DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 11-12, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20170119250 A) in view of Lee et al (KR 20140091350 A).
Claim 1, Kwon (Fig. 1-3) discloses a method of driving (See Page 3 of translation; wherein discloses “a display device designed as a double bank, and can be selectively driven as a single bank according to the type of the signal”) display device (Fig. 1; wherein figure shows a display device) including a display panel (100; Fig. 1), the method comprising:
receiving pixel data of an input image (300; Fig. 1 and 3; see Page 4 of translation which states “The timing controller 200 receives image data (DATA) in units of frames from an external host system 300”) ;
storing the pixel data in a memory (210; Fig. 2; see Page 5 of translation which states “the timing controller 200 includes a frame storage unit 210 for storing an image input from the host system 300”);
comparing an amount of change between Nth data and (N+1)th data stored in the memory (Fig. 3; wherein discloses comparing the current image with the previous image to determine if they are different; see Page 5 of translation), where N is a natural number (wherein n is 1);
sequentially (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows selecting driving method of a double bank manner; See page 6 of translation; wherein states “A control signal for selecting the double bank driving is output to the outside of the timing controller 200 to control the first and second internal interfaces (EPIs 250 and 252) EPIs 250 and 252 and the first and second EPIs are output to the upper and lower data drivers 130 and 140 to drive a double bank”) transmitting the Nth data and the (N+1)th data (EPIs 250 and 252; Fig. 2) to a source driver integrated circuit (IC) (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3); and
cutting off driving power (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows selecting driving method of a single bank manner; See page 6 of translation; wherein states “the control signal for selecting the single bank driving is disabled in the second internal interface (EPI) 252, and the power of the lower data driver 140 is limited. In this case, power may not be applied to the lower data driver 140, the timing controller 200 may not output a control signal to the lower data driver 140”) of the source driver IC (140; Fig. 1-3).
Kwon does not expressly disclose comparing an amount of change between Nth line data and (N+1)th line data stored in the memory with a reference value, where N is a natural number;
sequentially transmitting the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data to a source driver integrated circuit (IC) when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is greater than or equal to the reference value; and
cutting off driving power of the source driver IC when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is less than the reference value.
wherein the Nth line data includes pixel data written to pixels of an Nth pixel line of the display panel, and
wherein the (N+1)th line data includes pixel data written to pixels of an (N+1)th pixel line of the display panel.
Lee (Fig. 1-11) discloses comparing (22; Fig. 7; wherein discloses a data comparing unit) an amount of change between Nth line data and (N+1)th line data (See Pages 5-6 in translation; wherein discloses “The data comparing unit 22 compares the Nth line data stored in the memory 21 with the (N + 1) th line data and calculates the difference in gradation between the Nth line data and the (N + 1) th line data”) stored in the memory (21; Fig. 2) with a reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses a first range and second range), where N is a natural number (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows n horizontal rows);
sequentially transmitting (Fig. 9) the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data (S1 and S2; Fig. 9) to a source driver integrated circuit (IC) (12A an 12B; Fig. 3) when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is greater than or equal to the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses “when the gradation difference between the Nth line data and the (N + 1) th line data falls within the second range which is the largest, the control signal adjusting unit 23 adjusts the horizontal charge period of the The width of the low period (L) of the gate output enable signal GOE and the source output enable signal SOE is increased beyond the initial set value so as to be longer than the reference period. Referring to X4 to X6 in Fig. 9”); and
cutting off driving power (Fig. 9; wherein discloses reducing the driving periods) of the source driver IC (12A an 12B; Fig. 3) when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is less than the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses “When the gradation difference between the (N + 1) th line data and the (N + 1) th line data falls within the first range, the control signal adjusting unit 23 adjusts the horizontal charging period of the (L) width of the gate output enable signal GOE and the source output enable signal SOE to be smaller than the initial value Tref. Referring to X2 and X3 in FIG. 9”),
wherein the Nth line data includes pixel data written to pixels of an Nth pixel line of the display panel (See Pages 6 in translation; wherein discloses “N line data is data to be written in the liquid crystal cells arranged in the Nth horizontal line L (N), and the (N + 1) th line data is data to be written in the (N + 1) th horizontal line L Data to be written in the liquid crystal cells”), and
wherein the (N+1)th line data includes pixel data written to pixels of an (N+1)th pixel line of the display panel (See Pages 6 in translation; wherein discloses “N line data is data to be written in the liquid crystal cells arranged in the Nth horizontal line L (N), and the (N + 1) th line data is data to be written in the (N + 1) th horizontal line L Data to be written in the liquid crystal cells”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon’s method of driving by applying a data comparing unit, as taught by Lee, so to use a method of driving with a data comparing unit for providing to reduce the difference in the charging rate of the liquid crystal cells due to the difference in gradation between the RC delay and the data, thereby greatly increasing the luminance uniformity even at a high resolution and a large screen (See page 7 of translation).
