DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 05/11/2026 concerning application no. 18/990,234 filed on 12/20/2026.
Claims 1-9 are pending (Claims 1 and 4-5 are withdrawn from consideration).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 2-3 and 6-9) in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: 18/454,469.
It is noted that the instant application is presently being examined under the AIA statutes.
It is noted that all claim limitations are not present in the parent application.1 Therefore, Applicant is only entitled to the filing of the current application. That filing date is 12/20/2024. If Applicant believes they are entitled to priority, they are required to submit a claim chart that points each limitation of the claims to their corresponding support in the specification of the parent application 18/454,469.
Interference/Derivation
It appears that Applicant is attempting to suggest an interference pursuant to 37 CFR 41.202(a). If this is accurate, Applicant is required to submit a 41.202(a) statement. Due to the AIA -yes status of the application currently, if Applicant wishes to pursue a derivation proceeding, they may file a petition accordingly. See MPEP 2300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “the ablation tool”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “ablation tool” is the same as the “fluid ablation tool” established in the preceding claim element or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the ablation tool”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Recites “a preset step size”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what parameter of the ultrasonic image information is according to a “preset step size”. That is, it is unclear if the operation is discretized with respect to the frame rate, the frequency, amplitude, or some other imaging parameter.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the cutting parameter comprising a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β)”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim requires a single cutting parameter as the term “the cutting parameter” indicates as it is in the singular or requires a plurality of cutting parameters.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “(L)”. This claim element is indefinite. It is unclear what the parenthetical is attempting to convey. If it is attempting to defined the parameter, there is no mathematical equation in which a variable is required in the claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “(R)”. This claim element is indefinite. It is unclear what the parenthetical is attempting to convey. If it is attempting to defined the parameter, there is no mathematical equation in which a variable is required in the claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “(β)”. This claim element is indefinite. It is unclear what the parenthetical is attempting to convey. If it is attempting to defined the parameter, there is no mathematical equation in which a variable is required in the claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 3 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “the ablation tool”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “ablation tool” is the same as the “fluid ablation tool” established in the preceding claim element or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
The term “slender” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slender” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term does not have a frame of reference or an established consideration such that it can establish what is considered to be slender and what is not considered to be slender.
Recites “a to-be-resected target tissue”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the “to-be-resected target tissue” is the same as the “target tissue” established in the claim 2 or is a separate and distinct feature.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 7 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “user-defined step size”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art what parameter of the ultrasonic image information is according to a “user-defined step size”. That is, it is unclear if the operation is discretized with respect to the frame rate, the frequency, amplitude, or some other imaging parameter.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the cutting parameter comprising an axial position of the nozzle (L), a cutting depth (R), and a cutting angle (β)”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the claim requires a single cutting parameter as the term “the cutting parameter” indicates as it is in the singular or requires a plurality of cutting parameters.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “(L)”. This claim element is indefinite. It is unclear what the parenthetical is attempting to convey. If it is attempting to defined the parameter, there is no mathematical equation in which a variable is required in the claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “(R)”. This claim element is indefinite. It is unclear what the parenthetical is attempting to convey. If it is attempting to defined the parameter, there is no mathematical equation in which a variable is required in the claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “(β)”. This claim element is indefinite. It is unclear what the parenthetical is attempting to convey. If it is attempting to defined the parameter, there is no mathematical equation in which a variable is required in the claim.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US Patent No. 12,514,540).
