DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 29 May 2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 29 May 2026, with respect to the Objection to the Specification, specifically the Title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objection to the Specification, specifically the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 29 May 2026, with respect to the Double Patenting Rejection of Claims 1-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive since a Terminal Disclaimer has been filed. The Double Patenting Rejection of Claims 1-10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 29 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Regarding Claims 1 and 18, the Applicant argues:
(1) Applicant respectfully submits that Lee in view of Vivo 3GPP NPL fails to disclose or suggest at least “determining, by a terminal device, number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and the second resource, and the first resource at least partially overlaps with the second resource; and determining, by the terminal device, a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH” as recited in claim 1 of the subject application.
According to claim 1 of the subject application, the PSCCH indicates the second resource used for transmitting the PSSCH. Further, claim 1 recites that the first resource at least partially overlaps with the second resource, in which case the terminal device determines the number of REs for the PSSCH in the second resource according to the first resource and the second resource. Further, a TBS is determined for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH.
Therefore, according to claim 1 of the subject application, when the terminal device determines the number of the REs for the PSSCH in the case that the first resource for transmitting the PSCCH at least partially overlaps with the second resource used for transmitting, the PSSCH, the terminal device takes in consideration both the first resource and the second resource.
As can be seen, [0052] and [0053] of Lee describes different transmission modes, but fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious “determination of the number of REs for PSSCH” as recited in claim 1.
As can be seen, [0127] and [0129] of Lee describes “TBS” and “REs for data transmission”, but still fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious “determination of the number of REs for PSSCH.”
Therefore, Lee fails to disclose or suggest “determining, by a terminal device, number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and the second resource, wherein the second resource is indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH” as recited in claim 1 of the subject application.
(2) The Office Action acknowledged on page 13 that Lee does not explicitly disclose “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource”. The Office Action further alleged on pages 13-14 that Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource”, and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource” as taught by Vivo 3GPP NPL in the system of Lee to achieve high spectrum efficiency. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
As can be seen, Vivo 3GPP NPL describes overlapping between resources for PSCCH and PSSCH, but is silent on “determining the number of REs for PSSCH” in the case of overlapping between resources for PSCCH and PSSCH. Further, as stated above, Lee fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious “determination of the number of REs for PSSCH”, and thus a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot derive from Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL “determining, by a terminal device, number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and the second resource, wherein the second resource is indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH, and the first resource at least partially overlaps with the second resource” as recited in claim 1 of the subject application.
Further, Lee also fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious “determining, by the terminal device, a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH” as recited in claim 1 of the subject application, since Lee fails to disclose or otherwise make obvious “determination of the number of REs for PSSCH.”
Therefore, Lee in view of Vivo 3GPP fails to disclose “determining, by a terminal device, number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and the second resource, wherein the second resource is indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH, and the first resource at least partially overlaps with the second resource; and determining, by the terminal device, a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH” as recited in claim 1 of the subject application [Remarks, pages 9-11].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.
As per the first argument,
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Lee discloses a method for data transmission, comprising:
determining (see Figure 14 and paragraph 127; determining/determines), by a terminal device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; by a terminal device/UE), number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (see Figures 7 and 14-15 and paragraphs 51-57, 125-135 and 140; number/number of resource elements (REs)/(resource elements) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)/PSSCH in a second resource/(data based on the SCI) according to a first resource/(control channel) used for transmitting/transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/PSCCH) and the second resource indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH (see Figures 7 and 14-15 and paragraphs 51-52; and the second resource/(data based on the SCI) indicated by the PSCCH/PSCCH and used for transmitting/transmit the PSSCH/PSSCH); and
determining (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 126-127; determining/determines), by the terminal device (see Figure 14 and paragraph 126-127; by the terminal device/UE), a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 126-127 and 130-135; a transport block size (TBS)/TBS for the PSSCH/PSCCH according to the number of the REs/(resource elements) for the PSSCH/PSSCH).