Claim 11, Kwon (Fig. 1-3) discloses a display device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (100; Fig. 1) on which data lines (DL1-DLm; Fig. 1), gate lines (GL1-GLm; Fig. 1), and pixels are disposed (See page 3 of translation; wherein discloses “The display panel 100 includes a plurality of pixels arranged in a matrix”);
source driver integrated circuits (ICs) (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3) configured to convert received pixel data (EPI; Fig. 1-3) into a data voltage (See Page 2 of translation; wherein discloses “a source driver integrated circuit (IC) for supplying a data voltage to the data lines”) and supply the data voltage to the data lines (DL1-DLm; Fig. 1);
a timing controller (200; Fig. 1) configured to receive an input image (300; Fig. 1) and transmit the pixel data (EPI; Fig. 1-3) to the source driver ICs (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3); and
a power supply unit (410; Fig. 1; 412 and 414; Fig. 2) configured to output power (see Page 5 of translation; wherein discloses “The first and second power blocks 412 and 414 And selectively outputs the supply voltage to the upper and lower data drivers 130 and 140 connected to the display panel 100”) for driving the source driver ICs (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3) under control of the timing controller (200; Fig. 1),
wherein the timing controller (200; Fig. 2 and 3) is configured to:
store the pixel data (210; Fig. 2; see Page 5 of translation which states “the timing controller 200 includes a frame storage unit 210 for storing an image input from the host system 300”) of the input image (300; Fig. 1 and 3; see Page 4 of translation which states “The timing controller 200 receives image data (DATA) in units of frames from an external host system 300”) in a memory (210; Fig. 2);
compare an amount of change between Nth data and (N+1)th data stored in the memory (Fig. 3; wherein discloses comparing the current image with the previous image to determine if they are different; see Page 5 of translation), where N is a natural number (wherein n is 1);
sequentially (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows selecting driving method of a double bank manner; See page 6 of translation; wherein states “A control signal for selecting the double bank driving is output to the outside of the timing controller 200 to control the first and second internal interfaces (EPIs 250 and 252) EPIs 250 and 252 and the first and second EPIs are output to the upper and lower data drivers 130 and 140 to drive a double bank”) transmit the Nth data and the (N+1)th data (EPIs 250 and 252; Fig. 2) to a source driver ICs (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3); and
control the power supply unit (414 and 412; Fig. 2) and cut off driving power (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows selecting driving method of a single bank manner; See page 6 of translation; wherein states “the control signal for selecting the single bank driving is disabled in the second internal interface (EPI) 252, and the power of the lower data driver 140 is limited. In this case, power may not be applied to the lower data driver 140, the timing controller 200 may not output a control signal to the lower data driver 140”) of the source driver ICs (140; Fig. 1-3).
Kwon does not expressly disclose compare an amount of change between Nth line data and (N+1)th line data stored in the memory with a reference value, where N is a natural number;
sequentially transmit the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data to the source driver ICs when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is greater than or equal to the reference value; and
cut off driving power of the source driver ICs when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is less than the reference value.
