DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/20/2024 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14, line 3, the limitation “designed a an actuating slide” seems like it should read -- designed as an actuating slide--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “can be” is repeated throughout the claims (claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 12-14, 16, 18-19). the phrase "can be" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements that seem to only be optionally required. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “wherein the force direction of the actuating force expediently deviates from the force direction of the release force”, and the claim also recites “for in particular releasable attachment to a valve assembly of the directional control valve” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation “an electromechanical interface”, and the claim also recites “and is in particular oriented perpendicular thereto” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "like a spring" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by “like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "tongue-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by “like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9, the limitation “surrounded by” is indefinite because it is unclear what is "surrounded by"-- the clamping units mounted on the circuit board, or the circuit board.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "tongue-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by “like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202006000380.
DE 202006000380 discloses:
1. An electromechanical connection device (4) capable of use for a directional control valve, designed for the releasable connection of a plurality of wire conductors serving to supply power to the directional control valve (note, the limitation “for a directional control valve, designed for the releasable connection of a plurality of wire conductors serving to supply power to the directional control valve” is considered intended use of the electromechanical connection device, only requiring a capability; a preamble is generally not accorded much patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951)), the electromechanical connection device comprising: a plurality of connection structures (openings in 18, separated by walls 21; as seen in fig. 1, 5, 7), which respectively have a connection channel (in 17, as seen in fig. 8) provided to insert a conductor wire (15, figs. 1, 2) to be connected, which has a clamping region (region within 18, a seen in figs. 1, 2), which is delimited laterally by a clamping element (12), which can be moved between a basic position (fig. 1) and an open position (fig. 2) defining a larger cross-section of the clamping region compared to the basic position (to accommodate 15), wherein an opening movement of the clamping element occurring in the direction of the open position is accompanied by the build-up of a spring force provided by a spring structure (16) and acting on the clamping element in a restoring manner (due to the biasing nature of the hinged metallic spring legs of 16) in the direction of the basic position such that a wire conductor inserted into the associated clamping region can be electrically conductively clamped by the clamping element deflected from the basic position into a clamping position located between the basic position and the open position (“An electrical conductor 15 can with respect to 1 and 2 from the right into the connecting element 4 be plugged in, so that, like out 2 apparent, the electrical conductor 15 between the electrical guide body 17 and the metallic contact spring 16 on the one hand mechanically held and on the other hand electrically contacted.”), wherein the independently moveable clamping elements of all connection structures are collectively associated with a release element (19, fig. 4) of the connection device, which, starting from an inactive position enabling each clamping element to assume its basic position, can be driven to a release movement acting on all clamping elements by introducing a manually generated release force, during which it causes an opening movement of all clamping elements, such that each clamped wire conductor can be released for removal from the associated connection channel (“a pusher 19 provided, which consists of electrically insulating material, for example in one piece with the insulating housing 18 may be formed and provided in accordance with this variant, to relieve all four contact points simultaneously.”).
2. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein the connection device is designed as a connection unit that can be handled as a single entity (all assembled as a single unit, as seen in figs. 1-7).
3. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein the clamping elements have inherently resiliently bendable properties and respectively themselves directly form the spring structure associated with them, wherein they are expediently designed like a leaf spring “The metallic contact spring 16 is elastic with respect to the electrical conductor body 17 deflectable arranged.”).
4. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein the clamping elements are designed to be tongue-like with a free end section (either end leg section of 16) and can be moved between the basic position and the open position as part of a pivot movement (pivot movement seen in figs. 1, 2).
5. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein in the inactive position of the release element, irrespective of the position of the clamping elements, each clamping element is pre-tensioned into the basic position by the associated spring structure (“The metallic clamp may, for example, have a support surface, which is intended to support the electrical conductor, as well as a Spring element, the conductor, which rests on the support of the other side fixed by pressure.”).
6. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein each connection structure has a clamping unit made of metal (“a metallic elastic contact spring 16”) and fixed to a device housing (17, 18) of the connection device, in which the associated connection channel extends with at least one longitudinal section containing the clamping region and which has the associated clamping element as an integral component (as seen in fig. 3, section of 17 longitudinally extends and wraps around an end of 16).
