DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to amendments filed on 08/20/2026 to the Application No.:18/990,216, filed on 12/20/2024 (Provisional Priority Date: October 11, 2024).
Claims 1, 5-13, and 15-23 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made FINAL.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 10, 17, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art made of record failed to disclose the following combination of claim limitations with the language of the independent claims:
wherein the animation sequence is generated by: determining initial signed distance field (SDF) values for pixels associated with the at least one first object of the first digital artwork; determining, using warping fields on the initial SDF values, interpolated SDF values for the pixels for each frame of the multiple frames; and generating the animation sequence across the multiple frames by unwarping the digital artwork COMBINED WITH wherein the interpolated SDF values using the warping fields are determined by using two-level lookup to find sampling coordinates for each interpolated SDF value COMBINED WITH wherein the animation sequence includes adding, using physical laws of mechanics, secondary dynamics to the at least one object by: generating a triangle mesh of a final frame of the animation sequence; estimating, using last two frames of the multiple frames, a velocity of an implicit surface of the at least one second object; initializing a physics engine with the triangle mesh and the estimated velocity of the implicit surface; and running the mechanics of the at implicit surface forward until the at least one second object reaches a resting position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleges the following: “First, Villaron does not disclose "a motion effect including an interpolation from the first digital artwork to the second digital artwork," as recited in amended claim 1.” The examiner is not persuaded. Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 0029-0030 explicitly discloses “motion effect.” Villaron goes on to disclose “an interpolation” in Paragraphs 0004-0008. Villaron goes on to disclose “the first digital artwork to the second digital artwork” in Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-0049. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
The Applicant alleges the following: “Second, Villaron does not disclose "determining, by the processing device and based on a user input received via a user interface, a path for the motion effect, the path including a correspondence between at least one first point on the first digital artwork and at least one second point on the second digital artwork to guide the interpolation," as recited in amended claim 1.” The examiner is not persuaded. Villaron discloses the Applicant’s claim language of “determining, by the processing device” in Villaron Figure 1; Paragraph 0022. Villaron goes on to disclose “based on a user input received via a user interface” in Figure 6A; Paragraph 0061. Paragraphs 0033; 0040; 0068-0069; 0071; 0073; 0083 of Villaron discloses the Applicant’s claim language of “a path for the motion effect the path including a correspondence.” Villaron goes on to disclose “between at least one first point on the first digital artwork and at least one second point on the second digital artwork to guide the interpolation in Villaron’s Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0004-0008; 0039-0041; 0047-00491. MPEP § 2106 states Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed Cir. 1997). Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
The Applicant alleges the following: “Third, Villaron's fill pattern does not provide the recited motion effect or path.” The examiner is not persuaded. Villaron' discloses “a path for the motion effect” in Paragraphs 0033; 0040; 0068-0069; 0071; 0073; 0083. Accordingly, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, 20, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Villaron, 20130097552.
Claim 1:
Villaron discloses a method (See Villaron Abstract; Figure 6A-63; Paragraphs 0004-0008) comprising:
receiving, by a processing device (See Villaron Figure 1; Paragraph 0022), inputs including a first digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-00492) including at least one first object (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 00283; 0047-0048), a second digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-00494) including at least one second object (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 00285; 0047-0048), and a motion effect (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 0029-00306) including an interpolation (See Villaron Paragraphs 0004-00087) from the first digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-00498) to the second digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-00499);
determining, by the processing device (See Villaron Figure 1; Paragraph 0022), and based on a user input received via a user interface (See Villaron Figure 6A; Paragraph 0061), a path for the motion effect (See Villaron Paragraphs 0033; 0040; 0068-0069; 0071; 0073; 0083), the path (See Villaron Paragraphs 0033; 0040; 0068-0069; 0071; 0073; 0083) including a correspondence between at least one first point (See Villaron Figure 2; Paragraphs 0039-0041) on the first digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-004910) and at least one second point (See Villaron Figure 2; Paragraphs 0039-0041) on the second digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-004911) to guide the interpolation (See Villaron Paragraphs 0004-000812);
generating, by the processing device (See Villaron Figure 1; Paragraph 0022), an animation sequence (See Villaron Paragraphs 0046-0049; 0052-0053) for the interpolation (See Villaron Paragraphs 0004-000813) of the at least one first object (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 002814; 0047-0048) to the at least one second object (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 002815; 0047-0048) across multiple frames along the path (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0033; 0040; 0068-0069; 0071; 0073; 0083);
and outputting, by the processing device (See Villaron Figure 1; Paragraph 0022) via the user interface (See Villaron Figure 6A; Paragraph 0061), a digital animation of the first digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-004916) and the second digital artwork (See Villaron Figures 3-4; Paragraphs 0047-004917) using the animation sequence (See Villaron Paragraphs 0046-0049; 0052-0053) to animate the at least one first object (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 002818; 0047-0048) and the at least one second object (See Villaron Figure 3-4; Paragraphs 002819; 0047-0048).
Claim 5:
Villaron discloses wherein the motion effect (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034) includes an introductory motion effect (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034) or an outgoing motion effect selected from a list of multiple preset motion effects (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034).
