DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 15-21 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stryker et al., hereinafter 'Stryker' (WO 2013166003 A1).
In regards to Claim 15, Stryker teaches: A patient repositioning system (Fig. 1) comprising: an air pump (Para 0048: "a pump, fan or compressor"); an inflatable sheet (12 - Fig. 8, Para 0063); a first inflatable support (14a - Fig. 6, Para 0068 and Para 0052) and a second inflatable support of the inflatable sheet (14a - Fig. 6, Para 0068 and Para 0052); the first inflatable support having a first air inlet (30a - Fig. 3) configured to be connected to the air pump and be inflated independently of the inflatable sheet and the second inflatable support (Para 0053: "Similarly, fluid, typically air, is supplied to and optionally evacuated from the respective bladders by one or more inlets/outlets, which are coupled to respective conduits 30a, 30b, such as tubing, which are connected to either the same or different air supply that supplies air to low air loss surface 16.", noting that as air flows through 16 and then through 30a/30b, which is dependent upon which conduit is supplying the fluid, it will then meet at the respective support | further pointing to the 'indirect' connection the air must move between the air pump -> inlet -> and through the respective sheet and inflatable supports); the second inflatable support having a second air inlet (30b - Fig. 3)configured to be connected to the air pump and be inflated independently of the inflatable sheet and the first inflatable support (Para 0053: "Similarly, fluid, typically air, is supplied to and optionally evacuated from the respective bladders by one or more inlets/outlets, which are coupled to respective conduits 30a, 30b, such as tubing, which are connected to either the same or different air supply that supplies air to low air loss surface 16.", noting that as air flows through 16 and then through 30a/30b, which is dependent upon which conduit is supplying the fluid, it will then meet at the respective support | further pointing to the 'indirect' connection the air must move between the air pump -> inlet -> and through the respective sheet and inflatable supports).
In regards to Claim 16, Stryker teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15 wherein the first and second inflatable supports each include an inflatable wedge (Para 0068: "the wedge shaped cross-sections of bladders 14a and 14b.").
In regards to Claim 17, Stryker teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15 wherein the first and second inflatable supports are permanently joined to the inflatable sheet (Para 0053: "The central seam 28 may be formed by a single weld or multiple welds that secure the upper and lower sheets together to form a central hinge for the respective turning bladders.", Fig. 4).
In regards to Claim 21, Stryker teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15 wherein the first and second inflatable supports each include an initial configuration that permits a patient to lie flat on the inflatable sheet (Fig. 1 - shows flat configuration) and an inflated configuration that elevates a portion of the patient (Fig. 7 - shows elevating a portion of the patient) and relieves pressure on the skin of the patient (Para 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 'Stryker' (WO 2013166003 A1) in view of Reiners et al., hereinafter 'Reiners 2015' (US 20150101126 A1).
In regards to Claim 18, Stryker teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15, but Stryker does not explicitly teach, wherein the first and second inflatable support each include an upper wall with a patient-supporting surface, the upper wall being made of an air-permeable material.
Reiners 2015 teaches: wherein the first and second inflatable support each include an upper wall with a patient-supporting surface (20, 22 - Fig. 10), the upper wall being made of an air-permeable material (Para 0066: "The rate of deflation is also a function of the air permeability characteristics of the fabric material. Semi permeable fabric material that allows for a high flow of air through the fabric material would allow for a more rapid rate of deflation of the inflated components (20, 22, 102) than semi permeable fabric material that allows for a low flow of air.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the patient repositioning system of Stryker to include first and second inflatable supports each having an upper wall made of an air-permeable material, as taught by Reiners 2015. Reiners 2015 expressly teaches air-permeable upper walls for inflatable patient-supporting surfaces to control airflow and deflation characteristics. Incorporating such air-permeable materials into the inflatable supports of Stryker would have been an obvious design choice to achieve predictable results related to airflow management and patient support.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 'Stryker' (WO 2013166003 A1) in view of Reiners et al., hereinafter 'Reiners 955' (US 9554956 B2).
In regards to Claim 18, Stryker teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15, but Stryker does not explicitly teach, wherein the first and second inflatable support each include an upper wall with a patient-supporting surface, the upper wall being made of an air-permeable material.
Reiners 2015 teaches: wherein the first and second inflatable support each include an upper wall with a patient-supporting surface (20, 22 - Fig. 10), the upper wall being made of an air-permeable material (Para 0066: "The rate of deflation is also a function of the air permeability characteristics of the fabric material. Semi permeable fabric material that allows for a high flow of air through the fabric material would allow for a more rapid rate of deflation of the inflated components (20, 22, 102) than semi permeable fabric material that allows for a low flow of air.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the patient repositioning system of Stryker to include first and second inflatable supports having air-permeable upper walls, as taught by Reiners ’956. Reiners ’956 teaches that the permeability of the upper wall material directly affects airflow and deflation performance of inflatable components. Applying this known feature to Stryker’s inflatable supports would have been an obvious substitution yielding predictable performance benefits.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 'Stryker' (WO 2013166003 A1) in view of Flick et al., hereinafter 'Flick' (US 8347436 B2)
In regards to Claim 20, Stryker teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15, Stryker does not explicitly teach, wherein the inflatable sheet has a sheet air inlet configured to be connected to the air pump and be inflated independently of the first and second inflatable supports
Flick teaches: wherein the inflatable sheet has a sheet air inlet configured to be connected to the air pump and be inflated independently of the first and second inflatable supports (Col 3 Lines 63-67, Col 8 Lines 49-54, and noting Figs. 9-10 showing the top portion capable of inflating/deflating independently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the patient repositioning system of Stryker to include an inflatable sheet having a dedicated air inlet configured to be connected to an air pump and inflated independently of the first and second inflatable supports, as taught by Flick. Flick teaches independently inflatable sections supplied by separate air inlets to allow selective inflation and deflation. Incorporating this feature into Stryker would have been an obvious modification to improve operational flexibility and control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davis (WO 2019036458 A1) teaches: An inflatable transfer mattress includes a top panel, a bottom panel having a perimeter sealingly coupled to a perimeter of the top panel to define an internal volume therebetween, a first wedge pocket coupled to an outer surface of the top panel, and a first inflatable wedge. The internal volume is configured to receive an air flow therein. The first inflatable wedge is sized and configured to be inserted into the first wedge pocket and is configured to be transitioned from a deflated state to an inflated state. The first inflatable wedge is configured to rotate a patient to a predetermined angle with respect to the top panel in the inflated state.
Bhat et al., (US 20150052685 A1) teaches: Conformable support systems for conforming to a body are described in which a support assembly may be provided to support particular regions of the body where pressure ulcers tend to form. The conforming support may generally comprise a central portion, a first side portion attached to the central portion, and a second side portion attached to the central portion opposite to the first side portion. Each of the chambers are in fluid communication with one another such that a pressure applied upon the central chamber reconfigures the support assembly from a flattened configuration to an angled configuration in which fluid or gas within the central portion is urged into the first and/or second portions such that the side portions pivot to a predetermined height and angle relative to the central portion and form a conforming channel sized to support a region of a patient body.
/MADISON MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673