In other words, Lee discloses number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). Figure 16, step S220 and paragraphs 140-141 of Lee discloses a UE calculates the number of resource blocks for V2X data transmission in the effective resource block unit in step S220. Additionally, step S230 discloses determine a transport block size (TBS) on the basis of the number of resource blocks calculated. Furthermore, Lee also discloses scheduling Assignment (SA) resource pool or D2D (sidelink) control channel: A resource pool by which each transmitting UE transmits a signal including information about the resource position of a D2D data channel transmitted from a succeeding or the same subframe and information required for demodulation of the other data channels (for example, information about modulation and coding scheme (MCS), MIMO transmission scheme, and timing advance). The signal described in 1) may be transmitted together with D2D data after being multiplexed on the same resource unit. In this case, an SA resource pool may indicate a resource pool to which SA is transmitted by being multiplexed with D2D data. The SA resource pool may also be called a D2D (sidelink) control channel.
Therefore, Lee discloses the limitation “determining, by a terminal device, number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and the second resource, wherein the second resource is indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH”.
As per the second argument,
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses a method for data transmission, comprising:
the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource (see Figure on top of page 2, Options 1A and 3 which shows overlapping resources in time and frequency same as Applicant’s Figure 3 and Section 2. Multiplexing between PSCCH and PSCCH, Option 3; the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource/Part of PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted using overlapping time resources).
In other words, Figure on top of page 2, Options 1A and 3 which shows overlapping resources in time and frequency same as Applicant’s Figure 3 and Section 2. Multiplexing between PSCCH and PSCCH, Option 3 teaches Part of PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted using overlapping time resources. Additionally, Section 2.2 TB Size Determination teaches for sidelink TBS determination, N_RE’ and/or N_RE are calculated based on the procedure step 1) in 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination. Additionally, Section 2.2 of Vivo NPL discloses a UE determines the total number of REs allocated for PSSCH (NRE) by NRE = N’RE nsubch nsizessubch – NREPSCCH, where nsubch is the total number of allocated subchannels for the UE, and nsizessubch is the subchannel size configured by higher layers and the is the REs used for PSCCH which can be acquired from higher layer configuration. The NRE equation above deducts PSCCH occupied REs from the counted RE amount of the allocated subchannel resources.
Therefore, Vivo NPL discloses “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource”.
Therefore, the combination of Lee and Vivo NPL discloses the limitation “determining, by a terminal device, number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and the second resource, wherein the second resource is indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH, and the first resource at least partially overlaps with the second resource; and determining, by the terminal device, a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH”.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 29 May 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of -12,218,865- has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 12-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (EP 3 544 358 A1), hereinafter Lee, [provided in the IDS dated 11/29/2022], in view of Vivo et al (“Remaining Issues On Physical Layer Structure for NR Sidelink), hereinafter Vivo 3GPP NPL [provided in the IDS dated 3/7/2022].
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a method for data transmission, comprising:
determining (see Figure 14 and paragraph 127; determining/determines), by a terminal device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; by a terminal device/UE), number of resource elements (REs) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (see Figures 7 and 14-15 and paragraphs 51-57 and 125-135 140; number/number of resource elements (REs)/(resource elements) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)/PSSCH in a second resource/(data based on the SCI) according to a first resource/(control channel) used for transmitting/transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/PSCCH) and the second resource indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH (see Figures 7 and 14-15 and paragraphs 51-52; and the second resource/(data based on the SCI) indicated by the PSCCH/PSCCH and used for transmitting/transmit the PSSCH/PSSCH); and
determining (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 126-127; determining/determines), by the terminal device (see Figure 14 and paragraph 126-127; by the terminal device/UE), a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 126-127 and 130-135; a transport block size (TBS)/TBS for the PSSCH/PSCCH according to the number of the REs/(resource elements) for the PSSCH/PSSCH).
Although Lee discloses a method for data transmission as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource”.
However, Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses a method for data transmission, comprising:
the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource (see Figure on top of page 2, Options 1A and 3 which shows overlapping resources in time and frequency same as Applicant’s Figure 3 and Section 2. Multiplexing between PSCCH and PSCCH, Option 3; the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource/Part of PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted using overlapping time resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource” as taught by Vivo 3GPP NPL in the system of Lee to achieve high spectrum efficiency (see page 2, line 6 of Vivo 3GPP NPL).
Regarding Claim 2, Although Lee discloses the method as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource”.
However, Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method,
wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource (see Figure on top of page 2, Options 1B and 2 which shows non-overlapping resources in time and frequency and Section 2. Multiplexing between PSCCH and PSCCH, Option 2; wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource/PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted using non-overlapping frequency resources in the all the time resources used for transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource” as taught by Vivo 3GPP NPL in the system of Lee to achieve high spectrum efficiency (see page 2, line 6 of Vivo 3GPP NPL).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the method, wherein the REs for the PSSCH further do not comprise at least one of:
REs occupied by a sidelink (SL) reference signal;
REs unavailable for SL transmission;
REs occupied by a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH);
REs used as guard periods (GPs); or
REs used for automatic gain control (AGC) (see page 11, paragraph 5, lines 6-7; wherein the REs for the PSSCH further do not comprise at least one of: REs used for automatic gain control (AGC)/PSCCH mapping avoid AGC symbol).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses the method, wherein the SL reference signal comprises a DMRS of the PSSCH (see Figures 7 and 9 and paragraph 74; wherein the SL/sidelink reference signal/(reference signal) comprises a DMRS/DM-RS of the PSSCH/PSSCH).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the method, wherein the PSCCH comprises a first PSCCH and a second PSSCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-57; wherein the PSCCH/PSCCH comprises a first PSCCH/PSCCH and a second PSSCH/PSSCH), wherein the first PSCCH is used to indicate information used for resource sensing and first information (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-57; wherein the first PSCCH/PSCCH is used to indicate information/data used for resource sensing/sensing and first information/SCI), wherein the first information is used for determining a transmission resource for the second PSCCH (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-57; wherein the first information/SCI is used for determining/determines a transmission resource/resource for the second PSCCH/PSCCH); and
the second PSCCH is used to indicate information used for demodulating the PSSCH (see paragraphs 55 and 64; the second PSCCH/PSCCH is used to indicate information/SCI used for demodulating/demodulating the PSSCH/PSSCH).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses the method, wherein the information used for demodulating the PSSCH comprises at least one of:
a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (see paragraphs 55 and 64; wherein the information/SCI used for demodulating/demodulation the PSSCH/PSSCH comprises at least one of: a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)/modulation and coding scheme);
number of transmission layers;
a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number;
a new data indicator (NDI); or
an identifier (ID), wherein the ID comprises at least one of: an ID of a transmit device, an ID of a receive device, a group ID of the receive device, or a service ID corresponding to the PSSCH.
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses the method, wherein the terminal device is a receive device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; wherein the terminal device is a receive device/UE2), and the method further comprises:
receiving on the first resource (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; receiving/(UE1 transmits) on the first resource/resource), by the terminal device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; by the terminal device/UE2), the PSCCH transmitted by a transmit device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51- 52; the PSCCH/PSCCH transmitted/transmitting by a transmit device/UE1), wherein the PSCCH is used for determining the second resource (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-57; wherein the PSCCH/PSCCH is used for determining/determines the second resource/data based on the SCI).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses the method, wherein the terminal device is a transmit device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; wherein the terminal device is a receive device/UE1), and the method further comprises:
transmitting on the first resource (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; transmitting/transmits on the first resource/resource), by the terminal device (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-52; by the terminal device/UE1), the PSCCH to a receive device see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51- 52; the PSCCH/PSCCH to a receive device/UE2), wherein the PSCCH is used for determining the second resource (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 51-57; wherein the PSCCH/PSCCH is used for determining/determines the second resource/data based on the SCI).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee discloses a terminal device (see Figure 19 and paragraphs 187-188; a terminal device/UE), comprising:
a processor (see Figure 19 and paragraphs 187-188; a processor/processor 1100); and
a memory storing a computer program (see Figure 19 and paragraphs 187-188 and 191; a memory/(memory 1200) storing a computer program/software);
the computer program being executed by the processor to cause the terminal device (see Figure 19 and paragraphs 187-188 and 191; the computer program/software being executed/operate by the processor/(processor 1100) to cause the terminal device/UE) to:
determine number of resource elements (REs) occupied by a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in a second resource according to a first resource used for transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (see Figures 7 and 14-15 and paragraphs 51-57 and 125-135; determine/determines number/number of resource elements (REs)/(resource elements) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)/PSSCH in a second resource/(data based on the SCI) according to a first resource/(control channel) used for transmitting/transmitting a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)/PSCCH) and the second resource indicated by the PSCCH and used for transmitting the PSSCH (see Figures 7 and 14-15 and paragraphs 51-52; and the second resource/(data based on the SCI) indicated by the PSCCH/PSCCH and used for transmitting/transmit the PSSCH/PSSCH); and
determine a transport block size (TBS) for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 126-127 and 130-135; determining/determines a transport block size (TBS)/TBS for the PSSCH/PSCCH according to the number of the REs/(resource elements) for the PSSCH/PSSCH).