Lee (Fig. 1-11) discloses compare (22; Fig. 7; wherein discloses a data comparing unit) an amount of change between Nth line data and (N+1)th line data (See Pages 5-6 in translation; wherein discloses “The data comparing unit 22 compares the Nth line data stored in the memory 21 with the (N + 1) th line data and calculates the difference in gradation between the Nth line data and the (N + 1) th line data”) stored in the memory (21; Fig. 2) with a reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses a first range and second range), where N is a natural number (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows n horizontal rows);
sequentially transmitting (Fig. 9) the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data (S1 and S2; Fig. 9) to the source driver ICs (12A an 12B; Fig. 3) when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is greater than or equal to the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses “when the gradation difference between the Nth line data and the (N + 1) th line data falls within the second range which is the largest, the control signal adjusting unit 23 adjusts the horizontal charge period of the The width of the low period (L) of the gate output enable signal GOE and the source output enable signal SOE is increased beyond the initial set value so as to be longer than the reference period. Referring to X4 to X6 in Fig. 9”); and
cut off driving power (Fig. 9; wherein discloses reducing the driving periods) of the source driver ICs (12A an 12B; Fig. 3) when the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data is less than the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses “When the gradation difference between the (N + 1) th line data and the (N + 1) th line data falls within the first range, the control signal adjusting unit 23 adjusts the horizontal charging period of the (L) width of the gate output enable signal GOE and the source output enable signal SOE to be smaller than the initial value Tref. Referring to X2 and X3 in FIG. 9”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon’s method of driving by applying a data comparing unit, as taught by Lee, so to use a method of driving with a data comparing unit for providing to reduce the difference in the charging rate of the liquid crystal cells due to the difference in gradation between the RC delay and the data, thereby greatly increasing the luminance uniformity even at a high resolution and a large screen (See page 7 of translation).
Claims 2 and 12, Kwon (Fig. 1-3) discloses wherein a plurality of source driver ICs (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3) are disposed at each of two facing sides of the display panel (100; Fig. 1), and
wherein the cutting off the driving power (412 and 4141; Fig. 2) of the source driver IC (130 and 140; Fig. 2) includes cutting off driving power of the plurality of source driver ICs disposed at one of the two facing sides of the display panel (see Page 4 of translation; wherein discloses “a control signal for selecting a single bank driving so that the upper and lower data drivers 130 and 140 (En), and the other data driver is disabled (Disable). At this time, power consumption is reduced by disabling one data driver. In other words, it is possible to limit the internal interface (EPI) output to the other data driver and disable the power supply from the power block 410”).
Claims 4 and 14, Kwon (Fig. 1-3) discloses wherein a plurality of source driver ICs (130 and 140; Fig. 1-3) are disposed at each of two facing sides of the display panel (100; Fig. 1), and
wherein the cutting off the driving power (412 and 4141; Fig. 2) of the source driver IC (130 and 140; Fig. 2) includes cutting off driving power of some of the plurality of source driver ICs disposed at one of the two facing sides of the display panel (see Page 4 of translation; wherein discloses “a control signal for selecting a single bank driving so that the upper and lower data drivers 130 and 140 (En), and the other data driver is disabled (Disable). At this time, power consumption is reduced by disabling one data driver. In other words, it is possible to limit the internal interface (EPI) output to the other data driver and disable the power supply from the power block 410”).
Claims 6 and 16, Lee (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein a plurality of source driver ICs (12A and 12B; Fig. 3) are disposed on the display panel (10; Fig. 3),
wherein the comparing (22; Fig. 7) the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data (See Pages 5-6 in translation; wherein discloses “The data comparing unit 22 compares the Nth line data stored in the memory 21 with the (N + 1) th line data and calculates the difference in gradation between the Nth line data and the (N + 1) th line data”) with the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses a first range and second range) includes:
setting a group of pixels of the display panel (Fig. 10b) that receive outputs from one of the plurality of source driver ICs (12A and 12B; Fig. 3) into blocks (BL1-BL6; Fig. 10b) by each of pixel lines of the group of pixels (Fig. 10b); and
comparing an amount of change (22; Fig. 7) between line data for each of the set blocks (See Pages 5-6 in translation; wherein discloses “The data comparing unit 22 compares the Nth line data stored in the memory 21 with the (N + 1) th line data and calculates the difference in gradation between the Nth line data and the (N + 1) th line data”) with the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses a first range and second range), and
wherein the cutting off the driving power (Fig. 9; wherein discloses reducing the driving periods) of the source driver IC (12A an 12B; Fig. 3) is performed when the amount of change (22; Fig. 7) between the line data of all the set blocks (Fig. 10b) is less than the reference value (See Page 6 of translation; wherein discloses “When the gradation difference between the (N + 1) th line data and the (N + 1) th line data falls within the first range, the control signal adjusting unit 23 adjusts the horizontal charging period of the (L) width of the gate output enable signal GOE and the source output enable signal SOE to be smaller than the initial value Tref. Referring to X2 and X3 in FIG. 9”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon’s method of driving by applying a data comparing unit, as taught by Lee, so to use a method of driving with a data comparing unit for providing to reduce the difference in the charging rate of the liquid crystal cells due to the difference in gradation between the RC delay and the data, thereby greatly increasing the luminance uniformity even at a high resolution and a large screen (See page 7 of translation).
