DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 208, 220. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim discloses all of the claimed features as follow:
“a catheter;
a computing device, the computing device including a processor and a memory, the memory storing thereon instructions that when executed by the processor:
receive information from the catheter;
identify, from the received information, movement of a distal portion of the catheter caused by physiological forces;
orient, based on the identified movement, the distal portion of the catheter towards a target” [see column 17 lines 55-67, claim 18 lines 1-19].
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 208, 220. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim discloses all of the claimed features as follow:
identify, from information received from a catheter, movement of a distal portion of the catheter, including movement caused by physiological forces;
orient, based in part on the identified movement, the distal portion of the catheter towards a target [see column 17 lines 55-67, claim 18 lines 1-19].
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 208, 220. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim discloses all of the claimed features as follow:
identify, from information received from a catheter, movement of a distal portion of the catheter, including movement caused by physiological forces;
articulate, based in part on the identified movement, the distal portion of the catheter in a direction towards a target [see column 19 lines 37-38, claim 20 lines 1-19].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-8, 11-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Altman et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0106147).
Regarding claim 2, Altman et al disclose a system, comprising:
a catheter (28) [see 0024-0025, 0040-0044];
a computing device, the computing device including a processor and a memory, the memory storing thereon instructions that when executed by the processor:
receive information from the catheter [see 0024, 0040, 0042] by disclosing a processor receives signals from position sensors in the catheters [see abstract];
identify, from the received information, movement of a distal portion of the catheter caused by physiological forces (forces that are created due to moving structure such as the heart) [see 0008, 0072] by disclosing moving structure, such as the heart [see 0072] and by disclosing ultrasound imaging can verify that an ablation catheter is in place and in contact with tissue to be ablated [see 0008];
orient, based on the identified movement, the distal portion of the catheter towards
a target [see 0010, 0024-0025, 0044] by disclosing the positioning processor is operative to maneuver the imaging catheter responsively to signals produced by the position sensor of the operative catheter [see 0025]
Regarding claim 3, Altman et al disclose comprising the memory storing thereon further instructions, that when executed by the processor, determine an orientation of the distal portion of the catheter relative to a target [see 0027, 0041-0042].
Regarding claim 4, Altman et al disclose wherein the orientation of the distal portion of the catheter is determined using image analysis [see 0065, 0068] by disclosing during a medical procedure the system 20 can continuously track and display the three-dimensional position of the catheter 28, using the catheter 27 to produce near real-time images of the catheter 28 and its target area [see 0065].
Regarding claim 7, Altman et al disclose wherein the physiological forces are caused by respiration and cardiac functions [see 0057].
Regarding claim 8, Altman et al disclose wherein the received signals are during navigation of the catheter towards the target [see 0065, 0068] by disclosing during a medical procedure the system 20 can continuously track and display the three-dimensional position of the catheter 28, using the catheter 27 to produce near real-time images of the catheter 28 and its target area [see 0065]
Regarding claim 11, Altman et al disclose receive images depicting the distal portion of the catheter and a target [see 0008, 0013-0015] by disclosing displacing the operative catheter and responsively to the current position of the operative catheter, automatically varying the field of view of the imaging catheter to include a predetermined target [see 0008];
identify the distal portion of the catheter and the target in the images [see 0008, 0013-0014] by disclosing ultrasound imaging can verify that an ablation catheter is in place and in contact with tissue to be ablated [see 0008];
confirm that the distal portion of the catheter is proximate to the target [see 0008] by disclosing ultrasound imaging can verify that an ablation catheter is in place and in contact with tissue to be ablated [see 0008].
Regarding claim 12, Altman et al disclose wherein the images are fluoroscopic or ultrasound images [see 0008, 0013] by disclosing ultrasound imaging can verify that an ablation catheter is in place and in contact with tissue to be ablated [see 0008].
Regarding claim 13, Altman et al disclose a system, comprising:
a computing device, the computing device including a processor and a memory, the memory storing thereon instructions that when executed by the processor:
identify, from information received from a catheter, movement of a distal portion of the catheter, including movement caused by physiological forces (forces that are created due to moving structure such as the heart) [see 0072] by disclosing moving structure, such as the heart [see 0008, 0072] and by disclosing ultrasound imaging can verify that an ablation catheter is in place and in contact with tissue to be ablated [see 0008];
orient, based in part on the identified movement, the distal portion of the catheter towards a target [see 0010, 0024-0025, 0044] by disclosing the positioning processor is operative to maneuver the imaging catheter responsively to signals produced by the position sensor of the operative catheter [see 0025]
Regarding claim 14, Altman et al disclose determine an orientation of the distal portion of the catheter relative to the target [see 0027, 0041-0042].
