DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,038 (the ‘038 Patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 of the ‘038 Patent recite all the features of Claims 1-22 except for the flexible arm being configured to be located between and physically and electrically connecting an acoustic module of a headphone to an other portion of the headphone, and an electrical connection that extends through the entire original resting length of the flexible arm. Claims 1-20 of the ‘038 Patent recites “a flexible arm that is configured to be located between and physically and electrically connect an acoustic module of an open-ear headphone to a battery housing of the open-ear headphone” (emphasis added), and “a flexible printed circuit that extends through the entire original resting length of the flexible arm” (emphasis added). A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where a claim in an application under examination claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter claimed in a prior patent or a copending application. The claim under examination is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) if the claim under examination is anticipated by the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 1052, 29 USPQ2d 2010, 2015-16 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Here, the broader limitations of “an other portion of the headphone” and “an electrical connection” would anticipate a battery portion of an outer-ear headphone, and a flexible printed circuit, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-10, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graff et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,924,838, patented on February 16, 2021 (Graff).
As to Claim 1, Graff discloses a flexible arm [20, 172] that is configured to be located between and physically and electrically connect an acoustic module [12, 177] of a headphone [10] to an other portion [19] of the headphone [10], the flexible arm comprising: an electrical connection [120] that extends through the entire original resting length of the flexible arm [20, 172] and comprises a conductor that is configured to carry electrical energy between the acoustic module [12, 177] and the other portion [19] of the headphone [10] (the electrical connection is a flexible printed circuit that is coupled to battery in [19] and the acoustic module [12, 177]; col. 7, lines 49-52); at least one link member [90]; and a flexible material that encases at least some of the at least one link member [90] and at least some of the electrical connection [120] (a flexible material is overmolded on the link member [90] and electrical connection [120] col. 8, lines 20 and 26; see Figs. 9-10).
As to Claim 2, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the electrical connection [120] comprises a flexible printed circuit board (col. 7, lines 49-52).
As to Claim 3, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses a first interface structure [94] coupled to one of the acoustic module [12, 177] and the other portion [19] of the headphone [10] (interface structure [94] connects to acoustic module [177]; see Fig. 4), wherein the flexible material encases at least some of the first interface structure [94] (the flexible material is overmolded on [94]; col. 7, lines 16-22).
As to Claim 9, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the at least one link member [90] at least partially surrounds the electrical connection [120] (see Fig. 6).
As to Claim 10, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses a guide member [116] coupled to the at least one link member [90] (col. 7, lines 46-48), wherein the electrical connection [120] passes through a channel in the guide member [166], thereby coupling the electrical connection [120] to the at least one link member [90] (col. 7, lines 57-59).
As to Claim 15, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the at least one link member [90] comprises a motion limiting feature that limits rotational movement of the link member [90] (the link member [90] is differentially compliant about at least two axes; col. 6, lines 56-62).
As to Claim 16, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the at least one link member [90] is formed of a rigid plastic (col. 6, lines 64-65).
As to Claim 17, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the at least one link member [90] is formed of metalk (col. 6, lines 65-66).
As to Claim 18, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the flexible material comprises an external layer of the entire flexible arm [20, 172] (the flexible material is an overmold intended to contact a user’s skin; col. 8, lines 9-13).
As to Claim 19, Graff remains as applied above to Claim 1. Graff further discloses that the original resting position of the flexible arm [20, 172] lies along a curved axis that defines a simple open curve (see Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/RYAN ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694