, RB#99). [0332] In a further example, a list of T/F resources can include a number K.sub.t sets of consecutive symbols/slots, and a number K.sub.f sets of consecutive REs/RBs, wherein different sets may not be consecutive. For example, a first set of consecutive slots can be {slot#0, slot#1, slot#2}, and a second set of consecutive slots can be {slot#5, slot#6, slot#7}. Similar, a first set of consecutive RBs can be {RB#0, RB#1, ..., RB#9}, and a second set of consecutive RBs can be {RB#20, RB#21, ..., RB#29}. Accordingly, the NCR can be provided index and size of each set of consecutive symbols/slots or REs/RBs. [0333] In yet another example, a list of T/F resources can be in groups of multiple symbols/slots, such as K.sub.t = 3 symbols/slots, or groups of multiple REs/RBs, such as K.sub.f = 4 REs/RBs. Therefore, each beam indication is applied to the corresponding group of symbols/slots/REs/RBs, rather than a single symbol/slot/RE/RB. Different groups of T/F resources can be consecutive or non-consecutive.).
Regarding claim 20, MolavianJazi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 14, Network controlled repeater (NCR)) comprising a processor ([0006] The NCR further includes a processor operably coupled to the transceiver of the NCR-MT entity) that is configured to carry out a method, comprising:
receiving, by a network node, a beam indication for access links from a wireless communication node, the access links comprising at least one of a first forwarding link from the network node to a wireless communication device, or a second forwarding link from the wireless communication device to the network node ([0182] Throughout the present disclosure an NCR-MT is also referred to as SR-MT, an NCR-Fwd is also referred to as SR-RU or NCR-RU, an NCR backhaul link or an NCR control-link (C-link) is also referred to as NCR-to-gNB link, and the NCR access link is also referred to as NCR-to-UE(s) link. Fig. 14, [0257] One embodiment includes beam indication and beam management for the NCR-to-UE link (also referred to as the NCR access link): Exchange of information between NCR-MT and gNB about beam selection for/by the NCR-Fwd on the access link. The NCR-MT can be provided by the gNB information about selection of beams by the NCR-Fwd for the NCR-to-UE link (also referred to as the NCR access link) for UE(s) that are served through the NCR. Such beams can be used by the NCR-Fwd, for example, when performing amplify-and-forward (AF) for transmissions from the gNB to the UE(s) served through the NCR, or for receptions from such UE(s) to the gNB. [0262] The gNB provides the beam indication for NCR-Fwd beam selection to a corresponding NCR-MT using a ‘beam indication message’ which is one of various side control information messages exchanged between gNB and the NCR for controlling the NCR operation by the gNB. [0264] One embodiment includes a first approach to beam indication for the access link: Association of NCR beams with T/F resources, with NCR transparency to signals/channels. In the first approach to beam indication for NCR on the access link, the gNB provides the NCR-MT a mapping from time/frequency resources to a set of UE-side NCR-Fwd spatial filters (namely, NCR spatial filters for the access link), without indicating whether the time/frequency (T/F) resources correspond to signals or channel, downlink or uplink, and so on. The mapping includes a list of T/F resource indexes along with associated beam indexes/indications.);
receiving, by the network node, a beam indication for backhaul links from the wireless communication node, the backhaul links comprising at least one of a third forwarding link from the wireless communication node to the network node, or a fourth forwarding link from the network node to the wireless communication node (Fig. 14, [0181] The NCR-Fwd is defined as a functional entity to perform the amplify-and-forwarding of UL/DL RF signal between gNB and UE via backhaul link and access link. The behaviour of the NCR-Fwd will be controlled according to the received side control information from gNB. [0242] In another example, the NCR-MT can be provided a separate indication that provides a third beam index from the multiple beams on the gNB-to-NCR link (C-link), and NCR-Fwd uses the third beam for transmission/reception on the gNB-to-NCR link (backhaul link) until the NCR-Fwd is provided a new indication.); and
performing a communication using at least one of the access links or the backhaul links ([0267] The NCR-RU can use the indicated beam for transmitting (after AF operation on) DL receptions of the UE(s) from the gNB, or for receiving (before AF operation of) UL transmissions from the UE(s) to the gNB, based on the FDD band configuration or TDD DL/UL configuration information that is provided to the NCR.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi (US 20230283348 A1) in view of Yin (US 20260040322 A1).
Regarding claim 11, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the wireless communication node uses an additional signaling for determining that a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is for beam information associated with the backhaul links.
