Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 16, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (PG Pub. No. 2018/0190386 A1) and further in view of King (PG Pub. No. 2009/0094193 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
storing linked first and second data objects associated with corresponding first and second pluralities of properties (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0027], where Fig. 11 shows an example in which a number of objects are interconnected through links on their interfaces, allowing a user to explore relevant information); and
based on a user limitation, automatically deriving a conclusion object comprising a third plurality of properties derived from a subset of one or more of the first or second pluralities of properties, wherein the conclusion object comprises metadata associated with the third plurality of properties (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0007], for an analysis module configured to display identification of a data set for which an analysis was made, and an analysis summary or figure that represents a result of the analysis).
Yoshikawa does not disclose:
receiving a request to access the conclusion object, the request comprises a user credential;
based on the user credential, generating a response object comprising a subset of the third plurality of properties; and
transmitting the response object.
King discloses:
receiving a request to access the conclusion object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises receiving from a client a request for data that is stored at least in part in a particular column of a table in a database management by the database server), wherein the request comprises a user credential (see King, Claim 3, wherein the permissions for accessing the one or more data values are associated with one or more roles that are assigned to one or more users of the database);
based on the user credential, generating a response object comprising a subset of the third plurality of properties (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises processing the request and retrieving a set of rows from the database, wherein each row of the set of rows includes the particular column of the table and after retrieving the set of rows and before sending a result set of rows to the client, at the database server modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows by applying the security policy to said each row of the set of rows, wherein applying the security policy to said each row comprises determining whether the security policy is satisfied for the particular column of said each row); and
transmitting the response object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises after modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows, at the database server returning the result set of rows to the client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the user limitation comprises a property type, and wherein said automatically deriving is based on the user limitation including the property type (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0064], where objects representing physical samples: sample [‘sample name’, <type>], e.g., sample [‘nearest neighbor strand 4’, ‘DNA’] encapsulates information involving that sample such as materials involved in its creation, dates, an experimental results from production experience involved, attributes of the sample, such as its volume, pH, concentration, and its physical location in the lab).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising receiving a second user limitation associated with at least one of the first or second pluralities of properties, wherein said automatically deriving is further based on the second user limitation (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0091], where the recommended value for a parameter is not a fixed value but rather a formula or function that takes input from another experiment or another portion of the same experiment; see also paragraph [0035], where the system can include a variety of laboratory instruments that are connected or interconnected with one or more computers [it is the position of the Examiner that obtaining information from another experiment constitutes a second user limitation]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein the second user limitation comprises a property type (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0064], where objects representing physical samples: sample [‘sample name’, <type>], e.g., sample [‘nearest neighbor strand 4’, ‘DNA’] encapsulates information involving that sample such as materials involved in its creation, dates, an experimental results from production experience involved, attributes of the sample, such as its volume, pH, concentration, and its physical location in the lab).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising receiving, via one or more sensors, sensor data, wherein the first plurality of properties are based, at least in part, on the sensor data (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0067], where linkage of the generated instruction with the experiment parameters, physical sample inputs, environmental sensors, and other contextual information).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the response object comprises second metadata associated with the subset of the third plurality of properties, and wherein the second metadata comprises a portion of the metadata. King discloses the response object comprises second metadata associated with the subset of the third plurality of properties, and wherein the second metadata comprises a portion of the metadata (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises processing the request and retrieving a set of rows from the database, wherein each row of the set of rows includes the particular column of the table and after retrieving the set of rows and before sending a result set of rows to the client, at the database server modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows by applying the security policy to said each row of the set of rows, wherein applying the security policy to said each row comprises determining whether the security policy is satisfied for the particular column of said each row).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 7, further comprising:
Yoshikawa does not disclose based on the user credential, selecting the portion of the metadata to generate the second metadata. King discloses based on the user credential, selecting the portion of the metadata to generate the second metadata (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises processing the request and retrieving a set of rows from the database, wherein each row of the set of rows includes the particular column of the table and after retrieving the set of rows and before sending a result set of rows to the client, at the database server modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows by applying the security policy to said each row of the set of rows, wherein applying the security policy to said each row comprises determining whether the security policy is satisfied for the particular column of said each row).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 9, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
Yoshikawa does not disclose:
receiving a second request to access the conclusion object, the second request comprises a second user credential;
based on the second user credential generating a second response object comprises a second subset of the third plurality of properties; and
transmitting the second response object.