Regarding claim 2, Shi teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, comprising:
a motion control module, wherein the motion control module comprises a fixed reference component, and a first motion control component and a second motion control component that are connected to the fixed reference component; an ablation tool module, wherein the ablation tool module comprises a fluid ablation tool, and the ablation tool is connected to the first motion control component; an ultrasonic imaging module, wherein the ultrasonic imaging module comprises a longitudinal ultrasonic probe for acquiring ultrasonic image information of a target tissue, and the ultrasonic probe is connected to the second motion control component; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a plurality of two-dimensional slice images from the ultrasonic image information according to a preset step size, each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images being a cross-sectional image perpendicular to an axial direction of the ultrasonic probe, and determine target tissue contour information and fluid ablation tool contour information in each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images; and determine a cutting parameter of each two-dimensional slice image on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and fluid ablation tool contour information, the cutting parameter comprising a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (3); wherein the ablation tool module performs cutting based on the cutting parameter calculated by the processor (Col. 3, lines 34-37 teaches the target tissue is a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, the ablation tool is a fluid ablation tool, and the three-dimensional ultrasonic image is obtained by a rectal ultrasound probe. Col. 3, lines 40-Col. 4, lines 4, teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a target tissue, which comprises: a motion control module, wherein the motion control module comprises a fixed reference component, and a first motion control component and a second motion control component that are connected to the fixed reference component; an ablation tool module, wherein the ablation tool module comprises an ablation tool, and the ablation tool is connected to the first motion control component; an ultrasonic imaging module, wherein the ultrasonic imaging module comprises a longitudinal ultrasonic probe for acquiring ultrasonic image information of a target tissue, and the ultrasonic probe is connected to the second motion control component; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a plurality of two-dimensional slice images from the ultrasonic image information according to a preset step size, each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images being a cross-sectional image perpendicular to an axial direction of the ultrasonic probe, and determine target tissue contour information and ablation tool contour information in each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images; and determine a cutting parameter on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and ablation tool contour information, the cutting parameter comprising at least one of a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β). The ablation tool module performs cutting based on the cutting parameter calculated by the processor).
Regarding claim 3, Shi teaches the tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue in claim 2, as discussed above.
Shi further teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, wherein, the ablation tool is in the shape of a slender shaft, with an end provided with an fluid exit port, and is configured to guide energy to a to-be-resected target tissue through the energy exit port, so as to ablate and resect the target tissue (Col. 4, lines 5-9 teaches the ablation tool is in the shape of a slender shaft, with an end provided with an energy exit port, and is configured to guide energy to a to-be-resected target tissue through the energy exit port, so as to ablate and resect the target tissue).
Regarding claim 6, Shi teaches the tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue in claim 2, as discussed above.
Shi further teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, wherein: the processor is configured to determine a set of cutting parameters of each two- dimensional slice image on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and fluid ablation tool contour information; and the cutting position parameter corresponds to an axial position along the ultrasonic probe, the cutting depth parameter corresponds to a radial distance from the fluid ablation tool, and the cutting angle parameter corresponds to an angular span of a resection sector (Claim 1 teaches determining a set of cutting parameters of each two-dimensional slice image on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and ablation tool contour information, the set of cutting parameters comprising a cutting position parameter, a cutting depth parameter, and a cutting angle parameter, wherein the cutting position parameter corresponds to an axial position along the ultrasonic probe, the cutting depth parameter corresponds to a radial distance from the fluid ablation tool, and the cutting angle parameter corresponds to an angular span of a resection sector, performing the cutting according to the set of cutting parameters).
Regarding claim 7, Shi teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, comprising:
a first linkage comprising a first portion that provides a fixed reference frame and a second portion connected to the first portion; a second linkage connected to the first portion; a treatment probe comprising a nozzle, the treatment probe configured to be connected to the second portion of the first linkage, the second portion of the first linkage configured to move the treatment probe (Col. 6, lines 60-Col. 7, lines 20, teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a target tissue according to the present invention is a medical water jet robot system for treating benign prostatic hyperplasia. The system comprises a motion control module, an ablation tool module, a three-dimensional ultrasonic imaging module, and a processor. The motion control module comprises a fixed base 100 as a fixed reference component, and a first motion control component and a second motion control component that are connected to the fixed base 100. The first motion control component may be a first mechanical arm 110, and the second motion control component may be a second mechanical arm 120. The first mechanical arm 110 and the second mechanical arm 120 are in rotation-fit connection with the fixed base 100. Ends of the first mechanical arm 110 and the second mechanical arm 120 are each provided with an encoder, or other similar position feedback apparatuses or positioning apparatuses that can be used to transmit position information of the first mechanical arm and the second mechanical arm. The first mechanical arm 110 and/or second mechanical arm 120 may be the same or different, and those skilled in the art can select as required. For example, 6-axis or 7-axis mechanical arms may be selected, both may be active mechanical arms or passive mechanical arms, or one is an active mechanical arm and the other is a passive mechanical arm. In addition, in some embodiments, the first mechanical arm 110 and/or the second mechanical arm 120 may be replaced by a rotatable support);
