DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0172995 (Wetzel).
Regarding claim 21, Wetzel disclose a pest control system comprising:
a pest control device comprising an active infrared sensor (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]); and
a housing that includes a first opening (46), a second opening (48), and a passage (Fig. 5 and 6), wherein the first opening and the second opening are in communication with either end of the passage [0046], and wherein the passage is sized to receive an insect (Fig. 5 and 6);
wherein the pest control device is coupled to the housing such that the active infrared sensor is positioned to illuminate a first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 22, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 21, wherein:
the passage includes an upper ceiling having a ceiling opening positioned above the first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046); and
the active infrared sensor is positioned to illuminate the first part of the passage through the ceiling opening (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 23, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 21, wherein the housing further includes a bait chamber positioned adjacent to the first part of the passage and a window positioned between the first part of the passage and the bait chamber, wherein the window is sized to exclude the insect (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 24, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 21, wherein the housing further includes a first wall, a second wall, a floor, and a ceiling that cooperate to define the first opening, wherein the first opening narrows to the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 25, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 24, wherein the floor defines a ramp from the first opening to the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 26, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 21, wherein the passage is sized to receive an American cockroach (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 27, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 21, wherein the passage has a height of about 17 millimeters (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 28, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 27, wherein the height of the passage extends from a floor of the passage to the active infrared sensor of the pest control device (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 29, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 27, wherein the passage has a width of about 17 millimeters (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 30, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 21, wherein the pest control device further comprises: a pest detection module configured to (i) determine, by the active infrared sensor, an active infrared signature for the first part of the passage, and (ii) determine, by the active infrared sensor, whether the active infrared signature is outside a predetermined window in relation to a predetermined baseline signature; and a response module configured to perform a pest control action in response to a determination that the active infrared signature is outside the predetermined window (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 31, Wetzel disclose a pest control system comprising:
a top cover removably coupled to a base (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]);
a pest control device removably coupled within an interior volume of the top cover (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]); and
an insert removably coupled within the interior volume of the top cover below the pest control device and above the base (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]);
wherein the base includes a floor, a first wall, and a second wall that cooperate to define a first opening, a second opening, and a passage in communication with the first opening and the second opening, wherein the passage is sized to receive an insect (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]);
wherein the insert includes a bottom surface that defines a ceiling of the passage of the base, and wherein the insert includes an opening through the bottom surface positioned above a first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]); and
wherein the pest control device comprises an active infrared sensor positioned on a bottom surface of the pest control device and above the opening of the insert and above the first part of the passage, wherein the active infrared sensor is configured to illuminate the first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0046]).
Regarding claim 32, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 31, wherein the base further includes a bait chamber positioned adjacent to the first part of the passage and partial wall positioned between the first part of the passage and the bait chamber, wherein the partial wall is sized to exclude the insect (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 33, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 31, wherein: the top cover comprises a plurality of vertical ribs that extend into the interior volume of the top cover, wherein the plurality of vertical ribs engage a side wall of the pest control device; and the insert comprises a plurality of slots, wherein each of the slots is sized to receive a vertical rib of the plurality of vertical ribs (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 34, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 31, wherein: the base comprises a plurality of posts; the insert comprises plurality of through holes, wherein each through hole is sized to receive a post; and wherein the top cover comprises plurality of lugs, wherein each lug is sized to receive a post (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 35, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 31, wherein the passage has a height of about 17 millimeters (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 36, Wetzel disclose the pest control system of claim 35, wherein the height of the passage extends from a floor of the passage to the bottom surface of the insert (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 37, Wetzel disclose a pest station comprising: a base comprising a floor, a first wall, and a second wall that cooperate to define a first opening, a second opening, and a passage in communication with the first opening and the second opening, wherein the passage is sized to receive an insect (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]); and a top cover removably coupled to the base, wherein the top cover comprises an interior volume sized to receive a pest control device, wherein the interior volume is open to a first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 38, Wetzel disclose the pest station of claim 37, wherein the top cover comprises a plurality of vertical ribs that extend into the interior volume of the top cover, wherein the plurality of vertical ribs are configured to engage the pest control device (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 39, Wetzel disclose the pest station of claim 37, wherein the top cover includes a bottom surface that defines a ceiling of the passage, and wherein the top cover includes an opening in the bottom surface positioned above the first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 40, Wetzel disclose the pest station of claim 37, further comprising an insert removably coupled within the interior volume of the top cover above the base, wherein the insert includes a bottom surface that defines a ceiling of the passage of the base, and wherein the insert includes an opening through the bottom surface positioned above a first part of the passage (Fig. 5 and 6, [0045]-[0046]).
Conclusion
/DANI FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884