Yin in the same field of endeavor of network controlled repeaters teaches ([0216] RRC signaling/message may provide a separate/different TCI state/list/table configuration(s) comprising TCI state(s) for beam(s) associated with C-link 1519 and/or backhaul-link 1520 and/or access link 1523. For example, the RRC parameter tci-StatesToAddModList-C-Link is a list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states comprising TCI state(s) for beam(s) associated with C-Link 1519 (e.g. TCI-State, TCI-State-C-Link, TCI-StateId) and the RRC parameter tci-StatesToAddModList-Backhaul-Link is a list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states comprising TCI state(s) for beam(s) associated with Backhaul-Link (e.g. TCI-State, TCI-State-Backhaul-Link, TCI-StateId) and the RRC parameter tci-StatesToAddModList-Access-Link is a list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states comprising TCI state(s) for beam(s) associated with Access-Link 1523 (e.g. TCI-State, TCI-State-Access-Link TCI-StateId). The RRC parameter tci-StatesToAddModList-C-Link and/or the RRC parameter tci-StatesToAddModList-Backhaul-Link and/or the RRC parameter tci-StatesToAddModList-Access-Link may be configured in separate/different PDSCH configurations (RRC messages/signalings, IEs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam indication information of MolavianJazi to uses additional signaling for determining that a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is for beam information associated with the backhaul links of Yin. The motivation to do so would have been to provide methods for beam indication of Network-Controlled Repeater (NCR) (Yin; [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi (US 20230283348 A1) in view of Kobayashi (US 20230282976 A1).
Regarding claim 15, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 12, but does not teach wherein all beam patterns in the list are sequentially numbered with indices or identities.
Kobayashi in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein all beam patterns in the list are sequentially numbered with indices or identities (Fig. 2A and Fig. 4A, the memory M of the controller 13 stores a table TB1 in which set values to be set in the amplitude and phase controllers 22 of the transmission/reception units 12a to 12d are defined. [0057] Specifically, as shown in FIG. 2A, the table TB1 defines four set values (“set value 1” to “set value 4”) for each of beam pattern indexes. Here, the beam pattern index is an index for specifying the antenna beam pattern to be formed. In the example shown in FIG. 2A, eight types of beam pattern indexes specified by the numerical values “1” to “8” are prepared. That is, in the phased array antenna 1 of the present embodiment, it is possible to form eight types of antenna beam patterns. Further, the four set values (“set value 1” to “set value 4”) are set values to be set in the amplitude and phase controllers 22 of the transmission/reception units 12a to 12d, respectively.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the beam patterns of MolavianJazi to include them in a sequentially numbered list with indices or identities such as the table of Kobayashi. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a phased array antenna capable of reducing the amount of memory required to form a desired antenna beam pattern (Kobayashi; [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi (US 20230283348 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20250031062 A1).
Regarding claim 17, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 16, but does not teach wherein the timing information associated with the beams based on a default time length is used for each beam in an ordered sequence of beams.
Zhu in the same field of endeavor of network controlled repeaters teaches wherein the timing information associated with the beams based on a default time length is used for each beam in an ordered sequence of beams ([0276] In embodiments of the present disclosure, a duration of continuously using each beam in the RRC configuration is, by default, one time unit, such as one slot or one symbol. The smart repeater uses each beam in sequence according to an occurrence order of beam IDs; or may indicate the periodicity in the RRC message. In case of indicating the periodicity, the smart repeater uses beams in sequence according to a specified periodicity.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing information of MolavianJazi to include the default time length of Zhu to use for an ordered sequence of beams. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for indicating a beam on a service link of a smart repeater and a device thereof (Zhu; [0002]).
Regarding claim 18, MolavianJazi teaches the method of claim 16, but does not teach, wherein the timing information is a time length applicable for all beams in an ordered sequence of beams.
Zhu in the same field of endeavor of network controlled repeaters teaches ([0249] On a service link, for example, the periodic beam cycle is configured to broadcast a system message and transmit a periodic reference signal, and a beam indication may be completed by a network device configuring one or more groups of periodic beams for a smart repeater. Specific configuration parameters at least include an ID of one group of beams, a periodicity and a starting position of the beams. The periodicity is a time length that applies to all beams in the ordered sequence of beams).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the timing information of MolavianJazi to include the periodicity of Zhu as a time length applicable for all beams in an ordered sequence of beams. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method for indicating a beam on a service link of a smart repeater and a device thereof (Zhu; [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Babaei (US 20240057110 A1) discloses configuration parameter(s) indicating a plurality of side control information (SCIs) associated with the NCR.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465