Regarding claim 16, Altman et al disclose wherein the physiological forces are caused by respiration and cardiac functions [see 0057, 0072] (forces that are created due to moving structure such as the heart) [see 0072] by disclosing moving structure, such as the heart [see 0008, 0072]
Regarding claim 17, Altman et al disclose determine a cyclic timing of the movement of the distal portion of the catheter due to physiological forces [see 0057, 0072] (forces that are created due to moving structure such as the heart) [see 0072] by disclosing moving structure, such as the heart [see 0008, 0072]
Regarding claim 18, Altman et al disclose detect, based on identified movement of the distal portion of the catheter due to physiological forces, a heart rate and a respiration rate (forces that are created due to moving structure such as the heart) [see 0072] by disclosing moving structure, such as the heart [see 0008, 0072]
Regarding claim 19, Altman et al disclose a system for maintaining orientation of a catheter towards a target, comprising:
a computing device, the computing device including a processor and a memory, the memory storing thereon instructions that when executed by the processor:
identify, from information received from a catheter, movement of a distal portion of the catheter, including movement caused by physiological forces (forces that are created due to moving structure such as the heart) [see 0008, 0072] by disclosing moving structure, such as the heart [see 0072] and by disclosing ultrasound imaging can verify that an ablation catheter is in place and in contact with tissue to be ablated [see 0008];
articulate, based in part on the identified movement, the distal portion of the catheter in a direction towards a target [see 0010, 0024-0025, 0044] by disclosing the positioning processor is operative to maneuver the imaging catheter responsively to signals produced by the position sensor of the operative catheter [see 0025]
Regarding claim 20, Altman et al disclose determine an orientation of the distal portion of the catheter relative to a target [see 0027, 0041-0042] and wherein the orientation of the distal portion of the catheter is determined using image analysis [see 0065, 0068] by disclosing during a medical procedure the system 20 can continuously track and display the three-dimensional position of the catheter 28, using the catheter 27 to produce near real-time images of the catheter 28 and its target area [see 0065].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0106147) in view of Kozuka et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0236000).
Regarding claims 5, 15, 21, Altman et al don’t disclose determine a three-dimensional angle between a current orientation of the distal portion of the catheter and an orientation where a vector extending from the distal portion of the catheter intersects the target.
Nonetheless, Kozuka et al disclose determine a three-dimensional angle between a current orientation of the distal portion of the catheter and an orientation where a vector extending from the distal portion of the catheter intersects the target [see 0095, 0101, abstract] by disclosing displays in a plane by a two-dimensional vector the catheter tip-end rotation angle calculated by the catheter tip-end rotation angle calculation unit [see 0095]
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Altman et al and Kozuka et al by determining a three-dimensional angle between a current orientation of the distal portion of the catheter and an orientation where a vector extending from the distal portion of the catheter intersects the target; to perform a smooth catheter manipulation.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0106147) in view of Kozuka et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0236000) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Frisco et al (Pub. No.: US 2010/0249507)
Regarding claim 6, Altman et al and Kozuka et al don’t disclose articulate the distal portion of the catheter to achieve the orientation where the vector extending from the distal portion of the catheter intersects the target.
Nonetheless, Frisco et al disclose articulate the distal portion of the catheter to achieve the orientation where the vector extending from the distal portion of the catheter intersects the target [see 0010, 0063-0064] by disclosing displaying a graphical representation of the transformed first vector along with a current image captured by the image capturing device on a display screen so as to indicate a direction to steer the tip of the endoscopic device towards the first landmark [see 0010, 0063-0064].
Frisco et al disclose graphical representations of the vectors point in directions that the endoscope tip is to be steered in order to move towards associated landmarks such as anatomic structures in a patient [see abstract].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Altman et al, Kozuka et al and Frisco et al by articulating the distal portion of the catheter to achieve the orientation where the vector extending from the distal portion of the catheter intersects the target; in order to provide guidance to the operator for navigating the endoscope 110 to a target site within the patient [see 0043, Frisco et al].
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0106147) in view of Viswanathan (Pub. No.: US 2004/0068173)
Regarding claim 9, Altman et al don’t disclose present on a user interface a virtual catheter tip and a virtual target.
Nonetheless, Viswanathan discloses present on a user interface a virtual catheter tip and a virtual target [see 0006, 0043, figs 58-59] by disclosing the user can identify a target location and the interface uses the virtual device model to determine the control parameter(s) to cause the actual device to reach the target [see 0006]; the user interface in target mode, showing the target cursor, the target, and the virtual device and showing the virtual device extending to a selected target [see 0025-0026].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Altman et al and Viswanathan by using a user interface a virtual catheter tip and a virtual target; for identifying a target point to which the virtual medical device configures itself to [see 0006, Viswanathan].
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altman et al (Pub. No.: US 2007/0106147) in view of Viswanathan (Pub. No.: US 2004/0068173) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Duindam et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0078103).
Regarding claim 10, Altman et al and Viswanathan don’t disclose present an indicator on the user interface when the physiological forces are in approximately the same phase of their cycle as when the distal portion of the catheter was confirmed oriented at the target.
Nonetheless, Duindam et al disclose present an indicator on the user interface when the physiological forces are in approximately the same phase of their cycle as when the distal portion of the catheter was confirmed oriented at the target [see 0055, 0071, 0085-0089] by disclosing friction forces [see 0086].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Altman et al, Viswanathan and Duindam et al by presenting an indicator on the user interface when the physiological forces are in approximately the same phase of their cycle as when the distal portion of the catheter was confirmed oriented at the target; to increase visualization.
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798