DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 15-21 and 23-26 have been examined in this application. Claim 22 has been canceled. Claims 23-26 are newly added. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Request for Continued Examination (RCE)” filed 08/14/2026. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 08/14/2026 and 08/20/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
As such, the Notice of Allowance mailed on 06/15/2026, is hereby withdrawn in view of the claims submitted by Applicant (05/19/2026), as well as the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted by Applicant (08/14/2026 and 08/20/2026). The claims have been reconsidered in view of the amendments and the additional information of record, and the present Notice of Allowance reflects the Examiner’s consideration of the current claim set and the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-16, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilkinson (US 6370716 B1).
In regards to Claim 15, Wilkinson teaches: A patient repositioning system (300 - Fig. 17) comprising: an air pump (304 - Fig. 17); an inflatable sheet (322 - Fig. 19) including an upper layer (328 - Fig. 18) , a lower layer (330 - Fig. 18), and a cover layer (22 - Fig. 19), the cover layer covering the upper layer (Fig. 19); a first inflatable support (302A - Fig. 19) and a second inflatable support (302B - Fig. 19) of the inflatable sheet (Fig. 19); the first inflatable support having a first air inlet (302 - Fig. 17) configured to be connected to the air pump (Fig. 17) and be inflated independently of the inflatable sheet and the second inflatable support ("Each support zone comprises at least one support cell. Each support cell includes at least one intake valve and at least one exhaust valve. The intake valve for each support cell in each support zone is connected to the intake control system. The exhaust valves from each support cell in a single support zone are connected to a single exhaust control system. Each support zone has a separate exhaust control system. The intake control system is connected to the fluid supply reservoir. The exhaust control system for each support zone is connected to the fluid exhaust reservoir. Generally, the pressure level in each support zone is set at a different level."); the second inflatable support having a second air inlet (309 - Fig. 17) configured to be connected to the air pump (Fig. 17) and be inflated independently of the inflatable sheet and the first inflatable support ("Each support zone comprises at least one support cell. Each support cell includes at least one intake valve and at least one exhaust valve. The intake valve for each support cell in each support zone is connected to the intake control system. The exhaust valves from each support cell in a single support zone are connected to a single exhaust control system. Each support zone has a separate exhaust control system. The intake control system is connected to the fluid supply reservoir. The exhaust control system for each support zone is connected to the fluid exhaust reservoir. Generally, the pressure level in each support zone is set at a different level."); wherein a lower portion of the first and second inflatable supports each include a portion of the cover layer (Fig. 19).
In regards to Claim 16, Wilkinson teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15 wherein the first and second inflatable supports each include an inflatable wedge (fluid 312 flowing into the bladders form an inflatable wedge shape - Fig. 19).
In regards to Claim 19, Wilkinson teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15 wherein: the upper layer and the lower layer are urged apart with inflation of the inflatable sheet (Fig. 18).
In regards to Claim 21, Wilkinson teaches: The patient repositioning system of claim 15 wherein the first and second inflatable supports each include an initial configuration that permits a patient to lie flat on the inflatable sheet (Fig. 19, not having 302A be inflated and be flat like 302B) and an inflated configuration that elevates a portion of the patient and relieves pressure on the skin of the patient (Fig. 19, showing inflated configuration elevating a person's side, wherein 302A is inflated and 302B is not inflated - noting 'In hospitals which provide care to patients confined to a bed for extended periods of time, the patients often suffer from the effects of excess pressure transmitted to their bodies. As known in the medical field, continuous pressure applied to a patient's body can cause soft tissue damage. When the external pressure exerted on the patient's skin causes blood carrying capillaries to close, soft tissue degeneration may occur. This soft tissue damage may lead to the formation of pressure sores. For example, continuous pressure applied to a patient's heel can cause a pressure sore to develop on the heel. ').
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17-18, 20, and 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to Claim 17, Wilkinson fails to teach or suggest wherein the first and second inflatable supports are permanently joined to the inflatable sheet. Rather, Wilkinson expressly teaches a removable arrangement in which closure 326 allows jacket 322 to be opened so that the support cells may be placed into and removed from the jacket. Thus, Wilkinson’s inflatable supports are specifically configured to be removable from the inflatable sheet rather than permanently joined thereto.
In regards to Claim 18, Wilkinson fails to teach or suggest wherein the first and second inflatable supports each include an upper wall having a patient-supporting surface, wherein the upper wall is made of an air-permeable material. While Wilkinson discloses inflatable support cells for supporting a patient, Wilkinson does not disclose the claimed air-permeable upper wall forming the patient-supporting surface of each inflatable support.
In regards to Claim 20, Wilkinson fails to teach or suggest wherein the inflatable sheet has a sheet air inlet configured to be connected to the air pump such that the inflatable sheet is inflatable independently of the first and second inflatable supports. Wilkinson discloses independently controllable support zones/cells, but does not disclose the inflatable sheet itself being independently inflatable through a separate sheet air inlet as claimed.
In regards to Claim 24, Wilkinson fails to teach or suggest wherein the cover layer is made of a high-friction material for engaging a patient and inhibiting movement of the patient relative to the inflatable sheet. To the contrary, Wilkinson expressly describes outer cover 22 as providing a low-friction and low-shear surface to protect the patient from frictional tissue damage. Accordingly, Wilkinson teaches a cover having frictional characteristics contrary to the claimed high-friction cover layer.
In regards to Claim 25, Wilkinson fails to teach or suggest wherein the first and second inflatable supports include a plurality of sidewalls and a plurality of baffles, wherein the sidewalls and the baffles are joined to the cover layer. Wilkinson does not disclose the claimed structural relationship between the inflatable supports, their sidewalls and baffles, and the cover layer.
In regards to Claim 26, Wilkinson fails to teach or suggest wherein the cover layer is laminated to the upper layer of the inflatable sheet. Rather, Wilkinson expressly teaches closure 326, which permits jacket 322 to be opened so that the support cells may be placed into and removed from the jacket. This removable construction does not disclose the claimed lamination of the cover layer to the upper layer of the inflatable sheet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ribble et al., (US-10391010-B2) teaches: A sleep system is provided comprising a head support section, a torso support section, a leg support section, and a cradle surface provided on at least an upper portion of the torso support section. The head support section is generally laterally angled at an angle greater than the lateral angle of the torso support section and the leg support section. The cradle surface has at least a partial curvature and a lateral width of from about 12 inches to about 36 inches. The lateral angle of the head support section is at least about 10 degrees, the lateral angle of the torso support section is greater than the lateral angle of the leg support section, and the lateral angle of the leg support section is less than about 10 degrees.
Haas et al., (US 6119292 A) teaches: A portable patient torso support and rotating system mattress overlay having a base sheet sized to fit under a patient with means to secure it to the support surface of a mattress, and two side by side pairs of inflatable and deflatable bladders attached to the base sheet and sized and positioned to fit under each side of the torso of a patient lying thereon and structured, when fully inflated, to rotate the patient up to 90 degrees to turn on their hip.
Hasty (US 5092007 A) teaches: An air movement overlay system including a pair of parallel main rolling chambers arranged under the patient's torso. Auxiliary rolling chambers overlie each main rolling chamber. Constant pressure inflation head rest, leg separation chamber, and outrigger chambers are provided. The system is automatically controlled to establish the patient alternately in roll right and roll left positions, interspersed with neutral positions. In preparation for rolling, both main rolling chambers are inflated to a pressure of at least about 65% of the maximum main rolling chamber inflation pressure. The main rolling chambers are spaced apart and connected by a central uninflated web.
MADISON MATTHEWS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/MADISON MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673