7. The connection device according to Claim 6, wherein each clamping unit has a base body (leg of spring engaged by the base of 17, as seen in fig. 3), which forms an electrically conductive channel wall of the associated connection channel (lower leg of 16 creates a wall of the opening through which wire 15 is inserted), wherein the associated clamping element has a force absorption tab (top curved portion connecting both legs) protruding outward beyond the channel wall (as seen in fig. 1), on which the release element can act to cause an opening movement of the clamping element (19 acts on the tops of 16, as seen in fig. 4).
8. The connection device according to Claim 6, wherein each connection channel has an inner longitudinal section extending in the clamping unit and containing the clamping region (section in 17 which is surrounded by 18 and which contains a portion of 16 therein) and an outer longitudinal section adjacent thereto (top outer area of 17 not covered by 18 and into which 16 extends) and formed in the device housing, wherein the outer longitudinal section ends outside on the device housing with a wire insertion opening (into which 15 is inserted) enabling the insertion of a wire conductor to be connected.
9. The connection device according to Claim 6, wherein the clamping units are mounted on a printed circuit board (2) surrounded by the device housing (partially surrounded by 18 in fig. 4) and fixed in relation to the device housing (2 is fixed to 18) and are electrically conductively connected via a conductor track structure (17 on top side of 2) to contact elements (ends of 17 around 6), at which an actuating voltage for the directional control valve, which produces the power supply, can be tapped (“An electrical conductor 15 can with respect to 1 and 2 from the right into the connecting element 4 be plugged in, so that, like out 2 apparent, the electrical conductor 15 between the electrical guide body 17 and the metallic contact spring 16 on the one hand mechanically held and on the other hand electrically contacted.”).
10. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein the release element is designed to be tongue-like with a free end section (either end leg section of 16), wherein the release movement is a pivot movement (16 would pivot when pushed by pusher 19) and wherein the release element is expediently an integrally integrated component of a device housing of the connection device (as seen in fig. 4, 19 is an extension of 18).
11. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein the release element has inherently resiliently bendable properties in such a way that it can automatically return to the inactive position after an induced release force has been removed (as seen in fig. 4, 19 is an integrally extending member from 18 which bends when pushed, and would revert back once pressure was released).
12. The connection device according to Claim 1, wherein the connection channels extend in a height direction of the connection device with parallel alignment to one another and respectively end at a first outer surface of the connection device with a wire insertion opening (as seen in figs. 1-7, the channels in 17 have a height and extend parallel to each other with an outer surface being where wire 15 is inserted), wherein the release element is arranged at least with an activation section (push tab portion of 19) that can be used for introducing the release force in the region of a second outer surface of the connection device orientated orthogonally to the first outer surface (the upper tab of 19 extends orthogonally across all of the longitudinally extending openings in 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202006000380.
DE 202006000380 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for wherein the release element expediently has a number of force induction protrusions corresponding to the number of clamping elements, which protrusions respectively act in a pressing manner on one of the existing clamping elements during the release movement which can be produced by acting on the release element to produce the opening movement.
DE 202006000380 discloses the release element having a single force induction protrusion (seen on underside of 19 extending toward top of 16, in fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to formed the force induction protrusions separately only above each spring, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claims 2 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202006000380 in view of Brenner et al. (EP 2110562 B1).
DE 202006000380 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for further including a directional control valve, having a valve member, an electrically actuated drive device for moving the valve member and the electromechanical connection device for the releasable connection of a plurality of wire conductors serving to supply power to the drive device; wherein the electrically actuated drive device is designed as a pilot control valve device, the electrical actuation of which can be used to control the application of a drive fluid to the valve member in order to move the valve member into different switching directions by controlled fluid application; wherein the electromechanical connection device is arranged directly on the electrically actuated drive device; wherein the valve member and the electrically actuated drive device belong to a valve assembly of the directional control valve, wherein the electromechanical connection device is designed as a connection unit that can be handled as a single entity and which has an electromechanical interface, via which it can be or is attached to a complementary electromechanical mating interface of the valve assembly in such a way that there is an electrically conductive connection between the connection structures of the electromechanical connection device and the electrically actuated drive device; and wherein it has a longitudinal axis extending in a longitudinal direction and a vertical axis orthogonal thereto and extending in a height direction, wherein the electromechanical connection device is located in an axial end region of the directional control valve pointing in the longitudinal direction, wherein the connection channels of the connection structures open out at a first outer surface of the electromechanical connection device oriented in the height direction and the release element is arranged at least with an activation section that can be used for introducing the release force in the region of a second outer surface of the electromechanical connection device orientated in the longitudinal direction.