King discloses:
receiving a second request to access the conclusion object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises receiving from a client a request for data that is stored at least in part in a particular column of a table in a database management by the database server), wherein the second request comprises a second user credential (see King, Claim 3, wherein the permissions for accessing the one or more data values are associated with one or more roles that are assigned to one or more users of the database);
based on the second user credential generating a second response object comprises a second subset of the third plurality of properties (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises processing the request and retrieving a set of rows from the database, wherein each row of the set of rows includes the particular column of the table and after retrieving the set of rows and before sending a result set of rows to the client, at the database server modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows by applying the security policy to said each row of the set of rows, wherein applying the security policy to said each row comprises determining whether the security policy is satisfied for the particular column of said each row); and
transmitting the second response object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises after modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows, at the database server returning the result set of rows to the client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the second user credential is different from the user credential, and wherein the second subset is different from the subset. King discloses the second user credential is different from the user credential, and wherein the second subset is different from the subset (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises replacing, in the result set of rows, a second data value in the second column of said each row with the security-NULL value when the second security policy is not satisfied for the second column of each said row).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the second response object comprises an indication a second user has been prevented from accessing the conclusion object. King discloses the second response object comprises an indication a second user has been prevented from accessing the conclusion object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises replacing, in the result set of rows, a second data value in the second column of said each row with the security-NULL value when the second security policy is not satisfied for the second column of each said row).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Yoshikawa discloses a computing system comprising:
one or more computer-readable storage mediums storing program instructions; and
one or more processors configured to execute the program instructions to cause the computing system to perform a method comprising:
storing linked first and second data objects associated with corresponding first and second pluralities of properties (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0027], where Fig. 11 shows an example in which a number of objects are interconnected through links on their interfaces, allowing a user to explore relevant information); and
based on a user limitation, automatically deriving a conclusion object comprising a third plurality of properties derived from a subset of one or more of the first or second pluralities of properties, wherein the conclusion object comprises metadata associated with the third plurality of properties (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0007], for an analysis module configured to display identification of a data set for which an analysis was made, and an analysis summary or figure that represents a result of the analysis).
Yoshikawa does not disclose:
receiving a request to access the conclusion object, the request comprises a user credential;
based on the user credential, generating a response object comprising a subset of the third plurality of properties; and
transmitting the response object.
King discloses:
receiving a request to access the conclusion object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises receiving from a client a request for data that is stored at least in part in a particular column of a table in a database management by the database server), wherein the request comprises a user credential (see King, Claim 3, wherein the permissions for accessing the one or more data values are associated with one or more roles that are assigned to one or more users of the database);
based on the user credential, generating a response object comprising a subset of the third plurality of properties (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises processing the request and retrieving a set of rows from the database, wherein each row of the set of rows includes the particular column of the table and after retrieving the set of rows and before sending a result set of rows to the client, at the database server modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows by applying the security policy to said each row of the set of rows, wherein applying the security policy to said each row comprises determining whether the security policy is satisfied for the particular column of said each row); and
transmitting the response object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises after modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows, at the database server returning the result set of rows to the client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 13, further comprising:
Yoshikawa does not disclose:
receiving a second request to access the conclusion object, the second request comprises a second user credential;
based on the second user credential generating a second response object comprises a second subset of the third plurality of properties; and
transmitting the second response object.
King discloses:
receiving a second request to access the conclusion object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises receiving from a client a request for data that is stored at least in part in a particular column of a table in a database management by the database server), wherein the second request comprises a second user credential (see King, Claim 3, wherein the permissions for accessing the one or more data values are associated with one or more roles that are assigned to one or more users of the database);
based on the second user credential generating a second response object comprises a second subset of the third plurality of properties (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises processing the request and retrieving a set of rows from the database, wherein each row of the set of rows includes the particular column of the table and after retrieving the set of rows and before sending a result set of rows to the client, at the database server modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows by applying the security policy to said each row of the set of rows, wherein applying the security policy to said each row comprises determining whether the security policy is satisfied for the particular column of said each row); and
transmitting the second response object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises after modifying the set of rows into the result set of rows, at the database server returning the result set of rows to the client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 14, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the second user credential is different from the user credential, and wherein the second subset is different from the subset. King discloses the second user credential is different from the user credential, and wherein the second subset is different from the subset (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises replacing, in the result set of rows, a second data value in the second column of said each row with the security-NULL value when the second security policy is not satisfied for the second column of each said row).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 16, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 14, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the second response object comprises an indication a second user has been prevented from accessing the conclusion object. King discloses the second response object comprises an indication a second user has been prevented from accessing the conclusion object (see King, Claim 1, where the computer-implemented method comprises replacing, in the result set of rows, a second data value in the second column of said each row with the security-NULL value when the second security policy is not satisfied for the second column of each said row).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with King for the benefit of enforcing column or attribute level security (see King, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 13, wherein the user limitation comprises a property type, and wherein said automatically deriving is based on the user limitation including the property type (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0064], where objects representing physical samples: sample [‘sample name’, <type>], e.g., sample [‘nearest neighbor strand 4’, ‘DNA’] encapsulates information involving that sample such as materials involved in its creation, dates, an experimental results from production experience involved, attributes of the sample, such as its volume, pH, concentration, and its physical location in the lab).
