DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a blood pressure measurement control unit”, “an electrocardiographic measurement control unit”, “a main body portion”, “an instruction input portion”, “a fixing portion” in claims 1-3 and 7.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 and claim 7, line 6 and line 7 please insert “adapted” before “to be in contact”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2022/0054080 A1, hereinafter “Liu”- APPLICANT CITED).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a biological information measurement device (e.g. abstract, 102Fig.1, [0023]: user monitoring device) for measuring a blood pressure and an electrocardiographic waveform of a subject (e.g. [0023]), the biological information measurement device comprising:
a blood pressure measurement control unit configured to control measurement of a blood pressure of a measurement site of the subject (e.g. [0023]);
a first electrode to be in contact with a first site of the subject; a second electrode to be in contact with a second portion of the subject different from the first site; an electrocardiographic measurement control unit configured to control measurement of an electrocardiographic waveform of the subject through the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g. [0027], [0029],[0033]);
a main body portion (i.e. housing e.g. 210 Fig.2) including the blood pressure measurement control unit and the electrocardiographic measurement control unit;
an instruction input portion operated by the subject to input an instruction (i.e. display screen and buttons e.g. 1110 Fig.11, [0062], the sidewall i.e. bezel comprises buttons as shown in Figs. 2, 4); and
a fixing portion configured to fix the main body portion to the measurement site (e.g. Figs.2, 4 show a strap to affix the device to a wrist),
wherein the main body portion includes a casing (i.e. housing) including a side wall portion (i.e. bezel) surrounding an entire circumference of the main body portion from an outer circumference side when a direction facing the measurement site is defined as an axial direction, and the first electrode includes a surface of the side wall portion along the direction facing the measurement site and the instruction input portion (e.g. [0027],[0029],[0033]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Liu teaches the instruction input portion (i.e. display screen) is provided independently of the side wall portion and the instruction input portion includes the side wall portion (the sidewall i.e. bezel comprises buttons as shown in Figs. 2, 4.
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches an uneven portion is formed on a surface of the side wall portion (the sidewall i.e. bezel comprises buttons as shown in Figs. 2, 4 that form an uneven portion)
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches a biological information measurement device (e.g. abstract, 102Fig.1, [0023]: user monitoring device) for measuring a blood pressure and an electrocardiographic waveform of a subject (e.g. [0023]), the biological information measurement device comprising:
a blood pressure measurement control unit configured to control measurement of a blood pressure of a measurement site of the subject (e.g. [0023]);
a first electrode to be in contact with a first site of the subject; a second electrode to be in contact with a second portion of the subject different from the first site; an electrocardiographic measurement control unit configured to control measurement of an electrocardiographic waveform of the subject through the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g. [0027], [0029], [0033]);
a main body portion (i.e. housing e.g. 210 Fig.2) including the blood pressure measurement control unit and the electrocardiographic measurement control unit;
an instruction input portion operated by the subject to input an instruction (i.e. display screen and buttons e.g. 1110 Fig.11, [0062], the sidewall i.e. bezel comprises buttons as shown in Figs. 2, 4); and
a fixing portion configured to fix the main body portion to the measurement site (e.g. Figs.2, 4 show a strap to affix the device to a wrist),
wherein the main body portion includes a casing (i.e. housing) including a side wall portion (i.e. bezel) surrounding an entire circumference of the main body portion from an outer circumference side when a direction facing the measurement site is defined as an axial direction, and the first electrode includes the side wall portion and the instruction input portion, and the instruction input portion includes the side wall portion (e.g. [0027], [0029],[0033]).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Liu teaches the instruction is an instruction for the measurement of the blood pressure (e.g. [0039], [0040], [0046],[0061][0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2022/0054080 A1, hereinafter “Liu”- APPLICANT CITED) in view of Lee et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2018/0206736 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the side wall portion including a concave side wall portion which is concave toward an inner circumference side when the direction facing the measurement site is defined as the axial direction. In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches a blood pressure and ECG measurement device (e.g. abstract) comprising a first and second electrode and a concave portion on a surface of the device (e.g. Fig1,3A, [0042]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the side wall in the teachings of Liu to include a concave portion as taught by Lee in order to provide the predictable results of providing a more user-friendly device so that the user can easily and precisely find the pulse position (assisted by finger) for measurement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshida et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0237239 A1, hereinafter “Yoshida”) teaches a portable ECG and blood pressure measurement device comprising electrodes and blood pressure measurement unit.
Yang et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2020/0233381 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) teaches a wearable ECG and blood pressure measurement device comprising electrodes and blood pressure measurement unit.
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792