an elongate ultrasound probe configured to acquire ultrasound images of a target tissue, the ultrasound probe configured to be connected to the second linkage configured to move the ultrasound probe (Col. 7, lines 57 to Col. 8, lines 9 teaches the three-dimensional ultrasonic imaging module comprises an ultrasonic probe 122, and the ultrasonic probe 122 is in the shape of a slender tube. A rear end of the ultrasonic probe is inserted and fitted with a second adapter 121 fixedly provided at a front end of a second mechanical arm 120, and the second mechanical arm 120 and the second adapter 121 can drive the ultrasonic probe 122 to move forward or backward in an axial direction of the slender tube and rotate around an axis of the slender tube as a rotation axis. The second mechanical arm 120 drives the image position-calibrated ultrasonic probe 122 to move forward at a predetermined speed. The slender tubular ultrasonic probe 122 is inserted into the human body along a rectal passage of a patient. During the insertion, the ultrasonic probe 122 sequentially collects ultrasound sagittal plane images and ultrasonic transverse plane images. A three-dimensional ultrasonic image can be reconstructed according to an acquired ultrasound transverse plane image sequence. The three-dimensional ultrasonic image may also be obtained by other methods); and
a processor configured to:
obtain a plurality of two-dimensional slice images from the ultrasound images according to a user-defined step size, each of the plurality of two- dimensional slice images being a cross-sectional image perpendicular to an axial direction of the ultrasound probe (Col. 3, lines 40-Col. 4, lines 4, teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a target tissue, which comprises: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to obtain a plurality of two-dimensional slice images from the ultrasonic image information according to a preset step size, each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images being a cross-sectional image perpendicular to an axial direction of the ultrasonic probe, and determine target tissue contour information and ablation tool contour information in each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images; and determine a cutting parameter on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and ablation tool contour information, the cutting parameter comprising at least one of a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β). The ablation tool module performs cutting based on the cutting parameter calculated by the processor);
determine target tissue boundary information and position and orientation of the nozzle in each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images (Col. 13, lines 37-44 teaches changing the cutting radius (cutting depth) and the cutting angle (including an orientation, a working angle, etc. of a cutting tool, etc.), a plurality of groups of candidate resection areas are obtained, which can improve the possibility of obtaining the best cutting area. Abstract teaches determining contour information the two-dimensional slice images; and calculating a cutting parameter on the basis of the determined contour information comprising contour information of an ablation tool and contour information of the target tissue, the cutting parameter comprising at least one of: a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β). Col. 6, lines 40-49 teaches the term “cutting position” refers to a position where the energy exit port of a tissue ablation apparatus is located when moving in an axial direction during the surgery. The term “cutting contour” refers to an outer contour line of an overall shape of cutting path planning formed at a cutting position according to a determined cutting depth parameter and cutting angle parameter. The part within the contour line becomes a “cutting range” while the area within the cutting range is referred to as a “cutting area”); and
determine a cutting parameter for each two-dimensional slice image using the determined target tissue boundary information and position and orientation of the nozzle, the cutting parameter comprising an axial position of the nozzle (L), a cutting depth (R), and a cutting angle (β), wherein the treatment probe is configured to perform cutting of the target tissue based on the cutting parameter (Col. 3, lines 40-Col. 4, lines 4, teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a target tissue, which comprises: determine a cutting parameter on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and ablation tool contour information, the cutting parameter comprising at least one of a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β). The ablation tool module performs cutting based on the cutting parameter calculated by the processor).
Regarding claim 8, Shi teaches the tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue in claim 7, as discussed above.
Shi further teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, wherein, the treatment probe comprises an elongate shaft with an end supporting the nozzle, and wherein the treatment probe is configured to guide energy to the target tissue through the nozzle so as to ablate and resect the target tissue (Col. 7, lines 32-57 teaches ablation tool module comprises an ablation tool, an endoscope, and a sheath. The ablation tool and the endoscopic apparatus are integrated in the sheath 112. The ablation tool is in the shape of a slender shaft, with a tail end provided with an energy exit port (not shown in the figure). Through the energy exit port, energy for resecting the target tissue may be transferred to the target tissue working area, and the target tissue is cut by means of the energy. An energy source for resecting a tissue may be water jet, laser or electric energy. In the medical water jet robot system for treating benign prostatic hyperplasia, the energy used by ablation tool is water jet, and the water jet with a certain pressure is output to the target tissue, so that the target tissue can be broken or removed. Rear ends of the ablation tool and the endoscopic apparatus extend out from the sheath 112 to be inserted and fitted with a first adapter 111 fixedly arranged at a front end of the first mechanical arm 110, so that the first mechanical arm 110 can drive the calibrated ablation tool to move forward or backward in an axial direction of the slender shaft, and can drive the ablation tool to rotate around a central axis of the slender shaft as a rotation axis, so that the energy exit port rotates and swings in an exit direction. The sheath 112 is in the shape of a slender tube, and the sheath 112 is inserted into a prostate 200 along a urethra during resection of the benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue).