Although Lee discloses a terminal device as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource”.
However, Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses a terminal device, comprising:
the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource (see Figure on top of page 2, Options 1A and 3 which shows overlapping resources in time and frequency same as Applicant’s Figure 3 and Section 2. Multiplexing between PSCCH and PSCCH, Option 3; the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource/Part of PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted using overlapping time resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the first resource at least partially overlapping with the second resource” as taught by Vivo 3GPP NPL in the system of Lee to achieve high spectrum efficiency (see page 2, line 6 of Vivo 3GPP NPL).
Regarding Claim 19, Although Lee discloses the terminal device as set forth above,
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource”.
However, Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the terminal device,
wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource (see Figure on top of page 2, Options 1B and 2 which shows non-overlapping resources in time and frequency and Section 2. Multiplexing between PSCCH and PSCCH, Option 2; wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource/PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted using non-overlapping frequency resources in the all the time resources used for transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the REs for the PSSCH do not comprise REs in the first resource” as taught by Vivo 3GPP NPL in the system of Lee to achieve high spectrum efficiency (see page 2, line 6 of Vivo 3GPP NPL).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses the terminal device, wherein the number of the REs for the PSSCH further does not comprise at least one of:
number of REs occupied by a sidelink (SL) reference signal;
number of REs that are unavailable for SL transmission;
number of REs occupied by a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH);
number of REs used as guard periods (GPs); or
number of REs used for automatic gain control (AGC) (see page 11, paragraph 5, lines 6-7; wherein the REs for the PSSCH further do not comprise at least one of: REs used for automatic gain control (AGC)/PSCCH mapping avoid AGC symbol).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Vivo 3GPP NPL and further in view of Yoon et al (US 2017/0094657 A1), hereinafter Yoon.
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the REs in the first resource comprise the REs occupied by the PSCCH and the REs occupied by a DMRS of the PSCCH”.
However, Yoon discloses the method, wherein the REs in the first resource comprise the REs occupied by the PSCCH and the REs occupied by a DMRS of the PSCCH (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 44, 47 and 88; wherein the REs/(resource elements as shown in Figure 4) in the first resource comprise the REs/(resource elements as shown in Figure 4) occupied by the PSCCH/PSCCH and the REs/(resource elements as shown in Figure 4) occupied by a DMRS/DM-RS of the PSCCH/PSCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the REs in the first resource comprise the REs occupied by the PSCCH and the REs occupied by a DMRS of the PSCCH” as taught by Yoon in the combined system of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL to provide a method for configuring a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) for vehicle-to-X (V2X) (see page 1, paragraph 7 of Yoon).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Vivo 3GPP NPL and further in view of Khoryaev et al (WO 2017/196397 A1), hereinafter Khoryaev.
Regarding Claim 10, Although the combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the information used for resource sensing comprises at least one of: priority information of a service carried in the PSSCH”.
However, Khoryaev discloses the method, wherein the information used for resource sensing comprises at least one of:
priority information of a service carried in the PSSCH (see paragraphs 29, 32 and 39; wherein the information used for resource/resources sensing/sense comprises at least one of: priority information/(priority information) of a service/(power level of received reference signal) carried in the PSSCH/PSSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the information used for resource sensing comprises at least one of: priority information of a service carried in the PSSCH” as taught by Khoryaev in the combined system of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL to improve spectrum utilization (see page 1, paragraph 1, line 3 of Khoryaev).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Vivo 3GPP NPL and further in view of Chae et al (US 2018/0359707 A1), hereinafter Chae.
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a format of the second PSCCH”.
However, Chae discloses the method, wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
a format of the second PSCCH (see paragraph 299; wherein the first information/(time stamp information) comprises at least one of: a format/(format 0) of the second PSCCH/PSCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the first information comprises at least one of: a format of the second PSCCH” as taught by Chae in the combined system of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL to make the members of the V2X transmitting UE's group aware of the next data transmission that may occur on the PSSCH (see paragraph 299 of Chae).
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Vivo 3GPP NPL and further in view of Nokia et al (“Change Request”), hereinafter Nokia NPL [provided in the IDS dated 3/7/2022].