Claims 7 and 17, Lee (Fig. 1-11) discloses wherein each of the blocks (BL1-BL6; Fig. 10b) is set to include a same number of pixels (Fig. 10b; wherein figure shows block of equal size).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon’s method of driving by applying a data comparing unit, as taught by Lee, so to use a method of driving with a data comparing unit for providing to reduce the difference in the charging rate of the liquid crystal cells due to the difference in gradation between the RC delay and the data, thereby greatly increasing the luminance uniformity even at a high resolution and a large screen (See page 7 of translation).
Claims 3, 5, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20170119250 A) in view of Lee et al (KR 20140091350 A) as applied to claims 2, 4, 12, and 14 above, and further in view of Park (US 2002/0084965 A1).
Claims 3 and 13, Kwon in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 2, and the display device of claim 12.
Kwon in view of Lee does not expressly disclose wherein a display area of the display panel includes a first area at one of the two facing sides and a second area at the other of the two facing sides, and
wherein different images are displayed in the first area and the second area, respectively.
Park (Fig. 3-5) discloses wherein a display area of the display panel (67; Fig. 3) includes a first area (Fig. 3; wherein discloses a 1st divided panel) at one of the two facing sides (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows an upper source driver at one of two facing sides) and a second area (Fig. 3; wherein discloses a 2nd divided panel) at the other of the two facing sides (Fig. 3; wherein figure shows an lower source driver at other of two facing sides), and
wherein different images (Paragraph [0048]; wherein discloses “Further, the upper data lines 33 and the lower data lines 35 are disconnected by the divisional driving switching device "B" in response to the selection signal for the divisional driving mode of the liquid crystal display panel 67 from the divisional driving controller 63. Thus, the upper data lines 33 receive data signals from the upper source driver 32 while the lower data lines 35 receive data signals from the lower source driver 34”; therefore each divided panel respectively receives data signals from the respective source driver) are displayed in the first area (Fig. 3; wherein discloses a 1st divided panel) and the second area (Fig. 3; wherein discloses a 2nd divided panel), respectively (Paragraph [0048]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon in view of Lee’s method of driving by applying a divisional control method, as taught by Park, so to use a method of driving with a divisional control method for providing a liquid crystal display device for maintaining a picture quality in divisional driving of a large-scale/high-resolution liquid crystal display panel (Paragraph [0019]).
Claims 5 and 15, Kwon in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 4 and the display device of claim 14.
Kwon in view of Lee does not expressly disclose wherein a display area of the display panel includes a third area and a fourth area that have a boundary line connecting the facing sides of the display panel, and
wherein different images are displayed in the third area and the fourth area, respectively.
Park (Fig. 3-5) discloses wherein a display area of the display panel (77; Fig. 5) includes a third area (Fig. 5; wherein discloses a 3rd divided panel) and a fourth area (Fig. 5; wherein discloses a 4th divided panel) that have a boundary line (50; Fig. 5; wherein discloses a divisional control line 50) connecting the facing sides (Fig. 5; wherein discloses both 1st and 2nd divided panels) of the display panel (77; Fig. 5), and
wherein different images (Paragraph [0063]; wherein discloses “Further, the first divisional driving switching device "C" electrically separates the upper data lines 43 and 45 from the lower data lines 47 and 49 in response to a selection signal for a vertical divisional driving mode of the liquid crystal display panel 77 from the divisional driving controller 83. Thus, the upper data lines 43 and 45 receive data signals from the upper source driver 42 while the lower data lines 47 and 49 receive data signals from the lower source driver 44”; therefore each divided panel respectively receives data signals from the respective source driver) are displayed in the third area (Fig. 5; wherein discloses a 3rd divided panel) and the fourth area (Fig. 5; wherein discloses a 4th divided panel), respectively (Paragraph [0063]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon in view of Lee’s method of driving by applying a divisional control method, as taught by Park, so to use a method of driving with a divisional control method for providing a liquid crystal display device for maintaining a picture quality in divisional driving of a large-scale/high-resolution liquid crystal display panel (Paragraph [0019]).