Brenner et al. teach a related electrical connection device used in a valve, including a directional control valve (1), having a valve member (3), an electrically actuated drive device (14) for moving the valve member (“The pilot stage 4 is actuated by means of electrical signals and generates in response to these electrical signals fluidic output signals with which the main valve 3 is driven.”) and the electromechanical connection device (7) for the releasable connection of a plurality of wire conductors (various types of conductors 42, 43, in fig. 1) serving to supply power to the drive device; wherein the electrically actuated drive device is designed as a pilot control valve device (“a block-like valve assembly 10 composed of a plurality of components in the form of a pilot-operated multi-way valve”), the electrical actuation of which can be used to control the application of a drive fluid to the valve member in order to move the valve member into different switching directions by controlled fluid application (“The pilot stage 4 is actuated by means of electrical signals and generates in response to these electrical signals fluidic output signals with which the main valve 3 is driven.”); wherein the electromechanical connection device (7) is arranged directly on the electrically actuated drive device (14)(as seen in fig. 1); wherein the valve member and the electrically actuated drive device belong to a valve assembly of the directional control valve (as seen in fig. 1), wherein the electromechanical connection device is designed as a connection unit that can be handled as a single entity (as seen in fig. 1) and which has an electromechanical interface (44), via which it can be or is attached to a complementary electromechanical mating interface of the valve assembly in such a way that there is an electrically conductive connection between the connection structures of the electromechanical connection device and the electrically actuated drive device (“In mounted on the valve unit 14 state of a connector plug 6 is the electrical connector interface 7 with the valve drive 22 in electrical connection. For this purpose, the terminal unit 15 includes in the region of its first mechanical interface 35 first electrical interface means 26, which are permanently connected via an internal electrical conductor of the terminal unit 15 to the connector interface 17 associated electrical contact means 44, and to the other releasably connected to the second electrical interface means 27 of the valve unit 14 are in electrically conductive engagement.”); wherein it has a longitudinal axis (2, in fig. 2) extending in a longitudinal direction and a vertical axis (25) orthogonal thereto and extending in a height direction, wherein the electromechanical connection device (7) is located in an axial end region of the directional control valve pointing in the longitudinal direction (as seen in various orientations seen in fig. 1), wherein the connection channels of the connection structures open out at a first outer surface of the electromechanical connection device oriented in the height direction (such as in 42 in fig. 1), and such an arrangement allowing for the release element (such as in DE 202006000380) to be arranged at least with an activation section that can be used for introducing the release force in the region of a second outer surface of the electromechanical connection device orientated in the longitudinal direction, for the purpose of providing a modular connection device that is quickly interchangeable, and can be used with a variety of valves in order to supply the required electrical signals for their operation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of DE 202006000380, to further include a directional control valve, having a valve member, an electrically actuated drive device for moving the valve member and the electromechanical connection device for the releasable connection of a plurality of wire conductors serving to supply power to the drive device; wherein the electrically actuated drive device is designed as a pilot control valve device, the electrical actuation of which can be used to control the application of a drive fluid to the valve member in order to move the valve member into different switching directions by controlled fluid application; wherein the electromechanical connection device is arranged directly on the electrically actuated drive device; wherein the valve member and the electrically actuated drive device belong to a valve assembly of the directional control valve, wherein the electromechanical connection device is designed as a connection unit that can be handled as a single entity and which has an electromechanical interface, via which it can be or is attached to a complementary electromechanical mating interface of the valve assembly in such a way that there is an electrically conductive connection between the connection structures of the electromechanical connection device and the electrically actuated drive device; and wherein it has a longitudinal axis extending in a longitudinal direction and a vertical axis orthogonal thereto and extending in a height direction, wherein the electromechanical connection device is located in an axial end region of the directional control valve pointing in the longitudinal direction, wherein the connection channels of the connection structures open out at a first outer surface of the electromechanical connection device oriented in the height direction and the release element is arranged at least with an activation section that can be used for introducing the release force in the region of a second outer surface of the electromechanical connection device orientated in the longitudinal direction, as taught by Brenner et al., for the purpose of providing a modular connection device that is quickly interchangeable, and can be used with a variety of valves in order to supply the required electrical signals for their operation, and still allow the capability to quickly disconnect several terminals with the same button on said connection device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisors can be reached by phone. Tom Barrett can be reached at 571-272-4746, Ken Rinehart can be reached at 571-272-4881, and Craig Schneider can be reached at 571-272-3607. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARINA A TIETJEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753