Regarding claim 9, Shi teaches the tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue in claim 7, as discussed above.
Shi further teaches a tissue resection system for resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue, wherein:
the processor is configured to determine a set of cutting parameters for each two- dimensional slice image using the determined target tissue boundary information and position and orientation of the nozzle (Col. 13, lines 37-44 teaches changing the cutting radius (cutting depth) and the cutting angle (including an orientation, a working angle, etc. of a cutting tool, etc.), a plurality of groups of candidate resection areas are obtained, which can improve the possibility of obtaining the best cutting area. Abstract teaches determining contour information the two-dimensional slice images; and calculating a cutting parameter on the basis of the determined contour information comprising contour information of an ablation tool and contour information of the target tissue, the cutting parameter comprising at least one of: a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β). Col. 6, lines 40-49 teaches the term “cutting position” refers to a position where the energy exit port of a tissue ablation apparatus is located when moving in an axial direction during the surgery. The term “cutting contour” refers to an outer contour line of an overall shape of cutting path planning formed at a cutting position according to a determined cutting depth parameter and cutting angle parameter. The part within the contour line becomes a “cutting range” while the area within the cutting range is referred to as a “cutting area”); and
the axial position of the nozzle corresponds to an axial position along the treatment probe aligned with the ultrasound probe, the cutting depth corresponds to a radial distance from a treatment axis along which the treatment probe is positioned, and the cutting angle corresponds to an angular extent of treatment around the treatment axis (Col. 9, lines 36-38 teaches axial position where the one or more two-dimensional slices are located is a cutting position, and a cutting position parameter L may be expressed as L1, L2, L3… Claim 1 teaches wherein the cutting position parameter corresponds to an axial position along the ultrasonic probe, the cutting depth parameter corresponds to a radial distance from the fluid ablation tool, and the cutting angle parameter corresponds to an angular span of a resection sector, performing the cutting according to the set of cutting parameters).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lampotang et al. (PGPUB No. US 2022/0133284): Teaches transrectal treatment of tissue via ablation.
Ebata et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0353261): Teaches contour mapping.
Aljuri et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0121251): Teaches transrectal treatment of tissue via ablation.
DiMaio et al. (US Patent No. 11,259,870): Teaches tracking of the angular and positional relation for treatment.
Ingle et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0178032): Teaches shrinking of collagenated tissues, particularly for treating urinary incontinence in a noninvasive manner by directing energy to a patient's own support tissues.
Carol (PGPUB No. US 2020/0023207): Teaches HIFU treatment of prostatic tissue via ablation and rectal insertion of a medical treatment device.
Christopherson et al. (PGPUB No. US 2006/0089636): Teaches treatment of BPH.
Burdette et al. (PGPUB No. US 2003/0229282): Teaches treatment planning according to contouring data from imaging.
Xu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0020558): Teaches segmenting for treatment.
Glossop et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0008074): Teaches assisting or performing guided interventional procedures using custom templates.
Kumar et al. (PGPUB No. US 2010/0172559): Teaches tools to improve a 3-D image aided biopsy or treatment procedure for prostate gland by providing additional functionality and additional visual cues on an output image of the prostate, which may be generated substantially in real-time.
Elevelt et al. (PGPUB No. US 2018/0280089): Teaches treatment planning according to axial information of the tool.
Desai (PGPUB No. US 2003/0073908): Teaches treatment of prostatic cancer.
Zvuloni et al. (PGPUB No. US 2009/0118724): Teaches delivering a surgical instrument to a treatment site within the body of a subject, enabling accurate placement of surgical tools in areas not directly visible to a surgeon during a surgical procedure, while reducing or eliminating need for real-time imaging modalities to guide placement of those surgical tools.