Regarding Claim 20, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 13, further comprising receiving, via one or more sensors, sensor data, wherein the first plurality of properties are based, at least in part, on the sensor data (see Yoshikawa, paragraph [0067], where linkage of the generated instruction with the experiment parameters, physical sample inputs, environmental sensors, and other contextual information).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa and King as applied to Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-16, 19, and 20 above, and further in view of Szeto (PG Pub. No. 2019/0286832 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the user credential comprises a network identifier associated with a network from which the request is received. Szeto discloses the user credential comprises a network identifier associated with a network from which the request is received (see Szeto, paragraph [0060], where the IP whitelisting 555 may include a list of trusted IP addresses or IP ranges from which user devices 505 may access the virtual private cloud 515; in some cases, an IP address may be added to the trusted list based on an authentication procedure for a remote user device 505).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with Szeto for the benefit of providing secure access to a to separate environments for different tenants (see Szeto, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 13, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the user credential comprises a network identifier associated with a network from which the request is received. Szeto discloses the user credential comprises a network identifier associated with a network from which the request is received (see Szeto, paragraph [0060], where the IP whitelisting 555 may include a list of trusted IP addresses or IP ranges from which user devices 505 may access the virtual private cloud 515; in some cases, an IP address may be added to the trusted list based on an authentication procedure for a remote user device 505).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with Szeto for the benefit of providing secure access to a to separate environments for different tenants (see Szeto, Abstract).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa and King as applied to Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-16, 19, and 20 above, and further in view of Weaver (PG Pub. No. 2019/0361882 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the metadata indicates at least a portion of the third plurality of properties have been generated by an author, wherein the user credential is associated with the author, and wherein the subset of the third plurality of properties comprises the at least the portion of the third plurality of properties generated by the author. Weaver discloses the metadata indicates at least a portion of the third plurality of properties have been generated by an author, wherein the user credential is associated with the author, and wherein the subset of the third plurality of properties comprises the at least the portion of the third plurality of properties generated by the author (see Weaver, paragraph [0271], where a recursive hierarchy may allow an operator to grant a user of the database 100 access only to data created by the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with Weaver for the benefit of allowing user access to data created by the user (see Weaver, paragraph [0271]).
Regarding Claim 17, Yoshikawa in view of King discloses the computing system of Claim 13, wherein:
Yoshikawa does not disclose the metadata indicates at least a portion of the third plurality of properties have been generated by an author, wherein the user credential is associated with the author, and wherein the subset of the third plurality of properties comprises the at least the portion of the third plurality of properties generated by the author. Weaver discloses the metadata indicates at least a portion of the third plurality of properties have been generated by an author, wherein the user credential is associated with the author, and wherein the subset of the third plurality of properties comprises the at least the portion of the third plurality of properties generated by the author (see Weaver, paragraph [0271], where a recursive hierarchy may allow an operator to grant a user of the database 100 access only to data created by the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Yoshikawa with Weaver for the benefit of allowing user access to data created by the user (see Weaver, paragraph [0271]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Hatakeda (US Patent No. 6,057,837 A), which concerns on-screen manipulation of sources a data object depends on.
Khoyi (US Patent No. 5,303,379 A), which concerns linking objects and performing operations on the linked data.
Chen (PG Pub. No. 2017/0177646 A1), which concerns processing time series data from multiple sensors.
Boyce (PG Pub. No. 2008/0306989 A1), which concerns collection and storage of experimental data.
/FARHAD AGHARAHIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161