Claim 6:
Villaron discloses wherein the user interface (See Villaron Figure 6A-6E; Paragraphs 0051; 0062-0063) includes one or more user-adjustable controls for the animation sequence including at least one of a playback speed, a starting digital artwork, an ending digital artwork, corner smoothing, a fill color, a fill pattern, an outline color, an outline thickness, or a blending speed (See Villaron Paragraph 007220).
Claim 9:
Villaron discloses wherein the animation sequence (See Villaron Paragraphs 0020-0022; 0070-0076) includes adding, using physical laws of mechanics, secondary dynamics to the at least one second object (See Villaron Figure 6A-E; Paragraph 0070).
Claim 11:
Claim 11 is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 12:
Villaron discloses wherein the preset motion effect (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034) includes an introductory motion effect (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034) to animate an appearance of the at least one object or an outgoing motion effect (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034) to animate a disappearance of the at least one object (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-003221).
Claim 13:
Villaron discloses wherein the path (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034) is defined by a user input (See Villaron Figure 6A-63; Paragraphs 0004-000822) via the user interface (See Villaron Figure 6A-6E; Paragraphs 0051; 0062-0063).
Claim 15:
Villaron discloses wherein the path (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034; 0061-0070) includes a user sketched line (See Villaron Paragraph 0040) along which the interpolation (See Villaron Paragraphs 0044-0045; 0049; 0053; 0069; 0079; 0083) travels from the first digital artwork (See Villaron Figure 6C, Item 620b; Paragraph 0070) to the second digital artwork (See Villaron Figure 6C, Item 665a; Paragraph 0070).
Claim 16:
Claim 16 is rejected on the same basis as claim 6.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 21:
Villaron discloses wherein the user input includes a user-sketched line received via the user interface, the path following the user-sketched line (See Villaron Paragraph 0040).
Claim 23:
Villaron discloses wherein the path specifies a trajectory (See Villaron Paragraph 0040) of the correspondence such that the interpolation (See Villaron Paragraphs 0044-0045; 0049; 0053; 0069; 0079; 0083) from the first digital artwork (See Villaron Figure 6C, Item 620b; Paragraph 0070) to the second digital artwork (See Villaron Figure 6C, Item 665a; Paragraph 0070) is not limited to a straight line (See Villaron Paragraph 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Villaron, 20130097552 in view of Zhang, US2004/0222989.
Claim 22:
Villaron failed to disclose warping field. Zhang discloses this feature in paragraph 0146. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Villaron by the teachings of Zhang to enable improved capable of effectively morphing objects, more effectively (See Zhang Related Art section). In addition, both of the references teach features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as managing objects. This close relation between both references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As modified:
The combination of Zhang discloses the following:
wherein generating the animation sequence (See Villaron Paragraphs 0046-0049; 0052-0053) includes constructing a warping field (See Zhang Paragraph 0146) from the path (See Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0034; 0061-0070), the warping field warping (See Zhang Paragraph 0146) the at least one first point (See Villaron Figure 2; Paragraphs 0039-0041) to a corresponding position at a corresponding time (See Villaron Paragraphs 0052-0054) during the interpolation (See Villaron Paragraphs 0044-0045; 0049; 0053; 0069; 0079; 0083).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No.: 12639874 relates generally to systems, methods, graphical user interfaces for motion editing and motion creation applications, including animation generation on electronic devices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 October 1, 2026
1 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “second digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 2.”
2 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “first digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 1.”
3 Villaron Paragraph 0028 recites “The animation applied to an object, or set of objects.”
4 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “second digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 2.”
5 Villaron Paragraph 0028 recites “The animation applied to an object, or set of objects.”
6 Villaron Paragraph 0030 recites “animation effects associated with the entrance animation class include: dissolve-in, peek-in, fly-in, fade-in, bounce-in, zoom-in, and float-in.”
7 Villaron Paragraph 0049 recites “interpolating its position for each frame.”
8 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “first digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 1.”
9 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “second digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 2.”
10 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “first digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 1.”
11 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “second digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 2.”
12 Villaron Paragraph 0049 recites “interpolating its position for each frame.”
13 Villaron Paragraph 0049 recites “interpolating its position for each frame.”
14 Villaron Paragraph 0028 recites “The animation applied to an object, or set of objects.”
15 Villaron Paragraph 0028 recites “The animation applied to an object, or set of objects.”
16 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “first digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 1.”
17 The examiner interprets the Applicant’s claim language of a “second digital artwork” as being the same as Villaron’s teachings of a “Key Frame 2.”
18 Villaron Paragraph 0028 recites “The animation applied to an object, or set of objects.”
19 Villaron Paragraph 0028 recites “The animation applied to an object, or set of objects.”
20 Villaron Paragraph 0072 discloses a fill pattern.
21 Villaron Paragraphs 0030-0032 recites “wiping-out, in which is the same as the Applicant’s teachings of “animate a disappearance.”
22 Villaron Paragraphs 0004-0008 recites “receive user input from a computer.”