Chaney et al. (PGPUB No. US 2012/0027278): Teaches mapping a model of an object comprising an anatomical structure in a planning image and an intervention target region within it to intervention-guiding image data.
Salcudean et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0087975): Teaches monitoring the cryoablation of a target volume of tissue with ultrasound elastography.
Stapert et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0261944): Teaches indicating a position of an interventional device feature.
Badiei et al. (PGPUB No. US 2009/0136108): Teaches delineating the contour of an object in captured medical images by first transforming the shape of the object into a simple geometric shape that is more computationally tractable than the shape of the object.
Tehrani et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0338679): Teaches tissue analysis and therapy.
Trachtenberg (PGPUB No. US 2002/0010502): Teaches a hydrodissection apparatus for treatment of the prostate of a patient.
Amthor et al. (PGPUB No. US 2017/0043180): Teaches treatment planning system configured for determining a set of catheter or needle insertion positions to be used during treatment.
Kee et al. (PGPUB No. US 2024/0335235): Teaches determining a trajectory of an elongated tool includes receiving positional information of a region of interest and receiving positional information of one or more structures at least partially occluding or obstructing access to the region of interest.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798
1 For example:
Claim 2: “resecting a benign prostatic hyperplasia tissue”, “a motion control module, wherein the motion control module comprises a fixed reference component, and a first motion control component and a second motion control component that are connected to the fixed reference component”, “the ablation tool is connected to the first motion control component”, “the ultrasonic probe is connected to the second motion control component”, “wherein the processor is configured to obtain a plurality of two- dimensional slice images from the ultrasonic image information according to a preset step size”, “each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images being a cross-sectional image perpendicular to an axial direction of the ultrasonic probe”, “determine target tissue contour information and fluid ablation tool contour information in each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images; and determine a cutting parameter of each two-dimensional slice image on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and fluid ablation tool contour information, the cutting parameter comprising a cutting position parameter (L), a cutting depth parameter (R), and a cutting angle parameter (β)”, and “wherein the ablation tool module performs cutting based on the cutting parameter calculated by the processor.”
Claim 3: “wherein, the ablation tool is in the shape of a slender shaft, with an end provided with an fluid exit port, and is configured to guide energy to a to-be-resected target tissue through the energy exit port, so as to ablate and resect the target tissue.”
Claim 6: “the processor is configured to determine a set of cutting parameters of each two- dimensional slice image on the basis of the determined target tissue contour information and fluid ablation tool contour information” and “the cutting position parameter corresponds to an axial position along the ultrasonic probe, the cutting depth parameter corresponds to a radial distance from the fluid ablation tool, and the cutting angle parameter corresponds to an angular span of a resection sector.”
Claim 7: “a first linkage comprising a first portion that provides a fixed reference frame and a second portion connected to the first portion”, “a treatment probe comprising a nozzle, the treatment probe configured to be connected to the second portion of the first linkage, the second portion of the first linkage configured to move the treatment probe”, “the ultrasound probe configured to be connected to the second linkage configured to move the ultrasound probe”, “obtain a plurality of two-dimensional slice images from the ultrasound images according to a user-defined step size, each of the plurality of two- dimensional slice images being a cross-sectional image perpendicular to an axial direction of the ultrasound probe”, “determine target tissue boundary information and position and orientation of the nozzle in each of the plurality of two-dimensional slice images”, “determine a cutting parameter for each two-dimensional slice image using the determined target tissue boundary information and position and orientation of the nozzle, the cutting parameter comprising an axial position of the nozzle (L), a cutting depth (R), and a cutting angle (β)”, and “wherein the treatment probe is configured to perform cutting of the target tissue based on the cutting parameter.”
Claim 8: “the treatment probe comprises an elongate shaft with an end supporting the nozzle, and wherein the treatment probe is configured to guide energy to the target tissue through the nozzle so as to ablate and resect the target tissue.”
Claim 9: “the processor is configured to determine a set of cutting parameters for each two- dimensional slice image using the determined target tissue boundary information and position and orientation of the nozzle; and the axial position of the nozzle corresponds to an axial position along the treatment probe aligned with the ultrasound probe, the cutting depth corresponds to a radial distance from a treatment axis along which the treatment probe is positioned, and the cutting angle corresponds to an angular extent of treatment around the treatment axis.”