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20170119250 A) in view of Lee et al (KR 20140091350 A) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Jeong et al (US 2015/0130851 A1).
Claims 8 and 18, Kwon in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 1 and the display device of claim 11.
Kwon in view of Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the comparing the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data with the reference value includes comparing the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data with a lookup table, and
wherein the cutting off the driving power of the source driver IC is performed when a value corresponding to the amount of change between the Nth line data and the(N+1)th line data is not present in the lookup table.
Jeong (Fig. 1-5) discloses wherein the comparing (251; Fig. 4) the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data (Paragraph [0064]; wherein discloses “the data analysis unit 251 may calculate the luminance variation of the image data DATA' by comparing gray level values of the N-th line, i.e., an image data on a previous line and the (N+1)-th line, i.e., an image data on a next line among the image data DATA' sequentially input as a unit of lines”) with the reference value (Paragraph [0044]; wherein discloses a “reference value”) includes comparing the amount of change between the Nth line data and the (N+1)th line data (251; Fig. 4; Paragraph [0064]) with a lookup table (Paragraph [0045]; wherein discloses a lookup table), and
wherein the cutting off the driving power (Paragraph [0044]; wherein discloses “block the bias voltage when the luminance variation of the image data DATA' is smaller than the reference value”) the of the source driver IC (Fig. 2) is performed when a value corresponding to the amount of change between the Nth line data and the(N+1)th line data (251; Fig. 4; Paragraph [0064]) is not present in the lookup table (Paragraph [0044]; wherein discloses “block the bias voltage when the luminance variation of the image data DATA' is smaller than the reference value”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon in view of Lee’s method of driving by applying a bias voltage, as taught by Jeong, so to use a method of driving with a bias voltage for providing the power consumption of the data driver and the display device including the same can be reduced by controlling the data driver so that the slew rate of a data signal is changed for each division area, based on the luminance variation of an image data (Paragraph [0070]).
Claims 9 and 19, Jeong (Fig. 1-5) discloses, wherein all pairs of gray level values are stored in the lookup table (Paragraph [0045]; wherein discloses a lookup table), and
wherein the pairs of gray level values (251; Fig. 4) are obtained by:
measuring a maximum amount of data change (Fig. 5) of one end portion of the display panel (Fig. 1); slew
determining a pixel line in which an amount of data change is greater than or equal to the reference value (Paragraph [0045]), based on the maximum amount of data change (Paragraph [0067]); and
having voltage differences which are greater than or equal to the reference value from a next pixel line of the determined pixel line to a last pixel line (Paragraph [0045]), based on the maximum amount of data change (Paragraph [0067]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon in view of Lee’s method of driving by applying a bias voltage, as taught by Jeong, so to use a method of driving with a bias voltage for providing the power consumption of the data driver and the display device including the same can be reduced by controlling the data driver so that the slew rate of a data signal is changed for each division area, based on the luminance variation of an image data (Paragraph [0070]).
Claims 10 and 20, Jeong (Fig. 1-5) discloses wherein the maximum amount of data change (Paragraph [0067]) and the reference value are values (Paragraph [0044]) based on data slew (Paragraph [0041]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kwon in view of Lee’s method of driving by applying a bias voltage, as taught by Jeong, so to use a method of driving with a bias voltage for providing the power consumption of the data driver and the display device including the same can be reduced by controlling the data driver so that the slew rate of a data signal is changed for each division area, based on the luminance variation of an image data (Paragraph [0070]).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 03/06/2026