Regarding Claim 15, Lee discloses the method, the number of the REs for the PSSCH (see Figures 7 and 18 and paragraphs 51-53 and 176-178; REs/(resource elements) for the PSSCH/PSSCH) comprises:
Although the combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL does not explicitly disclose “determining, by the terminal device, number of information bits according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH” or “determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the number of the information bits”.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the method, wherein determining, by the terminal device, the TBS for the PSSCH according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH comprises:
determining (see page 18; determining/determines), by the terminal device (see page 18; by the terminal device/UE), number of information bits according to the number of the REs for the PDSCH (see page 18; number/number of information bits/(information bits) according to the number of the REs/REs for the PDSCH/PDSCH); and
determining (see page 17, Section 5.1.3.2 Transport Block Size Determination; determining/determine), by the terminal device (see page 17, Section 5.1.3.2 Transport Block Size Determination; by the terminal device/UE), the TBS according to the number of the information bits (see page 17, Section 5.1.3.2 Transport Block Size Determination; the TBS/TBS according to the number/number of the information bits/information bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “determining, by the terminal device, number of information bits according to the number of the REs for the PSSCH” or “determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the number of the information bits” as taught by Nokia NPL in the combined system of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL to use the intermediate number of information bits for the determining transport block size (TBS) (see page 18, lines 1-10 of Nokia NPL).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses the method, the number of the REs for the PSSCH (see Figures 7 and 18 and paragraphs 51-53 and 176-178; REs/(resource elements) for the PSSCH/PSSCH).
Although the combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the number of the information bits satisfies Nfo = NRE x R x Qm x v, NRE represents the number of the REs for the PSSCH, R represents a transmission bit rate, Qm represents a modulation order, and v represents number of transmission layers”.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the method, wherein the number of the information bits satisfies Nfo = NRE x R x Qm x v (see page 18, line 5; wherein the number of the information bits/(information bits) satisfies Nfo = NRE x R x Qm x v/( Ninfo = NRE x R x Qm x v), NRE represents the number of the REs for the PDSCH (see page 17, Section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, line 10; NRE represents the number of the REs/(resource elements) for the PDSCH/PDSCH), R represents a transmission bit rate (see page 13, Section 5.1.3 Modulation order, target code rate, redundancy version and transport block size determination, lines 1-8; R represents a transmission bit rate/target code rate), Qm represents a modulation order (see page 13, Section 5.1.3 Modulation order, target code rate, redundancy version and transport block size determination, lines 1-8; Qm/Qm represents a modulation order/modulation order), and v represents number of transmission layers (see page 13, Section 5.1.3 Modulation order, target code rate, redundancy version and transport block size determination, lines 1-8; and v represents number of transmission layers/number of layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the number of the information bits satisfies Nfo = NRE x R x Qm x v, NRE represents the number of the REs for the PDSCH, R represents a transmission bit rate, Qm represents a modulation order, and v represents number of transmission layers” as taught by Nokia NPL in the combined system of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL to use the intermediate number of information bits for the determining transport block size (TBS) (see page 18, lines 1-10 of Nokia NPL).
Regarding Claim 17, Although the combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the number of the information bits comprises: obtaining, by the terminal device, quantified number of information bits by quantifying the number of the information bits” or “determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the quantified number of the information bits”.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the method, wherein determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the number of the information bits comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal device, quantified number of information bits by quantifying the number of the information bits (see page 18, lines 3-4 and 12; obtaining, by the terminal device/UE, quantified/quantized number/number of information bits by quantifying/quantized the number/number of the information bits/information bits); and
determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the quantified number of the information bits (see page 18, lines 3-4 and 12-13; determining/determined, by the terminal device/UE, the TBS according to the quantified/quantized number/number of the information bits/information bits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the number of the information bits comprises: obtaining, by the terminal device, quantified number of information bits by quantifying the number of the information bits” or “determining, by the terminal device, the TBS according to the quantified number of the information bits” as taught by Nokia in the combined system of Lee and Vivo 3GPP NPL to use the intermediate number of information bits for the determining transport block size (TBS) (see page 18, lines 1-10 of Nokia NPL).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shibaike et al (US 2022/0294553 A1) discloses Transmission Device, Reception Device, Transmission Method, and Reception Method. Specifically, see paragraphs 48-157.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469